Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eddie Halvey Sentence **CAUTION** May make you want to break somethin nearby in anger

123457»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭stock>

In February of this year a Latvian man was sentenced to 7 years in jail for drunk driving and causing the death of a Cork woman.

In November last year a Dublin man was jailed for 8 years for drunk driving and causing the deaths of two French women.

Last July a Carlow man was jailed for four months for driving while drunk and not having insurance.

In June a Dublin woman was described as menace and jailed for 6 years for drunk driving and injuring a pedestrian.

In April a Bray man was jailed for 6 months for drunk driving and driving without insurance.

Also in April an Enniscorthy man was jailed for 8 months for drunk driving.

The list of cases goes on and on. Yet this rugby player gets 7 months suspended for causing the death of a 16 year old boy.

Lets hear you explain the inconsistent judgments made and why ?

Ax grinding I dont do but all I want is a proper explanation as to why a drunk can kill a sixteen year old and walk away ,Why the dpp can screw up a simple drink driving when there are library of "Joe soaps"cases who did something similar and got a sentence fitting to the crime committed, and no deals done for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭gimme5minutes

diamo1901 wrote: »
    For the record let me start by saying that i do not know anyone from either side - i am just commenting as someone who was at the trial and was trying to offer a balanced view. I can understand those close to the family being very upset and angry.
    I am not condoning what Eddie Halvey did - u are right he was as u say more than twice over the legal limit but the law is the law and as much as you dont agree with it it is all that matters. I ahve attached my comments in RED above

This crap of the car not being parked...(I actually believe it was parked as in not one artice or report on this case has it been said that it wasn't parked).....but in the end it really doesn't matter if it was parked or not, lots of people are killed by drink drivers while there cars aren't parked. At the end of the day Halvey was over twice the legal limit, got into his and jeep, drove into the back of another car and killed a 16 year old boy. How in the name of ****ING GOD is that not dangerous driving?

Look at all the other cases of people killed by drunken drivers, they get done for dangerous driving causing death and get time in jail. Here's another case from 2007 of an 18 year old who drank and drove and got 3 years for dangerous driving causing death for killing his two passengers. http://www.limerickleader.ie/3419/Driver-jailed-over-deaths-of.3606652.jp

Please explain to me what is the difference between Halveys situation and all the other cases highlighted here, where people were drink driving and killed someone, that led him to get a 7 month suspended sentence when everyone else got time in jail. It's one law for the rugby guys, one law for the rest of us.

And please stop saying 'he has to live with what he's done blah blah blah'. Everyone else who killed someone while drunk has to live with it too, but they also happened to get a few years in jail. And what Halvey has to live with is nothing compared to what his family have to live with, especially now that they got no justice for their son.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 moll_d_doll

diamo1901 wrote: »
    For the record let me start by saying that i do not know anyone from either side - i am just commenting as someone who was at the trial and was trying to offer a balanced view. I can understand those close to the family being very upset and angry.
    I am not condoning what Eddie Halvey did - u are right he was as u say more than twice over the legal limit but the law is the law and as much as you dont agree with it it is all that matters. I ahve attached my comments in RED above

you seem to know alot about the case have u seen any of the photos? some people taught it was a corsa not a BMW! it was driven in at the back by 3 ft. THATS DANGEROUS DRIVING whether the court agreed or not.
    If halvey had any shame,remorse or regret for what he done,he would have found some means of apologising and NOTHING would have stopped him.
    Kevin Walsh is dead and i know whos side i'm on if i was any way associated with halvey i would be so ashamed and mortified.
    you have your opinion and i have mine,you can continue to have your head up your arse or halveys whichever floats your boat.......and yes halvey will have to live with it for the rest of his sad life and i hope its a long one!
    I hope that everytime he closes his eyes he see's that young boys face,
    I hope it haunts him forever.

CASE CLOSED!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Calm down now please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭BarryM

Terry wrote: »
    Calm down now please.

I fully appreciate the role of mods, but I fail to see why you are asking posters on here to calm down. I have read posts all over the place on this disgusting affair and, IMO, boards.ie is calm.

I also wondered what was considered libellous?? (previous mod post).

As I said this was/is a disgusting incident, both the original event and the court case. I am not surprised that people get hot under the collar..... One is tempted to ask if mods are, by right, unaffected??

Bye, Barry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

BarryM wrote: »
    I fully appreciate the role of mods, but I fail to see why you are asking posters on here to calm down. I have read posts all over the place on this disgusting affair and, IMO, boards.ie is calm.

I also wondered what was considered libellous?? (previous mod post).

As I said this was/is a disgusting incident, both the original event and the court case. I am not surprised that people get hot under the collar..... One is tempted to ask if mods are, by right, unaffected??

Bye, Barry
    there was a deleted post or two barry. terrys warning is to the poster of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

I agree with you that 7months is a Joke. But i can also take into account the fact that he didnt go out to kill him

Drink driving is a scourge on our society, and i would Implore Judges to Start handing out Serrious sentences. The old fashioned idea of "ah sure, a couple of pints and i'll be grand" needs to be re-written with fact.

When you make that decision to get into your car when you have Drink on you, is neither big nor clever. he has to live with the fact that he has killed a man, directly or indirectly,he took someones life.

personally, i'd charge anyone with attempted murder.

At the risk of causing uproar, it may have something to do with the fact that judges, among other people in the legal system, also flaut the law by drinking and driving themselves. Working in the pubs around the city center I've witnessed it. It certainly doesn't excuse it though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 diamo1901

you seem to know alot about the case have u seen any of the photos? some people taught it was a corsa not a BMW! it was driven in at the back by 3 ft. THATS DANGEROUS DRIVING whether the court agreed or not.
    If halvey had any shame,remorse or regret for what he done,he would have found some means of apologising and NOTHING would have stopped him.
    Kevin Walsh is dead and i know whos side i'm on if i was any way associated with halvey i would be so ashamed and mortified.
    you have your opinion and i have mine,you can continue to have your head up your arse or halveys whichever floats your boat.......and yes halvey will have to live with it for the rest of his sad life and i hope its a long one!
    I hope that everytime he closes his eyes he see's that young boys face,
    I hope it haunts him forever.

CASE CLOSED!!!!!!

Jesus im just dealing in the facts - that said i do not condone what Halvey done but unfortunately it dosent matter what you or i think - the DPP tried the case and the judge made his ruling. Also i dont have my head up my arse and i have never for the record even met Halvey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Daisymo

Fizman wrote: »
    Apologies that my original post isn't a verbatim account of the incident, but in a nutshell it's basically what happened.
    In a nutshell you couldn't be more wrong. He had been drinking all of the previous day and in his drunken state had decided to drive to Dublin. As for the accident itself, the guys he hit were parked in off the hard shoulder, on a straight part of the road outside Toomevara, moving cattle off the road to prevent an accident!!! So their act of kindness was paid back by Halvey killing the child sitting in the back seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭flying _squirl

I've been reading these post and I just want to say my piece:
    If I'm driving, with two and a half (or even just a half) the legal limit of alcohol in my system and a car pulls out in front of me illegally and i crash into them, I'm in the wrong.
    Not that the other people aren't, they should be charged too, but I'm driving illegally and dangerously so I should AT LEAST be charged with drunk driving! no matter what happens to the others or what they did!!

Hell, if I'm over the limit even slightly, drive safely, and never hurt anyone but I get breathalysed at a checkpoint, I'll be asked to get out of the car and I'd find my self in court very quick and rapid!

TL;DR: He WAS drink driving, he should at least have been propperly charged with that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭stock>

In conclusion for my part the DPP need to come out and explain their reasons for the disgraceful deal that they put up in front of the judge,and MARK my words in twelve months time he will apply for the reinstatement of his licence on grounds of hardship it will probably be granted .
    The end result will be a lame message sent out to the general public that drink driving is wrong and if you are one of the lads ,well it's okay we will do a deal to get you off no matter what you did,this must be very hard for the gardai to take as it appears that the DPP does what it wants regardless of any law or natural justice .

Stock