Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Squats the story - the Off Topic Thread...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

I've a simple formula that could have solved the debate on that vid from Talbot St from the start.

The one with the tracksuit tucked into their socks is to blame.

I think if our justice system applied this rule it would also help speed things up through the courts.

I've been applying it for years now and it's foolproof.

In the event that there are two opposing parties both with tracksuits tucked into their socks bonus skanger points are applied for the below:

- Copy of the Star tucked into back pocket
    - Whiteness of aforementioned socks
    - Wearing laceless slip-on canvas runners
    - Any shaved in designs on head
    - Sovereigns
    - Straightness of baseball cap peak
    - Angle at which baseball cap is presented on the head.

In the event of a tie-break situation the angle of the baseball cap is measured with the more obtuse angle in relation to the ground being judged the winner. In the event that the angled baseball cap is replaced by an angled moped helmet that skanger is automatically adjudged to be to blame and all previous skanger bonus points are null and void.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

kevpants wrote: »
    I've a simple formula that could have solved the debate on that vid from Talbot St from the start.

The one with the tracksuit tucked into their socks is to blame.

I think if our justice system applied this rule it would also help speed things up through the courts.

I've been applying it for years now and it's foolproof.

In the event that there are two opposing parties both with tracksuits tucked into their socks bonus skanger points are applied for the below:

- Copy of the Star tucked into back pocket
    - Whiteness of aforementioned socks
    - Wearing laceless slip-on canvas runners
    - Any shaved in designs on head
    - Sovereigns
    - Straightness of baseball cap peak
    - Angle at which baseball cap is presented on the head.

In the event of a tie-break situation the angle of the baseball cap is measured with the more obtuse angle in relation to the ground being judged the winner. In the event that the angled baseball cap is replaced by an angled moped helmet that skanger is automatically adjudged to be to blame and all previous skanger bonus points are null and void.

KevPants for government.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭ferike1

• Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭Turbo_diesel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

I win.

564008_10150941330087568_931198073_n.jpg

Kyra-Gracie-lutadora-de-jiu-jitsu.jpg

Oh whoops... caught me in ANOTHER triangle... how silly of me.

Hanley wrote: »

Oh whoops... caught me in ANOTHER triangle... how silly of me.

Ohhhh I get this now. You are being bad on purpose so she can dominate you. Took a second to register. :P

Its like a reverse of 50 shades of grey. Its 50 shades of her whooping your a**!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

RTÉ One, Tuesday, 9.35pm

00061c34-150.jpg

In a brand new sports science documentary, journalist Ian O'Riordan examines how athletes are using science and technology to enhance their performance, asking whether or not we can ever again truly believe in the purity of sport.

The Olympic Games are meant to represent all that's good and pure about sport- heroic acts of courage, fair play, being all that you can be. But ever since Ben Johnson failed a drug test in 1988, the biggest sporting show on earth has been dogged by scandal and suspicion. And now, with the curtain about to rise on London 2012, Ian O'Riordan of The Irish Times looks at the growing impact science and technology has on sport - legal and illegal - and wonders if sport can ever regain our trust.

A lifelong sports fanatic, Ian O'Riordan's world changed when Ben Johnson was caught. Ever since, as a competitive distance runner, through his career as a sports journalist, he's been trying to answer the question that was raised that September morning in 1988 - is any of this real?

In Faster, Higher, Stronger, Ian looks at a range of performance enhancement techniques, both legal and illegal, to discover if science has become more important than good old-fashioned hard graft and talent. He spends time with members of the Irish Olympic Team for 2012, to get inside the mind of the people that go to extraordinary lengths to gain a competitive edge.

Ian meets race-walker Colin Griffin, who's living in a bespoke altitude house in Limerick, fitted out to mimic the air density of Kilimanjaro. While Rob Heffernan, another walker, has to make do with a tent over his bed to get the same effect. Ian asks if this method of manipulating the body's make-up is really fair, using the example of a banned swimsuit as an instance technology was outlawed.

He reconnects with Martin Fagan and Geraldine Hendricken, two Irish athletes who received bans for failed drugs tests. He looks at the world of sports supplements, asking if these are really just legal performance enhancers.

The next big threat to fair play in sport is genetic doping. Travelling to the world centre for genetic doping, via a herd of Supercows in Laois, Ian explores whether messing with the DNA is a real problem or just science fiction. He meets the main players in the war on doping for London 2012 to discover how sport is putting up a fight against the cheats.

And in attempt to get inside the mind of a cheat, Ian undertakes to go on a course of performance enhancing drugs. In doing so, he discovers that the results might be more dramatic than he could ever have imagined.

Faster, Higher, Stronger is a comprehensive exploration of performance enhancement that combines an in-depth look at the science of sport with a personal search for the truth about fair play.

http://www.rte.ie/tv/programmes/fasterhigherstronger.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭token

Move over pole vaulter girl we have a new athletics queen

token wrote: »
    Move over pole vaulter girl we have a new athletics queen

Clearly as mad as a bag of spiders...

The 'Crazy Hot Scale' never lies

• Registered Users Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

She is gorgeous

• Registered Users Posts: 39,292 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Some very good BJJ/MMA specific mobilty stuff here. Not sure where to post.

http://www.mobilitywod.com/2011/03/episode-191-glen-cordoza-mma-and-improving-the-guard.html

• Registered Users Posts: 39,292 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

http://www.mobilitywod.com/2011/03/episode-191-glen-cordoza-mma-and-improving-the-guard.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭colman1212

Mellor wrote: »

Yeah I'm pretty sure this thread is specifically for hot girls running and scummers with umbrellas getting drop kicked in the face :D

• Registered Users Posts: 856 ✭✭✭O.P.H

Jarren wrote: »
    RTÉ One, Tuesday, 9.35pm

00061c34-150.jpg

In a brand new sports science documentary, journalist Ian O'Riordan examines how athletes are using science and technology to enhance their performance, asking whether or not we can ever again truly believe in the purity of sport.

The Olympic Games are meant to represent all that's good and pure about sport- heroic acts of courage, fair play, being all that you can be. But ever since Ben Johnson failed a drug test in 1988, the biggest sporting show on earth has been dogged by scandal and suspicion. And now, with the curtain about to rise on London 2012, Ian O'Riordan of The Irish Times looks at the growing impact science and technology has on sport - legal and illegal - and wonders if sport can ever regain our trust.

A lifelong sports fanatic, Ian O'Riordan's world changed when Ben Johnson was caught. Ever since, as a competitive distance runner, through his career as a sports journalist, he's been trying to answer the question that was raised that September morning in 1988 - is any of this real?

In Faster, Higher, Stronger, Ian looks at a range of performance enhancement techniques, both legal and illegal, to discover if science has become more important than good old-fashioned hard graft and talent. He spends time with members of the Irish Olympic Team for 2012, to get inside the mind of the people that go to extraordinary lengths to gain a competitive edge.

Ian meets race-walker Colin Griffin, who's living in a bespoke altitude house in Limerick, fitted out to mimic the air density of Kilimanjaro. While Rob Heffernan, another walker, has to make do with a tent over his bed to get the same effect. Ian asks if this method of manipulating the body's make-up is really fair, using the example of a banned swimsuit as an instance technology was outlawed.

He reconnects with Martin Fagan and Geraldine Hendricken, two Irish athletes who received bans for failed drugs tests. He looks at the world of sports supplements, asking if these are really just legal performance enhancers.

The next big threat to fair play in sport is genetic doping. Travelling to the world centre for genetic doping, via a herd of Supercows in Laois, Ian explores whether messing with the DNA is a real problem or just science fiction. He meets the main players in the war on doping for London 2012 to discover how sport is putting up a fight against the cheats.

And in attempt to get inside the mind of a cheat, Ian undertakes to go on a course of performance enhancing drugs. In doing so, he discovers that the results might be more dramatic than he could ever have imagined.

Faster, Higher, Stronger is a comprehensive exploration of performance enhancement that combines an in-depth look at the science of sport with a personal search for the truth about fair play.

http://www.rte.ie/tv/programmes/fasterhigherstronger.html

This make's me sick, what the hell is "the purity of sport anyway". Only in good God fearing Ireland would they finance a show with this premise at is core. I can just imagine some thick aul lad sayin somethin like "ah sure will ya shtop with all your science craic and just go for an aul run or shift some blocks and ull be grand".

Christ, science is just knowledge and is a product of "human endeavor" which the "journalist" claims is being lost is todays sports world. Whats does he want, us to forget about advances in knowledge and just keep playing in the playground "for the fun of it". Makes my eyes roll to the skys this crap

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

Looking at some of our friend Clarence's ass to ground squats @ triple bodyweight! Ill be there soon like :rolleyes:

But I notice under the vids that he states he squats every single day. WTF like? Wonder what his dinners looks like :confused:

Looking at some of our friend Clarence's ass to ground squats @ triple bodyweight! Ill be there soon like :rolleyes:

But I notice under the vids that he states he squats every single day. WTF like? Wonder what his dinners looks like :confused:

Two litres of milk and two scoops of creatine go a long way!

A2G high bar squats aren't as taxing as low bars if that's where you are coming from. You can handle a lot more volume and frequency on them. Less weight and they use more of the legs and less lower back compared to low bars. Less taxing on the CNS.

Clarence is also an alien which helps too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

For anyone who hasn't seen it. Quite motivational.

Got it on my mp3 player!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,882 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

For anyone who hasn't seen it. Quite motivational.

Someone put a vid up here about 3/4 yrs ago that literally moved me to tears... Had a well known song playing (of course I can't think of it now!) and I think it was full of Olympic games clips... I've never been able to find it since but I remember when it was posted here, alot of the regulars were familiar with it... it was fantastic...

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭TheZ

• Registered Users Posts: 168 ✭✭Stillweak

TheZ wrote: »

Great article. Would somebody involved in crossfit, maybe a coach from one of the affiliates, like to answer each point?
    Would be intersting to hear a defence.

• Registered Users Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Rossin

it features actual hard workouts with real exercises that will in fact get you in great shape

the good point was a pretty good one in fairness

• Registered Users Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Michael 09

TheZ wrote: »

That's a very entertaining read.

Stillweak wrote: »
    Great article. Would somebody involved in crossfit, maybe a coach from one of the affiliates, like to answer each point?
    Would be intersting to hear a defence.

I've a CF L1 cert and am obnoxiously opinionated so I'll take a craic...

1) stupid point. people work harder in group settings

2) obvious point. no one with brain cells to rub together would argue that. although an Irish CF affiliate did claim that's Crossfit will start producing elite gymnasts, powerlifters and weightlifters. Which is hilariously ignorant and laughable

3) I don't see why fitness is suddenly a vocation and one should live off a stipend. if people pay it, get results and continue to return, they VALUE the service. thats the beautiful thing about discretionary expenditure. you don't have to spend it. besides, very few people, especially in Ireland, are getting rich off Crossfit

4) a CF pull up isn't supposed to be analogous to a normal pull up. it's like saying a reverse curl is the same as a hang power clean because the bar ends up in the same position. Both sides are wrong on the pull up argument

5) probably true to an extent, largely depends on whether the coach is an idiot and programs dumb **** or not. Mainsite WODs will almost certainly break you

6) mega fact

7) they've done a pretty good job on branding, and I ****ing hate their socks

...now back to painting my gym. For time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

I've a CF L1 cert and am obnoxiously opinionated so I'll take a craic...

1) stupid point. people work harder in group settings

2) obvious point. no one with brain cells to rub together would argue that. although an Irish CF affiliate did claim that's Crossfit will start producing elite gymnasts, powerlifters and weightlifters. Which is hilariously ignorant and laughable

3) I don't see why fitness is suddenly a vocation and one should live off a stipend. if people pay it, get results and cont

yes

Jarren wrote: »
    yes

I was a bit premature. And I posted too early as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda