Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you drive off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

its electic for that very reason :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭trish23

If I told a Garda to go and have a chat with Danger Mouse the only person who'd be getting warned would be me.

:)Didnt mean Danger Mouse per se

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

we only have one side of the story, and i seriuosly doubt he was doing 40 because your dog would have almost been certainly killed if he hit it going 40mph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

afatbollix wrote: »
    its electic for that very reason :)
    Help me out before the Spelling Police get here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

yay were now attacking spelling... well done.. were done here...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

So did he get done for speeding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

yay were now attacking spelling... well done.. were done here...
    It's we're done.
    Not were done. hehe..

I was going to say something on-topic but this spelling lark made me forget what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I completely agree with the OP's reaction. All these gimps here talking about leads etc. OP opened the front door and the dog got excited and ran off = not illegal act. Driver driving at speed, knocking down dog then driving off = illegal act. That combined with the bonds of affection that people have for their pets makes the OP's reaction entirely understandable.

This is not the first time, nor I suspect the last time, that I have to conclude that a significant proportion of posters here are fools. My only consolation is that I know I am right.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

FFS

OP cant prove that the guy was speeding
    however the OP admits that the dog was off leash,

the OP then Gloats about smashin up the guys car and attemted Assault.

yet most of the posters side with the OP, It was a Fvckin dog, a dog that shouldnt have been on the stret it should have been on a leash

I've Killed a few dogs amongst other things with my cars and Utes, hell my Cruiser has great big steel bars on the front specifically for the purpose of killing anything that is stupid enough to get itself in front of it.

and people will say Oh but what if it was a child, IT wasnt a child it was a DOG a dumb beast, may have been a pet or whatnot, but that irelevant its a DOG, get over it

Smashin up the guys car shows the mindset of a complete tool, I hope it cost you a fortune, I hope it cost you so much that you cant afford any more vet bills for the dog and have to make the decisdion to put it down, KARMA as they say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Tldr;

Doesn't the law stipulate that you have to keep driving? It is what I was taught by ISM anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭token56

FFS

OP cant prove that the guy was speeding
    however the OP admits that the dog was off leash,

the OP then Gloats about smashin up the guys car and attemted Assault.

yet most of the posters side with the OP, It was a Fvckin dog, a dog that shouldnt have been on the stret it should have been on a leash

I've Killed a few dogs amongst other things with my cars and Utes, hell my Cruiser has great big steel bars on the front specifically for the purpose of killing anything that is stupid enough to get itself in front of it.

and people will say Oh but what if it was a child, IT wasnt a child it was a DOG a dumb beast, may have been a pet or whatnot, but that irelevant its a DOG, get over it

Smashin up the guys car shows the mindset of a complete tool, I hope it cost you a fortune, I hope it cost you so much that you cant afford any more vet bills for the dog and have to make the decisdion to put it down, KARMA as they say

Get up on of the wrong side of the bed this morning did we?

First all I dont think the op gloated about smashing the guys car, he sad he broke some of the windows in a fit of rage, which he was obviously wrong to do, but he didn't gloat about it.

Yes he said he might of hit the guy had he not ran away, but no assault took place, nor was it attempted in the end according to the story so i dont see why that should be discussed.

Now dogs obviously dont mean alot to you if you are calling them "dumb beasts". But they do to alot of people, so yes one might get very angry if they see there dog knocked down infront of them, regardless of whether or not it should have been on a leash.

It was a fit of human emotion which overcame the guy, which in my opinion is perfectly understandable.

Yes the dog should have been on a leash and not in the position to be knocked down and yes he shouldn't have broke the windows on his car etc. But I think you could be a bit more understanding in how the guy must have felt at that particular moment in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

You implied he could have hit a child to justify your smashing a window. Say the out come was different, say the driver swerved to avoid the dog and crash his car, maybe he gets hurt, maybe he knocks down a cyclist or a child...

Is he justified in going around and burning down the OP's house?

You are responsible for the control of your dog, it should be on a lead, its the law.

You and Lassie both learned a harsh lesson, i hope your dog is ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭delllat

Ok I was walking out of my house today with my Dog. He ran out ahead of me and got hit by a car flying by. Now this is a built up housing estate with loads of kids around your man must have been doing atlest 40mph on a cul da sac. I ran over to my dog and noticed he was in pain in the corner of my eye i seen the driver flying off into the wind. This made me so f.cking mad. I got one of my family members to take care of the dog as i went looking for the driving. I found him a few minutes later. I was so angry that i broke a couple of windows in his car and the only reason i didnt hit him a box was he ran off again on foot. Anyway the garda where called by the driver. The garda told me i would have to pay for the damage or be arrested, as my dog wasnt on a lead. Im so angry right now, as the chap who knocked the dog down got away with it even tho, due too his speeding he could have killed my dog or just as likly some kid on the street. Too cut a long story short, i was just wondering what people thought of this would you have done the same thing as me or did i over react?

I would send you and your dog to the next life if that happened to me ,Youre lucky the guy was such a pussy,its hardly his fault you let your dog run under his wheels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Fair play OP, you should have used his face to break the windows.

Amazed at the amount of internet experts quoting law and putting on the "level headed judge" speak.

The bloke was driving too fast in a cul de sac to avoid the dog, therefore he was going too fast to avoid a child. By the sounds of the OP was near enough that the driver could have seen the dog was with it's owner. Sounds to me like the driver was an irresponsible coward who I hope got the fright of his life.

People who consider other peoples pets to be inferior to the plight of their fukcing fog light make me laugh.

And to the guys who said they would send the OP to "the next life". LOL! Internet hardmen, gotta love it. Try cowering behind the steering wheel for size.

OP think of it this way, you'll have to shell out a few hundred for the windows, if someone had offered you the chance of scaring the sh1t out of the guy but you had to pay a few hundred quid for the privilege you'd have accepted right? You win.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

stovelid wrote:
    Guy is lucky he only got his windows broken.
    By taking the law into your own hands you had to pay for the damages, so all yer man had was a fright :(

You can't sue over the dog since it wasn't on a lead.

If you'd got his reg you could have reported him to the guards for dangerous driving and failing to stop at the accident. If there were other witnesses to his speeding that may have helped, also if you could show that the person didn't live in the estate and so was rat running.

"Don't get angry - get even."

Yeah great advice, get a criminal record for smashing a window, nice trying to work abroad with criminal damage on your police cert.

Well worth the sense of achievement.

The dude shouldnt havent been speeding.

But as i said on the flip side, if he crashed as a result of the dog, does that justify the driver smashing up the OPs windows?

kevpants wrote: »
    Fair play OP, you should have used his face to break the windows.

And to the guys who said they would send the OP to "the next life". LOL! Internet hardmen, gotta love it.

was that not a case of the pot calling the kettle black? Hmmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Abigayle wrote: »
    Tldr;

Doesn't the law stipulate that you have to keep driving? It is what I was taught by ISM anyway.

I think in this case they mean not to swerve to avoid an animal if you driving at speed. Point is here that the guy shouldn't be driving at speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Pataman

Firstly we have no proof the driver was speeding, except that of a person who was completely out of their senses with rage. Hardly an independent witness. Secondly the dog should be on a lead as soon as it leaves your property. If it ran out at speed the driver would not be able to stop, unless he was going in the region of 10/20kmh. I havent checked the statute books but I was also told by the driving instructor not to stop for a dog/ small animal accident. You are also not to swerve to avoid an accident(I failed my first driving test for doing this).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Jigsaw wrote: »
    All these gimps here talking about leads etc. OP opened the front door and the dog got excited and ran off

How about putting the leash on the dog before you open the door :rolleyes:

Sorry OP i've no sympathy for you your dog should have been on a leash for its own and others safety you should have had that in mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭shqipshume

stovelid wrote: »
    I think in this case they mean not to swerve to avoid an animal if you driving at speed. Point is here that the guy shouldn't be driving at speed.

What it says is if the dog or other animal is in the road and you have no way to avoid it,then hit it.But you are by law entitled to report it and or else make sure it is dead and moved from the road to avoid accidents.

However much the op shouldn't have gotten himself into trouble for it,he is paying for that.
    The guy who hit the dog should ve stopped and then none of that would have happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

The driver should have accelerated when he saw the dog to make sure he did the job right!

On a serious note, are you sure this guy was going 40miles per hour? Because 40mph versus a 4 month old puppy would almost certainly result in dead dog? The fact that he doesn't seem badly injured would imply that it wasnt a hard collision at all. Oh and as for the smashing windows thing... if it were my windows i'd make sure you were prosecuted for it. Then when asked why i didnt stop i'd say i was fearful for my personal safety as the owner is clearly unstable as proven by my broken windows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭delllat

if the dog was so fast to be able to run out the front door and the owner couldnt catch it then its reasonable to presume it was also fast enough to run under the drivers wheels and he had no chance of avoiding it

smashing his windows is just retarded

u must live in a real Fag*otty area or youd be burnt out of your house for sh1t like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

delllat wrote: »

u must live in a real ******ty area or youd be burnt out of your house for sh1t like that

Because they love burning out houses in nice areas??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭shqipshume

if the dog was so fast to be able to run out the front door and the owner couldnt catch it then its reasonable to presume it was also fast enough to run under the drivers wheels and he had no chance of avoiding it

u must live in a real ******ty area or youd be burnt out of your house for sh1t like that

And thats how you deal with it :confused::rolleyes:

He didnt say anything about the dog not been at fault nor himself,He stated the guy was driving to fast and did not stop! that is what made him annoyed the pure insensitivity and disregard for anyone.I am sure after he hit the dog he saw the guy go to his dog in rear view mirror and still didn't bother to say sorry or is it ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 mr-aido

had to say it

animals natures speed bumps

but i wouldnt drive off
    i live in a estate but my dog is never on a lead because i have the freindliest labrador in the world the kids on the road play with it all the other dogs play with it no matter wat sex it is

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

A few years ago, I was walking the GF home and there's a pretty nice estate that we have to walk through it's a cul de sac and never really any traffic and it would be late enough at night that I would be walking him so I would always let him run. However about a week before xmas one year he ran across the road to some people and decided to run back as a jeep came up the road. The guy stopped i picked up the dog, went to the nearest vet and rang the emergency number vet came thankfully the dog was just bruised and sore for a few days.

It was completely my fault as I didnt have the dog under control. The guy did the decent thing and stopped and despite the dog sh*tting all over me and his jeep paid for the vet. Was more than generous of him. Never let the dog off the lead after that.

OP sorry but it was your fault. Maybe if this guy hits a child something will be done but he doesnt seem to care about animals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

The driver probably drove off in fear (correctly) figuring that he was dealing with an irresponsible scumbag and would get a hiding if he stopped his car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Edgedinblue

technically youre both at fault, you shouldnt have done the damage to his car and he shouldnt have been speeding through an estate, but feck that i wouldve done the same if someone done that to my dog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

By law does a driver not have to stop and notify the garda if they hit a dog? This driver obviously failed to do this, from what I can see the garda were only called after damage to the car was done.

I would have driven off cause you sound like a knack.

mr-aido wrote: »
    all the other dogs play with it no matter wat sex it is

QFT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭aoibhebree

Firstly, I just can't believe that the car was going 40mph, there is no chance a 4 month old puppy would survive against it! :rolleyes:

If I was the driver of that car, driving at whatever speed it was, and I saw a dog run out under my wheels, I would not swerve or jam on the brakes unless I was completely sure that I wouldn't end up causing an accident or hitting someone else's property, or even a person. For all I'd know there could have been a child or anything about to run out after the dog - if I tried to stop I could end up hitting both of them!!!

You say the driver slowed down and drove off - he probably saw you and saw how pssed off you were, and didn't stop because what would have been the point? He couldn't do much to help the dog, he saw you were with it anyways, and what was the point in stopping when he rightly had no intention for paying for damage caused by you when you let the dog off the lead.

You're just lucky you didn't end up causing an accident, if the driver had thought it was a child he might have swerved and ended up badly injured.

For the record I have nothing against animals, just careless irresponsible owners!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

The driver is a scumbag for driving off, plain and simple. Of course the OP was also in the wrong for not having the dog on a lead but that doesnt excuse the fact that after the driver hit the dog he slowed down and then drove off. That is not right. Fair enough you mighnt be a dog person but you would want to be some bollix to just drive off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

nice to know if the driver hit a kid he would drive off with the kid lying on the ground probably dead....top man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭aoibhebree

marko91 wrote: »
    nice to know if the driver hit a kid he would drive off with the kid lying on the ground probably dead....top man!

Kid ≠ Dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭irelandrover

How do we know this? There is no proof of this. The driver hit a dog. Slowed down, saw that it was a dog and then drove off. Chances are the driver didnt do that much wrong. I'd like to know if when he looked back could he see the OP very angrily shouting and decided if it was dangerous to get out of the car to apologise. Judging by the OP reaction when he found him this would have been a justified reaction.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

LOL.

What a ridiculous thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Unless the dog is on the restricted dogs list, there is no, absolutely NO, law that says the dog must be on a lead. The dog must be under control, and it is perfectly possible for a dog to be hit by a car while under control. For example if I was walking my dog and we were crossing the road and a car zoomed around the corner it is possible that I would jump out of the way and my dog could get hit, whether on a lead or not. I'm not sure if this happened with the OP or not, it sounds more like the dog was walking along the road rather than crossing with the OP.

But a dog does not have to be on a lead to be under control, so the Garda is talking b0ll0cks. (Not unusual as Gardaí are not solicitors and do not need a comprehensive understanding of the law.) The dog not being on a lead does not excuse the drivers actions. So OP, if you are very unhappy with the outcome you can ask to report the Garda in question for giving a determination which is at odds with the law. And you could press for the driver to be prosecuted. However it is probably in your best interests to let it drop as the biggest crime was committed by you when you smashed the driver's windows and you could be prosecuted for your behaviour.

I hope your dog is doing well, one of mine is currently recovering from a broken leg and it's tough to see your dog in pain. In future, if your dog does not walk well to heel, don't have him off lead unless you are in a safe area like a fenced park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

First of all, it was wrong to smash up the guy's car. I know seeing your poor dog lying in the road in pain was upsetting, but still.
    However, the guy was completely wrong to drive off like that!
    I got hit by a car when I was riding my bike to school (I was 9 or 10 years old). I was on the bike path, but there was a driveway, and the car coming out of the driveway didn't stop and ran right into me, knocking me off my bike and into the street and then drove off.
    I scrambled to get myself and my bike out of the street (it was a busy street and cars were coming). My bike was all mangled and I was cut up and bruised and bleeding. I tried to set my bike right so that I could ride it school, but that wasn't working so I just walked it up to the schoolyard, went to my classroom, put my stuff away and sat at my desk. The teacher came in and looked at me - I must have looked terrible because she said, "meta, what happened to you?" And I said, "I got hit by a car." And she said, "When?" and I said, "Just now, on the way to school." By this time, every kid in the class was staring at me and for a few seconds nobody said anything. And then I burst into tears.
    We never did find the person who hit me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Ok I was walking out of my house today with my Dog. He ran out ahead of me and got hit by a car flying by. Now this is a built up housing estate with loads of kids around your man must have been doing atlest 40mph on a cul da sac. I ran over to my dog and noticed he was in pain in the corner of my eye i seen the driver flying off into the wind. This made me so f.cking mad. I got one of my family members to take care of the dog as i went looking for the driving. I found him a few minutes later. I was so angry that i broke a couple of windows in his car and the only reason i didnt hit him a box was he ran off again on foot. Anyway the garda where called by the driver. The garda told me i would have to pay for the damage or be arrested, as my dog wasnt on a lead. Im so angry right now, as the chap who knocked the dog down got away with it even tho, due too his speeding he could have killed my dog or just as likly some kid on the street. Too cut a long story short, i was just wondering what people thought of this would you have done the same thing as me or did i over react?

ok i h ave two answers

1 if someone ran my dog down i would freak and broken windows would be the least of his issues

2 i always keep my dog on a lead to prevent this sorta thing when near roads (but i live in the middle of the ar$e snd of sligo so thats easy for me to say

and no i would never driver off if such a thing happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

What positive could have come from the car stopping?

In fact the OP should of been happy the car didn't stop cause he would have saved money had he not gone and acted irresponsibly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

u must live in a real Fag*otty area or youd be burnt out of your house for sh1t like that

Careful now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

I am a very reasonable person. I have never done anything like that before and never will again. i hadn't even raised my voice until he began to drive off at speed. This is a very quiet housing estate where cars have no business going any faster then 15 mph. There are lots of families living on the street and kids where playing on the footpath at the time. Also a playground is only 30 meters from my ma's house. he was driving well over the speed limit and it could have very easily been a child. Sure he hit the dog and he went into the air and rolled a couple of times. So he was defo going fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

First and foremost I am a serios dog lover. I wouldn't let my dog off his lead where it's possible for him to be hit by a car.

How do you know the driver was speeding? Do you have a speed gun in your eyesocket? Also i suspect if a pup was hit by a car doing 40mph I doubt it would survive. If it was my windows you smashed I'd have shoved your dog up your ass and then made you eat the broken glass.

I would have stopped myself and I'd have checked my car for damage, because if the dog damaged the car then you are responsible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

iguana wrote: »
    The dog must be under control

The fact that the OP was trying to put a leash on the dog but before he could the dog ran off would indicate that said dog wasn't under control so still OP's fault.

Moral of the story is that both the OP and driver are idiots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Moral of the story is that both the OP and driver are idiots

Banned.

iguana wrote: »
    Unless the dog is on the restricted dogs list, there is no, absolutely NO, law that says the dog must be on a lead. The dog must be under control.

"Absolutely No law" i think you haven't taken into account bye-laws local councils can implement where a dog is required to be on a leash.

The law does state a dog must be under "control", it also states it must be under control of a "responsible" person. If the dogs head is connecting with a car bumper hes not under control. Throwing rocks through windows is not the actions of a "responsible" person.

The dog will use traffic lights in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

I understand your mad at the driver that mowed down your dog but IMO it was stupid not to have your dog on a lead and it was irresponsible to break the windows of the guys car..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

a dog is still loved by its owners....id love to see ur face if u seen ur dog get a smack of a car by a man speeding!