Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The everyone has one thread!

• 18-05-2009 10:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭

So from my brief time here on this fine board Ive seen some great shots from some great places , maybe its been done before .... but I thought it would be fun to compare peoples shots from popular locations, ya know places we've all taken pictures at..... I'l kick off with some pretty obvious ones, :rolleyes: Im a noob so hopefully they are not toooo boring err....zzzzzzz

Custom House (This was taken with Canon 450 D and the Kit lense)

3501772133_2e3eeea115.jpg?v=0

Dun Laoghaire (Canon 450D and Tamron 70 - 300)
    3522839519_8a67950c07.jpg?v=0

I was in Cork for work ....I think this is Cobh?
    3543308175_ea708efd3b.jpg?v=0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,967 ✭✭✭mrmac

I like this idea Trev.
    I have been looking to take a shot, of my own, of a particluar tree, on the Carlow to Kilkenny road. Hope to get out there this week-end.

Here's one taken by Cabaal : http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=60257384&postcount=946

Here's the rough co-ordinates for this, taken from google maps, if anyone else is interested :)

52deg 46' 26.04 N 6deg 57' 11.01 W

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

Cheers Mr Mac, yeah Ive been watching the Carlow Tree story grow (boom boom) , I can imagine spinning down there some time and seeing loads of other heads snapping away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

It's only a matter of time before that tree gets its own merchandise stall :pac:

Well feel free to include your version!!

Im guessing Glendalough, GPO , The Spire will be popular too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,161 ✭✭✭leche solara

Here's a few more of the obvious Dublin shots:

4AE1334316D94F898551751B7B647695-800.jpg

9AB79D24950248DEA6EBB9842D874673-800.jpg

B1144BA07F5F4599BFA174FE088EB74F-800.jpg

00E3820B772346C983345255B203A266-800.jpg

C6FF1B590AAD404D9EE5808BD6081BD6-800.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭thusspakeblixa

An obvious Galway one.
    9CFE0A6D4DB74D738D8F5B44DD7450FC-800.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭smelltheglove

2653935602_eecb2333ec.jpg?v=0

2653935092_ab30e8ea2a.jpg?v=0

2928066770_2e0924e401.jpg?v=0

Some oldies!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭superflyninja

city hall:
    City_Hall_by_superflyninja.jpg
    Reflection_by_superflyninja.jpg
    Ha'penny Bridge
    Ha__Penny_Bridge_BW_by_superflyninja.jpg
    Sightseeing_by_superflyninja.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭MarthaT

great thread OP, fantastic shots in here :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

3350266314_3e0e9b6be8.jpg

2315144236_44b1550e99.jpg

Cheers MarthaT , some very dramatic photos in here alright, keep em coming folks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭trooney

The 'Mun
    453715BEBC884FD387038AF4DF6A0812-800.jpg

City quay
    9E083218079E42D28D6D6B4AC13B5700-800.jpg

Poolbeg/South wall
    F0435AC53EF540AFAAABBD5EBAB3BA48-500.jpg?r=2

The Iveagh Gardens
    C7A72DD9E7DF468699FF9E45FD9FF17B-800.jpg

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,584 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

These tiresome chimney pots sneek in everywhere...
    3205066740_95487394ec.jpg

Even here, I coulda kicked myself for not noiticing them in the first place.
    34E426E41C684140B66D22D0119AA923-500.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

Surely the most obvious one?
    3273031672_1d762c7afb.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Mr. Grieves

Yeah, I'd say every Dublin person on Boards has a photo of the chimneys:

2556663892_641b39445c.jpg

2607103053_3a4415e33e.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Pivot_Al

Yep
    IMG_2499.JPG

• Registered Users Posts: 604 ✭✭✭stabo

BF5084B83F474F1D81B63D0FA3F0FEF4-800.jpg

Its around 1km past the Dolmen hotel as your leaving Carlow on the left hand side. Ye cant miss it.

textbook composition there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Someone mention poolbeg? :D

DB1132CF89E041EDBE4A007F161930D4-800.jpg

3AF35EC73250434FA31D9C48BC27BDCC-800.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 604 ✭✭✭stabo

41B7D258A1944AD68F189D7375129EE1-800.jpg

One of the first pics i took over a year ago not the best pic,no rapeseed this year,but loads of fields near the area if anybody heading that direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

i'm sure most people have a photo of the trinity belltower....

BF13CDC6AC924ABB8A4145F0DD87AE19-500.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,967 ✭✭✭mrmac

stabo wrote: »

Its around 1km past the Dolmen hotel as your leaving Carlow on the left hand side. Ye cant miss it.

Cheers, hope to get a quick spin out that way on Saturday (hopefully is not lashing rain :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Nisio

Spire pic

BDD5E81DFAD74E7A9BFEF734436A29BF-800.jpg

That alley off grafton st

EF76384FB75E4E3C8BC18C9CA828A736-800.jpg
    Stephens green

6205E278953647F4A3353FF966DDBF12-800.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭yarglags

656CDAD4C296422A9286C022ECF522B7-800.jpg

Stillorgan Dual-carriagway

AF7BFB3E399743B9BA72356872485459-500.jpg

Poolbeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Deliverance XXV

Great idea for a thread!

This is Glendalough with a twist...

3531608070_f31205cf78.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Must be something wrong with me, the only picture so far that I have one of is the moon! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

Must be something wrong with me, the only picture so far that I have one of is the moon! :D

Either that or you don't work/live in Dublin :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Either that or you don't work/live in Dublin :pac:

That might have something to do with it I suppose :p

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,090 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

2745078599_f8c099d81e.jpg?v=0

and from a different angle...
    3492995692_f1a5a8af21.jpg?v=0

And another?...
    1253756097_3a2c7acbe6.jpg?v=1188270721

2993379344_74f1fcefc3.jpg?v=0

A slightly more packed, or an over packed Ha'Penny Bridge on Paddy's day...
    3372742213_3e99df4145.jpg?v=0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Chimneys :
    21361BFECC464A76B9030A54CE0BBB39-800.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Oh yeah, me too

2101766202_eb58c5ba82.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Anouilh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,015 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

3117323418_b0e24e1cbc.jpg

http://www.flickr.com/photos/liamandagnieszka/3117323418/in/set-72157602648704110/

Hmmn I need to rotate it a little more. This was just after I had gotten my first decent camera. I've learnt a good bit since then so I should go back and try for some better images.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Torc Waterfall

2605359668_427b2a77dd.jpg

Poolbeg from Dollymount

11390317_80870fd530_o.jpg

More Poolbeg

2564422904_2f13b5851f.jpg

Spire
    495093812_fc99e5414d.jpg

This just to start with. I've moon shots a many as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭City-Exile

Took me a while to get it, but finally the ha'penny dropped!
    This is a thread where everyone shows their pictures where the horizion isn't straight.

:p

Crap the horizon police are on to me .....what to do what to do....

so gwan post a pic fer jaysus..

Trev M wrote: »
    Crap the horizon police are on to me .....what to do what to do....

Shove a few beer mats under one of your legs, to try and balance yourself out.

heheh that wouldnt be a problem for me:D.

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭nameandanumber

Most people seem to have this shot as well:

2355502660_227bd62bbd.jpg

And my shot of the chimneys:

3538457359_988718b087.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭rahtkennades

My version of the chimneys from a while ago.
    942776815_b3027a9b45.jpg

Here's my shot from Glendalough.

2483730408_763a455ca2_o.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭xia

Another one of Glendalough

3167722624_80682525bc.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭TheNorthBank

That tree again...
    I just posted this in the "Can't see the wood for the trees" thread but I think it belongs here aswell.

26435153358840CE9B33BBBD0B6DC2DF.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

i really don't know how i don't have a shot of the chimney's or glendalough yet... they aren't too difficult to get to from here....

and another of Glendalough..
    IMG_1915.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭xia

Just remembered I have one of Poolbeg as well...

3264142149_d2119dde96.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

Another one of the chimneys from Howth Head.
    311360828_4c36728317.jpg

One of that Boat in the Docks.
    351250982_cbd9352fde.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Cosmo K

Dublin< docks, IFSC....sure I have one :)

2385036160_f7e09d5506.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

Brilliant idea for a thread., it opens your eyes to some stuff thats been right under your nose really, theres some places i'd like to visit now that i look over this thread., :)

heres some of my typical "everyone has one" type of shots. :)

2135779346_fe5ab02f26.jpg

2135011175_c1f2395734.jpg

1655517557_b344c52f4b.jpg

1654794141_afc77a6058.jpg

I have this in about 5 different shutter speeds, never got around to combining them all together.,
    3038241828_24cf2e4dfc.jpg

The tip of the spire, everyone does the "looking up" shot., :D
    1697277063_09c7bc8535.jpg

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,584 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

These feckers pop up an awful lot too and they nearly always have that annoying anglular lens/image stretch too. And they're of nothing and it really is a shot from boredom/anticepation. Silk purses and sows ears come to mind.
    A7B6E65F5EF7400E9E3E2ADC040B6DC4.jpg