Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does Bertie Piss You Off ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Zynks

gandalf wrote: »
    Well the latest story in the sindo won't win him any more fans. What I think of the man would get me banned from here if I expressed it fully.

Here's that story link. I can already hear your blood boiling reading it....

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/ahern-misses-85pc-of-dail-votes-since-leaving-office-1727899.html

The ungrateful guest at a fancy dinner party that says "I ate, I drank, what the fcuk am I doing here" comes to mind.

His plan is probably just to stay out of jail so he can enjoy his fat pension and the money that is "not in the bank".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭monellia

I have to say I'd rather have Charlie Haughey run the country than Bertie Ahern any day because at least he LOOKS like a gangster! What you see is what you get kind of a thing. I can't help but feel sick-ened every time I see Bertie's loveable smiley teddy bear face. If this was the UK that fecker would be locked up.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,291 ✭✭✭Ardent

I always found it mind-boggling in the build-up to the last election that certain sections on here thought of him as a charismatic man...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I see John Gormless of Greena Fail is now endorsing Ahern for Mayor of Dublin.

The man is a political lemming :)

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2009/0506/breaking48.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

monellia wrote: »
    I can't help but feel sick-ened every time I see Bertie's loveable smiley teddy bear face. If this was the UK that fecker would be locked up.

bertie ahern frightens me ,he keeps reminding me of this fellow:(

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Donegalfella my estimation of your thinking has gone down drastically, since you seem to to be attributing ideals to a man that had none bar "how do I make sure I get relected" and "how do I make sure me party gets reelected".
    Remember how he ran his constituency. It was Bertie No.1 and screw the rest it wasn't spread the votes equally.

He wasn't a socialist, becuase if he was he would have got that bint harney out of health and tried to actually do something with it bar offer opportunities to rich developers to offset their tax liabilities.
    He wouldn't have allowed developers create housing estates with no amentities in the ar**hole of nowhere.
    To me Ahern stands for nothing, but looking after himself and his cronies.
    He admitted as much when he stated he put people on boards because they were his drinking buddies or the one he was shagging.
    It had nothign to do with ability or the public social good.

I am afraid you are seeing reds everywhere, even in places they most definetly do not exist.
    If you want examples of socialist politicans think of Joe Higgins, Tony Gregory.
    Even if you don't agree with them they actually had/have principles and ideals.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

I don't think I'm able to express the level of hate I feel for the man in words.

I hate him more than anyone else for what he has done to this country. He is sick and I'm not surprised that he has a poor voting record in the dail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭unwyse

i said it before and i'll say it again, this crook should be arrested and charged with TREASON,he's done more damage to this country than most people will ever know and even now he's planning to hang around and bleed more money from the system he's already raped,people wake up, and help to rid irish politics of ALL the crooks and gangsters who inhabit this current dail.:(

• Registered Users Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I met him once, have to say he had an impressively strong hand shake for a man who liked to wear a lot of make up.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

To the orignal question: yes.
    To donegalfella: what steps would you have had Ahern take, when he first came to power, in order to create a system of governance you'd be happy with? Or do you believe in government at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

ascanbe wrote: »
    To donegalfella: what steps would you have had Ahern take, when he first came to power, in order to create a system of governance you'd be happy with? Or do you believe in government at all?

lol read any of his post history and you'll get the answer fairly quick.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

always did always will, he should be done for treason, its bad enough what he done to this country but the appointment of clown cowen as his successor ????

• Registered Users Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Theres plenty of people to blame

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Hate the smarmy Bass drinking clown.

• Registered Users Posts: 929 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

That same phony"man of the people" rubbish that Bush in the USA sold the populace. Would you like somebody as Taoiseach/President whom you would like to go for a beer with, or somebody who can actually do the job?:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Hate the smarmy Bass drinking clown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

I always said he was blessed with a gormless face. It's not for nothing that CJH said he was the most devious and cunning of them all. He was a master of saying a lot but not saying anything - it's not everyone who can contradict what they've just said about three times in the one sentence.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

If you ideally would have no government at all, then i guess you're an anarchist; the libertarian qualifier is unneccesary.
    Your compromised vision would soon result in a police state run by and for the sole benifit of a tiny elite.
    Basically what you're saying is you'd be happy to live under a tribal warlord or a nazi/communist style dictatorship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

kippy wrote: »
    I would have to agree almost 100% with that. Although the majority of the population are just as much to blame for voting him and his party in multiple times.

It's the method that's to blame. When the people in Kerry can vote in the likes Jackie Healy Ray (because it suits them) leading to FF gaining govt. and leaving the rest of the country with the shit sandwich.

Same goes for how Bertie was elected. I'd like the system whereby people are voting for politicians because they say they'll build them a community centre or they'll get speed ramps put down etc. gone too but there's more to it than just sacking the blame on whomever it is that votes for FF.

ascanbe wrote: »

Irish governments essentially just exist now to facilitate private companies do their business as they see fit.

And yeah, Bertie pisses me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭*shadow*

I hate Bertie....didn't do one single thing when he was in power that I should thank him for....:mad:

*shadow* wrote: »
    I hate Bertie....didn't do one single thing when he was in power that I should thank him for....:mad:

But I'm sure he's done a lot for the people of Drumcondra

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

Apparently, Bertie is in The Sun explaining why our economy going into freefall is, in fact, absolutely nothing to do with him. Utterly shameless.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Mahon is coming out in two and a half months- That'll kill any vestiges of any public career he had in mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 roskey

I like the guy! If i was in his position id do everything he did, scams, backhanders the lot! someday :p