Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you regiastered to vote?

• 29-04-2009 11:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭

Just to remind those who can, to register to vote before the 18th of May. To check if you are on the register then you can check it here http://www.checktheregister.ie/

With so many local issues and the current economic climate you should try and wade through the usual political jargon and empty promises to vote in those you feel will do a competent job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Good call - if yr not registered, then shame on you. A spoiled vote is more of a statement than not voting.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭darealtulip

We are busy with it, was to late for the local ones this time round. I'm only allowed to vote for local elections and ofcourse Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Im registered to vote but I dont understand politics so just dont vote. When I was 18 I voted for whatever party bertie was in, just cos I knew his name.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭bobcar61

When I turned 18 I never registered to vote,I was automatically put on it which I thought was odd and my 18th birthday was just 2 days before the local elections.
    I'm with seanybiker on this,I don't really understand the whole thing but I've started to pay more attention and look at their policies, not that they ever do what they say they will.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

I checked this - I'm registered but Mr. Xiney (remember, he's the Irish one) isn't.

Ha!

(He's probably still registered at home in Sligo - they're sending us out a form in any case.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

seanybiker wrote: »
    Im registered to vote but I dont understand politics so just dont vote. When I was 18 I voted for whatever party bertie was in, just cos I knew his name.
    As good a reason as any:D I mean when it comes to Ireland it is similar to America in that we have two main parties, sometimes you may as well flick a coin and decide as it is the same thing different names.

Basically there is a problem with people voting in line with their family and other similar voting patterns. People just need to reflect over the last number of months and look at those who have done the work on behalf of the people of Sligo. I have a fair idea I know who I will be voting for, mainly because I have seen the great local work being done and the rare genuine interest that they have in local issues and I would agree to an extent with their politics.

As good a reason as any:D I mean when it comes to Ireland it is similar to America in that we have two main parties, sometimes you may as well flick a coin and decide as it is the same thing different names.

Basically there is a problem with people voting in line with their family and other similar voting patterns. People just need to reflect over the last number of months and look at those who have done the work on behalf of the people of Sligo. I have a fair idea I know who I will be voting for, mainly because I have seen the great local work being done and the rare genuine interest that they have in local issues and I would agree to an extent with their politics.

Same story every where then!

Shouldn't you be on your way to cork right now??

seanybiker wrote: »

Youth is wasted on the young.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Just to remind those who can, to register to vote before the 18th of May. To check if you are on the register then you can check it here http://www.checktheregister.ie/

With so many local issues and the current economic climate you should try and wade through the usual political jargon and empty promises to vote in those you feel will do a competent job.

does that cover you for the local and european elections in june

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭tuppence

irish-stew wrote: »
    does that cover you for the local and european elections in june

I think EuskalHerria is doing his/her bit for the cause of the Rovers at away match! (Fair play)
    AFAIK once your registered your registered. If you have any reason to feel like you may have fallen off the rador at the moment (have you moved or anything?) then best to check on line.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

tuppence wrote: »
    I think EuskalHerria is doing his/her bit for the cause of the Rovers at away match! (Fair play)
    AFAIK once your registered your registered. If you have any reason to feel like you may have fallen off the rador at the moment (have you moved or anything?) then best to check on line.

what i meant was does the deadline cover you for the upcoming elections in june, i'm registered, but its in south donegal, does that deadline mean i still have time to move my vote to sligo so i can vote here next month or is it for next years register

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭tuppence

irish-stew wrote: »
    what i meant was does the deadline cover you for the upcoming elections in june, i'm registered, but its in south donegal, does that deadline mean i still have time to move my vote to sligo so i can vote here next month or is it for next years register

I would go on that bit from the website. Says it covers the 2009/2010 so I presume for this forthcoming local election. I would have thought if you fill out that RFA3 yoke....But I could be wrong! :confused: if any doubt ring, that swhat I say!

If your details do not appear and are not included at another address you must complete an application form (RFA2) for inclusion in the supplement to the 2009/2010 Register. If you are on the register but have moved address from one Dáil constituency, or local electoral area, to another you must complete an application form (RFA3).

• Registered Users Posts: 3,021 ✭✭✭il gatto

Before the last election, there was uproar when loads of people had been "dropped" from the register. How did this happen? It was never explained properly. I didn't check before that election and I refuse to check this one. I registered shortly after my eighteenth birthday and haven't missed a chance to use my franchise since. If I am mysteriously "dropped", I will kick up holy hell via letter writing, Joe Duffy and a picket on Dáil. I would rather do that then be made to check in advance if someone had"inadvertantly",or purposefully, struck me off the register. No f-ing excuse for doing someone out of their right to vote. Another example of an inept, unsupervised and vastly overstaffed civil service (1 in 6 of Irelands workforce before the recession. That ratio is only going up seeing as the civil service will see the least (if any) job cuts in the state.).

In our village they came to the door to check if you are registered. Maybe that had something to do with last time then? Thought that they were from a political party at first but they were not.

What are the different party's and where do they stand generaly, I found that all the programs you get in the door are all the same, they hardly give their solution or a real point.

So far I get this:

Sinn fein is left wing

Green is enviromental

What are Fine Gael and the other one (don't know if I write it proparly) Finna Geal? Are there more party's?

Are ther special local party's like we have in Holland? How does it work in the local politic, do they form coalitions and is that from a unlimited amount of party's? Couldn't find much about that when I googled it (might have typed something wrong though since Mrs.T is unable to check my spelling due to baby)

In our village they came to the door to check if you are registered. Maybe that had something to do with last time then? Thought that they were from a political party at first but they were not.

What are the different party's and where do they stand generaly, I found that all the programs you get in the door are all the same, they hardly give their solution or a real point.

So far I get this:

Sinn fein is left wing

Green is enviromental

What are Fine Gael and the other one (don't know if I write it proparly) Finna Geal? Are there more party's?

Are ther special local party's like we have in Holland? How does it work in the local politic, do they form coalitions and is that from a unlimited amount of party's? Couldn't find much about that when I googled it (might have typed something wrong though since Mrs.T is unable to check my spelling due to baby)

Fianna Fail & Fine Gael are more or less the same - conservative. Labour are slightly left wing. The Progressive Democrats - Mary Harney's party - recently disbandoned.

There a plenty of independant candidates for both local & national elections. They have been known to join up in coallitions.

And then there's Declan Ganley's Libertas party who are running this year for the european elections.

Fianna Fail & Fine Gael are more or less the same - conservative. Labour are slightly left wing. The Progressive Democrats - Mary Harney's party - recently disbandoned.

There a plenty of independant candidates for both local & national elections. They have been known to join up in coallitions.

And then there's Declan Ganley's Libertas party who are running this year for the european elections.

thanks for that. So it works a bit the same as in Holland. No party's for the center then? Or are that the Democrats?

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭MoonDancer

I voted about 10 years ago & now I can't find myself on that website. Do they just drop people off the register if they haven't voted in a while?

To the few that say they don't understand politics and may not use their vote in the coming elections because of that lack of knowledge, your understanding of politics in whole should be irrelevant as far as you should still be able to wade through the typical suits and false promises and see those who are genuinely looking out for the best interests of the electorate they are supposed to represent in your local area.

There are many issues that should help in making up your mind. There is a recession going on so therefore it is important to ask candidates their position on the financial situation and how they propose to adapt and work for the people of Sligo and Leitrim under tight financial circumstances.

There is a major issue in the Cancer services and the hospital in general. The current Fianna Fail government want to take the cancer services from Sligo and move them to Galway. If those of us who do not want our loved ones traveling all the way back and forth from galway to even just have a cancer check up, then I think this is a very important issue that should stir some anger towards those candidates who are making false promises while also being a member of the party implementing these changesand still likely to tow the party line if elected. On the other hand, people who are not voting for FF because of this issue need to look at who they maybe giving their votes to now. A lot of those who will not be voting for FF because of the cancer services issue and constant downgrading of the general hospital need to ask who will be a good alternative. I am open for correction here but I think local Fine Gael could not promise any more than committing to an extension of the time frame for the removal of services by a year or so. In Ireland it is often a case of voting for the main parties, so in sligo it is important to look at what both are offering in regards to concrete commitment to keeping their promises on important issues like this.

Then there are issues that people need to look back over, some members of the council wanting to give a million euro to a private company as an example. Just look at who has grafted for the betterment of your local area and seems genuine, if you can see both those qualities within a candidate then you could be in safe hands for the coming years. Trouble is there isn't exactly an abundance of those qualities in local candidates

I do agree there Euskal, use your vote! I'm trying to get a crash course Irish (local) politics here (and thanks to you all I do)!

Well the crash course will be the parties on a national level. For local politics I think people need to focus on the individual more than just the party that they are in.

I do agree, I think you get really very little information on all the flyers. It's very general and very little about solutions. Specially about local issues.

Everyone will give you a different slant on things. So here's mine.

Fianna Fail- Traditionally regarded as a working class and Nationalist party. In the last 25 years, have become more and more conservative and have moved from center left to the right. Have twisted evrything in favour of big developers and big business. Tax lawa, planning laws, employment laws etc. Took the best years this country ever had and milked it for their own benefit and their own "class of people". Haven't had a leader since the xeventies who hasn't had accusations of corruption hanging over them (except maybe Albert Reynolds in the mid 90s). Cowan culchie leader, had become part of the Dublin political scene many years ago. Takes the stench of "culchie" off him. Dubliners don't like the stink of the country. The party is full of no doubt intelligent people, brassing it out in jobs they know nothing about. Cowan is a solicitor who was Minister for Finance. Lenihan is a barrister who's Minister for Finance. Mary Coughlan was elected a 22 because her father died. She has no concept of the real world. And yet she's Tanaiste, one heartbeat away from Taoiseach.

Fine Gael- once regarded as a more conservative Fianna Fail (you'll note I've dropped the fadda in Fáil. It's not a mistake). Some regarded them as the party of the big farmers. Stupid as big farmers made up a tiny percentage of the voting public. Still Fianna Fail like to sling some mud and question the credentials of others. Fine Gael also had an aberration when Eoin O'Duffy made himself prominent in the party before starting a fascist organisation (I sh1t you not). They were called the blueshirtts and this term is still used to deride Fine Gael supporters, often by people who's knowledge of the facts are flimsy. Since the 60's, Fine Gael have gradually moved to the left and are now probably left of center. Lots of very capable people in the ranks such as Richard Bruton and James O'Reilly, ones qualified for their prospective jobs. Dubliners find Enda Kenny hard to swallow. Too culchie coming from Mayo.
    Consistantly reasonable in both policy and character (one corruption scandle maybe 15 years ago?), have been deemed "unelectable" at successive General Elections by the media, who've tended towards the incumbants. Big gains in the last election.

Labour- Irish Labour are nothing like British Labour, new or old. Old Labour in Britain was a working class, striking, socialist party. New Labour is a slick, media manipulating, election winning machine. Labor in Ireland is in no way linked. It has tended towards a more intellectual tyoe of politician with a bookish sense of socialism. Many capable memberd down the years like Dick Spring, Joan Burton, Brendan Howlin, Eamon Gilmore, etc. HAve never been big enough to govern by themselves, so have been involved in coalition governments. Last time was the mid 90's, Diametrically opposed to Fianna Fail, but at some stage the lure of power may tempt them back into some sort of deal (however short lived and distasteful they found the last one). Fairly static since a highpoint in the mid 90's, followed by a loss of seats. Have gained slowly since.

Green Party- I don't know what to say about this shower. Were collecting alot of lower preference votes over the years. Were always considered a bit fluffy and useless. John Gormley apprently had a protest at Fairyhouse racecourse in the late 80's, on the basis of horseracing being cruel to horses.
    Their caring, green policies and any statements on any social policy were the anthisesis of Fianna Fail. After the last election, they realised they had the balance of power and the thought of government tempted them. They knew that the vast majority of their voters would be horrified, but went with it anyway. HAve been ineffective, spineless abd far from the watchdog of the government they promised. Never get a vote from me again. Big gains at last election, where they took the protest vote they were given, and rubbed peoples face in it.

Progressive Democrats- Gone. Wiped out at the last election. Should've meant "Ding, dong, the witch is dead", but somehow, it hasn't and we have an "independent minister" for health. I sh1t you not. An independent minister. Means FF don't need to take the blame for the helath service.

Sinn Féin- Only all Ireland party, led by Gerry Adms. with MArtin McGuinness as deputy first minister in Northern Ireland. Would be seen as the major Nationalist/Republican party. Policies would be socialist with regards economics. Made a hash of the last election with no real economic strategy and an unprepared leader being embarassed on television debates. Lost a couple of seats.

il gatto wrote: »
    Since the 60's, Fine Gael have gradually moved to the left and are now probably left of center.

I would agree with the majority of your analysis, but FG left of center?

Thanks il gatto that's very usefull. Seems like it's a bigger mess than back home and that is a big mess. Like to see there are no party with religion. You might not think it but we have lots of those in Holland! I always thought that was strange and should be well seperated.

What party's always make it in government or does that differ a lot?

What are other local issues besides developments and the cancer services?

And last but not least A INDEPENDENT MINISTER????

I would agree with the majority of your analysis, but FG left of center?

Yes. Without a doubt. They've spent the last decade trying to get the government to spread the wealth the people of Ireland have created instead of a tiny percentage reaping the benefits of everyone elses hard work. They're opposed to privatisation of the health system. They consistantly opposed massive tax breaks Fianna Fail gave to developers and prospectors. And apart from Lowry (where is he now? Oh yes, propping up Fianna Fail), they've never had the whiff of corruption or cosy cartel's around them. Their spokesperson on health is even organising the cervical cancer jab for girls in his constituency.

I'm not a member, indeed I'm not a member of any party, but Fine Gael have moved to the left and a more even handed approach to our countries wealth (or lack thereof). Left of center is dictated by what is center or right of center in a state. With FF being, imo, gone to the right, FG, while hardley radical Marxists, look positively Trotskyite by comparison. The old image so popular with their detractors has been inaccurate for years.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

For me,

1. The absolute ridiculous running of the health service. I'd have no problem paying higher taxes for a cradle to grave service. The episode of the withdrawal of the cervical cancer screening for young girls over €8 million euro has poisoned me against Fianna Fail til the day I die. Within weeks they can find €14 BILLION to bail out the banks. The whole thing is a cover up to protect their cronies. A handful of individuals have brought this country to its knees.

2. The disgraceful waste of public money....including the big fat monster that is the public service payroll....still not tackled through governemnt fear (cosy love in) of the unions. Cullen and Dempsey the public face of this (they are the stupid ones that get caught, there are plenty more of them that are more devious and wasteful).

3. We've given away the only thing that we had to sell and provide us with ongoing income ... Corrib Gas Field.

4. Minimum Wage ... this is ridiculously high compared to other countries and costing thousands of jobs. Abolish this and more people will be employed....more people employed, more productivity, more taxes generated, more add on jobs created.

5. Western Corridor train system.

Thanks il gatto that's very usefull. Seems like it's a bigger mess than back home and that is a big mess. Like to see there are no party with religion. You might not think it but we have lots of those in Holland! I always thought that was strange and should be well seperated.

What party's always make it in government or does that differ a lot?

And last but not least A INDEPENDENT MINISTER????

The Roman Catholic church was given a "special place" in the constitution when the state was founded (as a semi republic at the time). It meant little. Some people opposed any mention of it, while many thought it should be made the state religion. Neither got their way, but it was a handy way out. No party has any affiliations with a religion.

The government has normally been either Fianna Fail (including great leaders like Sean Lemass and Jack Lynch), or Fine Gael (with leaders like Cosgrave, Garret Fitzgerald and John Bruton). Coalition government are the norm these days, made up of either FF or FG as the major party with Labour, the Greens or the P.D.s (until they died. Ah). Some coalitions (usually FF ones) have a scatter of independent T.D.s to prop them up with promises of all sorts for their constituencies and a few plush positions on boards and panels (all well paid).

Since 1987, Fine Gael have only been in power for 3 years, Fianna Fail 19 years. Makes me laugh when people say all politicians are the same. How would we know? We've only given one party (and their hangers on) power for the best part of two decades. Also hilarious seeing FF consantly blaming FG for ills in the state, although the media seem content not to pick them up on it. Alot of the tax law and economic policies which led to the boom were laid by the FG/Labour coalition of the mid nineties. FF reaped the benefits and the plaudits, while squandering most of it on the civil service and overruns on infrastructure while jacking up their own salaries to the point where our minister of defence, Willie O'Dea, gets paid more than Joe Biden, the vice president of the U.S.

If Fine Gael win the next general election, they'll take over at a terrible low in the economy. By the time the next election after that rolls around, we may see a recovery, Fine Gael, after governing at a bad time will be unpopular, Fianna Fail will be re-elected, and it all starts again. They'll take credit for the recovery, they'll install pro-FF all over the civil service and the money will vanish again.

And an independent minister is exactly who is running the health service. Her right wing party and their policy of privatising state services went down the pan at the last election and had to disband last year, but FF don't want the health service, so deflecting it to someone they don't feel responsible for (but they are), suits them just fine. The P.D.s somehow got some of the most important jobs in government afetr the 2002 election, depsite contributing just 8 T.D.s to the Dáil. Harney was minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment and Táinaiste (vice Taoiseach), while Michael McDowall was Minister for Justice (the one that said the gangland crime problem was "the sting of a dying wasp" in 2004.)
    Harney kept her job as Minister for helath after the last election even thought the P.D.s returned just 2 T.D.s and she was deeply unpopular. Then her party folded, and she's still there.