Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway United

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭Pure Sound

Good Article in the City Tribune, He makes some good points, especially the point about when people talk about we and they, they being Galway Utd and We being Manchester Utd. I don't know how Irish people can do that, have an obsession with English teams and players to the point of naming kids after them yet hate the English. I wish the people of Galway would swap sky for a couple of months and buy a season ticket, even if you don't get to go to every match its not exactly a fortune. One trip to Man Utd would cost up to €500. Support your community and the team will get better as more funds will be available and the atmosphere will improve.

I lost count in the past few weeks of the number of people who came up to me and asked “are they mad?” and “what’s the point?” in relation to the group of devoted Galway United souls who have banded together to take over the day-to-day running of the club.
    Every season seems to be a battle against relegation, the faces on the pitch differ from year to year and as the club’s debt has grown, attendance figures have dropped. What’s the point indeed.
    The pattern to a Sunday when I was a youngster was always the same. Breakfast would be a couple of slices of Nana Kelly’s homemade brown bread, which had been collected from her the day before from the house overlooking the Prom in Salthill.
    The ‘Sunday best’ had been laid out the night before, straight after the weekly bath, and the ‘good’ shoes were checked for scuffs and polished to mirror-quality. We all piled into the beige Ford Escort and headed off from Newcastle for 11am Mass in St Patrick’s Church on Forster Street in the city centre, after which we made the short trip to Hidden Valley in Woodquay to Pa and Nana Parslow’s house.

The first stop was the sink for a glass of water – we were told you had to drink water to wash down Holy Communion before you could have anything else – and a slice of Pa’s porter cake was snaffled before I’d searched out Uncle Dave, who was just nine years my senior, for a game of Subbuteo.
    I think I used to get on his nerves to be honest, especially when a clumsily-placed knee would end the playing career of one of his players, but differences were put to side every second Sunday as four of us – my grandfather, father, Uncle Dave and myself – would head up the Dyke Road to watch the likes of ‘Chick’, ‘Ginger’, ‘Fido’, ‘Lal’, ‘Kempes’ and the late, great Miko Nolan do battle for Galway Rovers. I was hooked from the start, and have been ever since.
    Fast forward to today – stepping into the bedroom of my two daughters is like stepping into another dimension. Hairclips are scattered around the place like confetti, there is a doll buggy in one corner and an overflowing box of ‘dressing up clothes’ in another, with silver tiaras and a rainbow of princess dresses spilling out over the sides.
    In the midst of this princess paradise is a Galway United scarf and flag, and while they look out of place, there is no way our eldest child, Eabha (5) would have them anywhere but within easy reach in her room.
    Curious as to why Daddy had to leave just after dinner every Friday night to go to work, she asked a number of times to be brought to a Galway United match, and having gone once, she is now hooked herself.
    Just as I travelled to Terryland Park with my grandfather 30 years ago, Eabha accompanied me and Granddad Christy to a couple of games last season, making her the fourth generation in the family to support United. It is ‘our’ thing now, a little time between father and daughter, sharing an experience, forging a bond that will never be forgotten.
    That is the reason more than 100 United fans turned up to a public meeting in Terryland Park last Thursday night to plot the rescue and recovery of a club they hold dear to their heart – the passing down of a legacy.
    It has been a tumultuous few weeks for the club, but the hard work is only starting now. The Galway United Supporters’ Trust has finally been handed the day-to-day running of the club, and faces a mighty battle to try and win back the hearts and minds of the countless number of people who have fallen out of love with the club for one reason or another.
    It was not so long ago when the attendance at Terryland Park was in the thousands. Last season it was regularly in the hundreds. The arguments made by non-attendees are numerous – it’s cold up there, the standard is not great, they don’t win anything, there are not enough ‘locals’ in the squad.
    Galway United is referred to ‘they’ by the people who say ‘we’ when talking about Manchester United, Liverpool, Arsenal, Tottenham Hotspur, Chelsea. It is amazing that the lack of Galway players in any of these squads has escaped their collective attention; Galway United’s honours list from the last 25 years is exactly the same as that of Spurs, one main domestic cup and two League Cups; footage from the first Manchester derby of the season is being used as a cure for insomnia; and as for being cold, put on an extra layer of clothes!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Good Article in the City Tribune, He makes some good points, especially the point about when people talk about we and they, they being Galway Utd and We being Manchester Utd. I don't know how Irish people can do that, have an obsession with English teams and players to the point of naming kids after them yet hate the English. I wish the people of Galway would swap sky for a couple of months and buy a season ticket, even if you don't get to go to every match its not exactly a fortune. One trip to Man Utd would cost up to €500. Support your community and the team will get better as more funds will be available and the atmosphere will improve.
    Agreed, that's definitely a well-written article. Just with reference to some of your other points, just because someone names their son Steven, Frank or Wayne doesn't necessarily mean that they're naming them after the Premier League equivalent, it could just be a co-incidence and as for the cliché about hating the English I honestly rarely encounter genuine hatred. Plenty of banter (from both sides) but no hatred. Lastly a trip to a Premier League game won't cost you €500 unless you go for the lazy package option but then you deserve to get fleeced. Organising the hotel, flight and match ticket yourself isn't that difficult. I travel to Liverpool with a few mates about four times a year (in fact we're heading over this weekend for a game with their neighbours down the M62). For us it's almost more about getting away for a weekend and having a laugh. The football is almost secondary.

Now that I am back in Galway, I will make an effort to attend a game or two in Terryland but my issues with it before probably still apply.

Malice wrote: »
    Agreed, that's definitely a well-written article. Just with reference to some of your other points, just because someone names their son Steven, Frank or Wayne doesn't necessarily mean that they're naming them after the Premier League equivalent, it could just be a co-incidence and as for the cliché about hating the English I honestly rarely encounter genuine hatred. Plenty of banter (from both sides) but no hatred. Lastly a trip to a Premier League game won't cost you €500 unless you go for the lazy package option but then you deserve to get fleeced. Organising the hotel, flight and match ticket yourself isn't that difficult. I travel to Liverpool with a few mates about four times a year (in fact we're heading over this weekend for a game with their neighbours down the M62). For us it's almost more about getting away for a weekend and having a laugh. The football is almost secondary.

Now that I am back in Galway, I will make an effort to attend a game or two in Terryland but my issues with it before probably still apply.

On the name thing and the hatred of the English I was refering to specific people I have come across that with a few drinks in them would be shouting "Up the Ra" and on another occasion boast about there kid being name after "the best player in the world" who happens to be English. For some reason those English players are not English if they play for "Us" but are when they play for England.

Maybe you are willing to accept the coincidences that a guy who supports Man Utd has three kids called Wayne, Rio and Paul or a Liverpool fan who calls his three kids Jamie, Steven and Joe but I am not. I'm not bothered by this kind of attitude but I just find it strange and a bit hypocritical. Wouldn't it be great if someone called their child after a former Galway player like Jumbo :D

On the price thing for a ticket, a weekend away including a ticket for a match would easily cost €500 when you consider money spent on travel, food, accomodation and drinks out. For some clubs in London it would excede €500. I'm not trying to get at you for going to the matches, I did it once myself but I found that I had very little in common with the fans and my reason for being there was just because it was my dads team (he was brought up there). I just felt that it wasn't my team it was the people of the local areas team and that is how I think it should be. Galway Utd are our local team in the same way that Ireland is our Country regardless of how good or bad they are and we should be supporting them. It's done and accepted in the GAA so why not in Soccer.

In England they support the smaller teams, look at the attendence for a team like Luton or Wimbledon AFC in the Blue square premier league averaging gates of thousands. These teams would in my opinion be of a far lower standard then the airtricity league. Why can't Irish people do that, I am not saying not to support Liverpool for example, I just feel that there is plenty of room for both.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,900 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I agree with Malice, a PL match does not easily cost €500.

I have done two trips to Manchester and both of those trips combined wouldn't come to €500.

I wish Galway United the best though. If it wasn't for college, I'd make more of an effort on a Friday to get to Terryland.

On the name thing and the hatred of the English I was refering to specific people I have come across that with a few drinks in them would be shouting "Up the Ra" and on another occasion boast about there kid being name after "the best player in the world" who happens to be English. For some reason those English players are not English if they play for "Us" but are when they play for England.
    That's either muppetry or banter I'd say though rather than actual full-on hatred.
    Maybe you are willing to accept the coincidences that a guy who supports Man Utd has three kids called Wayne, Rio and Paul or a Liverpool fan who calls his three kids Jamie, Steven and Joe but I am not. I'm not bothered by this kind of attitude but I just find it strange and a bit hypocritical.
    Well there's a bit of a dividing line between national allegiances and a club on occasion which is probably how people justify it. A familiar sentiment around Liverpool is "We're not English, we're Scouse" and look at all the people who wear a Scottish club's jersey to Ireland matches for example.
    On the price thing for a ticket, a weekend away including a ticket for a match would easily cost €500 when you consider money spent on travel, food, accomodation and drinks out.
    I've already said it doesn't. Look, I'll itemise exactly how much the coming weekend is going to cost later when I'm at home. I guarantee you it's not going to cost €500.
    I found that I had very little in common with the fans and my reason for being there was just because it was my dads team (he was brought up there).
    Fair enough. When I'm in Anfield I have one vital thing in common with the locals - Liverpool FC :).
    I just felt that it wasn't my team it was the people of the local areas team and that is how I think it should be. Galway Utd are our local team in the same way that Ireland is our Country regardless of how good or bad they are and we should be supporting them. It's done and accepted in the GAA so why not in Soccer.
    Can't really argue with those sentiments, well said.
    In England they support the smaller teams, look at the attendence for a team like Luton or Wimbledon AFC in the Blue square premier league averaging gates of thousands. These teams would in my opinion be of a far lower standard then the airtricity league. Why can't Irish people do that, I am not saying not to support Liverpool for example, I just feel that there is plenty of room for both.
    You've picked two bad examples there attendance-wise. Luton were doing pretty okay until recent financial issues hit them very hard. As I recall they were hit with a 30 point penalty for entering administration which effectively condemned them to two relegations in two seasons so their fanbase might still be at Division 1 levels even if the team is in Division 3. A bit like Man City a few years ago.

As for AFC Wimbledon they're based in Milton Keynes which has a huge catchment area for them to draw their fans from and was one of the main reasons why they deserted their original London base.

That's either muppetry or banter I'd say though rather than actual full-on hatred.
    For the people I have in mind I would call it pure muppetry :D but I would say the same about all drunken "Up the Ra" heads. We have all met them and they are hypocrites
    I've already said it doesn't. Look, I'll itemise exactly how much the coming weekend is going to cost later when I'm at home. I guarantee you it's not going to cost €500.
    Theres no need to, I believe you :) The fact that you go regularily may be the contributing factor in this, when I went to see a certain club in North London it cost us a lot of money but when I think of it now I am calculating costs for both me and my father, it still is expensive though
    Fair enough. When I'm in Anfield I have one vital thing in common with the locals - Liverpool FC :).
    Don't get me wrong I really enjoyed the game but it didnt feel like it was my team, I didn't know the area, I didn't know the people and I had no memories of the place from when I was younger, to them I felt I was just a blow in paddy :pac: Hearing things like GET IN THERE in a strong London accent was not something that I was used to :D
    You've picked two bad examples there attendance-wise.
    I did pick the higher attended teams to be honest but the entire league has a far higher average attendance then the airtricity league Check Here

As for AFC Wimbledon they're based in Milton Keynes which has a huge catchment area for them to draw their fans from and was one of the main reasons why they deserted their original London base.
    You are mixing up MK dons and AFC Wimbledon , AFC Wimbledon were formed after the original Wimbledon FC moved to Milton Keynes who then renamed the team MK Dons, AFC Wimbledon are based in London so former Wimbledon FC fans are now likely to be following AFC Wimbledon

Well there's a bit of a dividing line between national allegiances and a club on occasion which is probably how people justify it. A familiar sentiment around Liverpool is "We're not English, we're Scouse" and look at all the people who wear a Scottish club's jersey to Ireland matches for example.

was one of the main reasons why they deserted their original London base.

You're deluded if you think the English hatred is banter.

Go into any pub when they play and listen to the Man Utd and Liverpool jersey wearing(who the irony is lost on) observers.

Sure it wasn't that long ago that a man was killed outside a pub somewhere in Leinster after a Man Utd/Liverpool match, pretty pathetic considering the lads were prob from that same town.

The Celtic thing is different in many ways.
    The jersey is pretty similar colour wise and at least bares the Shamrock.
    However I don't agree with people wearing it to Ireland games, or the higher moral ground Celtic fans take because they support ''a real Irish team''..... someone forgot to tell them they're Scottish and we have REAL Irish teams here.

''When I'm at Anfield i have one thing in common- Liverpool''

So is that more then you would have in common with your own towns club?

If everyone shared the view that you're only a football supporter if you follow one of the top 4 in England, Spain, Italy or France there would simply be no leagues at all.

You are mixing up MK dons and AFC Wimbledon , AFC Wimbledon were formed after the original Wimbledon FC moved to Milton Keynes who then renamed the team MK Dons, AFC Wimbledon are based in London so former Wimbledon FC fans are now likely to be following AFC Wimbledon
    :o Whoops, you're absolutely right. Sorry about that. I think the rest of my post is okay though.
    You're deluded if you think the English hatred is banter.

Go into any pub when they play and listen to the Man Utd and Liverpool jersey wearing(who the irony is lost on) observers.
    I think it's banter you don't, fair enough. I'm not going to argue the point as neither of us is going to convince the other :).
    Sure it wasn't that long ago that a man was killed outside a pub somewhere in Leinster after a Man Utd/Liverpool match, pretty pathetic considering the lads were prob from that same town.
    Scum are scum. If they weren't going to argue over Man Utd v Liverpool they'd argue over someone looking funny at them or their girlfriend or something.
    The Celtic thing is different in many ways.
    The jersey is pretty similar colour wise and at least bares the Shamrock.
    However I don't agree with people wearing it to Ireland games, or the higher moral ground Celtic fans take because they support ''a real Irish team''..... someone forgot to tell them they're Scottish and we have REAL Irish teams here.
    I can't argue with you on that one. Seeing Celtic jerseys at Irish games is a bugbear of mine.
    ''When I'm at Anfield i have one thing in common- Liverpool''

So is that more then you would have in common with your own towns club?
    I'm not sure what you're getting at because you know the answer as well as I do. Of course I'm going to have more in common surrounded by a few hundred fellow Galwegians :).
    If everyone shared the view that you're only a football supporter if you follow one of the top 4 in England, Spain, Italy or France there would simply be no leagues at all.
    I don't think I've said that in any of my posts. To me it's simple - if you support a football team then you're a football supporter. It doesn't matter where the team is from. As a result of holidays taken in the past I've got a passing interest in Hamrun Spartans from Malta and Maritimo from Madeira for example.

Slight difference between checking a teams results and paying into the franchise, my money goes to GUFC, yours to Liverpool, I've a passing interest in AC Milan for example but it's not to the deterrent of the game in the this country.

You didn't have to say that but it's quite clear to every man on the street that football fans here don't follow anyone out of the elite few in a particular league, at least not financially(i know the odd Leeds, Spurs fan but I only know of people who attend United and Liverpool games.

If everyone shared this view on football there just wouldn't be any other teams to make up the lower leagues in England or maintain any sort of leagues in ''lower standard'' countries.

The clubs are generally named after area's for a reason, to represent the people of that area, can more then 1% of the Liverpool and United fans have an idea of the enjoyment when they win a cup?.... after all once the TV is turned off your experience ends, your never really part of the celebrations, they play out in your head as you sit in your local pub/club/house.
    I think it's banter you don't, fair enough. I'm not going to argue the point as neither of us is going to convince the other

What's the definition of banter?.... I'd assume it's one man to the other.
    Irish man to an English man in a bar> down with the queen etc...

So how is a pub full of Irish lads cheering against England banter(In all my years I have never encountered an English person openly watching a game here, meaning wearing a jersey to show their nationality).... there's no banter about it, they by and large claim to hate England, 800 years and all that.

AFAIK with that murder last year, they weren't scum.
    Middled aged men who began arguing over two places they've been less then the amount of pints they had during the game.

You know what i found interesting lately, the Irish lad who was in that boy band on the X Factor just past, a lot of people were up in arms because he was wearing an England jersey one night.
    What's the difference between an England jersey and a Man Utd jersey?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

What's the difference between an England jersey and a Man Utd jersey?

Really?

The England shirt represents England the country.

A Man Utd shirt represents the club in Manchester that has a long tradition of playing Irish players as does Liverpool, Arsenal etc. I'm a big fan of Man Utd because my Dad was, and he was a fan because of George Best.

FatherTed wrote: »
    Really?

The England shirt represents England the country.

A Man Utd shirt represents the club in Manchester that has a long tradition of playing Irish players as does Liverpool, Arsenal etc. I'm a big fan of Man Utd because my Dad was, and he was a fan because of George Best.

Manchester>England.
    Man Utd have more English players then most other clubs.

Seriously if you can't see the flaw in the logic it's pretty sad. They're not called the ''blazing tornados'' playing out of Mancherster, they're named after the city and represent the area, the national team represents the whole area.... I think the connection between club football and national football was lost on yourself and many others in this country.

Want to know an interesting fact?..... Galway United have an even bigger tradition of playing Irish players, and even better GALWAY players.

No your Dad was a fan because they were one of the main clubs, and it suited you too.

What a coincidence that nobody picked a club with no success.

I love that ''they're an Irish club, they had Irish players'' the irony really is lost on ye.

I'll stop following Galways hurlers and footballers, just happens one or two of the ex-Kilkenny players had roots in Galway... that's the reason I'll follow them...honest :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭996tt

People support UK soccer clubs because they are worth watching. Going to watch Galway Utd play can be painfull stuff, their tactics over the years is the main reason that Galway people dont go to watch them play. They have always played "negative football".

I used to attend regularly, but I instead I now attend the majority of the Connaught rugby games, much more exciting and a better atmosphere, even in the pissing rain where there is no shelter

996tt wrote: »
    People support UK soccer clubs because they are worth watching. Going to watch Galway Utd play can be painfull stuff, their tactics over the years is the main reason that Galway people dont go to watch them play. They have always played "negative football".

I used to attend regularly, but I instead I now attend the majority of the Connaught rugby games, much more exciting and a better atmosphere, even in the pissing rain where there is no shelter

Your missing the point of football. It's about your area, not watching ''the best team''.... people don't attend not because of the ''tactics'' but because we are not successful.
    First sniff of silverware and there will be over 3,000 back up there.
    The same reason people only follow the top clubs in England

You think Connacht play exciting rugby?..... do you know why New Zealand are so successful?.

It's because they don't always kick and chase the ball using negative tactics like teams here do.

Don't lie, you attend for the same reason you attended GUFC games... because there's a crowd up there and a buzz at the minute, you'll be done when there's 500-600 again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭996tt

Your missing the point of football. It's about your area, not watching ''the best team''.... people don't attend not because of the ''tactics'' but because we are not successful.
    First sniff of silverware and there will be over 3,000 back up there.
    The same reason people only follow the top clubs in England

You think Connacht play exciting rugby?..... do you know why New Zealand are so successful?.

It's because they don't always kick and chase the ball using negative tactics like teams here do.

Don't lie, you attend for the same reason you attended GUFC games... because there's a crowd up there and a buzz at the minute, you'll be done when there's 500-600 again.

Reading over your replies on this thread you have serious anger issues towards other internet users, I cant find any reply from you where you have not attacked somebody in some way, take a break from the internet, go for a walk.

Great reply.... good lad!.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭ErnieBert

• Registered Users Posts: 12,163 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

People claim Stoke City play 'negative football' yet they pack their ground week in week out. Its just general apathy and Irish bandwagonism at its best. Ive supported Galway utd since i was 5, through thick and thin because they are my team, ive seen great games and absolutely terrible ones, but its my team and it means something to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭baldshin

Been following united on an off for about 15 years, and have been a season ticket holder for the last 3.
    NOTHING beats following the team week in week out. Yes, occassionally I have witnessed shocking displays of football, but on the other side of the coin I have seen some tremendous games.
    The only way quality will improve in Terryland is with regular, bigger attendances. In fact, if we had the money over the last 2-3 years to retain several players who moved on, we would easily have a league winning team.

Slight difference between checking a teams results and paying into the franchise, my money goes to GUFC, yours to Liverpool, I've a passing interest in AC Milan for example but it's not to the deterrent of the game in the this country.
    This will get you started on the definition of a franchise. McDonalds is a franchise, Starbucks is a franchise. Liverpool FC isn't.
    it's quite clear to every man on the street that football fans here don't follow anyone out of the elite few in a particular league, at least not financially(i know the odd Leeds, Spurs fan but I only know of people who attend United and Liverpool games.

Why the sweeping statement? Without having to think too hard about it I know people living in Galway who regularly travel to watch Birmingham City, Wolves, Aston Villa, Lech Poznan and Wisla Kraków. Now maybe that's unusual but I hope not :).
    The clubs are generally named after area's for a reason, to represent the people of that area, can more then 1% of the Liverpool and United fans have an idea of the enjoyment when they win a cup?.... after all once the TV is turned off your experience ends, your never really part of the celebrations, they play out in your head as you sit in your local pub/club/house.
    Again a sweeping statement. Do you really believe 99% of Livepool or Man Utd fans are barstoolers who don't really get what it means when the club wins a trophy? Do you realise how condescending that sounds? I don't think I could have enjoyed the Liverpool's Champions League campaign much more had I been born a Merseysider.
    What's the definition of banter?.... I'd assume it's one man to the other.
    Irish man to an English man in a bar> down with the queen etc...
    http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/banter defines it as "an exchange of light, playful, teasing remarks".
    So how is a pub full of Irish lads cheering against England banter(In all my years I have never encountered an English person openly watching a game here, meaning wearing a jersey to show their nationality).... there's no banter about it, they by and large claim to hate England, 800 years and all that.
    Well for what's it worth I have encountered quite a few people in Galway wearing England jerseys over the years, especially during World Cup or European Championships so you must spend your time in far more hostile places than I do :).
    AFAIK with that murder last year, they weren't scum.
    Middled aged men who began arguing over two places they've been less then the amount of pints they had during the game.
    Again another sweeping statement. How do you know what their travel plans had been?

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭Pool4Life

season ticket just arrived :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

United sign new keeper

Good signing!

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭fernandovargas

still didnt get my season ticket

Ring the club office tomorrow on 091 767336.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭Col200sx

My season "ticket" arrived yesterday in the regular post.

It reminds me of my first fake id :D

There's a notice on the website saying any season tickets not yet delivered can be picked up at the Stadium:

Anyone who has yet to receive their season ticket can collect it from the office on Friday 4th March, or from outside the ground before KO. For further information, contact the club office at (091) , or Ronan Coleman at (087) .

Season tickets remain on sale at the following locations :
    Galway United office, Terryland Park;
    O'Briens Newsagents, William Street
    Claddagh and Celtic Jewellers, Quay Street.

Adult and concession season tickets cost €99, with tickets for secondary school students €59.
    For further information, visit www.galwayunitedfc.ie, or contact the club office at (091) .

Col200sx wrote: »
    My season "ticket" arrived yesterday in the regular post.

It reminds me of my first fake id :D
    They were made by volunteers to keep the costs down.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭Col200sx

Oh don't get me wrong, I'm not complaining at all, far from it.

In fact I like the way it's not a conventional season ticket, and it fits nicely in your wallet :)

And being done by the volunteers to save Utd money is even better. Fair play to them :)

Four more sign for United!

They're all big signings. Four experienced players.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Nonsense, absolute rubbish imo. In Stephen O' Donnell and Karl Sheppard, GUFC had 2 of the most skillful and attack minded players in the league last year. Certainly no negative tactics. And people watch EPL because it's worth watching? You obviously havn't seen the likes of Stoke or Wolves play then.

As for the Connacht argument, ironic that the average attendance is what? 1500 at a push? Yet there was 7000 packed into SG for the Challenge Cup semi last year. If GUFC kept getting to cup finals there'd be plenty of fans. The fans are needed now to help build up the club so in 5 years we will be successful. Not sure about the better excitement in SG anyway, considering before their recent run they couldn't score a try never mind win a game.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

That isn't the reason.

The club was only given a licence a few weeks ago.

No company would do them for the club in the time frame needed.

The tickets were done by volunteers who are being pulled in every other direction to keep the show on the road, on a very very tight schedule.

Not a rant, just something to think about if you are one of the people who supported what is being done at United and bought a ticket.

I know it was tongue in cheek, but in relation to the fake ID comment... they would not be easily copied. The barcode on the card will be scanned at the gate and cross-checked.

WallyGUFC wrote: »
    Nonsense, absolute rubbish imo. In Stephen O' Donnell and Karl Sheppard, GUFC had 2 of the most skillful and attack minded players in the league last year.
    Don't forget Jay O'Shea. I realise he's gone a while but he's well worth a mention.