Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Volvo Race Pics and Vids Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Cosmo K

A little series from yesterday:

A cool guy waiting for a "lift";)

3599093532_d99bf9155f_o.jpg

the liftboy gets into action

3598285303_478cee13d1_o.jpg

And our hero takes off!

3599093932_3c973daa8c_o.jpg

they don't call him 'Spiderman' for nothing

3598285643_1f445eae63.jpg

nearly there now

3599094086_731831b027.jpg

And he is on top of the world (hero fist included:) )

3599093830_05bf4d5d28_o.jpg

Those sailors are real heros.......pffft....errrm, they look like ESB contractors to me:)

3599115942_8607c16086_o.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 682 ✭✭✭IrishWhiskeyCha

A few pics from yesterday ... ye probably have enough of the VOC boats so only 1 ...

TheStunning019.jpg

The VOC Yachts

TheStunning034-Copy.jpg

Galway Hookers loitering on the docks ;)

TheStunning054-Copy.jpg

A happy face in the sun.

A few of the Stunning last night and what a great concert they put on too ... Sorry but not the best of quality as we were way back in the crowd and I had to shoot at full stretch over head :rolleyes:

TheStunning056-Copy.jpg

Hello Sailors .... The Stunning get into sailing mode.

TheStunning059-Copy.jpg

Another Stunning shot :D

TheStunning065.jpg

Steve Wall

TheStunning068.jpg

Steve & Galway man Jim Higgins on Trumpet & Keyboards

TheStunning070-Copy.jpg

Derek Murry on lead guitar Left.

TheStunning082-Copy.jpg

Far Right Cormac Dunne on Drums & Joe Wall on Bass

• Registered Users Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭majiktripp

3600001917_359512a105.jpg

3600831168_c852b6237c_b.jpg

3600845054_f99ab8cc17.jpg

3600849284_00dbb38f8f_b.jpg

3600054243_6884d548e0.jpg

3600063719_8a0223759e_b.jpg - Massive Down Pour

3600881460_1f7fa429da_b.jpg

Apologies for some being blurry as it was very windy and the downpour didn't help much either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭8kvscdpglqnyr4

attachment.php?attachmentid=81934&d=1244307328

attachment.php?attachmentid=81932&d=1244307313

attachment.php?attachmentid=81933&d=1244307320

attachment.php?attachmentid=81935&d=1244307333

attachment.php?attachmentid=81936&d=1244307340

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Here's a couple of pics from today. Another great day with a great crowd, pity the weather didn't hold up but we can't really complain given the last ten days we had!

Sorry about the poor quality of the long range shots but I was on the prom and had to use the digital zoom on the camera, it ain't great.

Green Dragon leaving the docks
    IMG_0544.jpg

Back of the Ericsson 4 boat
    IMG_0553.jpg

Ericsson 3 leaving
    IMG_0557.jpg
    IMG_0559.jpg

Aircorps lads
    IMG_0576.jpg

The boats filling their sails and the race is off
    IMG_0637.jpg

Green Dragon taking the lead (which it then lost to Ericsson 4)
    IMG_0655.jpg

Last shot of the boats powering out the bay. Slán!
    IMG_0664.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 MacApple

hi I'm a mate of Steve + Joe...I'm doing a blog + including a bit about their gig on fri night...could I have permission to use a few pics?

blog is ballylara.wordpress.com

steve has comment on post 2 weeks back

thanks eddie stack ed.estack@gmail.com

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭Fiddlesnap

Planes from me roof!3602463513_3e6d091b20_b.jpg3602463283_358126a942_b.jpg3602463721_c7ce39263d.jpg3602464097_f702d34907_b.jpg3602464227_a94186bfcd_b.jpg3603278708_d04335f331_b.jpg3602464731_2c75eb515b_b.jpg3602465153_de665ac47e_b.jpg3603280234_a9d09a7091_b.jpg3602467237_904f2e7626_b.jpg3603281646_03a8fa4636_b.jpg3602469207_66b08cdb31_b.jpg112958368_7c0c26536f_o.jpg

More pics next week, I have to process them first, but here is a first glimpse:

3601105719_d28ea0b2a4_b.jpg

3601111887_2e15d062e3_b.jpg

3601120585_1593bec754_b.jpg

3601125019_3efc192c92_b.jpg

3601125823_06cfba40f5_b.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 489 ✭✭foxy_19-89

the last of my pics, firstly of the last night, then of the morning of the boats leaving and then of the despresing site of the docks now :(

hope ye enjoyed all my photos, did my best to keep ye updated (i was overtaken by all the pros wit their fancy cameras at an early stage:P)

the morning of departure.......

and the docks over the past few days.............so depresing :(

and the last few from this afternoon.....

(the ugly fisher's back :()

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

And so ends one of the best threads seen on these boards. It has been a really unique opportunity to watch the removal of the dirty tanks, the (temporary) regeneration of the docks and the superb VOR and everything that went with it.

Boo-erns, it's over:(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Some great pictures in this thread. Well done to all.

If only my camera wasn't bust :(

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭forumfiend

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    And so ends one of the best threads seen on these boards.

+1 for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Marcus

Just to let everyone know. The official Galway Volvo Ocean Race photo competition closes tomorrow June 11th at midnight.

If anyone here wants to enter their photos, please ensure they are uploaded BEFORE this deadline and using the dedicated group upload page (click on the Upload Festival Photos button on the official festival group: http://pix.ie/group/galwayvolvooceanrace)

Thanks once again to those who participated already. Both the festival organisers (letsdoitgalway.com) and the sponsor LookWest.ie are absolutely delighted with the response so far!

Best of luck!
    Marcus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭mr_disc

Such a shame to see The Docks area back to normal again. I passed by there today and saw they have the big pile of metal scraps stacked up high again :( .

Wouldn't it be great if they kept the area as it was during the stop over with boats (Yachts) parked up (Which gave it such a continental feel) and the area area spotless etc. O well one can only wish.

Back to normal in Galway where the words " I will meet you down at the docks" will get you funny looks.

I was drinking on a boat in the docks a few nights and even slept on the boat in the docks the bank holiday sunday night it really felt like a different place. Walking up there was quite strange!

Thought I'd post this ... the Final song from the Stunning Concert at VOR Galway.

Class ....

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭Deadly Delta

This video was of electric picnic not the VOR!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

This video was of electric picnic not the VOR!

Was wondering cos they sounded a lot better at the VOR:eek:

Just meant it was the final song they played at VOR not the actual footage...

Still class :cool:

And to brighten the post VOR blues for some here ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭ve

I am so sorry to see the end of the VOR, it was by far THE BEST FESTIVAL EVER in Galway. It really puts Macnas, The Arts Festival, Paddy's Day, Salthill Festival (of years gone by) to shame. It must be said the weather helped, but a few of us were in around town last Friday evening for the Stunning and a bite to eat and the atmosphere was still fantastic. I didn't venture down to the docs until the Friday evening of the Bank Holliday weekend and when I entered I couldn't believe the scale of the event. Myself and a few others for the first time (ever I'd say) felt like we were in another country (a really nice one ;) ) out having the craic. Galway was ideally suited for this and I hope it comes back again.

/tips hat to all those involved in pulling off such a fantastic event and to all of you for the great photos over the last few weeks. Good job.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Does anyone have more pics/vids?

Join the Bring It Back discussion here :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭vulcan57

Entered 8 pictures in the Fahy Foto competition and got a phone call from them today to say that, although I didn't win the overall prize I am in the top 5 and the top 5 will be on show in the shop window and on their website from tomorrow. Really chuffed. Wonder was it anyone on here that won as there were some super shots posted here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Marcus

vulcan57 wrote: »
    Entered 8 pictures in the Fahy Foto competition and got a phone call from them today to say that, although I didn't win the overall prize I am in the top 5 and the top 5 will be on show in the shop window and on their website from tomorrow. Really chuffed. Wonder was it anyone on here that won as there were some super shots posted here.

Congrats!