Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Masters degree in finance

Options
  • 08-05-2009 4:28pm
    Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭

Hi all,

I am currently a 3rd year engineering student and require a bit of advice re: masters in finance and future career progression.

I am currently doing a degree and I am not quite sure if it's really for me. I am contemplating doing a masters degree in finance (either MBS Finance in UCD or MSc Finance in TCD) and I have a few questions I hope someone can answer.

1) Would either degree look more favourably to future employers based on where the degree came from, if so which one is "better"? Because I have done a little research and have found that UCD graduate school is ranked higher than TCD in business school rankings, however TCD university is ranked higher in university rankings. Or does this matter at all?

2) I am currently studying engineering and am looking to broaden my education/possibly make a career change, I was wondering if I will be at much of a disadvantage to students who have studied finance at undergrad level? If so is there anything I can do to better my chances of getting future employment in the finance sector?

3) Would anyone recommend studying abroad? If so where and why?

Apologies if this thread is similar to existing threads, I was hoping to get some input from current students(especially from TCD as it is a new course)

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭ixus