Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Squats the story - the Off Topic Thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭DL Saint

Russian+Genetics+Steroids=The Best Junior Ever! :eek:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZKrZdpN7bVw&feature=player_embedded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gymsoldier

DL Saint wrote: »

He won the heavyweight class at the Arnold Amature Classic this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭cc87

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,627 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

DL Saint wrote: »

That man is a beast.
    gymsoldier wrote: »
    He won the heavyweight class at the Arnold Amature Classic this year.

Does that make him a pro so?

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

Does that make him a pro so?

As far as Im aware, you have to win the overalls to get your IFBB pro card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Rossin

lads/ladies quick question

would it be counter productive to work out twice a day?

ive started doing weights in the morning before my friend goes to work, he has a nice set up in his garage ,we do about 40 min

but seen as im off college for the summer i have a lot more time on my hands and the days are long when you get up at 7am, would it be counter productive to go to the gym myself a few hours later? should i just aim for muscles that hadnt been used so much that morning? bit of a noob to weights

i do intend on running/sprints quite a bit but at the moment with a leg injury it'll have to wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

Clarence setting yet another PR. I can't see it taking all that much longer before he hits triple BW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

the chap is a hero.

Rossin wrote: »
    lads/ladies quick question

would it be counter productive to work out twice a day?

ive started doing weights in the morning before my friend goes to work, he has a nice set up in his garage ,we do about 40 min

but seen as im off college for the summer i have a lot more time on my hands and the days are long when you get up at 7am, would it be counter productive to go to the gym myself a few hours later? should i just aim for muscles that hadnt been used so much that morning? bit of a noob to weights

i do intend on running/sprints quite a bit but at the moment with a leg injury it'll have to wait

actually forget it after weights today i can barely move my arms i think that answers my question :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

@Rossin: Seeing as you will have time on your hands and if you had the cash, you could pick yourself up a foam roller and some resistance bands and book a session or two with a PT to work out a mobility/flexibility routine that you could do. This I think would have a positive effect on your training and help with prehab/rehab.

Just an idea

thanks tommyknocker i hadnt heard of them before, will look into it now :)

Rossin wrote: »
    thanks tommyknocker i hadnt heard of them before, will look into it now :)

Have a look at this E-book on myofascial release for some ideas on the use of a foam roller. And as I said try to get a mobility/flexibility routine sorted which will complement your other training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭optimistic_

Ben Dunne Jervis opened a good forty minutes late this morning, apparently someone slept it out!

The guy who did show up wasn't due to start til 12, he did apologise personally to a lot of people though. Fair play to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭Mauricmo

I am looking to buy a pair of wrist wraps in town (dublin) today, any ideas where I could pick them up?

Mauricmo wrote: »
    I am looking to buy a pair of wrist wraps in town (dublin) today, any ideas where I could pick them up?

Possibly Fighting Fit on Camden St or Nutrition Connection on Westmorland St wold be my best guesses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Quater squats with way too much weight while wearing trainers and a weightlifting belt is the new fitness craze I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Quater squats with way too much weight while wearing trainers and a weightlifting belt is the new fitness craze I see.

What's wrong with trainers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Remmy wrote: »
    What's wrong with trainers?

sh*t for balance/stability while squatting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Parsley wrote: »

....and I wouldn't trust a bag of air under my heels. Even if NIke made it.

I wouldnt recommend no runners for squatting if they were flat footed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

....and I wouldn't trust a bag of air under my heels. Even if NIke made it.

I could understand it if we are talking about running shoes with the big shock absorbing heels but I squat in an old pair of vans and I never felt any issues with instability.Maybe Im not squatting enough for it to be an issue yet:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

rebecca-hall-feb-harpers-bazaar.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Remmy wrote: »
    I could understand it if we are talking about running shoes with the big shock absorbing heels but I squat in an old pair of vans and I never felt any issues with instability.Maybe Im not squatting enough for it to be an issue yet:D

vans and trainers ain't the same thing in my book...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

vans and trainers ain't the same thing in my book...
    Yeah, any vans I had were quite flat and more like converse allstars than running shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭DL Saint

rubadub wrote: »
    Yeah, any vans I had were quite flat and more like converse allstars than running shoes.
    I like training in vans, nice and flat and light. I remember seing an old vid of Dorian Yates training in big leather boots, even did cardio in them, that's bad-ass, lol :D

Skate shoes usually compress more than Chucks.
    If you need to double check this run your hand around the inside sole of an old pair of chucks and an old pair of Skate shoes.

The Vans usually have a big imprint of your toes, ball and heel.
    The Chucks won't.

d'Oracle wrote: »
    Skate shoes usually compress more than Chucks.
    If you need to double check this run your hand around the inside sole of an old pair of chucks and an old pair of Skate shoes.

They're talking about slip on vans, not skate shoes.

They are plimsoles.
    I grew up in a time when males didn't wear them a soon as they had the choice.

Now I'm not naming any names, trolling, or saying anything...
    But you know who I'm talking about, the new guy, come on like!

Ha I feel better now :D

Where is going Paleo on a scale of 1 to Sodomy?

EDIT: this may require its own thread.

It depends on whether you just cut out carbs or tell people you're going paleo, brah.

they/them/theirs

It depends on whether you just cut out carbs or tell people you're going paleo, brah.

You mirin my nutritions. Come at me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Molly

It's not that bad. I found cutting out dairy to be the hardest part as i had basically been drinking 2 litres of milk every day for the past 3 or 4 years. It helps if you really like sweet potatoes and brocolli :)

Molly wrote: »
    It's not that bad. I found cutting out dairy to be the hardest part as i had basically been drinking 2 litres of milk every day for the past 3 or 4 years. It helps if you really like sweet potatoes and brocolli :)

By Paleo,

I meant eating more fruit. :pac:

:p

You mirin my nutritions. Come at me.

I'm going to say no.

What did I just say no to?

they/them/theirs

Molly wrote: »
    :p

I'm currently eating a turkey sandwhich.

I found a seed in the bread. That counts right?

If it's a seed like this then yeah :p

sunflower-zilla2.jpg

Glenn pendlay tried going paleo recently. Think it lasted about 4 days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

it sounds like something henners would do.

hahaha i just did a quick read there on this paleo thing....no way L would put that much effort into food prep

http://paleodietlifestyle.com/paleo-meal-plan/

there is a market for ready made paleo meals.....

and yes i know that defeats the whole idea :)

Right i'm doing this, now for starters, how do you milk a coconut?

Has this video been posted up here yet??
    Seen it on loads of blogs and sites

Right i'm doing this, now for starters, how do you milk a coconut?

i just went and bought some berries...

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

cc87 wrote: »

Has this video been posted up here yet??
    Seen it on loads of blogs and sites

Serious respect and admiration for that young woman. So inspirational.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

That race video was good when I saw her fall I thought it was going to be some lame video about just finishing and I was gonna freak out because that'd be dumb as shít. The other girls might have to start questioning why they participate in a short distance event where a competitor falls over and they still get beat!

Anyone watching the Live Stream of Bro's Vs. Pro's?
    http://www.ustream.tv/channel/dymatize-bros-vs-pros-6

Repost me think :)

gymsoldier wrote: »
    Repost me think :)

And worthy of it.

You'd think they'd have got her a proper rack.