Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Songs about Ireland by foreign artists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭ynotdu

At the moment I have:
    'Give Ireland Back to the Irish' - Paul McCartney
    'The Luck of the Irish' - John Lennon
    'Galway Girl' - Steve Earle
    'Ireland' - Garth Brooks
    'Irish Girls Are Pretty' - The Proclaimers

Hi Tchaikovsky,have the luxury of time to youtube them,hope ya dont mind if i add links?:)just i can see if i like them and YOUR suggestions available to view by link as i check them out(great idea for a thread you got!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kaO4XeHhwo8 (macca)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3qHYFwWK1Dk&feature=related ( Len)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LG7CONywuvw (S Earle)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZeEfKZnxNuc (garth brooks)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NtsuA9Ahk8A (proclaimers)

I found the first two very educational but glad we have moved on(at least a bit)
    I had never heard of Steve Earl.
    could not find a video of G Brookes singing *Ireland*but love the video (Garths voice,but it is also signed,fascinating to see the gestures for the words)

eh the proclaimers were erm.......... ok:) the video has some very funny posters(well worth a look)

Cheers&keep em coming guys?please?

seanybiker wrote: »
    40 shades of green - johnny cash I think.

Hi seanybiker,I was sure you were wrong that Johnny Cash wrote forty shades of green,so i checked wikipedia and it kindda said he did too!
    still not convinced I checked Youtube and the man himself confirmed it just before he sang it at link below.

You were right! I was wrong!(ya should see the colors i changed to!:D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N0oTDS9ur_U

383Ger wrote: »
    Les Lacs Du Connemara - Michel Sardou.....classic anthemic song!! Look it up on youtube

Wow what power in that song&a good time to be reminded of what is good about our country.I,m really enjoying checking out the suggested songs:)

Do You know anything more about Michel Sardou or what inspired him to write/sing the song(I love the changes in tempo)the version i watched is at the link below.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l11GyqVu_-o

From Galway to Graceland by Richard Thompson

Hi could not find a version i was sure was Richard Thompson(dont know what he looks like:))

There is something sad about Elvis fans(I dont mean sad in a smart way)I know of a guy who saved from his social welfare money to go to Graceland.
    I dont understand how Elvis seems to have touched so many people in such a deep way?
    the version i found below does have that whistfull property about it that often comes over a dedicated fans face when they talk about him though,thanks for the suggestion.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFq_4u1Z0zQ&feature=related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

ynotdu wrote: »
    Hi seanybiker,I was sure you were wrong that Johnny Cash wrote forty shades of green,so i checked wikipedia and it kindda said he did too!
    still not convinced I checked Youtube and the man himself confirmed it just before he sang it at link below.

Ha ha go me. Only reason I came back into this thread is because I thought I was wrong to ha ha.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

Always felt this was the best version of Galway to Graceland:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

One of John Lennon's angriest songs, Sunday Bloody Sunday, check out his lyrics! Link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Lets get rid of Ireland Call for rugby and replace it with something to the tune of Michel Sardou's les lacs du Connemara!

One of John Lennon's angriest songs, Sunday Bloody Sunday, check out his lyrics! Link

Hi Guinnesdrinker,followed the link to the lyrics!thanks!

It sure is an angry song bit that struck me most was:

:Leave Ireland to the Irish,not for London or for Rome.

Dont want to go political but an overview of our history no rational person could deny that British rule,or Catholic institutions had they not happened Ireland would be a better place.

Amazing that things many people think are recent law here(divorce etc)were already the law under Breton law:confused:

Quint wrote: »
    Lets get rid of Ireland Call for rugby and replace it with something to the tune of Michel Sardou's les lacs du Connemara!

Lol well sounds ok but......................................

doubt ya would find enough guys in Connemara that have even heard of Rugby let alone make up a team:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭Sr. Pirotecnic

Dexys Midnight Runners - Knowledge of Beauty, later retitled My National Pride

Check out the video, Kev in the wilds of Mayo (?)

• Registered Users Posts: 429 ✭✭Dan Dare

The More That I See (the less I believe) by Fun Boy Three.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 melahide

"As the people pass galway" by Vinny Samways

• Registered Users Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Jeanious

ynotdu wrote: »

jaysus i knew he did a version of it alright but i never knew he wrote it!

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Orbital - Belfast (a spectacular and timeless piece of electronic brilliance).

• Registered Users Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Boney M - Belfast (a spectacular and timeless piece of German disco).

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭hawthorn

Surprised it took so long for this one to be mentioned....

Song For Ireland composed by Phil and June Colclough (English)

Of course most old music-hall type Irish songs were written by Americans..

When Irish Eyes Are Smiling, Irish Molly etc