Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does Bertie Piss You Off ?

• 04-05-2009 7:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭

While people have been critical of Cowen, Lenihan, and Coughlan, Bertie Ahern has appeared to slip under the radar.

This was the man who oversaw the development of this crisis, this man was at the wheel when the housing bubble, and its grubby gains were financing the country, the man called himself a socialist, and implemented policies which have seen us plumet in the competitive stakes. He shifted performing ministers to accomodate the likes of Cowen and Cullen, which would make his life easier, and he could tell them what to do

He was also the man who dominated Dail business between December 2007 and May 2008 as he swaned up and down to the Mahon Tribunal, trotting out the same excuses, for indiscretions which Lawlor, Burke, Haughey and the rest of that ilk were guilty of. He was the man who wanted his "lap of honour" between April-May 2008, while FF should have been out working for a yes vote in Lisbon. Once that failed, and Bertie was gone, the cold hard reality came to the fore, Ireland Inc was fcuked. While he was dealing with Mahon, the country should have been dealing with the ailing economy. He had the gall to imply that people who thought like David McWilliams should commit suicide, and claim that the economy was fine when he left it.

At no point has he stood toe to toe with Cowen, and attempted to redress this issue, nor has he shown a willingness to help Cowen in dealing with the opposition or the media. He is a mean spirited self publicist, who is living off a legacy which the likes of Gerry Fitt, John Hume, David Trimble John Bruton, Garrett Ftizgerald, Des O Malley, Albert Reynolds, Margaret Thatcher, John Major all contributed to. Bertie is not the only person involved with the peace process.

When I saw pictures of him at the Daughter's 30th Birthday Party, it annoyed me. This man was at the wheel when this crisis was taking flight the earlier part of this decade, and in its later years he distracted the crucial economic work of the country, as he tried to vindicate himself from something which is synonomous with his ilk. Why have people not called a spade a spade.

Bertie....J'Accuse

• Registered Users Posts: 18,599 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I would have to agree almost 100% with that. Although the majority of the population are just as much to blame for voting him and his party in multiple times.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

" The most devious of them all "

• Registered Users Posts: 24,250 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

There are few people in this country I'd rather deck...

The bare faced neck of the man is beyond comprehension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I saw him on something to do with sport I think, he was doing his "Bertie ordinary Joe" shtick and he grinned, if I could have punched him at that point I would have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

Sleepy wrote: »
    mike65 wrote: »
    I could have punched him at that point

In fairness, I think 30 years of conflict in the North has shown us the productivity of physical violence, or more pertinently, lack thereof.

I wouldn't transfer political detest onto personal hatred. Its been done, literally to death, on too many occasions in the past.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Well the latest story in the sindo won't win him any more fans. What I think of the man would get me banned from here if I expressed it fully.

Here's that story link. I can already hear your blood boiling reading it....

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ahern-misses-85pc-of-dail-votes-since-leaving-office-1727899.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

turgon you are right of course.

/Anyone know of a Smash Bertie flash game?

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭383Ger

Bertie must go....Cowen for taoiseach!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,949 ✭✭✭dixiefly

He has been on several sports related programmes. The GAA 125 years Late Late he was first on along with Dunphy which was madness on the part of the producers. A lot of GAA people were very annoyed with that programme in general.
    He was also on the Keane documentary on TV3.

The reason that he went on those programmes was that he gets to keep up his exposure without having to answer any awkward questions about how almost his total focus as Taoiseach was re-election and precious little prrioritisation of what was best to maintain competitiveness of the country so that living standards would be maintained in the medium to longer term.

It is said that he has his eye on the Presidency though I dont know who in their right mind would vote for him at this stage. Then again I was told by someone that Bertie got a standing ovation when he attend an event this person was at a couple of weeks ago so you never know.

For his statement alone that the people that were expressing concern for the economy (correctly as has been proven) should commit suicide the man should be treated with nothing other than contempt never mind being voted in as President.

P.S. - how many weeks of governance were lost last year in the time from when he announced hi resignation until he finally went? He hung around until he could speak to the US congress. Once again, as always Bertie doing what was right for Bertie not what was right for the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭RealityCheck

God when you think of it he is/was an awful arrogant twat altogether.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭MysticalRain

Great politician, **** leader.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

I have to agree with everything you said OP!

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭getcover

He has almost single-handedly destroyed the Dáil, his version of "leadership" was nothing more than Hello style celebrity banality, and his mocking of the institutions of this state has done irrepearable damage. he has that smarmy, sh*t-eating grin plastered to his face permanently, because he knows he make pr*cks of us for ten years and will probably continue to do so.

Yet, I know plenty of otherwise intelligent people who are already "pining" for the Bertie days, and think he was wonderful.

He has set the benchmark for leadership in this country now; you just need to convey the image of being a fellow who anyone could have a pint with, while at the same time enriching yourself and your cronies at the massive expense and severe detriment of the State you laughingly claim to be at the service of.

Some weeks ago there was an interesting debate on "Spirit Moves" about leadership. I would suggest that Ahern is the perfect example of everything a leader should not be.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭brettmirl

It's no secret that Bertie wants to run for the presidency when Mary's finished her time in the Park.

Do you think he would get it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭r0nanf

mick_irl wrote: »
    It's no secret that Bertie wants to run for the presidency when Mary's finished her time in the Park.

Mahon Tribunal is due a report this summer afaik - that will surely spell the end of his career and possibility of running a succesful Presidential campaign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭r0nanf

Ruination of the country aside for one second, but how could you not get pissed off with someone who says things like:

"It is not correct, and if I said so, I was not correct -- I cannot recall if I said it, but I did not say, or if I did, I did not mean to say it -- that these issues could not be dealt with until the end of the Mahon Tribunal,"

I'm surprised that nobody ever tried to throttle him. Interestingly enough though, I know somebody who used to sit in on his cabinet meetings and apparently it was an autocracy - he was very clear in what he wanted and the Bertiespeak disappeared as soon as the cameras were away.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

mick_irl wrote: »

If people can still vote for the likes of Beverly Cooper Flynn and Michael Lowry, Bertie could be president.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

After all that's gone on I don't think even FF would have the brass neck to run him next time around. The time after that, maybe

• Registered Users Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Sleipnir wrote: »
    If people can still vote for the likes of Beverly Cooper Flynn and Michael Lowry, Bertie could be president.

<sigh>

• Registered Users Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

The dirty little slimeball makes my blood boil every time I see his grinning mug, which thankfully is less and less these days. Does anyone reckon he will see any punishment for his deeds in his lifetime?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭Disease Ridden

Stephen wrote: »
    The dirty little slimeball makes my blood boil every time I see his grinning mug, which thankfully is less and less these days. Does anyone reckon he will see any punishment for his deeds in his lifetime?

I VERY much hope so.

It's not the fact that he was a corrupt politician lacking any foresight or fiscal prudency that annoys me, its the fact that not everybody knows that he is to a massive extent to blame for where we are now.

• Registered Users Posts: 929 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

+1. and now he spends his time swanning about remote countries making money giving speeches about the lessons they can learn from the Celtic Tiger.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

To answer post title ...
    That fu**** has been pis**ng me off since the 1980s.
    Anyone that was one of charlie's right hand hand men had to have been of the same ilk and of course it has come to pass.

bertie had only one thing on his mind - getting relected no matter what.
    To anyone with half a brain it was obvious (from way back) that he was the luckiest and most wasteful leader this country has ever had.
    It is a fact that is only now dawning on a lot of the people who were lauding him a few years ago.
    There are still a few village eejits spouting that he should come back to lead us out of this mess :rolleyes:
    He arrived at an opportune time, took credit for others' hard work and then proceeded to blow the largese of the cetlic tiger, and even worse the budgets for years to come.

His legacy is the creation of an overstaffed overpaid public service, a wasteful, dangerously incompetent health service, a pampered arrogant political elite, a public service and politcal establishment devoid of any responsiblity and a social partnership system stacked in favour of certain unionised employees that leaves thousands of workers with actually no said in the way the country is governed.

And to anyone that says he brough peace to this island ... ever heard of Hume, Mallon, Admas, McGuinness, Blair, Reynolds, Tremble, Spring, etc etc.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

Sleepy wrote: »

The bare faced neck of the man is beyond comprehension.
    mike65 wrote: »
    I saw him on something to do with sport I think, he was doing his "Bertie ordinary Joe" shtick and he grinned, if I could have punched him at that point I would have.

Was in a pub in glasnevin in the late 90's
    Mate of mine comes back from the bar with his round with a head on him,
    wouldnt say anything, filthy head on him for ages

My round so i head up to the bar
    (:eek:)Bertie says hello and gives me the "consider yourself a mate" cheeky chappie gurn
    I looked thru him and starred at the gap between his eyes for about 30's
    He stopped smiling, he looked nervous, he gave the nod to some guy behind me
    My round arrived , i walked away

Id say if the drinks had taken 2 more minutes it would have kicked off:rolleyes:;)

I came back from the bar with the round with a head on me,
    "he smile at you?"
    yup
    "you want to hit him?"
    yup

one of the lads comes back from the loo, big smile
    "Hey Berties here":mad::o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭ODS

Who said he's a self publicist?

From the evening herald the day of Tony Gregory's funeral.

A politician who made an undoubted difference

By Bertie Ahern

Wednesday January 07 2009

I have known Tony Gregory since I entered politics in the late 70s. For almost 30 years, we have been constituency colleagues, political opponents and always good friends. I want to pay tribute to a politician who gave total commitment to his constituents and made an undoubted difference to the city he loved.

Tony entered politics as a community activist and his commitment to the people of inner city Dublin went right to his core. Tony was first elected to the Dail in the general election of February 1982.

He almost immediately came to national prominence by negotiating the famous Gregory Deal with the then Taoiseach, Charles Haughey, in return for his support for the Fianna Fail Government.

Tony and I both shared a deep commitment to our constituents and a desire to help the less well-off in our society. I have always readily acknowledged that Tony Gregory was one of the hardest-working TDs in the Dail. He will be greatly missed by his constituents, who he worked so passionately for over the years.

Tony played an honourable part in securing progress right across Dublin's many communities and he helped improved the quality of life of his constituents. Tony was never one to sit on the sidelines and opt out. No matter how ingrained the problem, he could always be relied upon to play his part and put his shoulder to the wheel.

determined

Any economic and social history of Dublin over the past 30 years will be incomplete without reference to the determined work of Tony Gregory.

He achieved much for Dublin and in Irish public life. He will be remembered as a man of integrity and a hardworking public representative. I extend to his brother Noel, who I know so well, and all Tony's family and friends my deepest sympathies.

http://www.herald.ie/opinion/a-politician-who-made-an-undoubted-difference-1594126.html

For the record, it is widely perceived by those in the know in the constituency that Ahern did everything within his power to sideline and stymie Gregory at every angle, to the cost of constituents - hence Gregory wasn't even called when independent TDs were required to make up recent governments, was never supported for Lord Mayor when on DCC council etc. Tenants of DCC will tell you Gregory would drop around and actively work to advance the most deprived inner city areas, yet Ahern never got involved - except that is when there was going to be a media photocall, such as for the since-collapsed McNamara PPP.

Agree with pretty much everything that the OP said - except crediting Des O'Malley or Margaret Thatcher for the Peace Process; Thatcher prolonged that war, and is responsible for war crimes.

Back on topic - to sum up - the Ahern administration was the worst government that this country ever had; he blew the boom, creating the horrendous conditions we suffer now - and lambasted and bullied those of us that were pointing this out as it was happening.

Bertie for the Arás? More like Bertie for the 'Joy :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

This is Ireland people. Since when did ruining the country and ****ing over the electorate ever reduce your chances of getting elected?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

ODS wrote: »
    Who said he's a self publicist?

From the evening herald the day of Tony Gregory's funeral.

A politician who made an undoubted difference

By Bertie Ahern

Wednesday January 07 2009

I have known Tony Gregory since I entered politics in the late 70s. For almost 30 years, we have been constituency colleagues, political opponents and always good friends. I want to pay tribute to a politician who gave total commitment to his constituents and made an undoubted difference to the city he loved.

Tony entered politics as a community activist and his commitment to the people of inner city Dublin went right to his core. Tony was first elected to the Dail in the general election of February 1982.

He almost immediately came to national prominence by negotiating the famous Gregory Deal with the then Taoiseach, Charles Haughey, in return for his support for the Fianna Fail Government.

Tony and I both shared a deep commitment to our constituents and a desire to help the less well-off in our society. I have always readily acknowledged that Tony Gregory was one of the hardest-working TDs in the Dail. He will be greatly missed by his constituents, who he worked so passionately for over the years.

Tony played an honourable part in securing progress right across Dublin's many communities and he helped improved the quality of life of his constituents. Tony was never one to sit on the sidelines and opt out. No matter how ingrained the problem, he could always be relied upon to play his part and put his shoulder to the wheel.

determined

Any economic and social history of Dublin over the past 30 years will be incomplete without reference to the determined work of Tony Gregory.

He achieved much for Dublin and in Irish public life. He will be remembered as a man of integrity and a hardworking public representative. I extend to his brother Noel, who I know so well, and all Tony's family and friends my deepest sympathies.

http://www.herald.ie/opinion/a-politician-who-made-an-undoubted-difference-1594126.html

For the record, it is widely perceived by those in the know in the constituency that Ahern did everything within his power to sideline and stymie Gregory at every angle, to the cost of constituents - hence Gregory wasn't even called when independent TDs were required to make up recent governments, was never supported for Lord Mayor when on DCC council etc. Tenants of DCC will tell you Gregory would drop around and actively work to advance the most deprived inner city areas, yet Ahern never got involved - except that is when there was going to be a media photocall, such as for the since-collapsed McNamara PPP.

Agree with pretty much everything that the OP said - except crediting Des O'Malley or Margaret Thatcher for the Peace Process; Thatcher prolonged that war, and is responsible for war crimes.

Back on topic - to sum up - the Ahern administration was the worst government that this country ever had; he blew the boom, creating the horrendous conditions we suffer now - and lambasted and bullied those of us that were pointing this out as it was happening.

Bertie for the Arás? More like Bertie for the 'Joy :mad:

O Malley and Harney were the first in FF to change the mentality on Northern Ireland from Rabid Nationalists, to the concensus position.

Thatcher was part of the Anglo Irish Agreement in 1985. This was a huge climdown on her part.

Just for the record !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭Steviemak

A few months ago Claire Byrne interviewed him on Newstalk and one was the questions she asked was - 'How do you occupy your time now that you are no longer Taoiseach?'

I mean we are still paying the man over a €100K a year to be a TD that he obviously has zero commitment to judging by his Dail appearances!!

He will go down in history as the worst Taoiseach the country ever had.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,797 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

jmayo wrote: »
    To answer post title ...
    That fu**** has been pis**ng me off since the 1980s.
    Anyone that was one of charlie's right hand hand men had to have been of the same ilk and of course it has come to pass.

bertie had only one thing on his mind - getting relected no matter what.
    To anyone with half a brain it was obvious (from way back) that he was the luckiest and most wasteful leader this country has ever had.
    It is a fact that is only now dawning on a lot of the people who were lauding him a few years ago.
    There are still a few village eejits spouting that he should come back to lead us out of this mess :rolleyes:
    He arrived at an opportune time, took credit for others' hard work and then proceeded to blow the largese of the cetlic tiger, and even worse the budgets for years to come.

His legacy is the creation of an overstaffed overpaid public service, a wasteful, dangerously incompetent health service, a pampered arrogant political elite, a public service and politcal establishment devoid of any responsiblity and a social partnership system stacked in favour of certain unionised employees that leaves thousands of workers with actually no said in the way the country is governed.

And to anyone that says he brough peace to this island ... ever heard of Hume, Mallon, Admas, McGuinness, Blair, Reynolds, Tremble, Spring, etc etc.

that is all true, but i do give the man credit for going to the north to continue the peace process negotiations just hours after his mother had been buried. as you say he didn't single-handedly bring peace to the north, but despite his many flaws, he does deserve some acknowledgement for his work on the north. I think Cowen with his short fuse and bluntness would not have been as effective as Ahern was in those final stages of the negotiations.