Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Squats the story - the Off Topic Thread...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

web-ad.jpg
    See in-store for more details.

PLEASE DRINK SENSIBLY

http://www.dunnesstores.ie/page.php?pid=372

No GOMAD for me then:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Chet Zar

To get you off that above topic...

Saw this the other night - amazing stuff from the Crossfit lads...Always good to have something to aspire to....

http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=494796482736

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Chet Zar wrote: »

Not working here either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Grr how to embed Facebook video link on Boards? Know how to do it with YouTube but not seeming to work with FB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Rycn

Grr how to embed Facebook video link on Boards? Know how to do it with YouTube but not seeming to work with FB.

If it's a youtube video then go through the fb link onto youtube and then use the link from there?

Rycn wrote: »
    If it's a youtube video then go through the fb link onto youtube and then use the link from there?

Well yes would have done but this is a Vimeo video...but doesn't seem to show up on their Vimeo channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

It is also on their website a couple of weeks off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

What is it, the documentary video?

Hanley wrote: »
    What is it, the documentary video?

Found it... http://vimeo.com/18056443

It's a pretty damn good Fran time - think this could be one you'd be aiming for Hanley!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

found a leak of the new IP programme...

http://www.wimp.com/eurotraining/

Found it... http://vimeo.com/18056443

It's a pretty damn good Fran time - think this could be one you'd be aiming for Hanley!!

The pull ups are crap because full extension would have destroyed my shoulder, but they're not kipped so I think on the whole it probably balances out.

My shoulder's not far off working normally now so I might look at pulling something together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Parsley wrote: »
    found a leak of the new IP programme...

http://www.wimp.com/eurotraining/

Dude has some upper body but look on google for Terry Crews legs. My unborn son has bigger ones. Comical how disproportionate he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Hanley wrote:

My shoulder's not far off working normally now so I might look at pulling something together.

Like Snatches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Why in the namajaysus do dogs have to lick themselves so much... my dog won't leave herself alone this mornin... Dirty bitch!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

she probably has worms...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

g'em wrote: »
    she probably has worms...

I've PM'd you a sample of her poo! :D

Hanley wrote: »

The pull ups are crap because full extension would have destroyed my shoulder, but they're not kipped so I think on the whole it probably balances out.

Nice....yeah the pull-ups maybe not the nicest to look at but you're defo getting the job done.

Ok then here's what to aim for next.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

Nice....yeah the pull-ups maybe not the nicest to look at but you're defo getting the job done.

Ok then here's what to aim for next.......

Is that the record? Or what is the record for Fran?

Anyone any tips on the better chest grower exercise...

Flat Bench or Incline Bench?

Been doing the flat bench for months and seriously little gains in size compared to the rest of my body, but strength of my flat bench has increased the same as the rest of the compound lifts.

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dartstothesea

I'm no expert on having a chest but I'd say adding some pec flys for a million reps for hypertrophy would help there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭COH

Everyone knows a million reps is for toning, 903,122 reps is for hypertrophy, 20reps is for strength/not strength/who knows, 5x5reps is for everything, and 2 reps is for strength

Do some squats

Just saying i've a little girls chest, am I better off doing incline bench or flat?

And the 903,122 reps, is it for 3 sets or 4?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

Just throwing it out there.... would a wider grip take the pressure off the triceps and put it on to the chest?

/runs and hides...

Just throwing it out there.... would a wider grip take the pressure off the triceps and put it on to the chest?

/runs and hides...

To an extent. Not really goign to do much tho. Too wide and you're inviting a pec tear and shoulder trouble.

Dumbbell benching or a hammer strength if he's access might be a shout. Or weighed dips.

I've never really found any pressing movement to isolate my pecs or create substantial DOMS tho.

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭Brendygg

How wide is your grip usually Hanley? Pinky just inside the ring is what I have been doing so far.

So lads... incline or flat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

incline. First time I got a chest pump was close grip incline press, I feel that moving the elbows in an arc from the bottom, rather than straight up, seems to make the pec work more. That may or may not be bad for the pec or shoulder joints I don't know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

With incline bench i feel very secure and tight on the bench, something I just can't seem to get with flat bench. Plus incline dumbbell bench is way easier to get the bells into position than flat ,a factor which can really limit progress

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

On ESPN news today... (linkage)
    Olympic hopeful handed doping ban
    London 2012 weightlifting hopeful Denis Catana has been banned for two years after testing positive for steroids.

Catana, who established himself as England's top clean and jerk weightlifter in 2010, tested positive for banned substance metenolone. He did not compete for England at the Commonwealth Games in Delhi after being provisionally suspended from all competition following the test in August.

UK Anti-Doping confirmed the Moldova-born athlete would serve a two-year ban.

"Mr Catana was tested as part of UK Anti-Doping's pre-Commonwealth Games testing programme," said director of operations Nicole Sapstead. "This case shows the importance of our major event programme, and our commitment to stopping athletes who dope competing on the world stage.

"We run an intelligence-led anti-doping programme aimed at catching doping athletes before they are able to compete and we will continue to work tirelessly to protect the rights of clean athletes in the run up to London 2012 and beyond."

The British Olympic Association hands a lifetime ban to all athletes who fail drugs tests, and chief executive Andy Hunt had little sympathy for drugs cheats.

"If an athlete seeks to gain an advantage through the use of banned substances, they should expect to get caught - and they must know that the consequences will be quite severe," Hunt said.

"Athletes who earn the honour of representing Team GB at the Olympic Games will do so through hard work, talent and an unwavering commitment to clean competition. The only medals we are interested in winning are clean medals."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,640 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

What weight are the thrusters for Fran, 42.5kg
    not that i can do 21 pull ups :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

95lbs so somewhere around 42.5Kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

Scuba Ste wrote: »
    Is that the record? Or what is the record for Fran?

There's no official record for it. This is the fastest on video but theres a couple dodgey reps in there. Most cf games competitors seem to be in and around 2:30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

/runs and hides...

Yep. I've been recently looking for chest involvement becauae I don't use it whatsoever when benching so I widened my grip, dropped the weight, used an incline and didn't fully lock it out. And I've been doing it rest-pause. Seems to work.

The hammerstrength bench is by far the most chest-centric movement I've ever done though.

token wrote: »
    There's no official record for it. This is the fastest on video but theres a couple dodgey reps in there. Most cf games competitors seem to be in and around 2:30.

The absolute state of those pullups, doesn't look like he completed even 1 full rep, he's just going where the momentum takes him and then dropping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Frogdog

The absolute state of those pullups, doesn't look like he completed even 1 full rep, he's just going where the momentum takes him and then dropping.

Kipping???

I'm trying to tell myself not to rise to the bait.

People with more knowledge on this then me have debated this so many times already so I think I'll just go off and do 20 rep sets of squats, deadlifts, overhead presses and bench for cardio purposes instead of rising to this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

What's to rise to? They're kips, not pull ups.

Molly wrote: »
    I'm trying to tell myself not to rise to the bait.

People with more knowledge on this then me have debated this so many times already so I think I'll just go off and do 20 rep sets of squats, deadlifts, overhead presses and bench for cardio purposes instead of rising to this.
    Haha that's an amusing reply with the clear intent to provoke a response from me.

Clever, I like it.

Ummm...he's doing Crossfit - kipping pull-ups are the default pull-up style in Crossfit.

To anyone else, I just thought the guy was supposed to be doing pullups, my bad.

Edit: Also, i've no idea what crossfit is.

Fair enough, just a misunderstanding :)

token wrote: »

Great time, but pure slop.

This is the best Fran on youtube

What sort of weight is on the bar?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

Roughly 42.5kg AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

To anyone else, I just thought the guy was supposed to be doing pullups, my bad.

Edit: Also, i've no idea what crossfit is.

I just think this is a classic post. Fair play. The un-muddied response of someone who's never had it explained to them that not really doing it right is ok if you say it's Crossfit.

What sort of weight is on the bar?

45kg

Well 95lb really... which is just over 43kg. But you can't round down because that's homosexual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Kipping pull ups do nothing for me. Just too much momentum getting my chest up that i don't really feel it anywhere other than my arms tiring from swinging. Much prefer slower controled movements that really knock the fook outta me.

They're not supposed to be the same as regular pull ups.