Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What should i do?

Options
  • 05-05-2009 6:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭

Hi everyone, im an apprentice electrician 2 months in to my 4th year. I want to do something rather than work as a sparks when im finshed. I will be 22 when im out of my time. I would like to be a fas instrutor...but i served my time in maintenance and im SH*TE at conduit/trunking!!! So i think an instructor in one of the I.T colleges would be more suited. My question is how do you become an instructor? what courses do i need 2 do? Thanks folks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

I dont know if you have enough experience for being an instrutor, im sure they would be looking for someone with more experience outside. Also if you dont want to work as a sparks, is it really the best thing to be teaching? I know its more handy to be in a classroom but are you sure its what you really want.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

So i think an instructor in one of the I.T colleges would be more suited

The minimum educational requirement for this is a level 8 acreddited electrical engineering degree or you must be a qualified electrician with two department examinations which are:
    (1) "Advanced Electrotech" (written exam)
    (2) "Electrical Engineering Practice" either section A or section B (both written exams)

There is a course for these examinations is generally run for free in DIT Kevin Street, but it is not run every year.