Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Blasphemous Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

This is great for minority religion like for example satanists. Every other religion blasphemes against satan, so they can have every other belief holder arrested. Then get arrested themsellves for blaspheming against god et all, thus leaving Ireland for the atheists/agnostics. I very much like.:D:D:D

thats the argument that'll getme on the streets protesting against it. Anything to avoid that

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Seriously though - does that mean we can not say that Scientology is a family splitting, money raking/scamming organisation, a "Religion" which is really a consortium of full time private hired goons, hired American cops, full time investigation unit (Clearwater), an organisation that intimidates and bullies, a religion that for some reasons needs a sea military unit (Seaorg')...

In other words does this law mean that soon we cannot say that its a crock of bullcrap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Biggins wrote: »
    Seriously though - does that mean we can not say that Scientology is a family splitting, money raking/scamming organisation, a "Religion" which is really a consortium of full time private hired goons, hired American cops, full time investigation unit (Clearwater), an organisation that intimidates and bullies, a religion that for some reasons needs a sea military unit (Seaorg')...

In other words does this law mean that soon we cannot say that its a crock of bullcrap!

Is Scientology recognised as a religion in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Is Scientology recognised as a religion in Ireland?

In Ireland, the Church of Scientology has not been successful in its attempts to achieve tax-free, charitable status in Ireland

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scientology_as_a_state-recognized_religion#Ireland

In Ireland, the Church of Scientology has not been successful in its attempts to achieve tax-free, charitable status in Ireland

Excellent. So we can say whatever we like about Xenu then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

It's not recognized as a religion in the statute book,

You can be from
    The Church of Ireland
    The Preysbertian Church in Ireland
    The Methodist Church in Ireland
    The Religious Society of friends in Ireland
    Jewish

and basically any other religion that was around before 1972..I don't think Scientology would count, you can mock them all you want*

*(i could be wrong on all the above)

Jehova! Jehova! Jehova!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I presume this is some sort of response to the UN's push for anti-blasphemy laws. It's basically to protect Islam. Once you criticise religion in general i guess you'll be alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Excellent. So we can say whatever we like about Xenu then.

Xenu was/is (never really existed) the 'bad guy', who stacked the space planes up before setting off the a-bombs...I think. Therefore they may not have a problem with you slagging him off, just in mentioning him to people who haven't paid for the privilege of knowing.

dsmythy wrote: »
    I presume this is some sort of response to the UN's push for anti-blasphemy laws.

That was a group within the UN, not the general assembly or the UNSC. As such it has no weight whatsoever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭omyatari

are we alowed to slag scientology AND mormones?

scie-moron-ology?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Blangis

I was talking about this last night during my weekly orgy with Jesus, Buddha, Mohammed and the "virgin" Mary.

"I think it's a great idea," Jesus piped up as his testicles tickled my chin. "Nothing I hate more than blasphemy."

If Jesus's testicles were on your chin, you were either giving Him a rim job, or He was giving you a brown necktie.

Well you go get 'em, pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

dermot@dermotahern.ie

If someone wants to compose a standard copy and paste e-mail to send to this taleban minded lunatic feel free.

Blangis wrote: »
    Well you go get 'em, pal.

Thanks. It's nice to have your work appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

This country is awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Glad the Department of Justice has time for this. Must mean that the Limerick gangs, tiger kidnappers, thugs and scum, dissident terrorists et al must have been dealt with, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

This is a disgrace. Is the 1950's? What a joke of a country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

What happens when you express a tenet of one recognised religion which is considered blasphemous in another of the recognise religions?

What sentence could you hand out to someone who blasphemes against the God of the Catholic Church when the Catholic Church preaches forgiveness for all sins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Do they not have PR people any more or what? Lately they just seem to be lurching from one publicity disaster to another. More so than usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Indie18

Can it still be considered blasphemy if you don't belive in god, religion or any of that s**t.

javaboy wrote: »
    Do they not have PR people any more or what?

Cutbacks dude. They let the PR people go first. Their last job was to put a nice spin on it - that's why it didn't make the headlines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

toiletduck wrote: »
    Glad the Department of Justice has time for this. Must mean that the Limerick gangs, tiger kidnappers, thugs and scum, dissident terrorists et al must have been dealt with, right?

Of course they have, they members of dail eireann have also announced today they have cured cancer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Hagar wrote: »
    What happens when you express a tenet of one recognised religion which is considered blasphemous in another of the recognise religions?

What sentence could you hand out to someone who blasphemes against the God of the Catholic Church when the Catholic Church preaches forgiveness for all sins?

Yeah, what happens if a Muslim says Jesus isn't the son of God, which is a pretty big thing in Islam? Are they being blasphemous then, if they're just adhering to their religion? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Where a person is convicted of an offence under this section, the court may issue a warrant authorising the Garda Síochána to enter, if necessary using reasonable force, a premises where the member of the force has reasonable grounds for believing there are copies of the blasphemous statements in order to seize them.
    LOL, what a farce. The Gardaí have better things to do than hunt down blasphemers. Ahern should piss off to Afghanistan and join the Taliban (hopefully dying in a air strike soon afterwards).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

Acacia wrote: »
    Yeah, what happens if a Muslim says Jesus isn't the son of God, which is a pretty big thing in Islam? Are they being blasphemous then, if they're just adhering to their religion? :confused:

What's the betting that if this law goes through the only people ever to be tried will be Christians?

If the Minister bothered to read some of the comments in this thread alone he might perhaps begin to realise that the whole idea is cretinous.

ART6 wrote: »
    What's the betting that if this law goes through the only people ever to be tried will be Christians?

If the Minister bothered to read some of the comments in this thread alone he might perhaps begin to realise that the whole idea is cretinous.

Holy cock-sucking Jesus you're right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭ben bedlam

Why, oh why can't all Fianna Fail ministers and TD's somehow organise some sort of mass suicide?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

ben bedlam wrote: »
    Why, oh why can't all Fianna Fail ministers and TD's somehow organise some sort of mass suicide?

Because the Heavan's Gate religion copyrighted it?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

ART6 wrote: »
    Quote:
    “Blasphemous matter” is defined as matter “that is grossly abusive or insulting in relation to matters held sacred by any religion, thereby causing outrage among a substantial number of the adherents of that religion; and he or she intends, by the publication of the matter concerned, to cause such outrage.”
    Any religion is the worrying part.
    While the pastafarians may be take some things in good grace the scientologists have proven themselves to be extremely ligitious.

Wait , forget all that just how long could this law last in Norn Iron ?
    "causing outrage among a substantial number of the adherents of that religion"
    Both sides would be queueing up to show they were the most offended.

Totally unworkable in an Ulster Christian context, never mind lots of African religion or Western Sects and as for the Asian vegetarians we'd have to scrap most of the livestock industry.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

On a lighter side:

I noticed on RTE news website that they reported that in Scotland, a number of coppers reported their religion as "Jedi". (http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0417/jedi.html)

If we do that here, does that mean we can't slag off Star Wars any more! LOL
    George Lucas, etc would be sueing someone for slagging off his Jedi religion! :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Have a look at the New Zealand census.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Bah humbug!

They're really scraping the bottom of the barrel to find anything to distract us from their (mis)handling of the economy.

I'm half expecting to hear we've declared war on England because FF have laid claim to the Isle of Man, citing the 9th and 10th century rule of the island by the Kings of Dublin as their authority! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

ben bedlam wrote: »

Bertie did suggest anybody daring to suggest even the slightest whiff of a recession should go commit suicide.;) At the same time he did give himself and his cronies a massive pay hike just in case.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Bah humbug!

They're really scraping the bottom of the barrel to find anything to distract us from their (mis)handling of the economy.

I'm half expecting to hear we've declared war on England because FF have laid claim to the Isle of Man, citing the 9th and 10th century rule of the island by the Kings of Dublin as their authority! :rolleyes:

Stop it, you'll only encourage them,at this stage they are probably trawling AH for ideas.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

“A person who publishes or utters blasphemous matter shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable upon conviction on indictment to a fine not exceeding €100,000.”
    Where a person is convicted of an offence under this section, the court may issue a warrant authorising the Garda Síochána to enter, if necessary using reasonable force, a premises where the member of the force has reasonable grounds for believing there are copies of the blasphemous statements in order to seize them.

WTF?

If any new law is passed surly it should be to clamp down on those organisations who brainwash children from a young age, ruin peoples true worth with their propogana, collect millions of euro each year through false statments and advertising, treat their own members with contempt, dont allow thier female members equal rights and believe in ghosts, fairy stories and boogie men:p

I must say if that gets passed... I'll be upset.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

surely the answer here is to set up a religion where the idea that being unable to blaspheme religions is blasphemous

that would make the law itself illegal by its own wording, and everyone wins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

England and Wales abolished their blasphemy laws, but suddenly FF wants to introduce such laws here... We're definatlely going backwards in the world with these fools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Captain-America

Why don't they just go the full whack and ban Muslims?

In fact, why not make it a white only country?

And tax the Polish twice what they tax the Irish.

And become a dictatorship.

And Brian Cowen should get a throne.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Dammit, where the hell did I put those Danish Mohommad cartoons?

I'm off to google image search "Super Best Friends rule 34" with safe search off and see about getting myself a t-shirt made

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

All hail Raptor Jesus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

“A person who publishes or utters blasphemous matter shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable upon conviction on indictment to a fine not exceeding €100,000.”

WTF?

If any new law is passed surly it should be to clamp down on those organisations who brainwash children from a young age, ruin peoples true worth with their propogana, collect millions of euro each year through false statments and advertising, treat their own members with contempt, dont allow thier female members equal rights and believe in ghosts, fairy stories and boogie men:p

I must say if that gets passed... I'll be upset.

And 100k worse off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭hideous ape

I say we crucify the bastard for this crazy crap...make the cross out of parts of electronic voting machines...well what else will they be used for???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I say we crucify the bastard for this crazy crap...make the cross out of parts of electronic voting machines...

BLASPHEMY!!!!!!!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

*orders several new Bad Religion t-shirts*

*mumbles "I'll show you blasphemous"*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Overblood

Hey check out my funny Allah picture HAHAHA ROFLCOPTER!

http://i434.photobucket.com/albums/qq63/arsefaceman/untitled-1.jpg

Look at Allah's silly head!!!

Overblood wrote: »
    Hey check out my funny Allah picture HAHAHA ROFLCOPTER!

http://i434.photobucket.com/albums/qq63/arsefaceman/untitled-1.jpg

Look at Allah's silly head!!!

You're thinking of Mohammed.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭omyatari

jesus turns over in his grave!

after....he.. walked out of it, and then died again? and...euh....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭patrickbrophy18

5318008! wrote: »
    Talk about a backward step. And this isn't his first either mind you. His views are obviously out of touch with 21st century ireland.

The holocaust never happened
    :D.

Sure look at what he did with the alcohol licensing laws. He really screwed the pub and nightclub owner's on that one. I saw this article alright. At first, I thought it was a belated April fools joke and that they were taking the piss. However, they seem to be serious about this. In my opinion, these are the most backward views I have come accross and the biggest obstacle to progress this country has seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Wow, how depressing