Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Keep the blood in your head and your feet on the ground

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Squat - 127.5kg 5x7 - grand. slow n steady.

Bench - 80kg 3x6 then a creeper at 60kg. got to 7 reps on the 10-set.

Smolov W3 D3

Squat

20kg x5 (OH)
    40kg x5 (OH)
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg x5
    120kg x3
    135kg x5
    135kg x5
    135kg x5
    135kg x5
    135kg x5
    135kg x5
    135kg x5

All i did. was in a rush to get out and watch the inbetweeners.... might do some upper body tomorrow.... been seriously neglected during smolov

squat 142.5kg 10x3.... blehh

max testing later... predictions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Parsley wrote: »
    max testing later... predictions?

how did the last day feel

not too bad... slow but not overly hard.

Arah well that was ****e! Failed 170kg twice... odd enough. tho i got to the gym half an hour before it closed, had to really rush my warmups. the 170kg felt alright on my back, like i should've been able for it, but nothing fired properly on the way back up or something... pre workout was a blueberry muffin milkshake and a double whopper too. meh. tryin again tuesday.

took about 2 weeks off there... college is hard, just started 3rd year and have 2x4.5 hour labs a week... 9am starts every day etc... and band stuff. anyways. gotten myself organised and timetabled to get back into things now. and my new weightlifting club shall be commencing training tuesdays and thursdays. :)

well.. attempted to squat today after 2 weeks of nothing. knee pain prevented this. no idea where it came from but i'm gonna foam roll like a bastard and see how that sorts it...

The inaugural training session of UCC Weightlifting Club!

bout 10 lads showed up not including meself. Colin Buckley did some screening with everyone, OH squats etc, which everyone got on grand with. Did some teaching of the first pull, second pull, and catches and everyone did pretty damn well considering pretty much everyone is totally new to it. Very happy :D

then i did some OH presses and dips meself, and foam rolling.

another hour of training in the oly lifts yesterday. knee's still a bit off.

shoulder activation etc

bench

20kg x20
    60kg x10
    60kg x10
    70kg x7
    80kg x8
    90kg x5
    90kg x5
    90kg x5
    90kg x5

Cable Rows...
    high reps, upping the weight until the cable snapped when i got to almost the full stack... the lat pulldown attachment fell down and smacked me on the head and possibly concussed me.

BOR + tricep supersets
    Fat bar BORs (50kg + bar) for sets of twelve, with some JM presses, narrow neutral grip machine chest press and some OH tri extensions. maybe 4 sets of BORs, 3x10 JM press at 60kg... didn't keep track of the rest.

:edit: did some elbow flexor exercises to get some blood into the elbows before benching.... felt nice.

jesus, 10 days since i've even benched anything. might see a physio about my knee now at this stage.

gonna work the **** outta my bench while my knee sorts itself out, a trick i learned from training with L...

anyway, today

shoulder warmups etc

Bench

20kg x20
    60kg x11
    70kg x6
    80kg x6
    90kg x6
    90kg x4
    90kg x4
    50kg creeper set... tough enough.

BORs
    50kg x15
    50kg x15
    60kg x12
    60kg x12
    60kg x12

no energy for anything else cos all i've eaten today is a bowl of porridge. goals - get a big bench, get a massive barbell row... hook grip was used today for the first time. i lieks it. anyway, embarking on a training programme of HTFU for now.

so eh today i fixed my knee by squatting 100kg x10, 120kg x5 and 140kg x1, beltless in cons. my knee is now fine.

Today, in a rush

no warmups

OH Squats

20kg x10
    40kg x5

Squats
    60kg x10
    80kg x8
    100kg x5
    120kg x5
    120kg x9

BORs
    60kg x12
    60kg x12
    60kg x12 +5

Barbell curls (in the rack)
    20kg x10
    40kg 3x6

and a set of 10kg plate hammer curlzzz

nicely pumped.

BLLEEEUUURRGGHHH

Couple mins on the erg to loosen out

Deadlifts
    60kg
    80kg
    100kg
    120kg
    140kg x1
    160kg x1
    180kg x0
    180kg x0

Some curls, bent presses, DB presses....

meh. haven't deadlifted in like, FOREVER. also sleep deprived. and starving. undernourished. unmotivated. weak. crap.

gonna hit the gym every day for the next week just doing something to get back into a groove of sorts and remind my body i'm supposed to be strong...

and got a notion into my head to do doggcrapp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

olympic lifting fail...

my knee's been banjaxed! i'm getting back at it this week... oly lifting a doogcrapp WILL work. swear.

on reflection... i'm gonna go do WS4SB 3 again for bench/upper body anyway, that worked for me. incline bench for the main exercise this time. now need to sort something out for squats + deadliftz.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

olympic weightlifting fail...

Fail

Todaaaayyy

shoulder activation etc + some elbow flexion

Incline Bench
    - bout 30 degrees
    20kg x20
    40kg x12
    60kg x8
    70kg x8
    80kg x6
    85kg x6

Flat DB Press
    22kg bells x15
    32kg bells x8
    32kg bells x7 ... fecked up the last rep on balance

DB Rows
    32kg bells x15
    42kg bells x10

DC pec + shoulder stretches

that felt good. incline bench feels like a nice change. gonna stick with it, and flat DB benching, westside style for a while. Used a hook grip for the DB rows, were solid and controlled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

needs more log pressing..... :P

i need a log for that... :p

Today

Warmups

Squats

20kg x5 - OH
    40kg x5 - OH
    60kg x5 - OH - sweet.
    80kg x6
    100kg x5
    120kg x5
    140kg x3
    150kg x2 - PR, i suppose.

Stretching

EZ curlz

Bar +20kg x12
    Bar +30kg x8
    Bar +30kg x8 - strict as ****... serious pump.

a set of DB hammer curlz, outta there.

Decent squat i suppose, while i'm only getting back into it. technique was good, felt great. happy enough.

Training oly lifts today for an hour... did a quick bit of technique on the jerk, then worked up to 60kg x2 C&J, which is a PB cos i've never jerked weight before. weight was easy but technique needs work. did a small bit of snatch technique with the wooden discs, wasn't great pulling but the catching was solid.

Today

Shoulder warmup etc.

Incline Bench

20kg x20
    40kg x12
    60kg x8
    70kg x6
    80kg x5
    90kg x1
    90kg x2

Dips
    BW x15
    BW x14 +1
    BW x11 +4

Machine Row
    worked up to plate 70 4x8

Plate front raises + DB laterals
    a bitta that

ah grand. still a bit sore from saturday's bench for some reason... meh.

17 stitches in my left hand, looks like one-arm pressups and single arm deadlifts for a while.... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

front squats with arms out in front? If you could get hooks its possible you could do back work without your hand touching the bar but I'm not sure how effective or comfortable that would be.

ah, zombie squats. i hadn't thought of them! sound :D