Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Vegas thread

• 16-05-2009 7:28pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭

after comments on my other thread decided to start this,
    Flights
    dougee19:
    www.netflights.com are doing great deals!!

Fill out the form on https://esta.cbp.dhs.gov/ a MINIMUM of 72 hours before your flight

Accomodation
    LTL:
    The MGM is a really nice well priced hotel. The rooms are great with a really good casino and constant cash game action in a good poker room.

RichieLawlor:
    Stay ay Wynn if you can, its so far better than anywhere else imo. (dont order room service, 60 quid for an omlette and its stinkin imo)
    Spearmint Rhino

fixer:
    Mandalay Bay has been offering rooms midweek for $69/night.

bigbadpat:
    Stayed in the Luxor on the strip when I went two years ago.
    Great hotel - great rooms and felt safe.

Jayminator:
    Stayed in Ceasers with wifey in 2007. Class place. Lovely poker room and great food. Even the room service food was top notch.

DeadParrot:
    http://www.thetwentydollartrick.com/ try this out

dougee19: http://www.hotels.com was great for me
    Drinking
    RichieLawlor:
    frequent Spearmint Rhino ( order hot asian birds imo)

glanman:
    4 lads went to coyote ugly, 4 guys got laid!
    Pure was a pretty cool club, drinks are dear though

Dont ask a taxi to take you to a club, youll end up in a strip club in the middle of nowhere, unless thats what you want.

Whyno:
    spearmint rhino is d bomb. Saphire is right up der too.
    The nightclub in caesars is great craic.
    Food
    RichieLawlor:
    Eat at Caesars or http://www.smithandwollenskysteakhouses.com/index.htm Food is phenomenal
    Spearmint Rhino

fixer:
    My favourite restaurants in Vegas are either Stripsteak at Mandalay or Valentino's at Venetian.

joeclif:
    Would also recommend the mgm, the rainforest cafe for breakfast as there is less sugar on everything there.
    Do try craftsteak the once, pricey but brilliant.

Whyno:
    You`ll get good food in most of the big places. Normally all have a decent steak house.
    Poker:
    Pabloh:
    the Venetian, Caesars and the Wynn have good 2-5 and 5-10 games. Venetian has decent tournaments too. Table selection can be very important though. The average player from my experience is a lot tighter than over here.

RichieLawlor:
    Poker in Caesars and Bellagio is probably the best. (good value tourneys in CP and big tourneys in Bellagio)

Whyno:
    Cash games in the Wynn and caesars palace. Tourneys in both are pretty good to.
    Other
    bigbadpat:
    You should take a helicoptor trip in the evening over Death valley and then to see VEGAS lit up in the late evening........fantastic.

Whyno:
    Go see the grand canyon and go to the stratosphere at night.

What not to do
    Anyone who has been on boards for the last year:
    stay away from both hookers and cash tables come 5am if your intoxicated with free booze!

I'm just gonna keep editing the opening thread with ideas, hope ye like
    More comments are appreciated

• Registered Users Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭dougee19

newbie question here, whats the best thing to do with your money when in Vegas, should I have it in my bank account and get it wired to the front desk, or just keep it in a credit card and use it abroad etc
    thanks,
    dougee

• Registered Users Posts: 803 ✭✭✭flushje

dougee19 wrote: »
    newbie question here, whats the best thing to do with your money when in Vegas, should I have it in my bank account and get it wired to the front desk, or just keep it in a credit card and use it abroad etc
    thanks,
    dougee

I made the mistake of withdrawing my money from the machines in the Casinos. Id honestly go with Cash.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

thanks,
    dougee
    Think I read either here or on 2+2 that you get raped by casino ATM's for charges, turbo-raped by strip club ATM's.
    Best way to do it apparently is to load up your credit card in the black, then go find an actual US bank branch and use the ATM there or talk to a teller.
    If your credit card gets nicked tho the money inthe black on it might not be insured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭The Tourist

flushje wrote: »
    I made the mistake of withdrawing my money from the machines in the Casinos. Id honestly go with Cash.

My sister and her friends went with cash and their safe in the hotel was emptied on the second day.

Which hotel? Did they go to security etc? Cos there should be cameras in every hallway to get pics of the culprits.

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭ZZR1100

Cash and rather than using the room safe. use the safe deposit boxes in the cashier desk. they are free. oh and dont forget the front desk tip for getting an upgrade when u check in http://www.frontdesktip.com/

Probably will just carry cash and hopefully not get robbed when asleep on the flight :S,

one more question, a lot of my money is on stars atm, is there any other way other than taking it out in cash(€) and then changing it to $ again?

What not to do
    Anyone who has been on boards for the last year:
    stay away from both hookers and cash tables come 5am if your intoxicated with free booze!

I'm just gonna keep editing the opening thread with ideas, hope ye like
    More comments are appreciated

Stay away from black men claiming to have drugs. My friend got a $200 bag of splenda for his troubles. There everywhere, even in the hotel lobbies!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cuterob

Stay away from black men claiming to have drugs. My friend got a $200 bag of splenda for his troubles. There everywhere, even in the hotel lobbies!

so is it best to stick to the white men selling drugs?

cuterob wrote: »
    so is it best to stick to the white men selling drugs?

Yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cuterob

Yes.

noted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Grafter

Grafter wrote: »

tyvm

literally want 1 question answered now, and that is

I have a lot of my money is on stars atm, is there any other way other than taking it out in cash(€) and then changing it to $ again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

tyvm

I have a lot of my money is on stars atm, is there any other way other than taking it out in cash(€) and then changing it to $ again?

swap it with an American player for cash over there, obv you'll need to know them or get references, but with the law the way it is I'd imagine it would be easy enough to find someone to sort you.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

tyvm

My neteller account is in dollars so loading my Net+ card up before I go. They charge $6 per ATM withdrawal or nothing if you use it to buy stuff so go for dinner with people, get cash of them and pay with the card.

bohsman wrote: »
    My neteller account is in dollars so loading my Net+ card up before I go. They charge $6 per ATM withdrawal or nothing if you use it to buy stuff so go for dinner with people, get cash of them and pay with the card.

was thinking this, but neteller card is like a minimum of a certain amount of months, and you get charged if you don't use it in a month. also mine is in €

I am awkward!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭[nicK]

i'm in cali all summer so will obviously be taking many sporadic trips over that direction.. anybody renting a house out there for the series or you all doing hotels?

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭Russh

lafortezza wrote: »
    Think I read either here or on 2+2 that you get raped by casino ATM's for charges, turbo-raped by strip club ATM's.
    Best way to do it apparently is to load up your credit card in the black, then go find an actual US bank branch and use the ATM there or talk to a teller.
    If your credit card gets nicked tho the money inthe black on it might not be insured.

Need some help lads....!

Cash is not an option..../...limit prolly not high enough on card...Card company charge a decent % for withdrawing anyway....

Can I wire money to Hotel casino cage or Hotel itself....?

Can money be wired to a Vegas bank and withdrawn easily...?

I think I've read something on here before about this....any links...?

Thanks...
    It's for a friend....:).

You can wire money to whatever hotel you are staying at, not sure how it works, best just to ring the hotel in question and ask. I think though that there might be restrictions about how you use this money in the hotel's cage, ie you can't just use it like an ATM, they would prefer you keep in on site and spend/gamble on their premises.

No idea about Vegas banks, contact Bank of America customer service maybe.
    When you say cash is not an option what do you mean?

When I've travelled in the US/Vegas I've always had a couple of thousand of my spending money split up in wallet/backpack/suitcase, and then the remainder on my CC. If I went crazy spending a quick spin of online banking to top up the CC was fine.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

The dollar has weakened a bit in the last few days again. It is nearing the $1.40 mark now according to XE.com

5starpool wrote: »
    The dollar has weakened a bit in the last few days again. It is nearing the $1.40 mark now according to XE.com

I noticed!!! have a lot on my stars account, was on 1.34 a few days ago and I wanted to wait for it to go to 1.32 to withdraw to €, then wait a few days to change it back into $... but now its gone up again, SICKENING!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,771 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Why dont you just open a bank account when you're over there and change your paypal to deposit in there in dollars douglas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 614 ✭✭✭Shivverz

Whats the best way to bring cash to vegas? I dont have a CC.
    Would it be worth opening a Halifax account for their VISA debit card?
    Any suggestions on a reliable Casino/Cage I could wire funds to?

• Registered Users Posts: 36,319 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Rookie447

Non americans cannot open bank accounts in USA.

best bet is def to wire money to the Rio.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭sikes

Rookie447 wrote: »
    Non americans cannot open bank accounts in USA.

best bet is def to wire money to the Rio.

i have an american bank account, and im not american. i also have a dollar account with a uk bank, im pretty legit.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

sikes wrote: »
    i have an american bank account, and im not american. i also have a dollar account with a uk bank, im pretty legit.

I can confirm that Sikes is indeed, pretty legit

• Registered Users Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

Whats the best way to bring cash to vegas?

a false heel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭--STATTO--

Hey Heading To Vegas In Mid June For A Holiday With Mates And Just Wondering Where To Find The Best Cash Action 1/2 2/5 NLH & PLO.

Any Advise On These And Good Structure Tourneys Would Be Great And Any Other Info Also... ;)

"What's the most you ever lost on a coin toss?" ~Anton Chigurh No Country for Old Men

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Tony3004

MGM, the Rio, and ceasers are best bets for cash games, the venitian, ceasers for best structure tournaments , it is hard to find a tournie under 300 dollars with a good structure, the structures in most small tournies appear good to get you in the door but turn very crapshooty towards the end. :eek: