Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UCD Tunnels

• 07-05-2009 5:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

Before I begin my post i would like to stress that I donk give a frank what any of you high-horse benders have to say about the ins and outs of this.........

Any cunning foxes been in the tunnels of late?

I remember last year there were a few unsealed entrances but they got fixed during the chrstmas break of 07/08.

Anyone know of any openings? Its been on my to do list for a while and my time in UCD is coming to a close rapidly.

Yours etc,

• Registered Users Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Sadly no, would be a great place for an end of term session

• Registered Users Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭dyl10

On my to-do list also, any recent info would be welcome :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Well, I....
    Before I begin my post i would like to stress that I donk give a frank what any of you high-horse benders have to say about the ins and outs of this.........

Oh...nevermind...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

Tom65 wrote: »
    Well, I....

Oh...nevermind...

We'll have to assume he meant "rights and wrongs"

and is a douche...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

I think they've done a pretty good job sealing it. However, with all the construction for the second student centre & sports complex it's likely that the tunnels might be easier to get at. Just be careful if you're down there - there's hot steam pipes, dark corridors, trip hazards and if services find you there they will not be amused at all. Be careful.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

Been meaning to go down there for ages but never got round to it. Have a map here somewhere of the entrances etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

My horse got stuck

Yeah I didn't quite understand the start of that one either.

• Registered Users Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Tayto2000

Not really worth the effort tbh and they've been sealed up pretty tight for a while now as well... maybe you should just stick to flooding apartments ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 thedecline

Jev/N wrote: »
    Been meaning to go down there for ages but never got round to it. Have a map here somewhere of the entrances etc.
    any chance of a copy of that?
    I've been in UCD 6 years and i've never made it near the tunnels really

If you really must, there should be a thread here somewhere on boards with the tunnels mapped onto an attachment, it had the old entrances shown too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Ok, bunch of posts split off to here, if we could move this thread back towardsthe topic that'd be swell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

OP,the UCD forum probably isn't the best place to ask this. Nearly all the people on it are boring old farts who write page long rants any time someone asks about something fun.
    Grimes wrote: »
    But what was the point in making the point other than to add a sense of trouble to a perfectly valid thread. Insulting one poster in a thread isnt tolerated why should a poster who wishes to discuss a topic by insulting all of the users of the forum from the get go be treated any differently.

I also dont think its about presenting oneself as a rule abiding, perfect student. Its more about people on this forum actually being tolerant mature people who respect college propety and their fellow students right to study. Perhaps the soultion to this is a subforum "people who dont really want an education because they hit the age of 18 and are rebels who think its cool to flood apartments and have the money to fit the five figure repair bill in some fantasy world where they watch too much Friends & Skins on TV and think thats life ......... forum"

:) Lighten Up thereisalwaysone

This posts sums up whats wrong with the UCD forum. There's nothing wrong with having serious threads,but equally,there's nothing wrong with having threads discussing fun things (beach apartment party,snow riots,tunnels etc..) and it seems any time a thread is started about these sort of things,the usual boring old farts come along and start giving out. I guess that's why the OP decided to write that before his message,in the hopes that the thread wouldn't get filled up with page long rants from goody-two-shoes students.

Personally I love urban exploration and the tunnels, therefore I told him what I knew about the tunnels and added some safety guidelines for him. How's that being a goody two shoes?

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Zounds

Insults, always the best way to start requests.
    Leprachaun wrote: »
    .... There's nothing wrong with having serious threads,but equally,there's nothing wrong with having threads discussing fun things (beach apartment party,snow riots,tunnels etc..) and it seems any time a thread is started about these sort of things,the usual boring old farts come along and start giving out....

Yes fun things like property damage, violence and intimidation, trespassing...

Grimes wrote: »

That was some good archaeology there, I think you've unearthed some ancient drama too :)

Red Alert wrote: »
    Personally I love urban exploration and the tunnels, therefore I told him what I knew about the tunnels and added some safety guidelines for him. How's that being a goody two shoes?

I didn't mean everyone. :)

I'm just talking from experience about these sort of threads.
    Zounds wrote: »
    Yes fun things like property damage, violence and intimidation, trespassing...

Exactly. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

I think I cleared it up earlier. "ins and outs" means details. So whether the OP meant to or not, he asked "what's the story with the tunnels, I don't give a **** what you benders have to say about the tunnels."

The sheer confusion caused by this post justifies any banning that may have occured, and as someone who's been on the wrong end of the banning cane a couple times, I would support Raphael's modding 100%. He bans people for abuse, or insults, or ****-stirring, and most threads run along just fine without any incident...so... yeah...this is making me prepared for my exam.

OP,the UCD forum probably isn't the best place to ask this. Nearly all the people on it are boring old farts who write page long rants any time someone asks about something fun.

This posts sums up whats wrong with the UCD forum. There's nothing wrong with having serious threads,but equally,there's nothing wrong with having threads discussing fun things (beach apartment party,snow riots,tunnels etc..) and it seems any time a thread is started about these sort of things,the usual boring old farts come along and start giving out. I guess that's why the OP decided to write that before his message,in the hopes that the thread wouldn't get filled up with page long rants from goody-two-shoes students.

If only someone would start a forum somewhere where angry teenagers could express themselves free from the oppression of the old farts... oh wait. Guess you should have paid your hosting fees ;)

(BTW, a 1st post permaban on your last boards.ie incarnation is quite impressive, congrats!)

Tayto2000 wrote: »
    If only someone would start a forum somewhere where angry teenagers could express themselves free from the oppression of the old farts... oh wait. Guess you should have paid your hosting fees ;)

(BTW, a 1st post permaban on your last boards.ie incarnation is quite impressive, congrats!)

Harhar. I'm not angry,I just think people should be able to talk about whatever topics they wantv(within reason) without being given out to.

By the way,that was nearly 5 years ago,I was 15 at the time and had never used an internet forum before so you can hardly blame me.

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Zounds

Harhar. I'm not angry,I just think people should be able to talk about whatever topics they wantv(within reason) without being given out to.

By the way,that was nearly 5 years ago,I was 15 at the time and had never used an internet forum before so you can hardly blame me.

The issue isn't that people are being allowed talk about things. It's that some people think property damage and violence and fun and other think they should cop the **** on.

I'd be very surprised if some put up a thread about how much a fun a gig was based on a good atmosphere and a good performance (as opposed to...how many chairs they threw at the band) and got shouted down because the UCD Boardsies don't like to talk about fun things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭DaveyGem

I know of one entrance that is open regularly enough,

Its the one under theatre M (as marked on that map),

If ye enter the art block from the door under the Libro Tunnel walk about ten paces then turn left go along the lockers and ye ll see a door, thats yer entrance.

Sadly the only reason its ever open is when the cartetakers are in there working on pipes etc.

The entrance at the Water tower is meant to be easy enough to get through as well, however, students aren really meant to be in the water tower building, which would explain why its easy to get into, provided ye have a reason to be in the water tower.

Is there any truth in the rumour that if caught in the tunnels one is elibible for sever punishment, or is that just a load of b@llox..."its only a bleeding" tunnel

• Registered Users Posts: 462 ✭✭elgriff

passive wrote: »

The sheer confusion caused by this post justifies any banning that may have occured

Haha, what a lame argument!

I heard last night that the guy who flooded the apartment got evicted from res. Not really on topic but I just thought it might be of interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

elgriff wrote: »
    Haha, what a lame argument!
    That was tongue in cheek. See - its not so much that the old farts dont like having fun, its that some posters think others are muppets. Thats a term you should get used to, as its used a lot on boards. Someone is a muppet if they fail to "get" something the rest of the community does - like sarcasm. Or they might be a muppet if they use txt spk or too many smilies ;):p:D.

The OP is a muppet. When one of your first posts on a website starts off insulting the people of that site you tend to get banned, and rightly so.
    Raph's a good mod, though feel free to start a thread in feedback.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Crazy. About 3 weeks ago when I was on a break from the library I wandered around the place for a walk to clear my head. Low and behold I came across what appeared to be a semi-concealed entrance to a mine, but after seeing this thread it is obvious I saw an entrance to a oh yeah I'm joking

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭rg2007

oh man, every time someone posts something like this, looking for a bit of studenty too-much-time-on-our-hands fun, it leads to a massive argument and the thread gets locked, look at the thread about the pool party, that was a feckin disaster. lets just chill. people who want to know about the tunnels post, people who do not, stick to your own devices. i mean come on, its not like if someone wants to go into the tunnels, theyre going to to be ward away by someone calling them immature or whatever, it just leads to a completely unnessecary post war. i reckon this forum should be split into 2, one part for us people lookin for a bit of fun in college before we enter the real world ( i mean come on, wer young, its college, its time for craic!{granted some stuff does go a bit overboard, pool party for instance was a bit insane}) and then the other part for more serious topics, for the peeps who wanna talk about serious stuff (which will be everyone at some point).

we can all chillout then seperatly at least. no arguing.

please dont berate me with abuse about growing up (i dont want to, to be honest)

edit: actually the abuse is inevitable. proceed.

Oh my God there is actually nothing wrong with going down the tunnels or at least talking about the possibility of it. If you tried actually reading the thread you might get the gist that the actual problem was the OPs attitude.

IMO this thread is troll central and is a waste of valuable porn webspace

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭rg2007

i meant generally, it seems to happen every time something like this is posted(which is why the op said that). i dont wanna get involved anymore, was just my thoughts. i hate arguing/reading people arguing in this forum about stuff which obv isnt gonna stop(the arguing and crazy behavior), thats why i posted, were on a continuous loop. i wont make a difference, but chillax everyone.