Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Squats the story - the Off Topic Thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭MrPain

Used a TRX for the 1st time today, i was shaking like a leaf and the straps left a red mark on my arm:mad:. I will conquer it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

i have invented a new deadlift programme... do f*ck all for about 3-4 months, pull a 10kg PB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

Scrambled eggs & Franks Hot Sauce can be improved upon by adding avocado.
    Nom Nom Nom!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Nom Nom Nom!

Are you seriously drunk and eating that?

one thing i've been meaning to ask about crossfit... haven't they essentially just taken circuit training and called it a sport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

Parsley wrote: »
    one thing i've been meaning to ask about crossfit... haven't they essentially just taken circuit training and called it a sport?

yes and by making it competitive have sacrificed technique. it's a poor mans circuit training ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

Parsley wrote: »
    Wellllllll....

Sort of.

What they've actually done is taken metabolic conditioning work, which is around since forever but first really documented in and around 40 years ago, and branded it. They've done a really good job, and a lot of people have discovered the barbell, the kettlebell and the pull up bar thanks to them. They've been a really significant player in the shift away from machine weights and treadmills, but they are so far gone now that I don't think they'll ever come back.

When you look at paradigm shifts like this in health and fitness there are cycles and swings happening all the time. There big ones like aerobics, machine weights and now barbells are back, and there are small ones in the middle like kettlebells, step aerobics, spinning and so on. They all fit into the continuum they just do so in a microcycle. Anyway Crossfit is on the extreme end of this particular one, and it was kind of cool when they were hardcore guys training out of garages and setting up rowers in their attics. I dug it back then it was what I was looking for.

Now though, it's big business and it's not just 10 hardcore guys setting up a "box" and swinging sledge hammers. Back then if you were Crossfitting chances are you were an athlete or someone with experience looking for something different. Now all populations are in from the neophytes to the just plain broken, and I don't think they do that right. You can't be hardcore with 100 people in the room.

So now you have a guy falling and breaking his face doing a muscle up because the rings broke. If I were assessing that situation as a peer coach, I would ask the following questions in this order: 1) was there appropriate measures in place in case of an equipment or technique failure? ie. was there a safety mat or a spotter/catcher? 2) was your equipment serviced and checked recently? When was your last inspection? 3) Was the trainee trained properly in the movement?

Now if you can answer all 3 with 1) yes, 2) yes, 3) yes, then NOW it's an accident. If you can't answer yes to even one of those, then you as the coach are the problem. You can piss and moan about the equipment all you want but it's your equipment, you're responsible for it and if you bought stuff for €40 and didn't get a manufacturer's guarantee, didn't assess it and didn't have some sort of guarantee it wouldn't break, then you are at fault. I mean, who would have thunk that those translucent plastic rings were potentially weak?

Every time a crossfitter hurts himself it's the world that isn't hardcore enough. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dartstothesea

Started reading Beyond Brawn, having seen it mentioned around a few times but most recently on Martin Berkham's blog.

I think I'm gonna not bother with the remaining 2/3 of it because the amount of times he's already lumped everything into either 'hard gainer' or 'easy gainer' is getting worrying.
    Open to differing opinions on it, though. Most of everything else in the book seems sensible so far though. Hmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Getting ready for the big day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

'if the idea of falling out of a sled and getting trampled by reindeer is foreign to you, we don't want you in our ranks'

Nom Nom Nom!

Are you seriously drunk and eating that?

I ate that before I went out drinking.
    Then I had burgers & beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,294 ✭✭✭COH

Its great having the keys to the gym... off to get my pre-turkey-coma swole on. Merry Christmas f*ckers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

GOAL Christmas mile coming up... Right after a full fry up. In Santa suit... And fully laced up boots. Something tells me this will be regretted!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

aiming for 200+ grams of protein at dinner ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

4 Frozen lamb and rosemary steaks in Tesco, were €3 something now 50c.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭NotExactly

4 Frozen lamb and rosemary steaks in Tesco, were €3 something now 50c.

I'm surprised you could get 4 steaks for €3 something never mind 50c. :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭Mauricmo

Just got gifted a slick set of body-weight scales. Whats the ideal time to weigh yourself? Or should I just weigh myself at roughly the same time everyday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,294 ✭✭✭COH

Mauricmo wrote: »
    Just got gifted a slick set of body-weight scales. Whats the ideal time to weigh yourself? Or should I just weigh myself at roughly the same time everyday?

PMD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭NotExactly

Whats the ideal time to weigh yourself? Or should I just weigh myself at roughly the same time everyday?

Morning time because you're on am empty stomach and it's easier to do it at the same time if it's in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

wake up and knock out a banging poo. weigh yourself and god speed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gymsoldier

What's the craic ya'll.

I haven't been online in an age, and I've got to start the New Year off with a negative comment:

What is going on with the huge down turn in this forum, I'm in a state of cringe spasm here reading some of the "advice".

cringe spasm

I cracked one of those out earlier while on the phone to L

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,627 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Thought some of you might appreciate this. I just moved to Phoenix, Arizona for a while. Joined a supermarket called costco, where you can buy a lot of things in bulk:

photocnmy.jpg

That right there is a US gallon of Franks Hot Sauce. Modeled by my good lady wife.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

THAT is just AWESOME

It really is. In the same trip I bought 360 fish oil capsules for $15. I don't even care if they work they were so cheap :D

they/them/theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

It really is. In the same trip I bought 360 fish oil capsules for $15. I don't even care if they work they were so cheap :D

dont mind that....do they have big trucks and guns?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

Sitting on the dart from Blackrock yesterday, there were 3 l12/13 year old lads in front of me discussing how to inject steriods... and talking about their mate who got massive calves from it. TWELVE YEAR OLDS!

Jesus. Christ.

• Registered Users Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dartstothesea

I hear serious juicers are almost indistinguishable from 12 year olds though.
    We're talking about testicles here, right?

dont mind that....do they have big trucks and guns?

Do I really need to answer that?

This place is mad, once I get a social security number I can buy an ak47 and carry it ANYWHERE perfectly legally.

they/them/theirs

G86 wrote: »
    Sitting on the dart from Blackrock yesterday, there were 3 l12/13 year old lads in front of me discussing how to inject steriods... and talking about their mate who got massive calves from it. TWELVE YEAR OLDS!

Jesus. Christ.
    I wouldn't pay any attention. As a reformed 12 year old young fella, they'll say anything to sound cool or knowledgable.

they/them/theirs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

This place is mad, once I get a social security number I can buy an ak47 and carry it ANYWHERE perfectly legally.

I was born in the wrong country...

Sounds like it. You should do what I did, get your employer to pay you to move to the US for a couple of years. Easy peasy.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Note for future reference:
    Don't imply Robb Wolfs cat is fat, no use of the words chunky, chubby or pregnant, also don't say he(the cat) has a daft name

The cat is 'lean and muscular'!

Also lol I don't even know what to think, people going around a gym with tubes attached, I'd love to laugh if I see it but I think that would be too cruel.

Has anyone seen this? Worth watching?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭cc87

Might be a few interested in this

http://www.mikereinold.com/2012/01/a-free-and-amazing-opportunity-to-learn-from-11-experts-in-the-fields-of-sports-rehabilitation-and-performance.html#

Cant sign up right now so not sure if there is a catch in it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gymsoldier

G86 wrote: »

Jesus. Christ.

They were talking about calves? Weird, most kids are like "I want massive arms, and be able to bench 200kg".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

Crossfit Parody

I'd give more of an intro but my bloody pause button got jammed at 0:52

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Myself and the ed were trying to figure out if it was an ad or not

token wrote: »
    Crossfit Parody

I'd give more of an intro but my bloody pause button got jammed at 0:52

Was that supposed to be funny?

they/them/theirs

It was funneh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,638 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I have a SSN, can I get a gun?

Mellor wrote: »

I have a SSN, can I get a gun?

Yes, you can. It's fecking crazy.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,638 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Wow, I would of thought you'd at least need a residents visa or something.
    That's bizarre.

Mellor wrote: »
    Wow, I would of thought you'd at least need a residents visa or something.
    That's bizarre.

Actually if you an Arizona drivers licence everything is easy. You only need to have a SSN to get that.

they/them/theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

Was that supposed to be funny?

L and Ed are right on it being more of an Ad than anything. Good looking people getting sweaty together in intense workout scenes. Another year of mainstream exposure and we'll have the first CF porn vids on the market. Reebok will set up a child company under the radar to peddle it. $$$$. :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

AMRAP - As many rides as possible

We need some of these

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭nbrady20009

Haven't hit a tennis ball in years, but I have tennis elbow. Stupid elbow.

That's me out of action lifting wise for a while. Time to start running i suppose.

they/them/theirs