Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hit a damn Bird at 200 KM/H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Bits_n_Bobs

Your dead right but we are the only ones who are allowed to do that speed legally when conditions and the situation warrants it. I'd feel safer sitting in a patrol car with a trained driver at 200km/h on a dual carraigeway than i would doing 80 on a regional road with some of my buddys.
    Thats what i was saying about driver training in Germany. Thats why its safer to drive there than it is here (from experience of driving in both countries)

Yesterday was trundling out of town on the N11 on the inside lane at the legal speed limit. Car comes zipping up on the outside lane, easily doing 90kmph (60kmph speed limit), lights go red, he has PLENTY of time to break but chooses to go straight through them instead. Naturally it was an unmarked police car, no siren going no flashing lights etc...not the first time I have seen one of these morons driving with more ego driven irresponsible behavior than your typical joy rider.

Naturally 300 yards up the road there are his pals shooting fish in a barrel with their hairdryers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I've driven on the autobahn a good bit and it was always a pleasure, only marred by the fact that I was driving crap rental cars with weedy engines :)

My first roadkill was a rabbit I hit at 60mph on a motorbike a few years back. Thing is, the bike didn't hit him, my right leg did :eek: That hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I once hit a pheasant or something similar. There was little left afterwards to make a proper conclusion.

I was heading into Foxford from Ballina in Mayo. Its a long road for those who know it.

Yoke walks out from the other side of the road and safely crosses the other lane. The focus in front of me was strangely oblivious to this beast. The thing walks straight into the back wheel of the focus which was probably going around 60mph.

It spun the bird thing around in the air and knocked a few feathers off it. It spun back onto its feet facing in the direction of the car that hit it, probably wondering "What the fvck was that?"

It then turns around towards me in a Ford Transit doing 60mph. I hit the thing at around 60mph straight in the middle of the bumper/grille. There was no escape. The beast barely got the image from its eyes to its brain by the time I ran into it.

It literally exploded spraying the windscreen and front of van with blood and guts.

It was a rather comical moment really. I had to stop in the middle of road with everybody staring at my van whilst they all passed rubber necking.

Imagine what they thought I hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Hagar wrote: »
    I'm not at all worried about the OP doing 200kph on an Autobahn, it's the badgers whizzing about at 70mph that scare me. ;)

ROLF again! lol:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭Johnboy Mac

........But the M7 doesn't go to Enfield :pac: ;)

Oh, silly me I ment the M4. The PC brigade threads had me nodding of to sleep, understandable I'm sure.

By the way the M7 is also good for 200kph+ but it seems now only late at night as traffic tends to heavy most other times.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I have a question, if your driving on a foggy-ish night and outta just bad luck you take a long bend and hit a black cow at 45mph who would be held responsible? lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

I believe Germany have recently brought in new regulations where you can get points on your licence for driving in an outer lane when the inner lane is free to drive in.
    This would be a great lesson for people here to learn, it drives me nuts when people toddle along at 100kph in the centre lane of three lane carriageways here
    They have this in Holland also. Also drives me nuts when people won't get out of the over taking lanes while driving slow, and then they give you dirty looks or speed up when they notice you moving up allong side in the normal lane.

Good thread, more for the people giving out before knowing your location. Good to know a wind screen can take some abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 moneymouth77

The German rule has actually caused loads of trouble, people are just wising up to the law and when it applies is a little contentious...

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Hagar wrote: »
    I'm not at all worried about the OP doing 200kph on an Autobahn, it's the badgers whizzing about at 70mph that scare me. ;)

They're always business badgers too!
    badger.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Berty wrote: »
    I once hit a peasant or something similar. There was little left afterwards to make a proper conclusion.
    FYP, m'lud! :D

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Seems an appropriate thread for this gem of advice:

If you are faced with a large 4-legged beast in your path, and you cannot avoid it or brake in time, the advice is to get off the brakes before impact, and floor the throttle instead.

Rationale: Hit it while braking - the front of the car will be down and the beast will travel over the bonnet and impact/enter the passenget space through the windscreen, with possibly horrendous injuries to occupant(s).

Hit it with the throttle open - the front of the car will be raised, with consequently less likelihood of the above scenario ensuing. Told to me years ago by a mate who's a Garda and had done the advanced driving course.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

esel wrote: »

If you are faced with a large 4-legged beast in your path, and you cannot avoid it or brake in time, the advice is to get off the brakes before impact, and floor the throttle instead.

Rationale: Hit it while braking - the front of the car will be down and the beast will travel over the bonnet and impact/enter the passenget space through the windscreen, with possibly horrendous injuries to occupant(s).

Hit it with the throttle open - the front of the car will be raised, with consequently less likelihood of the above scenario ensuing. Told to me years ago by a mate who's a Garda and had done the advanced driving course.

What an apt avatar you have there esel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

This is the only motors forum i know of with a pc bregade. :eek:

Im sorry the world does not end when someone breaks 160kph

esel wrote: »

Ohhh... So that's why Dr. Dre had these fitted to his car?!

top-50-famous-cars-dr-dre.jpg

if you're about to hit a deer, hit the hydraulics and you'll be grand..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭stratos

I am a bit surprised here 200kmh is only 120 mph.
    surley most people here have stretched their legs on an empty motorway at night or early morning. excellent rush. I'm told :rolleyes:.

stratos wrote: »
    I am a bit surprised here 200kmh is only 120 mph.
    surley most people here have stretched their legs on an empty motorway at night or early morning. excellent rush. I'm told :rolleyes:.

Ya, only if you can. Crappy Golf stops around 109... So I'm told.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭stratos

109 mph works for me :D, so I,m told.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

PCPhoto wrote: »
    Let me be the first to eat humble pie and apologise (kinda)

Sorry .... I assumed that since you were posting on boards.ie that you were in Ireland ..... still 200km/hr is a dangerous speed to travel in a car (dont think any Irish road could handle it)

a) get a decent car that can handle 200km/h without feeling like its going to shake itseft apart

b) realise that Irish speed limits are not global, OP never said were he was from

c) get the fvck off your high horse, its guys like you that think once you're driving slowly you will never cause / be in an accident that cause most of the accidents on Irish roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

"Apparently" you can get an indicated 200kmph out of a Golf 1.9TDi 105BHP and still not be hitting terminal velocity the car's maximum speed.

AudiChris wrote: »
    "Apparently" you can get an indicated 200kmph out of a Golf 1.9TDi 105BHP and still not be hitting terminal velocity.

I should be investing in a Tdi Golf tomorrow. I'll let you know ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Also by debadging the golf you might have gotten a little more oommph out of it. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

"Apparently" you can get an indicated 200kmph out of a Golf 1.9TDi 105BHP and still not be hitting terminal velocity.

Isn't terminal velocity a term describing the max velocity an object can travel whilst free-falling through the sky?

Unless of couse Volkwagen coined the term to describe the top speed of their new Golf.

Berty wrote: »
    Also by debadging the golf you might have gotten a little more oommph out of it. :D

Like your 2.0 A4:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

If you add a GT badge to it you should see way past 200kmph! :D

KamiKazi wrote: »
    Isn't terminal velocity a term describing the max velocity an object can travel whilst free-falling through the sky?

Unless of couse Volkwagen coined the term to describe the top speed of their new Golf.

I'm using the term to illustrate that at 200kmph the Golf (possibly) still had enough power in reserve to overcome the air resistance and increase its speed. I couldn't think of a better way to put it.

I'd have to dig out my college engineering books to reference the full definition of terminal velocity from a fluid mechanics point-of-view. It's 10 years since I was in college so maybe I'm rusty on my physics terminology.
    I'm still good at English though, and can give you a very precise definition of "pedantic".

Edit: Actually, thinking about it, I think "terminal velocity" is an apt description in this instance.
    In your freefall example, you're referring to the fact that there comes a point where the force of wind resistance and the force of gravity (an accelerative force) are equal and therefore you stop accelerating downwards.
    In my example, I'm referring to the fact that there will come a point where the ability of the car to accelerate will become equal to the wind resistance the car experiences and will be unable to accelerate further. Of course you also have to figure in rolling resistance etc., but if you want to get to that level of detail you should probably be in the physics forum.

I meant maximum speed rather than terminal velocity. Apologies for any inconvenience caused by the confusion suffered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

craichoe, you got lucky! Humans are heavier than birds. And less predictable..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

rocknchef wrote: »
    cant believe after 69 replies nobody has asked how was the bird did it survive:D lets all have a moments reflection for the bird:eek:

Was it a nice looking bird?

But on topic.
    Once had the pleasure to receive a mattress on my windscreen while doing 120 km/h.
    I guess i was lucky it hit more the side of the windscreen than straight in the middle.
    Only damage: a slight dent in the door and my heart beating at 300 bpm

That was epic baiting OP:D

I can't believe anyone thought the bird might actually have survived, probably like the pheasant earlier, unrecognisable as anything but feathers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

6ix wrote: »
    Hit a duck at around 100 km/h last year. Was overtaking on an 'N' road, with no hard shoulder, as I was passing the car, a duck waddled from the hedge into my lane, I saw it about 1.5 seconds ahead of impact, but couldn't brake while overtaking and I'd no room to swerve avoid it (glad I didn't even consider it), so I just smashed the poor bugger with my bumper/lower grill. Plenty of feathers & a small crack.
    Big bill? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I hit a bird today myself but I was only doing 100kph and it hit my reg plate i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭T-Square

KamiKazi wrote: »

very few know the definition of terminal velocity, they just like the sound of it ;)

The term they actually mean to use is vmax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭T-Square

It's 10 years since I was in college so maybe I'm rusty on my physics terminology.

Were you doing an arts degree by any chance?:D

LOL, going along a country road with the brother yesterday, four of us in the car. I was sitting in the back. Next thing all I heard were the two lads in the fron shouting "bird!", as he slammed on the breaks, then all I heard was "rabbit!!" and he just scurried off into the bushes.

Ahh if only with it him, I'd have great pictures +dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

craichoe wrote: »
    TBH most cars are capable of that speed, I've been passed out by Golfs, Passats, Renaults, nothing really all that flashy.

Ooh I'm all curious now... too bad I live in Ireland!! :(:p

Bluetonic wrote: »
    Big bill? ;)

*groan* :D

T-Square wrote: »
    very few know the definition of terminal velocity, they just like the sound of it ;)

The term they actually mean to use is vmax
    T-Square wrote: »
    Were you doing an arts degree by any chance?:D

Just to get us back on topic, I'll edit my posts. :rolleyes:

*groan* :D

Just to get us back on topic, I'll edit my posts. :rolleyes:
    Double groan... yes please do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Was in Germany a few years ago.
    We stayed at an ex-worker on who's from Germany living in Stuggart.
    On the autobahn he was doing approx 240kph and it seemed safe enough.
    However I was very surprised by the condition of the road. Most of our dual carriageways were in far better condition.
    I asked him was there many crashes on it,,
    His reply? Not many ...but when there is..at that speed there's at least 5 other cars that get involved in it and you're talking multiple deaths.
    Makes an Irish crash look like a picnic..
    Needless to say I'll be keeping well away from all other cars going at the speed if possible.

Was in Germany a few years ago.
    We stayed at an ex-worker on who's from Germany living in Stuggart.
    On the autobahn he was doing approx 240kph and it seemed safe enough.
    However I was very surprised by the condition of the road. Most of our dual carriageways were in far better condition.
    I asked him was there many crashes on it,,
    His reply? Not many ...but when there is..at that speed there's at least 5 other cars that get involved in it and you're talking multiple deaths.
    Makes an Irish crash look like a picnic..
    Needless to say I'll be keeping well away from all other cars going at the speed if possible.

This is all true, but German drivers are generally safer at speed because they drive that fast all the time... Anyway, we're drifting off topic. How do you think a bird would look if hit at 240kph? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

This is all true, but German drivers are generally safer at speed because they drive that fast all the time... Anyway, we're drifting off topic. How do you think a bird would look if hit at 240kph? :P

Something like Mary Harney?

Ouch.

MARY-HARNEY.jpg
    "A speeding car did this to me..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Oh for heavens sake, shut up with the smugness everyone. The forum Boards.ie, why wouldn't people assume the poster was originally driving Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

WindSock wrote: »
    Oh for heavens sake, shut up with the smugness everyone. The forum Boards.ie, why wouldn't people assume the poster was originally driving Ireland?

Lol, forgive the cliche but when you assume you make an ass out of u and me.

Sorry but it had to be said :P

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Im not really sure what the purpose of the thread is? I know Motors is ripe with the PC brigade but IMO the OP is clearly just trying to stir ****e, otherwise he would have stated that he was driving in Germany on the autobahn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

faceman wrote: »
    Im not really sure what the purpose of the thread is? I know Motors is ripe with the PC brigade but IMO the OP is clearly just trying to stir ****e, otherwise he would have stated that he was driving in Germany on the autobahn.

I post on here quite regularly and i've always said i live in the NETHERLANDS, I could be driving anywhere .. what has the speed limit got to do with anything !!

There are LOTS of boards.ie users that don't live in Ireland.

People using the internet could be anywhere in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

I post on here quite regularly and i've always said i live in the NETHERLANDS, I could be driving anywhere .. what has the speed limit got to do with anything !!

There are LOTS of boards.ie users that don't live in Ireland.

People using the internet could be anywhere in the world.

So seriously, you're suggesting that you did not intentionally leave out your location in order to bait some response from people thinking that your speed was inappropriate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

We regularly go over the ton in Traffic, it's just part of the job, I've been driving cars at 200/250 and 300 kph before on emergency dashes down the M50 or M11/N11.

The road, the weather, the car. All perfect.

The crap we call the average driver in Ireland? That's the dangerous part. I can count on one hand the number of times we haven't had to brake to under 90 kph on a 120 kph stretch of the M50 because some thicko thinks he's more important than all the other road users. Especially the two gents in the big white car with flashing headlamps, flashing blue light bar and winglets/grille repeaters blaring their siren in yelp mode to get past his arrogant sh*t face.

Get the f**k off your high horses, people. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

I read in a book that a 147 tops out at 107. Or a bit faster if Im its going downhill...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

Driving to work today was pushing 200km/h

I do this drive every week was pushing along as normal... see a bird way high up and then he dive bombs down ...

Next thing .. WHOOOMP ... Feathers, Blood, and then could see the bird landing about 300 meters away in my rear view.

TBH I'm surprised the windscreen didnt sustain any damage ! thank god for the guy that invented toughened glass !

In hindsight I was lucky I didnt hit the brakes as he could have flown into the front grille or into the center of the Windscreen where its a bit weaker.

Anyways, it was a brown pants moment, anyone else have an experience like this ?

Only other experience i've heard of was my uncle hitting a deer at 60 mph and the Jeep was completely wrecked, got a nice bit of venison out of it though!

Fock me, them Germanian birds are tough.