Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Boardeaux on TV Tomorrow! 7PM RTE1

• 29-04-2009 3:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭

Many of you will be aware that the Boards.ie Football Team, Boardeaux, were filmed for a TV Programme about Boards.ie some time ago.

The Programme will be aired tomorrow at 7pm on RTE1, it is called Capital D.

Unfortunately, I work until 7PM, so will miss this.

If anyone could help me to get a copy, I'd be grateful.

Anyway, it's not ALL about the team, but we should feature significantly.

Give it a gander.

Cheers

Des

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,792 ✭✭✭✭JPA

You can watch here, http://www.rte.ie/player/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

Thanks for this, I will tune in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

JPA wrote: »

Got there ahead of me. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

JPA wrote: »

Only available in Ireland :mad:

How long is it on for? Some kind soul might youtube it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

ziggy wrote: »

SHOUT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Only available in Ireland :mad:

How long is it on for? Some kind soul might youtube it.

I'll do my best with that but I can't promise immediate results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,777 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Is the entire show about boards.ie yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

keane2097 wrote: »

yap

headshot is starring in it

and they'll be talking about man utd v liverpool fiascos

Yep.

The production company approached DeV a while back with the idea, and he put them on to me and the Drama group to give an insight into the Social/Sport side of the website.

Kind of a "boards.ie is more than a few nerds tapping away at a keyboard" kind of schtick.

There was an interviewer and a Camera man the morning they came to my house, interviewed me there, than came in the car with me, filming me travelling to the match. Filmed the match, then interviewed me and a few of the lads afterwards.

It was a good day, just don't know how much of it we'll see tomorrow.

Oh yeah, the league we play in gave us the pitch for free that day, so I'm wearing this big black and yellow waterproof jacket with their name plastered all over it.

I'm such a sell out :D

Des wrote: »
    Yep.

The production company approached DeV a while back with the idea, and he put them on to me and the Drama group to give an insight into the Social/Sport side of the website.

Kind of a "boards.ie is more than a few nerds tapping away at a keyboard" kind of schtick.

There was an interviewer and a Camera man the morning they came to my house, interviewed me there, than came in the car with me, filming me travelling to the match. Filmed the match, then interviewed me and a few of the lads afterwards.

It was a good day, just don't know how much of it we'll see tomorrow.

That's class - fair play. Any idea who we can expect to see on the show? It'd be deadly to put faces to names...
    Oh yeah, the league we play in gave us the pitch for free that day, so I'm wearing this big black and yellow waterproof jacket with their name plastered all over it.

I'm such a sell out :D

It's the likes of you ruining the game with this commercialisation lark - you're the leading wave of the Sky Sports Generation :eek::pac::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

That's class - fair play. Any idea who we can expect to see on the show? It'd be deadly to put faces to names...

:

I bloody well better be. I stayed on for the hour so they couldnt claim the bit they used was when I was off.:)

BTW Des. We should organise another match.It was good to get a run out on a full pitch.

Stekelly wrote: »
    I bloody well better be. I stayed on for the hour so they couldnt claim the bit they used was when I was off.:)
    Yeah, we played another match the next day which is being used
    Stekelly wrote: »
    BTW Des. We should organise another match.It was good to get a run out on a full pitch.

Go ahead!

Go ahead!

Now , you see here's the reason why you're the manager of Boardaux and not me. Do you remember all that time ago when this was being put together and I clearly stated I wasnt management material and nominated you? That still applies.

I'm more of a "turn up and play" type.:)

Anyway, the match that was filmed seemed to come together nicely without my involvenment. I know I said "WE should organise........." but that was just a turn of phrase, I meant "YOU.......":)

I have faith in you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Sounds good, I'll definitely try and catch it. I'm assuming I'll recognise des straight away with the long flowing red hair, beard and mustache.

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Sounds good, I'll definitely try and catch it. I'm assuming I'll recognise des straight away with the long flowing red hair, beard and mustache.

He does the Steve Staunton water bottle kick for effect too.:)

Xavi, this might help you

http://foxyproxy.mozdev.org/ ;)

Erm....yeah...

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Fingers crossed Este made it through the editing.

Ah jaysis, I forgot about him.

Ha!

I better log into me Bebo and message him about it.

Unless anyone wants to give me a heads up on his latest re-reg account?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,570 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I heard he got modded out...

5 mins? WTF.

The camera adds 10 pounds btw. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Des, LeixlipRed and KildareRed all on it, 3 Shels fans in one boards.ie match!:eek:

Also the railings of my gaff are famous! When your man Brian was walking out of his gaff, and turned the corner that's my road, also seen he shares a gaff with my cousin, small world so it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Did I look hot? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

You did not

Darn :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

When will it be up on RTE's website?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

headshot vid inc

Headshot wrote: »
    headshot vid inc

Fairplay...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

good job all. you were looking lovely des :D
    think i recognised a few of the drama ppl too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

what fantastic facial hair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Fair play to all involved, three observations:

1. The head on Lepo in the bar.
    2. Des is a shameless, shameless sell out with that jacket. Never again will his rants about EPL fans be valid.
    3. Blatant pulling of the shirt by Ed, but by god does he put the head down for that sprint cos he knows he is on telly.

I'd like to also congratulate that Barry O'Donovan chap on mentioning that he now takes Boards.ie seriously, which he didn't at first. Internet is a serious business. :D

In all fairness, it was great to see this and just shows the size and greatness of Boards.ie. Well done lads.

Des had to wear the jacket or we had to pay for the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

To quote Karl: Lepo looks like one of those lads that'd be on Jeremy Kyle in the "I used to be a woman" show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

They must be hard up for content

John Breslin for Presiden though... that Devore fella should not be trusted...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,670 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Draupnir wrote: »
    Fair play to all involved, three observations:

3. Blatant pulling of the shirt by Ed, but by god does he put the head down for that sprint cos he knows he is on telly.

Eh that was me, I'm trying to decide if i'm insulted or not!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Sadly boards as it is getting bigger is also dying in this sad old bitter twisted posters view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

Wearing a Yankees cap to a football match.

Plastic tbf.

LeixlipRed wrote: »

You actually swallowed that bull?:)

Think about it: He wears the jacket or the rest of us would have had to throw in €2 each. The evidence is stacked against Des here. He clearly whored himself out to the man for 5 mins in the limelight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Did I look hot? :cool:

I'm sick of seeing you, feckin' papers, TV, Shels matches (the odd time you bother going:pac:), etc...;)

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

They must be hard up for content

John Breslin for Presiden though... that Devore fella should not be trusted...
    hahah... would love to know why that is.

Also Des didnt have to wear any jacket to get on the telly as I asked him organise the team to take part as part of the line up of the show.... he told me on the day he did it to get the pitch. Its amazing what people will invent. :):p

Hopefully you will get a few new stars out of it and beyond that, f*ck the begrudgers.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

the guy doin the radio interview is monkeyfudge if im not wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭A7X

evad_lhorg wrote: »
    the guy doin the radio interview is monkeyfudge if im not wrong.

Agreed.

I really couldn't believe he was serious. Looked like a part of a shíte Irish comedy sketch show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

A7X wrote: »
    Agreed.

I really couldn't believe he was serious. Looked like a part of a shíte Irish comedy sketch show.

lol, no. Monkeyfudge is a member of boards.ie :p

Hey Martin, the people from Jokeland called, your travel rights have been revoked.

Eh that was me, I'm trying to decide if i'm insulted or not!!

Apologies, I thought it was a bit quick for auld Ed!

Charlie wrote: »
    Wearing a Yankees cap to a football match.

Plastic tbf.

Ha, they wouldn't let me take it off, said my head was too shiney :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭smackbunnybaby

Ha, they wouldn't let me take it off, said my head was too shiney :D

you should have worn it backwards!

Here's the link to RTE Player in case anyone wants to still watch it.

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1046941

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Here's the link to RTE Player in case anyone wants to still watch it.

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1046941

"We're sorry but RTÉ player is currently only available to viewers in the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland."

Typical RTÉ even a crap show is blocked.