Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

20 rep squat challenge

• 05-05-2009 8:28am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭

Welcome to my first log!

Right well I've pretty much been doing Starting Strength of the last 8 months and have reached the same peaks in my lifts each time. To be honest I should have eaten more if I wanted to get past those peaks.

On to the now, the rugby season is over and for the preseason I wish to increase my size and weight and increase my squat (not sure what weight to aim for) and to hit 100kg power clean by the end of the summer. However for 6 weeks I am going to try the 20 rep squat routine outlined in http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/irontamer5.htm and see if it increases my size at all. I have exam coming up but I'm sure I can fit it in. I plan on doing as little cardio as possible.

My stats are:
    Sex: Male
    Rugby Position: 7
    Weight: 88kg
    Height: 6ft
    Measurements to come....

Lifts:
    Squat: 127.5kg x 5
    Bench: 87.5kg x 5
    Deadlift: 147.5kg x 5
    Power Clean: 80kg x 3
    Overhead Press: 57.5kg x 5

1 rep maxes are will be worked out this weekend at the club.

Diet wise I will be drinking 500mls of milk four times a day with 5 or 6 meals (generally small with one dinner). I'll post a full one up some other time.

I have some old (last September) pictures and measurements up as well as all my workouts on http://workout.bodybuilding.com/Finlay2/ .I'll put up some new ones asap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

This'll be fun dude!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Beau

Thanks FunkZ! Yeh I want to try something completely different to what I've done before.

Ok here is what I've done so far. I've started on the 1st of April and my last workout was the 24th of April. I took a break for a week due to a 7 a side tournament and lots of beer with the last week of college. I'll pick it up again tomorrow and leave it until next Monday with my fitness and streght assessment coming up on Saturday.

1st of April
    # Exercise Name
    1 Barbell Full Squat 1 x 77.5kg x 20
    2 Bent-Arm Barbell Pullover] 1 x 20kg x20
    3 Romanian Deadlift 1 x 60kg x 15
    4 Barbell Bench Press - Medium Grip 3 x 55kg x 10
    5 Bent-Arm Barbell Pullover 1 x 20kg x 20
    6 Bent Over Barbell Row 1 x 37.5kg x 15 1 x 37.5 x 14 1 x 37.5 x 12
    7 Standing Military Press 3 x 30kg x 12

24th of April
    Barbell Full Squat 1 x 87.5kg x 20
    2 Bent-Arm Barbell Pullover 1 x 20kg x 20
    3 Romanian Deadlift 1 x 170kg x 15
    4 Barbell Bench Press - Medium Grip 3 x 65kg x 10
    5 Bent-Arm Barbell Pullover 1 x 20kg x 20
    6 Bent Over Barbell Row 3 x 42.5 x 15
    7 Standing Military Press 3 x 40kg x 12

Starting off was very strange, even now no matter what weight I'm lifting in my head I start worrying after 5 reps! Also the article never mentioned where to start with the other exercises so I wasn't sure if I was starting off to heavy or to light.

The squats were easy and to be honest still are, I'm just breathing a lot heavier after about 10 reps and its a battle with my brain more than anything. My aim is to hit what I was lifting at 5 reps, well at least make it to 120kg. One problem tough hat has been pointed out to me is that I butt wink at the bottom. I'm almost positive this has to do with the RDL and my hams beeing very stiff. I'll video myself and see what you guys think and how I can go about fixing it.

The other lifts are fine and I think I got it about right on my starting weights. The bench and sometimes the overhead press can be a struggle at the last two reps or so. I love the RDL, it can be hard to walk for days after. I should look into my warm down.

One problem with all the milk is the amount of farting I do, it can be very uncomfortable! (and smelly) I miss my regular deadlifts and power cleans, but I'll cope!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭bigstar

fair play man, i just started 20 rep squats yesterday. be interesting to see how you get on.

Measurements

Height: 1.83 m (6'0.0") Waist: 89.99 cm (35.43")
    Weight: 88.0 kg (193.6 lb) Thighs: 59.51 cm (23.43")
    Bodyfat: 11.6 % Calves: 38.00 cm (14.96")
    Chest: 99.01 cm (38.98") Forearms: 25.81 cm (10.16")
    Arms: 32.00 cm (12.6") Shoulders: 124.00 cm (48.82")
    Hips: 107.19 cm (42.2") Neck: 42.01 cm (16.54")

Squat 90kg x 20
    Pullover 20kg x 20
    RDL 72.5kg x 15
    Pullover 20kg x 20
    Bench nil (hurt my wrist in the 7's comp, couldn't do it)
    Barbell Row 3 x 45kg x 15
    Military Press 3 x 42.5kg x 12

Here's my squat. What do you guys think? Is my back rounding at the bottom? I don't think it is.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t3O3pCeoCYM

Here's my RDL. You can't really see it. I'll put it up again at a different angle.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LzD8cEaAKgw

Pictures:
    My front looks fair sh*t
    http://bodyspace.bodybuilding.com//img/user_images/growable/2009/05/06/14751352/progresspic/1izMJesN99EXntT5KlLW2YrXcHGSF1632.jpeg

http://bodyspace.bodybuilding.com//img/user_images/growable/2009/05/06/14751352/progresspic/1vqfbTODM8OUbuVkAIrqZbnTCAOEfM053.jpeg

http://bodyspace.bodybuilding.com//img/user_images/growable/2009/05/06/14751352/progresspic/1skxoZdwxVEoRKUVapXMveWxDVBaUN896.jpeg

Right,

the tests included long lump, high jump, bf test, #push ups, 3rm front squat, 1rm bench and 20m 50m sprints.

Front Squat 110kg x 3
    Bench 100kg x 1
    push ups 34 reps

Happy enough with these, I think I could've done another 10kg on the squat to be honest but that was my first time ever doing front squats so its ok. Happy enough with bench, thats a 2.5kg increase from last year! Yeh! result haha. I'll try improve on that this summer. I was shocked with the push ups, mid season I was banging out 48 reps, maybe it has something to do with fitness? I'll post up the rest of my results when I get them.

I got some feedback about my squat on another thread from Hanley and kevpants, here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=60139125&postcount=31 and http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=60133642&postcount=30

Squat 92.5kg x 20
    Pullover 20kg x 20
    RDL 75kg x 15
    Pullover 20kg x 20
    Bench nil (hurt my wrist in the 7's comp, couldn't do it)
    Barbell Row 3 x 45kg x 15
    Military Press 1 x 45kg x 12 2 x 45kg x 9

Squats were really tough! Got my depth sorted out. Its never that I feel like that if I go down I'm never going to come back up its just the mental torture and the fact that you are breathing so heavely. My goal is to reach 120kg but I'll be delighted when I hit 100kg!

Still couldn't do bech with my wrist it was shaking trying to support the weight. Stalled on the press.

Squat 95kg x 20
    RDL 75kg x 15
    Bench 3 x 67.5kg x 10
    Military Press 1 x 45kg x 12, 2 x 45kg x 8, 1 x 45kg x 3
    Pull Ups 1 x 2, 1 x 1, 1 x 3 (93kg assisted)

Squat was actually grand this time!

Managed to do the bench, wrist is getting better.

Disaster of a press, I'll have to drop down next time.

Tried pull ups at the end and I'm week. I'll give them a shot each work out. Looks like upper body will need some attention this summer!

I wasn't arsed doing the other exercises as I have to study!

Squat 97.5kg x 20
    Pullover 20kg x 20
    RDL 77.5kg x 15
    Pullover 20kg x 20
    Bench nil 3 x 70kg x 10
    Barbell Row 3 x 47.5kg x 15
    Military Press 1 x 40kg x 12 2 x 40kg x 8
    Push Ups1 x 5, 1 x 4, 1 x 3 93kgs

Haven't been to the gym in a week cause I've been busy with exams. Ah well.

Squats were extremely tough. I really wanted to give up but I didn't. Yeh!

Military Press has gone to sh*t even after dropping 5kgs, think it might be something to do with the length of the session and being wrecked.

Squat 100kg x 20
    Pullover 22.5kg x 20
    RDL 2 x 80 x 8
    Power Clean 1 x 90kg
    Pullover 22.5kg x 20
    Bench nil 2 x 72.5kg x 10, 1 x 72.5kg x 9
    Barbell Row 3 x 50kg x 15
    Military Press 1 x 35kg x 12 2 x 35kg x 9
    Pull Ups1 x 5, 1 x 4, 1 x 3 93kgs asssted
    Chin Ups 2 x 3

Squats were tough as usual, last few reps were a serious effort. The stiffness in my lower back and hips was rough during and after.

I've split the RDL's into 2 quick sets of 8 just to keep check on form.

I never mentioned it in other logs because I didn't pass much head of it but after every RDL I'd power clean the weight back up onto the rack for the craic. I lobbed 100kg onto the bar to see if I could do it. I couldn't. So I took of 10kgs and that was grand. I'll build that up each session.

Press is still shocking, no motivation for it.

Threw in Chin Ups here for the laugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

100 x 20 Wooohoo!

Epic milestone.

How did you manage to do all the rest of that work after a 20 rep*PR?

You threw in the chins for "a laugh". You're a sick man.

Woo yeh! Thanks. Glad to see someone is following this.

I just do what the program says in the link in the first post. I can handle the pullovers and rdl but with the rest I really couldn't be bothered and just want to leave. Its effecting my press as you can see. I threw in chins and pulls cause they have to be good for you but again my effort isn't that high by that stage.

Got a bit bored of the routine and didn't fancy the thought of doing 20 reps again as I was wrecked from not getting any sleep. So I thought for a bit of fun I'd try and do a day of starting strenght with higher weights than what I had finished that program with. Didn't manage to finish the last set of Squats, but that and the deadlift are personal bests! Yeh! Pity about the bench, would've been happy getting one set of five down.

Squat 2 x 135 x 5, 1 x 135 x 3
    Bench 1 x 92.5kg x 4, 1 x 90kg x 3, 1 x 90kg x 2
    Deadlift 1 x 150kg x 5

From last Tuesday, forgot to put it up.

Squat 102.5kg x 20
    Pullover 22.5kg x 20
    RDL 2 x 82.5 x 8
    Power Clean 1 x 92.5kg
    Pullover 22.5kg x 20
    Bench nil 3 x 75kg x 10,
    Barbell Row 3 x 50kg x 15
    Military Press 3 x 40kg x 8

Off inter railing now for a month! Woohoo!

I'm bound to lose weight and strength but the rest may do me some good. I currently weigh between 93 and 96kgs! Thats brilliant. It'll fall once pre season starts but thats the heaviest I have ever been in my life. I'll try and do some bodyweight exercises up while I'm away.

Back from inter railing. I'm going to move onto Bill Starr's Power Routine and try the 20 Rep Squat every 4 weeks or so from now on.

Monday
    Squat
    5x5 - 62.5kg, 77.5kg, 95kg, 112.5kg, 125kg
    Bench
    5x5 - 37.5kg, 47.5kg, 57.5kg, 67.5kg, 67.5kg, 77.5kg
    Power Clean
    5x5 - 37.5kg, 47.5kg, 57.5kg, 67.5kg, 75kg

I started back way to heavy. I was dying for days after!

[

• Registered Users Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Are you training in Maynooth still or back home now?

Yeh still in Maynooth. Failed 2 exams so I'll be here for another 2 months at least. You around?

I'm out the odd time, managed to get through the year unscathed! Will be out early next week to see Walsh, if you're around I'll give you a shout man.

Ok I have been doing work but didnt throw it up here and I couldnt be bothered now. Going to drop Bill Starr as I'm comfortable with it and go with what I know, Starting Strength. I'm just going to rotate between back and front squats.

My club has told me to do chins + shoulder press (superset), alt shoulder press and clap push ups at the beginning of every work out.

Alt DB Press
    3 x 8, 15kg

Clap Push Ups
    3 x 6

Front Squat
    3 x 5, 70kg

Overhead Press
    3 x 5, 45kg

Deadlift
    1x5, 130kg

Feckin hurt my groin last Friday so was only able to do upper body and a bit of rowing at the end.

Alt DB Press
    3 x 8, 17.5kg
    Clap Push Ups
    3 x 6
    Incline Press
    1x5x55, 1x5x60, 1x2x80, 1x5x70
    Superset with
    Chin Ups
    2x5, 2x3, 2x2

Rowing Machine
    9.40 minutes for 2000meters (200 hard 200 soft, 9mins best time)

Trying to get the leg over were ya:D

Alt DB Press
    1 x 8 20kg 2 x 8, 17.5kg (reps each arm)
    Clap Push Ups
    3 x 6
    Shoulder Press
    3x5x70
    Superset with
    Chin Ups
    2x5, 1x4

Back Squat
    3x5 100kg
    Bench Press
    3x5 70kg
    Power Clean
    5x3 70kg

Wanted to go easy on my groin so I decided to start on 100kgs for the squat, was very doable but was harder than I imagined. Thought I could just bang them out. Could it be to do with all the shoulder work beforehand effecting my ability to hold up the weight on my body? Everything else was handy.

Chin Ups
    3x4
    Supaset with
    Shoulder Press
    3x5 65kg

Alt DB Press
    3 x 8(eh), 17.5kg
    Clap Push Ups
    3 x 6
    Front Squat
    3 x 5, 72.5kg
    Overhead Press
    3 x 5, 47.5kg
    Deadlift
    1x5, 132.5kg[/QUOTE]

Beau wrote: »
    Chin Ups
    2x5, 1x3
    Clap Push Ups
    3x6
    Calf RaisesToes pointing centre, out and in
    1x25x40kg
    2x30x35kg

Back Squat
    3x5 102.5kg
    Bench Press
    3x5 72.5kg
    Power Clean
    5x3 72.5kg

The session was enjoyable. Just rececked my form in the hole of the squat, think I was rounding again at the bottom in previous workouts. Added calf raises for growth in that area (read it Bill Satrrs The Strongest Shall Survive), felt the burn!

Preseason has begun, finding it seriously tough. Going to add in some cycling and running at the weekends. I got 9 in the rugby specific bleep test.

Front Squat
    3 x 5, 75kg
    Overhead Press
    3 x 5, 50kg
    Deadlift
    1x5, 135kg

Loving the Front Squats. I was doing 110kg x 3 at the end of the summer. I'm tempted to ramp up the weight now but I think I should probably be patient. Maybe a 5kg increase next time will be ok.

Deadlifts were fine, just need to change from overhand to mixed grip now.

Overhead was spot on, easy now with all the extra shoulder stuff I'm doing.

Fitness is still not great, going to go for my own pre season session tomorrow morning.

Chin Ups
    2x6, 1x5
    Clap Push Ups
    3x6
    Calf RaisesToes pointing centre, out and in
    3x30x40kg

Back Squat
    3x5 105kg
    Bench Press
    3x5 75kg
    Power Clean
    5x3 75kg

Front Squat
    3 x 5, 77.5kg
    Overhead Press
    3 x 5, 52.5kg
    Deadlift
    1x5, 137.5kg

Clap Push Ups
    3 x 6

In training the other night we did 4 x 200m and 4 x 100m with 10 seconds rest, It was an absolute killer. We did 5meter shuttles for 8 mins, hit 8 rucking pads in a row interchanging from hitting and falling to cleaning over and finally a tackle bag drill.

Not going training this week because of exams so I decided to give the 20 rep squat thing a go again.

Squat
    1 x 105kg x 20

Bench

2 x 77.5kg x 10
    1 x 77.5kg x 5

Will advance to 110kg in the squat and 80kg bench for my normal routine next time.

Back Squat
    3x5 110kg
    Bench Press
    3x5 80kg
    Overhead Press
    3x5 55kg[/QUOTE]

Mistakenly did Overhead Press instead of a power clean.

Front Squat
    3 x 5, 80kg
    Overhead Press
    3 x 5, 57.5kg
    Deadlift
    1x5, 145kg

Clap Push Ups
    3 x 6

Chins
    1x5,1x4,1x3