Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Virginia 300, 9th May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

I'm becoming interested in this even though I did moan afterwards that last saturdays spin was too long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭emty

You would be more than able for this Pete,but I'm sure you will still moan :D.
    What I will say from my (limited) experience of these gigs is that you need to be thinking about it well in advance.Don't just turn up on the day and make sure that you are physically and mentally prepaired.These are not like boards spins,if you fall off the pace you will be left behind(happend to me many times) and will have to follow the routesheet.There are no road markings.Audex events are meant to be self- sufficient.You make your own way around the route,using the sheet,with-in the time limits.Its NOT a race.:)

Ah yeah, I know I'd be able for it, any of the regular spinners would. It's just do I want to do it hmmmmm.

Myself and Bernard did over 12 hours on the bike last summer in Denmark, due mainly to my bad planning, with loaded panniers, some rain and poor maps. So it should be possible for most, unless you suffer from chaffing or saddle soreness. Does Eddie Rockets in Phibs open at 6am?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 Arranmoreelw

emty wrote: »
    You would be more than able for this Pete,but I'm sure you will still moan :D.
    What I will say from my (limited) experience of these gigs is that you need to be thinking about it well in advance.Don't just turn up on the day and make sure that you are physically and mentally prepaired.These are not like boards spins,if you fall off the pace you will be left behind(happend to me many times) and will have to follow the routesheet.There are no road markings.Audex events are meant to be self- sufficient.You make your own way around the route,using the sheet,with-in the time limits.Its NOT a race.:)

Empty could not have explained it better! As he mentioned before if you could give us a heads up as to numbers attending by 6pm so we can organise enough cards for all - Empty has contact details so if you can pm details (name and address) all the better as we will write out cards fri night which will make registration sat morning so much easier. lights for saftey is advised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭barrabus

so who is on for this escapade?

tail wind on the way out not the way home sadly ...
    http://weather.yahoo.com/Oldcastle-Ireland/EIXX0074/forecast.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

I will do it next time ;) Not on the Giro 1st day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

barrabus wrote: »
    so who is on for this escapade?

tail wind on the way out not the way home sadly ...
    http://weather.yahoo.com/Oldcastle-Ireland/EIXX0074/forecast.html

I'm in, feck it -not feeling the best, but I'll live :)

I'm out as I have Go-Karting at 4. Heading for the wicklow hills for a quick jaunt in the morning instead.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Would love to do it, but I have to shop for tiles.

el tonto wrote: »
    Would love to do it, but I have to shop for tiles.

There's a tile shop in Castleblayney....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭rughdh

If it's not too late to sign up, I'll give it a bash. @emty just sent you a pm.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

There's a tile shop in Castleblayney....

Doubt if Mrs Tonto would want to cycle to Castleblaney to look at tiles.

There's a tandem for sale in the adverts forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Thought about this, decided against it. 10 hours on the bike is a bit too much for me and I have a party to head to tomorrow night.

If anyone is up for a spin around Howth I will be heading that direction tomorrow morning.

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    ...10 hours on the bike is a bit too much for me...

I'd love to be able to go that fast. I reckon it'd take me at least 15.:(

Bit of an epic,314.58km,had every sort of weather system short of snow.Four from the boards,Barrabus,Tiny,Rughdh and myself turned up and put in a very impressive performance.Will post a couple of pics later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Bit of an epic,314.58km,had every sort of weather system short of snow.Four from the boards,Barrabus,Tiny,Rughdh and myself turned up and put in a very impressive performance.Will post a couple of pics later.
    well done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Well done lads. That's a long long way. My thoughts were with you earlier as I watched the horizontal hail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭unionman

Fair play lads, that's good stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭unionman

rughdh wrote: »
    I'd love to be able to go that fast. I reckon it'd take me at least 15.:(

I'm hoping to do the W200 in 10 :o

I did it in 11 hours and 52 minutes at an average speed of 26.47kph.Obviously I'm not in the same league as these guys who can do it in ten but I didn't see any of them out there today :D

Great day out actually -tired, but very happy... was a great cycle once the rain stopped!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Well done to all. Now you know my training roads around Monaghan Cavan and Westmeath;)
    Thats an impressive time emty and co. looking forward to the photos.

sy wrote: »
    Well done to all. Now you know my training roads around Monaghan Cavan and Westmeath;)
    Thats an impressive time emty and co. looking forward to the photos.

We finished together, so it's the same time for everyone (that's important to point out :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

We finished together, so it's the same time for everyone (that's important to point out :p)
    I did say emty and co :rolleyes:, but impressive stuff Tiny. I reckon a few pints were in order tonight. What calorie count on your 705? average heart etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭barrabus

fun day alright, i was really contemplating quitting in castleblaney as the weather was absolutely horrendous ..once we left there the rain stopped and it was fine.

all did well, but i must say i was v impressed by Tiny.

Thanks guys for a great day out. I'm very happy with my 7th place in the sprint for the line in Phibsboro. Went a bit early, though. If I left it a bit later I might have finished in em... eh... 7th place.

Just realised that there was another ,Arranmoreelw,from the boards on this spin so we can almost claim it as our own :).
    Thanks to Arranmoreelw and Rose for all their hard work in organising a great day out.
    A tie between Rughdh and Arranmoreelw for most impressive first boards spin.:D Btw Rughdh,there are no placings for a bunch finish,we all get the same time :)
    Was quite pleased with my own effort,finished strongly,Felt that the work I have been putting in this year is starting to pay dividends.Had a bit of a spill outside Castleblaney when I hit the only pothole for about 20km.Thanks to Arranmoreelw,Rughdh and Rose for their help and kindness in getting me back on my feet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

@Emty - Who is the bloke on the tri bike with Sorrento jersey.
    He left me for dead on Edmondston road last w/e. I could see him way behind me, then he just floated past. In fairness he slowed and said hi.
    I remember the tri bars and helmet.

I recovered and nearly caught him up by Kilakee, but on the descent I never got close, and then lost sigt of him.

A few more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Well done guys! :D If i say i am not jealous it would be a total lie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Some achievement.
    Nice pics as per usual.

Chapeau to all who completed the 300km in adverse conditions
    Especially those riding that distance for the first time
    PBP beckon's

That't it :).
    @ Rok on, that's John o Sullivan, the man is either always 100 metres behind or in front of you,doesn't like riding in the peleton.A classic audax cyclist.

Great pic's Emty

Cheers for the pics emty, your photography just gets better and better!

Arranmoreelw, thanks for organising a great day out -I'll not say I loved every second, but did enjoy it overall, and I think I've maybe found my niche in cycling -I've taken a huge step towards PBP in a couple of years :)

Roll on the 400....

Oh, and some words of my day are up here

Chapeau to all who completed the 300km in adverse conditions
    Especially those riding that distance for the first time
    PBP beckon's

Thanks for organising it, Arranmoreelw, and for sorting me out when I punctured. PBP? Is that Poppintree-Ballymun-Poppintree?

As for stats -my Garmin decided to be weird, and so I only recorded stats from Ashbourne, but the rest of the route won't import into training centre, so I can't get everything out of it, but what I can get is:

Distance: 283.1km
    Time: 10:50:04
    Avg Speed: 26.13
    Avg HR: 71% max
    Max HR: 101% (probably when being chased by the dog!)
    Avg Cadance: 57rpm -didn't get out of the big ring all day
    It's not giving me a calories burned figure :( boo!

@Tiny Great article, and I particularly enjoyed this bit:
    "...is he strong, or bricking it like I am?"
    @emty Great fotos, thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Is this being run again this year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

penexpers wrote: »
    Is this being run again this year?

It's not on the calendar - there are four other 300s this year so I think Paul didn't see much need to put it on. I'll probably ride the route at some point for the training - maybe the 24th or 25th of April? - if you fancy joining me.