Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United v FC Barcelona - Champions league Final

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

Don't care (just want the game to be a cracker)
    I think Xavi can win this game on his own if he plays really well.

He has 20 assists in la liga alone this season which is quite incredible.

Who is Fergie going to deploy to stop him dictating the game?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

How worried are you united fans at Fletcher missing this one? Will he be a big loss for this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,461 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Manchester United (Barcelona fan)
    Highsider wrote: »
    How worried are you united fans at Fletcher missing this one? Will he be a big loss for this one.

Not worried, but I'd prefer him to be there. He is a big loss, and we'll need Carrick and Giggs to step up their performances. Need a big game from Anderson too - he is gonna have to get around Xavi and deny him time and space. Above all, we need a high tempo to the midfield.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Anderson is made for a game like this. I expect big things from him after he missed out on a starting place last year. He'll want to show what he can do to the world tomorrow night. Park is the one that I would expect to fill in for Fletcher actually and I think he will be able to do a good job at it too. I expect Fergie to line them up like:

VDS

O'Shea
    Ferdinand
    Vidic
    Evra

Rooney
    Park
    Anderson
    Carrick
    Tevez

Ronaldo

Might look attack minded but I think the inclusions of Tevez and Rooney will be more for workrate rather than for their attacking capabilities. Ronnie will be up front on his own to stretch Barca when United have the ball. Personally though, I think United will score from a set piece with Vidic towering above everyone else for the winning goal.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

A 70 yard diagonal through ball from Anderson, in the 68th minute, controlled from head height by Berbatov to stop it dead on the ground, then a Zidane-like spin to round Valdes, before letting the momentum of the ball roll itself ever so gently over the line, would be nice.

I'll be interested to see how this works!

Here's hoping for a memorable(for the rigt reasons) and entertaining match on wed.

Rooney to score and hopefully that'll be enough.

lordgoat wrote: »
    I'll be interested to see how this works!

Here's hoping for a memorable(for the rigt reasons) and entertaining match on wed.

Rooney to score and hopefully that'll be enough.

He obviously controls the ball dead, then SPINS around valdes (thus moving the ball) and then lets the momentum of the ball take it over the line. Sheesh. Not difficult to understand:D:p

@Pornapster.

DIsagree with your line up. Park won't play CM, when have we seen him do that for United? personally, i think the team will be the same one that played arsenal away with Giggs coming in for Fletcher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭mcwhirter

I saw Barcelona slaughter malaga 6-0 this season, if they play that way it could potentially be a fantastic game, depends on tactics though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,731 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

VDS

O'Shea
    Rio
    Vidic
    Evra

Scholes
    Carrick

Park
    Tevez
    Rooney

Ronaldo

9 out of the 11 defiante starters there.

2 options

Anderson for Scholes /Tevez
    Giggs for Tevez / Scholes

Pros and Cons for each of these.

Boggles wrote: »

VDS

O'Shea
    Rio
    Vidic
    Evra

Scholes
    Carrick

Park
    Tevez
    Rooney

Ronaldo

2 options

Anderson for Scholes
    Giggs for Tevez

Anderson for Scholes is a certainty. No freaking way will Anderson be benched. there may have been a argument for it if Fletcher was available but he isn't so Anderson starts. Certainty. We will need our midfield to be quick and get in around Barcelona, especially Xavi and Iniesta. The first choice team you have there would be shocking at it - Scholes and Carrick just aren't quick enough. Anderson and Carrick will be two of, what I believe will be, our 3 midfielders.

Giggs will come in for Tevez in your selection too I think.

Fergie has played cautious containment and counter football in europe for a while now, he won't buy into the media hype and go balls to the all for the final. Opening up like that to Barcelona's midfield would be suicidal imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

VDS

O'Shea
    Rio
    Vidic
    Evra

Scholes
    Carrick

Park
    Tevez
    Rooney

Ronaldo

2 options

Anderson for Scholes
    Giggs for Tevez

I agree with your 9 our of 11, and disagree on the other two.

VDS

O'Shea
    Rio
    Vidic
    Evra

Anderson
    Carrick

Park
    Giggs
    Rooney

Ronaldo

I believe Andersons energy is needed in the center of the park. Scholes unfortuntly can not offer this kind of energy and Carrick never has. Carrick is better at reading the game and cutting out passes and runners rather than pressuring players.

If we play Tevez instead of Giggs regardless of Tevez energy he will still play further up the field from Giggs, which could leave us at bit exposed. Tevez may pressure the defenders but he won't pressure there midfield. Giggs will also keep possession better.

Winning or losing Scholes is better coming off the bench. If we are winning Scholes can come on a try control the pace of the game better than Anderson. If we are losing he will provide a more attacking threat, not in terms of scoring but in terms of supporting the attack.

Tevez is good to bring on if we are losing to add more attacking threat. Although I think Berbatov would get on the pitch ahead of him and Ronaldo moved out wide if we are losing with 20-30 minutes to go.

EDIT: Me and Mitch have agreed on this since from the start. We ain't ganging up on you Boggles.

Anderson for Scholes is a certainty.

No certainty with Ferguson Mitch, both players have been fantastic and terrible at times this season, considering we are missing our dogs of war in midfield and Scholes can still dictate with his passing, Ferguson might go for experience over youth.
    No freaking way will Anderson be benched. there may have been a argument for it if Fletcher was available but he isn't so Anderson starts. Certainty. We will need our midfield to be quick and get in around Barcelona, especially Xavi and Iniesta. The first choice team you have there would be shocking at it - Scholes and Carrick just aren't quick enough. Anderson and Carrick will be two of, what I believe will be, our 3 midfielders.

I think we will have basically 5 midfielders, Carrick and Scholes set about 10 yards from the United box in both games against Barca last season, not to forget it was a bit of magic from Scholes that won the tie.

The ability to launch balls to Ronaldo who will make powerful runs and cannot be underestimated as part of our defense / attack.

Carrick and Scholes can still do a job for me, Scholes knowing it could be his last CL final could play out of his skin.

EDIT: Me and Mitch have agreed on this since from the start. We ain't ganging up on you Boggles.

Bring it on ye pussies. :D

My team is the one who faced Barca twice last season by the way. (Couple of changes in defense aside).

Bring it on ye pussies. :D

My team is the one who faced Barca twice last season by the way. (Couple of changes in defense aside).

No its not from BBC for the second leg.

Second Leg: Van der Sar, Hargreaves, Ferdinand, Brown, Evra (Silvestre 90), Park, Scholes (Fletcher 76), Carrick, Nani (Giggs 76), Ronaldo, Tevez.

You going to bring Nani in because he played last year.:eek:

No its not from BBC for the second leg.

Second Leg: Van der Sar, Hargreaves, Ferdinand, Brown, Evra (Silvestre 90), Park, Scholes (Fletcher 76), Carrick, Nani (Giggs 76), Ronaldo, Tevez.

You going to bring Nani in because he played last year.:eek:

Jesus I must have mentaly blocked that out Alan :eek:. Forgot Rooney was missing.

In fairness Nani was playing better than Giggs at that stage last season.

To be completely Frank, I trust Scholes more than I trust Anderson.

If Scholes plays, Tevez will. If Anderson plays Giggs will.

Because Rooney was out - Ronnie played further forward with Tevez and Nani played on the wing. For the purposes of this dicussion, we played two forwards, two wingers and two central midfielders (carrick and scholes) in both matches, he is right. It is surprising to be honest (not Boggles being right) but i just don't remember us setting up so attackively in both games.

I still reckon Carrick and Sholes would be the wrong selection as a two man midfield. Maybe adding Anderson to that, making it a three man midfield. So, Scholes coming in for Giggs. Not sure on that one though. I think Scholes is less likely to lose the ball or try fancy flicks that go nowhere, but then I'd trust Giggs' positioning and tackling a lot more.

Yeah option C. Scholes, Carrick and Anderson.

Jesus I must have mentaly blocked that out Alan :eek:. Forgot Rooney was missing.

In fairness Nani was playing better than Giggs at that stage last season.

and I would say Anderson has been playing better than Scholes since Anderson has returned from injury.

That was kind of my point what happened last season and who we played can't really be used to base a team selection on a year later.

To be completely Frank, I trust Scholes more than I trust Anderson.

If Scholes plays, Tevez will. If Anderson plays Giggs will.

As you said both have merits. Even though we have agreed on 9 out of 11 starters, Fergie could still spring a surprise in the other two places. I think he surprised a lot of people last year going 4-4-2 against Chelsea.

I would just love to see

Ronaldo

Rooney
    Berbatov
    Tevez

Anderson
    Carrick

and I would say Anderson has been playing better than Scholes since Anderson has returned from injury.

That was kind of my point what happened last season and who we played can't really be used to base a team selection on a year later.

As you said both have merits. Even though we have agreed on 9 out of 11 starters, Fergie could still spring a surprise in the other two places. I think he surprised a lot of people last year going 4-4-2 against Chelsea.

442 against chelsea.....kinda but not really imo. Hargreaves was our right sided 'winger' in that game. When we lost the ball he tucked in too, so it wasn't a conventional 442 imo.

I would just love to see

Ronaldo

Rooney
    Berbatov
    Tevez

Anderson
    Carrick

That would both excite and terrify me.

I don't agree with my team, was trying to guess what Ferguson would do.

I think I got maybe 2 lineups right this season. :(

That would both excite and terrify me.

Yeah but imagine if it clicked. 5-4 in extra time. :D

I don't agree with my team, was trying to guess what Ferguson would do.

I think I got maybe 2 lineups right this season. :(

So what would be your starting 11 then?

I don't know how many I have gotten. Very few I would imagine.
    Yeah but imagine if it clicked. 5-4 in extra time. :D

Thats the exciting part. The terrifying part is that we lost 4-0.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭kida

Funny Feeling Berbatov could start, purely for his ability to retain possession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭PCros

kida wrote: »
    Funny Feeling Berbatov could start, purely for his ability to retain possession.

True. Hes reported to have said he doesn't want to take a penalty if it goes there after his one against Everton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Barcelona (United fan)
    Cake walk tbh, 6-0 after the first 20 mins... :pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Fenix

That was bound to be "leaked" sooner or later after the fuss over his Everton penalty.

I'd like to see Berba play tomorrow, hes one of those players that likes picking the ball up in midfield and holding it up / distributing it as the situation requires, but he very rarely gives the ball away and that's going to be massively important.

PCros wrote: »
    True. Hes reported to have said he doesn't want to take a penalty if it goes there after his one against Everton.

To be honest I would be more confident of him taking one because of that miss against Everton. He wouldn't attempt such a weak effort again.

Trying to pick penalty takers would be impossibel right now, because the last two pages have just shown a number of combinations that could be on the pitch at the start of the match, never mind who could be on it after 120 minutes.

Fenix wrote: »
    That was bound to be "leaked" sooner or later after the fuss over his Everton penalty.

I'd like to see Berba play tomorrow, hes one of those players that likes picking the ball up in midfield and holding it up / distributing it as the situation requires, but he very rarely gives the ball away and that's going to be massively important.

The problem for me with Berbatov playing is that you then have to trust Ronaldo on the wing IMO. I'm not sure if that trust is there.

Not if we went 442. Could have Ronaldo leading the line, Berbatov dropping and creating. Would mean shunting Rooney out to the wing, but he will play most of the game from there anyway.

Could go:

Park--Anderson--Carrick--Rooney
    Berbatov
    Ronaldo

Don't see it happening to be honest, but thats the only way I can see Berbatov starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

BRAZIL-BOY Anderson has promised an unforgettable celebration if he finally breaks his United scoring duck in Wednesday's Champions League final.

The South American midfielder - who is yet to score in open play in 73 competitive appearances for United - revealed he is planning to streak naked around the Stadio Olimpico in Rome if he finds the back of the net against Barcelona.

Anderson's only goals so far for the Reds have come in the penalty shoot-outs that led to Champions League victory over Chelsea last season and in the Carling Cup final against Spurs in March.

But after seeing fellow Brazilians Robinho and Elano light up Eastlands with some stunning strikes, the 21-year-old is desperate to get in on the act.

"Competition is quite tough," he said. "I will strip naked and run around the stadium if I score in the final.

"I have already scored two goals - but they were penalties.

"My aim is to help the team and I will do anything to help them. If I can score even better."

Anderson is in line to start against Barcelona with Darren Fletcher suspended after his controversial red card in the semi-final against Arsenal.

And the Brazilian international says winning the trophy for Fletcher will be a motivating factor.

"I'm very sad because every player wants to play in the final," said Anderson. "Especially the Champions League final. But every player has ups and downs and he had a bad moment. We are going to try to do our best to win the trophy for everybody and for him too."

Sir Alex Ferguson has described Anderson as the future of United in the tradition of Bryan Robson, Roy Keane and Paul Scholes. And it is Scholes who the former Porto star says he would be happy to emulate.

"He's top class," he said.

lol

Not if we went 442. Could have Ronaldo leading the line, Berbatov dropping and creating. Would mean shunting Rooney out to the wing, but he will play most of the game from there anyway.

Could go:

Park--Anderson--Carrick--Rooney
    Berbatov
    Ronaldo

Don't see it happening to be honest, but thats the only way I can see Berbatov starting.

LOL. Possibility all right. The only problem I have with the formation above is that it doesn't offer much flexibility. I mean if we need to move and have three in the middle then Park has to come inside. Which I don't think would work to well.

If we start 4-4-2. It has to have the ability to switch to 4-5-1(4-2-3-1).

Park----Anderson--Carrick--Giggs
    Rooney
    Ronaldo

So Rooney or Ronaldo can go out wide and Giggs shift inside. The problem we have is with Fletcher and Hargreaves unavailable we don't have anyone apart from Giggs who can start out wide and move inside like we did last year against Chelsea. I know most people will even question having Giggs outside in the above formation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

anderson running around naked?! yeah i dont wanna see that!

If it means he has just scored the winning goal in the CL final i'd freaking love to see it.

Would would it be a double booking? Shirt AND shorts...

Anderson scoring = I wanna see that. Plus I'm fairly confident the TV cameras will cut away from any nakedness so I'm will to take the risk.

Wonder though.

Taking your top off = Yellow Card

Taking your pants off = Red Card?????

Anderson scoring = I wanna see that. Plus I'm fairly confident the TV cameras will cut away from any nakedness so I'm will to take the risk.

Wonder though.

I bet it isn't in the rules....

not yet.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

not yet.....

...so anderson has a chance to cement his name in history twice....scoring the winning goal in a CL final, and then getting a new rule written into the game :p (like georgie best with the goal keeper rule)

I see that Gerrard will be cheering on United tomorrow,fair play to him

to bad some liverpool fans here arent like him ;)

Headshot wrote: »

i bet in reality he won't be hoping we win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

As a sign of gratitude for his support the club could give him a night with the premiership trophy.
    Though he is from Liverpool, maybe keep a guard on the door :D

Anywho so looking forward to tomorrow night. Last year was one of the best nights out I've had in ages and I couldn't talk for 2 days after. Sickened that my aul man is over in Manchester today 'till Saturday and he's a City fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Iniesta, Xavi and Messi - 3 world-class players that would make any team. Barca will have 60% possession minimum and if they can keep Ronaldo quiet, they will win.

Most "Neutrals" will be going for Barcelona in this. They really have captured the peoples imagination this year playing fantasy football week in, week out. Messi, already assured of being top-scorer, is unstoppable when on his game. If Barca play to their potential it could be a joy to behold.

Heres hoping for a cracking final and let the best team win.

Warper wrote: »
    Iniesta, Xavi and Messi - 3 world-class players that would make any team. Barca will have 60% possession minimum and if they can keep Ronaldo quiet, they will win.

United as proved this season are far more than a one player team mate, Keeping Ronaldo quiet will be an achievement, doesn't nail them on for the win though.

I'm sure Rooney or Tevez will take up the slack, even Berbs who on his day can take any defense apart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Manchester United (Neutral)
    This game fills me with both excitement and dread. I am not sure which outweighs the other yet though.

Someone described it the other day as a final with no under dog. Its probably a spot on summation.

Going out on a limb - Barca 4 - 2 Man Utd :)

it seems henry and iniesta are being rushed back for the final which you would expect but they may not be 100% . i rather them out of the game but suppose its better than nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

Wonder though.

Ye, dropping your shorts is a red card offence...and a sackable offence too, so it seems! Just ask Dave Rogers - now a former Dundalk player:

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/rogers-cries-foul-play-over-bum-rap-1750557.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

that can't be right.

plus, i can't think of one avid utd fan who would want pool to win in the exact same position. ;)

SlickRic wrote: »
    that can't be right.

plus, i can't think of one avid utd fan who would want pool to win in the exact same position. ;)

Yeha, but gerrard is a Everton fan, right?:p

gerrard_everton.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Yeha, but gerrard is a Everton fan, right?:p

gerrard_everton.jpg

touché :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Photoshop.