Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who wants to run a really long race...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

There are a lot of great races in the UK. Pop over to Runners World ultra/tri forum and you'll see them mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Magnet

2 days to go...:o
    Told my mother last week and there was a mention of having a number for Coronary Care...:D

Thanks for all the Ultra suggestions - Therapy included!!
    My boyfriend asked recently with a huge sigh "So... whats next after this?" I`ll be thinking about the options on my holidays after the weekend...There are some good options in America too...Awesome :cool:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Magnet wrote: »
    2 days to go...:o
    Told my mother last week and there was a mention of having a number for Coronary Care...:D

Thanks for all the Ultra suggestions - Therapy included!!
    My boyfriend asked recently with a huge sigh "So... whats next after this?" I`ll be thinking about the options on my holidays after the weekend...There are some good options in America too...Awesome :cool:

America has AMAZING options. Check out the Barkley 100, the ultimate in Ultra races. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

I know I'm definitely not mad enough for the Barkley, yet.

I've got none of the buzz or nerves I'd normally have coming up to an event. Really not sure if that's a good or bad thing. Hoping it all comes together on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭mithril

Odysseus wrote: »
    Its a great night out, and I would recommend it. However, if anyone is going to go for it, I would suggest they start now on learning how to navigate as this is a significant part of that race. My office looked like I was planning on invading Poland in the week leading up to the race.
    I did a few this Summer in preparation for it of the major off-road sections. I am hoping to give it a shot in January if I am not injured.

In a bad day in June, with the rain lashing and wind-chill , I reckon it was 3 degrees above Art's Cross and I had to turn back since I had not proper kit (just a running shirt) and a twisted ankle could kill you with hypothermia. I can only imagine what's it like in the dark with bad weather in January.

Vermont and Badwater keep coming up on different occasions and Ive gone from thinking "No Way" to "Maybe"

Now for the bad news - its Sunny in Galway now!!!
    Please take all those Child of Pragues outta the garden, thanks!

What about The Grand Slam and The Last Great Race? http://www.geocities.com/~ultrarun/grandslam/index.htm :D

Edit: Best of luck to all of you this weekend by the way. Enjoy it.

RQ step away from the keyboard!! :cool:

Maybe we`ll see you around mile 67 for a quick massage....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

ScottReynolds is (RUN /WALKING) a 50 mile trail (Beacons Ultra) which would be close to (IF YOU RUN IT) a 100k flat effort (UNLESS YOU WANTED TO COMPLETE IT IN 19 HOURS LIKE ME).

I hate seeing my name in this thread -- I'm not worthy -- yet ;)

Have an awesome race guys hope the weather is awesome, Saturday, Sunday and Monday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭figs

Best of luck to all taking part this weekend... you're all nuts, but we like you!

Looking forward to hearing the stories of the agony and the ecstacy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Lads (and lady ;)), this is an unbelievable undertaking you're heading out on. Very best of luck this weekend, be safe and enjoy it. Looking forward to reading the reports...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Likewise, best of luck to everyone heading west tomorrow. I'm sure the time will pass quickly. Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Bobby04

Best of luck folks. You're all an inspiration and I can only dream of embarking on such a feat. Be safe and please do report back in great detail :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

yep good luck again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mrak

Best of luck folks - I just worked out that it you run it as the same pace as Usain Bolt ran the 100m in Beijing you should be finished in just under 4.5 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

Magnet wrote: »

Now for the bad news - its Sunny in Galway now!!!
    Please take all those Child of Pragues outta the garden, thanks!

I think that might have worked a little too well. It's BUCKETING down in Galway this morning.

I was hoping to work on my tan while handing out bottles of water you know! <<taps foot in annoyance>> ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

All the best to everyone. And make this event a success, because I'd love to join you in, say, 2 years, will ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭asimonov

Good luck to you all. Take care and be safe..and thanks for making the rest of us feel totally sane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

mrak wrote: »
    Best of luck folks - I just worked out that it you run it as the same pace as Usain Bolt ran the 100m in Beijing you should be finished in just under 4.5 hours.

might be even quicker cos bolt would have lost some time in getting up to speed.
    but ya if u did 4.5 hours i would'nt knock it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Best of luck all you mad people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

I was in connemara today and man it was horrible wild wild weather. I hope it clears a bit for ye tomorrow.
    You got a good mention on Galway Bay fm this evening.
    Best of luck you crazywonderful people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Best of luck lads and lassie. Nuts!

Ultraman, try not to get lost...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Best of luck to all. Can we have satellite tracking of Ultraman to ensure he stays on the correct Western highways and byways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭woundedknee

Just heard from the Ultra Van / support crew that Ultra Man1 has covered approx 38 miles and is in good form.

That's great news!

I'm not too far away from connemara at the mo'.... weather has been reasonable all day... sunny but with a nice breeze.
    I'll be heading out for my very short 6 mile trot this evening and looking over at the mountains in connemara thinking about the fact that they'll have been running for 14 hours already :eek:

God am I glad I got injured and couldn't do this :pac:

Any news on how people are doing now?

Ultra Man1 stopped for break at 42 miles and feels good. Has said he's at the back of the pack and no drop outs yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭locteau

hi guys,

Just let you know that the group started this morning at 6am. Was raining but the weather became warm very quick....a real beautifull day so far.

I Can't tell you much at the moment but right now they are passing the 50mile mark. Things going well, our doctor Tadgh is doing a great job along with the ambulance and medic.

The crews are really cool to work with and the atmosphere that I experience is just like people having a wee bit of craic around connemara. maybe nobody told them it is actually a 100miles :eek:

Each crew follow their athletes, and every check point seems to be working well.

Anyway this is my quick view from this morning, and now I am at the finish line waiting to see some athletes, crawling toward me..... just messing off course.

I will be waiting for a good bit at the finish line, certainly all night, so might try to give you more info.... Mick is leading, then jo and Val....

I am technicaly the only one at the 100miles mark ! :cool:

Just got a text from Ultraman he passed the 55 mile mark in in about 12.5 hrs and is "feeling good".

I'm out. 70 miles in 1445 I think when I got cold and cant get warm despite being in car over an hour with sleeping bag and hat etc. No desire to eat either so just dangerous to try continue. Mick has won in some amazing time like 16 something but not sure. Magnet and hm battling it out 4 2nd I think. For me it was 1 race too many in the year, would have been a bonus for this year as not in plans at all but glad I came, just failed to conquer!

Hard luck Jeff, 70 miles is an incredible run. Mick finished in an INCREDIBLE time...would have expected people to finish 10:30 at the earliest, that is like a real, real top end time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭figs

Good run Jeff. A very good distance. Even better descision. I'm sure it's hard after getting so far, but there'll be more opportunities for you nutters to run it!

Hard luck Jeff and good effort. Just spoke to Ultra Man, he's covered around 69 miles and stopping for a 1hr break. Sounds like he's in good form and looking forward to finishing. Wants to know if there's an earlyhouse in Galway?

jeffontour wrote: »
    I'm out. 70 miles in 1445 I think when I got cold and cant get warm despite being in car over an hour with sleeping bag and hat etc. No desire to eat either so just dangerous to try continue. Mick has won in some amazing time like 16 something but not sure. Magnet and hm battling it out 4 2nd I think. For me it was 1 race too many in the year, would have been a bonus for this year as not in plans at all but glad I came, just failed to conquer!

Sorry to hear that mate, but hey you left the start line and on a run like that that's a significant undertaking. I know what you mean about a race too far, but you covered a significant distance there in a good time. Might see you there next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

I've been told Mick's time was an amazing 14 hours 31 minutes and 52 seconds. I think it's the fastest time ever run by an Irishman for 100 miles. Well done Mick. Hunnymonster in 2nd and Magnet in 3rd at the moment.

Cheers all. Race run in great spirit. Only thing is the traffic, had a few drivers come far to close for comfort. Including myself I think there are 3 retirements from 13 starters. Go ultraman go! He deserves a finish and when he does I am claiming a major role for my toe taping job I did for him :) His support crew are top notch, gents every one. Feel fluey, hope it's not bacon related.

I've been told Mick's time was an amazing 14 hours 31 minutes and 52 seconds. I think it's the fastest time ever run by an Irishman for 100 miles. Well done Mick. Hunnymonster in 2nd and Magnet in 3rd at the moment.

Wow. Well done Mick. Thats like under 9 minutes a mile :eek:

:eek: that's incredible... I'm speechless at what this crowd have achieved/ are achieving. I just can't fathom that level of running at all..... in absolute awe of the lot of you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭a123

Sorry to hear you has to pull up Jeff, you did fantastic, I'm up in Lough Inagh and I have to say everyone has been in great form coming through, I really thought people would be fading by the time I saw them at mile 67, hardly able to talk, but all are smiling. I think Mick was doing 9min miles and then some 8:40's. Unreal running. HM is finished I think last I heard about an hour ago she was on final lap of Cliften and I'm sure Magnet isn't too far behind her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭a123

HM finished in approx 16hrs, Magnet not quite in yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I believe Mick Rice won the mens in a cracking time. Congrats Hunnymonster a great win for Boards AC :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

jeffontour wrote: »

Hard luck Jeff. 70 miles. Unreal. I've never done anything like what you did but I imagine feeling famished would be a normal thing. Not being hungry sounds very dodgy. Glad that you had the wherewithal to withdraw. You were pretty damn fast as well. Next year!

Congrats to Mick, HM and Magnet for their places, but also to everyone who crossed the finish line. Great stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

I'm reading about these times after just coming in from doing a measly 10k. Amazing running guys. Well done to all who took part even if you didn't quite make the finish line, its still some achievement. Hats off Mr. Rice, bravo. Ditto, to my fellow Wicklow Way relay team-mates, Jo and Val. I look forward to the race reports. You all deserve a long long rest.

I heard from Ultraman he crossed the finish line in 28.28. Congrats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Mickeybags

Well done Ultraman.

An awesome display of awesomeness :D:D:D

Just a quickpost to say I`m well and truly alive and have all the usual aches that go with marathon running..
    I did 18hrs 5 mins I was predicting 18 but kept revising it to 20 but what the hell....HM did 16hrs 15mins next yr I`m getting myself one of those broken noses - They`re all the rage now in Ultra running!!!
    When I digest it all ill have a Report to follow...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

The knack is to re-break your nose on the morning of the race, scream a bit in the B&B bathroom and push it back into place... takes you mind right of the idea of all that running. I'll also have a report in a couple of days when I sit down to write it.

Runsforbeer is another boardsie who also ran. We had quite a good showing in the wild west.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭locteau

Guys,

I was there....first one at 100miles mark :D waiting for those crazy runners, my parents told me to stay away from weird friends.....I am so happy I did not listen to them :P

On a serious note, I am really amazed, by this achievement, I was around the course and waiting for them what ever people think this was a real road race with pain and determination. But the nice atmosphere surounding this event was the most amazing part of it, crews helping other crews, athletes supporting athletes after they finish and even if I felt bad to complain of been so tired standing up for over 40hours, The timed went so fast that I did not get bored once....

My english is too poor to express my sincere congratulation with better words :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Zuppy

Having crewed for this race I can honestly say the crews did it all :-) Up before the Athletes and after they put the athletes to bed, they were still going. :D

I would like to say well done to all those who stepped up to the startline. Not only did they look down the road at a 100 miles, but the terrain and the wind must have made for a very daunting prospect.
    Also the race organisers and volunteers were amazing.

I will wait for the official times but the winning time was fast. That makes two ridiculously fast 100 miler times this year from Irishmen. I wonder who else is waiting to break out onto the scene.

And least I forget, 3 women in the top 5 finishers. Made for better looking photos at least. :-)