Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep the blood in your head and your feet on the ground

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

lol what happened to 5/3/1?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Parsley wrote: »
    uuggghhh. getting my act together now. WS4SB III commencing tomorrow, and i'll resume eating food.

are we training today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

are ye too feckers in cork or limerick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

lol what happened to 5/3/1?

decided to go with westside! i said it there a short while back... better for powerlifting!

and i'm in cork... might do a small bit of running

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

ah ok, im seriously considering running smolov for bench again, its classic!

ok thought ye might have been in Limerick im going to head to UL....

are you going to make L run?

ah ok, im seriously considering running smolov for bench again, its classic!

I did it before but it didn't do much for me cos I didn't really do it right :pac:
    ok thought ye might have been in Limerick im going to head to UL....

are you going to make L run?

I've done it before!

so going running last night with fattie was a bad idea... i'm quite sick now!

Parsley wrote: »
    so going running last night with fattie was a bad idea... i'm quite sick now!

also fattie is faster than you.... that must suck..

i kicked your ****ing ass!

WS W1 Day ME Upper

Shoulder activation

Bench

20kg x30
    60kg x12
    70kg x8
    80kg x5
    90kg x3
    100kg x5

Incline db bench
    22kg bells x20
    22kg bells x18

Cable Row/Facepull 4x12 Superset
    rows, full stack
    facepulls, 16.25

DB shrugs
    28kg bells 3x15

some curls

Comments on yesterday... happy with the bench. have changed my setup a bit. the last couple reps at 100kg were slow, but they didn't stick at any point. rest was... grand.

WS week 1 DE Lower

OH squats + cleans warmup

Bulgarian Split Squats (no added ROM)

12kg bells 4x12

45 degree hypers
    10kg med ball, 3x12

Plate side bends
    20kg plate, 4x15

Uuuuuuuuuugggggghhhh. hungover. sweating like and absolute bastard, not feeling great at all. i should do some stretching to avoid crippling leg doms tomorrow but....

Also, my gym has nowhere to do box jumps... and vertical jumps just look silly. i'll just do power cleans instead...

RE Upper

Shoulder Activation

Incline DB Bench

warmups
    30kg bells, 4x12

Lat Pull Down/Facepulls superset 4x12
    lat pulldown 75kg
    facepulls 23.75kg

Lateral Raises
    8kg bells 4x12

DB shrugs/EZ curls superset 3x10
    Shrugs, 30kg bells
    Curls, bar +30kg

There was supposed to be forearm/grip work after that but mine were already in bits so that can **** off!

ME Lower

Warm up, lunges, stretches, foam rolling

Squats

60kg x10 (deeep)
    70kg x8 " "
    80kg x5 " "
    90kg x3
    100kg x3
    115kg x3
    130kg x4 PB by 1 rep

Barbell Split Squats
    60kg x8
    60kg x8
    60kg x8

45deg hypers
    +10kg med ball, 3x10

Ab Circuit thing

Squats were gooood. experimenting with different types of warmups and today's was great. everything felt nice and flexible, no balance or tightness issues, solid. happy.

ME Upper

Shoulder Activation

Bench

20kg x30
    60kg x10
    70kg x8
    80kg x5
    90kg x3
    100kg x3
    110kg x1.5... wtf, was looking for 3

Incline DB bench
    24kg bells x18

Cable Row/Facepull superset
    rows, full stack
    facepulls 21.25kg
    3x12

Shrugs
    34kg bells, 3x15

EZ Curls
    Bar +30kg 3x10

Blaming lack of target reps on the bench on not eating and sleeping right, only having a day rest after max squatting, and f*cking hating the bench in the mardyke.... will get em next week.

RE Lower

Warmups

Power Cleans

60kg x5
    70kg x3
    80kg x1
    80kg x1

Bulgarian split squats, added ROM
    14kg bells 4x10

Pullups
    BW 2x12

45deg hypers
    15kg plate, 3x12

Side bends
    20kg plate, 3x15 each side

Foam rolling

Cleans were grand.

Balance is a bit all over the shop on the split squats, must practice em...

Started into doing more foam rolling lately. tis good shtuff.

I'm too tired to go find my own log..

This Evening

Some Activation Stuff

Hang Cleans

60kg 3 x 5
    65kg x 5
    70kg 9 x 5

a few singles... i just couldn't get a 10th set everything refused to work

Pullups
    5 x 5
    all different grips

Hypers
    2 x 12

Plate Shrugs
    3 x 25

Floor Wipers
    3 x 20
    setted with floor presses with the bar i had in my hand for the wipers.

GTFO you lazy cunt!!!!!

RE Upper

Shoulder Activation

Slight Incline DB Press

20kg bells x15
    26kg bells x12
    34kg bells x10

Floor Presses
    20kg x10
    60kg x10
    80kg x5
    80kg x5
    80kg x5
    80kg x5

Pullups/Seated DB cleans superset
    bw x12, 12kg bells x10
    bw x10, 12kg bells x10

Tricep Pushdowns
    33.75kg x18
    33.75kg x15
    31.25kg x15

Extremely tired after that.

ME Lower

Warmups etc

OH Squats

Squats

warmups at-
    60kg, 70kg, 80kg, 90kg, 100kg

120kg x3

Split Squats
    60kg 3x10

Leg Press
    3x10 with whatever weight was on it... heavy enough

90deg Hypers
    one set of ten... the yoke in the rowing club is really painful to use[/b]

Straight Leg Situps
    w/ 25kg 3x15

Side Bends
    20kg 3x15

Have some videos from 2 weeks ago, checking technique. They've somehow copied over from the camera to the PC in slow motion tho... but the sound's in normal time. weird, but might be handy for spotting technique flaws!

turns out it's just windows media player acting the gowl, the vids play fine with other players. found some vids from my last smolov session a few months back, will throw them up too.

your knees are coming in when your squatting focus on keeping them facing out for the duration of the squat...

nice bench...elbows look nice and tucked

the OH squat.....id be inclined to widen the grip and get the bar back a bit more...but i cant over head squat so im not one to listen to on this :P

ME Upper

Shoulder Activation

Bench

20kg x20
    60kg x10
    70kg x8
    80kg x6
    90kg x6
    100kg x3
    110kg x1.5... again wtf

Assisstance work, blah

My ability to handle 110kg on the bench has gone nowhere since january. after gvt my reps went from 90x5 to 90x8 and 100x3 to 100x5. still haven't doubled 110 but i pissed up 115 the week before last. Gonna have a go at fixing my technique somehow...

think i'll switch the main Upper exercise to CGBP... teach me to tuck more, and work my tri's cos my lockout is ****.

DE Lower

Warmups

Power Cleans

60kg x3
    60kg x3
    60kg x3

Bulgarian Split Squats, added ROM
    14kg bells x10

Rack Pulls
    160kg x3
    170kg x3
    180kg x1

Good Mornings
    60kg x10
    60kg x10
    60kg x10

Straight Leg Situps
    15kg x15
    25kg x12
    25kg x12
    25kg x12

grand enough! plenty foam rolling and the like.

RE Upper

Shoulder activation (rushed)

CGBP

20kg x20
    60kg x10
    70kg x8
    80kg x8
    80kg x8
    80kg x8

Incline DB Press
    32kg bells x8
    20kg bells x12 (dropset)

Lat Pulldown/Facepull superset
    pulldowns 75kg x10
    facepulls 23.75kg x12
    x4

BW Dips
    x20
    x20
    x10-10

ME Lower

Warmup

Squats

20kg x20
    60kg x10
    80kg x6
    100kg x3
    120kg x3
    140kg x2 PB by 1 rep
    100kg x3

all beltless

Split Squats
    60kg x10
    60kg x10
    60kg x10

SL Plate situps
    15kg x20
    25kg x10
    25kg x10

Foam rolling, stretching and outta there.

Squats were all done beltless cos i left my belt at home! Felt solid though, good to train without the belt once in a while. Might've had a third rep if i'd had it but i'm happy to have doubled my previous belted PB with no belt.