Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Squats the story - the Off Topic Thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,177 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

squod wrote: »

So if holywood was any good then this bloke would play Thor, Louis-Philippe Jean. He's only 140 kgs so there's probably gonna be enough costumes that'll fit.

Or they could use Glen Ross for some 3D hooooogeness.
    Prime "Annoying Gym Behaviour" material.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭gavtron

d'Oracle wrote: »
    Carl Weathers was bigger than most today.
    Lundgren is hardly pushing it next to the shower of scrawney homos in the new Predator flick. Even Chuck has size on those fools.

Edit: I fully can't wait for "The Expendables" now.

Carl Weathers: now hang on there a minute, there's plenty of meat on that bone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

gavtron wrote: »
    Carl Weathers: now hang on there a minute, there's plenty of meat on that bone...

Ya Wha?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

Mark Wahlberg has a fair bit of size these days... although i think he's under 200lbs...

so technically he's an actress

but im under 200.........never mind....:p

I wonder could i bring a foam rooller into my office.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

I'd say you'd get it in fairly easily but rolling around on the ground with it may draw some attention I'd imagine

Vegeta wrote: »
    I'd say you'd get it in fairly easily but rolling around on the ground with it may draw some attention I'd imagine

ive rolled around on the ground with worse things in my office :cool:

I have used the tennis ball in sock approach for my shoulders & neck in the office.

Sounds like a game of Cludeo

it was d"Oracle, in the office with a tennis ball in a sock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Chris89

Sounds like a game of Cludeo

it was d"Oracle, in the office with a tennis ball in a sock

What's the tennis ball and sock approach??

Chris89 wrote: »
    What's the tennis ball and sock approach??

You put a tennis ball in a sock.:D

You know about using a ball to get at Glutes or calfs etc?
    Put it in a sock and it makes it easier to trap the ball between your body and a wall.

Good for the traps, tops of your shoulder neck, external hip rotators (Sort of), the bit between your biceps and triceps. Even a bit of sticky ribs if you don't fancy lying down. Some of these may need a harder ball though. Sliotar or Cricket ball maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Chris89

You put a tennis ball in a sock.:D

You know about using a ball to get at Glutes or calfs etc?
    Put it in a sock and it makes it easier to trap the ball between your body and a wall.

Good for the traps, tops of your shoulder neck, external hip rotators (Sort of), the bit between your biceps and triceps. Even a bit of sticky ribs if you don't fancy lying down. Some of these may need a harder ball though. Sliotar or Cricket ball maybe?

Yeah I do a bit of rolling. Never thought to put it in a sock though. Cheers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

It's all about a baseball, lads.

Hanley wrote: »
    It's all about a baseball, lads.

And where would you pick one of them in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

€2 shops or petshops might have cheapo hard balls. There would be some sports shops that might do baseballs but I expect they would be very pricey.

I have seen dog toys like this in the €2 shop in dun laoghaire.

dog-rope-ball-2loop-tug-dog-toy.jpg

I was going to get some for chinups, the ball is very solid.

And where would you pick one of them in Ireland?

Dunno, don't care. I have two :D:D

Elvery's and Arnotts always seem to have random sh!t like that tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Hi

Elverys definately have hockey balls. Just as good if not as good IMHO and not too pricey.

Best Regards,

M

Thank you buddy.
    I will check it out shortly.

Also not too sure if it still exists, but there used to be an American sports shop on the top level (I think) of the St Stephen's Green center which sold baseball balls, bats & catchers mitts.

Might be worth checking if they are still there.

Just found this place in Clontarf also might be worth a look http://drupal.americansportsequipment.com/

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭gavtron

Ya Wha?

If you've ever seen Arrested Development you'll know what I'm talking about...baby you got a stew goin!!

B-Builder wrote: »
    Also not too sure if it still exists, but there used to be an American sports shop on the top level (I think) of the St Stephen's Green center which sold baseball balls, bats & catchers mitts.

Might be worth checking if they are still there.

Just found this place in Clontarf also might be worth a look http://drupal.americansportsequipment.com/

M

I just bought a hockey ball.

It was a toss up between that and a cricket ball, but if I had got the latter I probably just would have ended up throwin leg breaks around the house and smashing something up. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

gavtron wrote: »
    If you've ever seen Arrested Development you'll know what I'm talking about...baby you got a stew goin!!

Best TV show ever!

I don't like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

can we talk a bit about Inception? Seriously can't remember the last time I saw a movie that good.

Parsley wrote: »
    can we talk a bit about Inception? Seriously can't remember the last time I saw a movie that good.

F*cking outstanding film. I wanna go see it again ASAP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I'm going to see it tonight. I doubt its as good as you say....

Ending was very cheap for an other wise excellent film.

arah yeah, twas just a bit of cheek really like.

First film that could legitimately be ended with... and when they woke up, it was all a dream

I will issue bans to anyone who doesnt use spolier tags :P

I'm going to see it tonight. I doubt its as good as you say....

that's where you're wrong. i thought it couldn't possibly live up to what my friends were saying about it, and it blew me the f*ck away. maybe you won't like it, but all I'm saying is it's amazing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

I was going to go this afternoon but then I fell asleep :o Afternoon naps rock though \o/

Hanley wrote: »
    First film that could legitimately be ended with... and when they woke up, it was all a dream
    the interesting thing about the ending, despite the fact we're left in suspense about the totem falling or not, is that he knows how he got there. remember he always said you know it's a dream if you can't remember how you got there? we saw him getting off the plane, going through immigration, getting picked up, and going to see his kids.

Feck off talking about Inception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

smcclaw wrote: »
    My Asics runners (GT 2120) are 46.5 and Adidas lifting shoes (Adistar) are 46 2/3 (11 1/2 UK) and both fit fine. Adidas are marginally tighter. You're welcome to try them if you're around Dublin

thanks.
    I went for the 11.5 in the end.
    Hopefully they arrive tomorrow. Wannawear them on Sunday when I might try a max DL as a treat for my 27th birthday.
    Ewww, late twenties only 3 days away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

thanks.
    I went for the 11.5 in the end.
    Hopefully they arrive tomorrow. Wannawear them on Sunday when I might try a max DL as a treat for my 27th birthday.
    Ewww, late twenties only 3 days away

Fair be it from me to talk about deadlifting buuuut.

is that not like practicing your driving in a car and then turning up for the motorbike test?

you could be right there Ted.

Cheers, good find. Will print it out in work tomorrow.

M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

I will issue bans to anyone who doesnt use spolier tags :P

Everyone dies in the end!

Anyone know where to get decent runners? Everywhere seems to only sell ones with no support and higher heels. (well shoes, just for walking in :pac:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

can someone link me upp to the metcon thread please??

ragg wrote: »
    can someone link me upp to the metcon thread please??

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055968930

Consider yourself linked uppppppeeeddd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

cheers brah, going to try That

Dips
    Swings
    Squats

after my strength session, which m about to do!!

sigh...is it 5:30 yet....

id love something with a bit of "heart attack" in it for lunch...

sigh...is it 5:30 yet....

id love something with a bit of "heart attack" in it for lunch...

17:30 :eek::eek::eek:

Finish at 13:30 on a Friday :D:D

Don't think I could get used to finishing at 17:00-17:30 on Fridays again :)

Lunch will be Tuna salad a 2 boiled eggs in about 10 minutes

M

B-Builder wrote: »
    17:30 :eek::eek::eek:

Finish at 13:30 on a Friday :D:D

Don't think I could get used to finishing at 17:00-17:30 on Fridays again :)

Lunch will be Tuna salad a 2 boiled eggs in about 10 minutes

M

ah yes but while ye feckers get to go home i have to keep the matrix going!

edit : instead of the heart attack for lunch id settle for

something japaneese with about 350 bhp rwd with a good tight diff and an open area of tarmack and some nangkangs....

ah yes but while ye feckers get to go home i have to keep the matrix going!

I'm a matrix engineer myself and it good to know that I will be leaving things in such safe hands as I head off into the cloud :(:D:D:D

M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

the interesting thing about the ending, despite the fact we're left in suspense about the totem falling or not, is that he knows how he got there. remember he always said you know it's a dream if you can't remember how you got there? we saw him getting off the plane, going through immigration, getting picked up, and going to see his kids.
    you don't know how he ended up on the plane though. I mean you think you do, but you can't be 100% sure. You also don't know how he washed up on the beach to meet the Asian guy. Basically you have to pick your own ending. It was ok but I wasn't amazed by it, I give it 5.5 on the snobby brian scale.