Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dogue De Bordeaux...Help!!

• 22-05-2009 10:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6

We recently got a dogue de bordeaux puppy, now 5mths old, and I am at my wits end. Not exactly a dog lover, it was my husbands idea, I feel sorry for her now. Basically we give her breakfast, then put her out the back garden for the day. Not much attention given throughout the day. My husband comes home and the odd time he takes her for a walk, of I do cause I feel sorry for her. Then she sleeps in the utility room for the night. I cant see how this is good for her, surely they need more attention and play? Also, because of the lack of attention given, whenver I do step out to the back garden, she jumps up on me and tries to bite which is down to frustration I imagine! Any advice for me welcome....I did suggest to my husband we should maybe consider getting rid of her and it caused an argument..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Sounds odd that your husband wanted to get a puppy and yet doesn't have time for her.
    We have a pup who's now about 5months old, she's very bitey but that's because she's teething so it's driving her nuts. I can't imagine leaving her on her own for the entire day, it's like a baby, they need you to play with them, they need stimulation and exercise to tire them out and they like company.

May I ask what your husband said when you suggested getting rid of the pup?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Are you home yourself during the day? Why don't you walk her? If you've not put any time or training into her then how is she supposed to know that mouthing is bad?

That's no life for a dog. The two of you need to sit down and seriously work out what is best for this dog.

There's a coupld of DDB owners on another forum I can put you in touch with if you like.

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭therewillbe

Dont hang around thinking about MOVING her on.It has to be done asap.A family wont take her as she gets bigger etc and the Bonding period is NOW.If she is good stock then she has a better range for adoption.Beautiful Dog may I say.I was in a similar situation with a Rottie,in the end I just did it .He now has a great life.Do whats right for the dog .Best of luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Give her to someone who actually gives a damn about her.

Regardless of whether or not it was your idea to get a dog, regardless of how much you may dislike dogs, it is still a living, breathing thing that needs care, love and attention. It has a brain and a heart and it gets angry and depressed and lonely. If your husband isn't going to do anything for the poor thing, put your reservations aside, stop being selfish, and take up the slack until you can find someone who will take her for you.

Give her the love and attention and exercise and training she deserves and suck it up.

Poor dog. I'd take her if she wouldn't be an absolute fortune to feed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 mum1972

Thanks for all the replies.

I have a 3 yr old at home with me and 2 others in school, so I cant really take her out for a walk as my 3 yr old would take off running, so much as i would like to I cant. My husband had the attitude of 'thats what all dogs do' when I suggested leaving her outside all day was not right. He thinks a bit of exercise in the evening is enough for her. We are not experienced dog owners and I seriously think that we arent going to change. I would like to see her go to a good home so yeah if somebody can put me in touch with other dogue de bordeaux owners that would be great thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

That's a very, very large dog to have not properly socialised and starting to suffer potential personality problems due to neglect.

Good on you for recognising the problem on your doorstep - I'd be suggesting, however cruel it sounds, to your husband that he get over himself and his desire to have a large, tough looking dog on a lead (I can't think of another reason - as an inexperienced owner - to want that sort of breed).

Rehome her soon, as others have said, while she's still young and has a chance at ironing out the kinks of this rocky start.

(Lastly, while I believe in deed not breed: I weep at the potential of a badly socialised and ignored dogue de bordeaux with a three year old and two school going kids...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭igglou

Hi

I have an almost 2 year old and 3 dogs. I got my daughter a tricycle with a harness and one of the parent handles. She loves going out for a walk in the evening on her trike and I walk the 3 dogs along side.

Until you find a suitable new home for your dog, could you do that so she is getting a bit of exercise, company and stimulation each day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭jimboddb

Hi, I'm an owner & breed club member. Your dog is still young so if you're willing to put the time into her I'm sure she'll be easily fixed. You really need to dedicate time to her though & her training/socialising, every single day at that age. Honestly at such a young age I wouldnt leave her on her own for more than 3/4 hours, anything more & you are asking for trouble.

I've rehomed bordeauxs for people in the past so contact me if ye decide on this route. Please dont just give her to the first person that comes along as DdB's require experienced & knowledgeable owners.

Finally well done for coming on here looking for advice, you sound like you have the dogs best interest at heart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Mush10

Ok people its the "Husband" here, let me just clarify a few points ...

1. "WE" as a family are not experienced dog owners(yet).
    2. I did not get the dog because I wanted a "Big Breed" it was offered to me and after "A Lot" of research I thought it was a good choice because ...
    She is a medium build DOB. (I saw her parents)
    As a breed it needs little exercise (1 or 2 short walks a day).
    Is great with childern, temperment is calm, balanced, gentle and loyal dispite its eventual size.
    Is a good guard dog (I travel a bit).
    Amoung other reasons.

I do not dispute the fact that "I" have not spent all my spare time with her but then again it was originally a family venture.
    I do not wish to just give our dog away because everyone has to start/learn how to do things right somewhere.

What do other dog owners do it both people work during the day?

She is socialising with other dogs and people (we have people in our home all the timne)
    I/we have been walking her more.
    It was also planned to bring her to a training school for proper obedience training.

The bottom line is my wife does not want the dog messing up our house!

I love the dog and would love to keep her but its not an arguement I can win...if anyone would like a prue breed female DOB let me know.

Thank you for listening to my rant!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

• Registered Users Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Mush10 wrote: »
    if anyone would like a prue breed female DOB let me know.

Please be very careful who you give your dog to. You have been offered help by a respected DdB owner above, I suggest you take him up on it instead of offering your dog to all and sundry. You never know who is reading who'd only be too eager to make a quick buck from a pb dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Ok people its the "Husband" here, let me just clarify a few points ...

1. "WE" as a family are not experienced dog owners(yet).
    2. I did not get the dog because I wanted a "Big Breed" it was offered to me and after "A Lot" of research I thought it was a good choice because ...
    She is a medium build DOB. (I saw her parents)
    As a breed it needs little exercise (1 or 2 short walks a day).
    Is great with childern, temperment is calm, balanced, gentle and loyal dispite its eventual size.
    Is a good guard dog (I travel a bit).
    Amoung other reasons.

I do not dispute the fact that "I" have not spent all my spare time with her but then again it was originally a family venture.
    I do not wish to just give our dog away because everyone has to start/learn how to do things right somewhere.

What do other dog owners do it both people work during the day?

She is socialising with other dogs and people (we have people in our home all the timne)
    I/we have been walking her more.
    It was also planned to bring her to a training school for proper obedience training.

The bottom line is my wife does not want the dog messing up our house!

I love the dog and would love to keep her but its not an arguement I can win...if anyone would like a prue breed female DOB let me know.

Unfortunately if you're both not happy with the situation it's bad for all of you, including the dog. I hope you take up jimboddb up on his offer to rehome her to someone more suitable. No one is saying you're a horrible person, I just don't think this dog suits your family unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,139 ✭✭✭olaola

FIGHT FIGHT FIGHT!!

Seriously though :D It does sound like your wife isn't really that invested in this decision. You might lose on this one. I do think dogs and animals in general are very important and beneficial to children, so for your kids sake at least, it might be worth giving it more time.

We make sure our dog is visited and walked during lunchtime by either myself or my husband. (she is walked three times a day) The fact your wife is at home should at least be companionship enough for the dog as long as it is walked before you go to work & in the evening.

Does she let it inside the house? Or are you keeping it as an outside dog? Might be worth sending the pair off to behavioural/training classes so the dog will listen to her and she might have more confidence dealing with it and letting it into the house during the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭woofie87

Oh God, I feel for you and the kids. When I was a child my dad got us a schnauzer which we ( kids) absolutely loved. My mum would not even look at the dog for months, it was messing up the house, was noisy, shed hair everywhere, etc. Not a dog person I guess. Then one day she had to walk her, somebody was trying to attack her (possibly steal her handbag) and the dog nearly killed him! This was the day my mum and dog became best friends. I dont think she even realised that despite her coldness and lack of interest the dog loved and tried to protect her. I think this was the day she also realised it is a living thing, that loves and devotes herself to people/her family. Both of them became unseparable since then and not even us or dad could give as much affection to the dog as my mum. The dog died last year at the age of 15 and my mum still cant get over it (planting flowers on her grave in the garden, dogs pics everywhere in the house)!!!! Guess I am saying all those things in the hope that maybe your wife will have a fresh look at the poor thing. But I completely agree with what was said above- if she cant stand the dog and it causes tension between you two it is better if it goes to a more suitable home (especially while it is still young). We have two rescue dogs ourselves, but both me and my husband love dogs and share the responsibility( we both work full time). Hope one way or the other things will work out for both your family and your dog. Good luck!!!!

Can I just say that I seem to be coming across here as the animal hater and my husband the animal lover. I do like the dog, I just didnt foresee the mess and the trouble/work they create. Nor did I imagine how little time anybody would spend with her (mainly my husband as it was his idea to get her). The kids found her a novelty at first and now they dont really care much either way. I could try harder I know that, but as a working mother with 3 kids there arent enough hours in the day to devote to the dog. Its one excuse after another Im afraid, but I really just wanted other peoples opinions on the matter........and now I have them thanks.......p.s. i love my husband :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭woofie87

mum1972 wrote: »
    Can I just say that I seem to be coming across here as the animal hater and my husband the animal lover. I do like the dog, I just didnt foresee the mess and the trouble/work they create. Nor did I imagine how little time anybody would spend with her (mainly my husband as it was his idea to get her). The kids found her a novelty at first and now they dont really care much either way. I could try harder I know that, but as a working mother with 3 kids there arent enough hours in the day to devote to the dog. Its one excuse after another Im afraid, but I really just wanted other peoples opinions on the matter........and now I have them thanks.......p.s. i love my husband :p

Sorry, hope i did not offend you, i do not think you are an animal hater. And with three kids I can see how there is no time left for a puppy ( and god do i know puppies need time, patience and devotion). Hope things will work out for you. All the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

If you were an animal hater you wouldn't be on here trying to do what's best for the dog. I understand your situation and think you are doing the right thing in wanting to find it a new home. It would be the best for everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭Munster Gal

If you do go ahead with the rehoming just be so careful who gets her and consider spaying her before she's rehomed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭looserock

Hello mum1972 and Mush10,

I'm not sure what you are looking for, is it advice on re-homing or on how to amuse the dog during the day while you both work?

I currently have 5 ddb if I can help in any way I will.

Hi Looserock

Really I was looking for advice as to whether it was normal/good to leave the dog out in the back garden all day with no real attention until the evening, when she is then brought for a short walk or sometimes not. She is already such a big dog and I feel she looks miserable just ambling around the garden all day on her own. When i go outside to hang out clothes etc she literally attacks me jumping up on me and trying to bite on my legs. I know this is out of frustration, so thats why i discussed with my husband the idea that we should get rid of her or give her more attention. As a ddb owner, do they need much attention, how many walks a day should they have, do they calm down eventually as they get older???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Hi Looserock

Really I was looking for advice as to whether it was normal/good to leave the dog out in the back garden all day with no real attention until the evening, when she is then brought for a short walk or sometimes not. She is already such a big dog and I feel she looks miserable just ambling around the garden all day on her own. When i go outside to hang out clothes etc she literally attacks me jumping up on me and trying to bite on my legs. I know this is out of frustration, so thats why i discussed with my husband the idea that we should get rid of her or give her more attention. As a ddb owner, do they need much attention, how many walks a day should they have, do they calm down eventually as they get older???

I think you may be confusing normal dog play with attacking.

Do the bites draw blood? Is there snarling? Or are they light, and does she "bow" before starting in?

Sounds like normal young dog behaviour to me, dogs play rough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭jimboddb

Hi Looserock

Bordeaux's are quite dogs in general. They dont need long walks but they do need mental stimulation & plenty of socialising. She will calm down but thats a long way off yet to be honest, ye need to put the work in now. She'll ok for awhile by herself but you cant leave her all day by herself.

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭Call me Socket

This is a tough situation....I do feel for you and your husband, but the most of my sympathy lies with the dog.
    Would you consider letting the dog be a part of the family? ie, indoors with you? Being a mum and homemaker is a very busy, difficult and time consuming job- and I understand that you just wouldn't have the spare time to walk the dog, so why not have her in with you and let her potter around behind you? At least then you're taking care of the companionship responsibility without really having to do anything. And your husband could maybe accept the exercise responsibility consistently in the evenings when he's finished work?

For the first few days indoors she might be hyper and bouncy- as anyone would be out of sheer excitement at being allowed indoors! But she'll calm then, and settle into a routine of eating, sleeping, and watching everything going on around her.

As for mess- yeah, there'll be mucky pawprints just after letting her in from a toilet break in a mucky wet garden, like there'll be wet footprints when you come in from hanging the clothes out.... a quick fly around with a mop doesn't take long....we're coming into the summer now so it'll be dry and you'll only have to worry about hoovering up hair. I guarantee you that a 3 year old makes a lot more of a mess at one meal sitting than a dog will do in the whole day!:D
    I have 4 large indoor dogs, the floor gets washed twice a day and hoovered once, and the dogs are groomed weekly. Not a huge job. If I can deal with the mess of 4 dogs (plus 7 cats and 3 kids) then you can manage it with 1 dog.....you just need to give it a shot!?!

Who knows, you might get very fond of her.... a dog can be a very comforting presence on those days when you wish the kids and housework and noise level and tv cartoons would all just disappear and leave you alone for a while!:D

Failing that, Jimboddb is your man if decide to rehome her. He'll ensure she goes to an experienced home where she will be treated as part of the family. But please don't give up without trying....

I wish you the best of luck....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭looserock

This is a tough situation....I do feel for you and your husband, but the most of my sympathy lies with the dog.
    Would you consider letting the dog be a part of the family? ie, indoors with you? Being a mum and homemaker is a very busy, difficult and time consuming job- and I understand that you just wouldn't have the spare time to walk the dog, so why not have her in with you and let her potter around behind you? At least then you're taking care of the companionship responsibility without really having to do anything. And your husband could maybe accept the exercise responsibility consistently in the evenings when he's finished work?

For the first few days indoors she might be hyper and bouncy- as anyone would be out of sheer excitement at being allowed indoors! But she'll calm then, and settle into a routine of eating, sleeping, and watching everything going on around her.

As for mess- yeah, there'll be mucky pawprints just after letting her in from a toilet break in a mucky wet garden, like there'll be wet footprints when you come in from hanging the clothes out.... a quick fly around with a mop doesn't take long....we're coming into the summer now so it'll be dry and you'll only have to worry about hoovering up hair. I guarantee you that a 3 year old makes a lot more of a mess at one meal sitting than a dog will do in the whole day!:D
    I have 4 large indoor dogs, the floor gets washed twice a day and hoovered once, and the dogs are groomed weekly. Not a huge job. If I can deal with the mess of 4 dogs (plus 7 cats and 3 kids) then you can manage it with 1 dog.....you just need to give it a shot!?!

Who knows, you might get very fond of her.... a dog can be a very comforting presence on those days when you wish the kids and housework and noise level and tv cartoons would all just disappear and leave you alone for a while!:D

Failing that, Jimboddb is your man if decide to rehome her. He'll ensure she goes to an experienced home where she will be treated as part of the family. But please don't give up without trying....

I wish you the best of luck....

This is almost exactly what I would have said, now I dont need to.

Good post socket.

Now as for leaving her all day, you will get people on here saying this is terrible etc but like it or not its pretty normal for most dogs.

It's not ideal especially for a Mastiff but As long as she has something to look forward to every day, like her walk or coming in and sitting in front of the fire for a few hours she will get used to it.

It would be a very good idea to get some heavy duty toys like a giant KONG and similar types, you may not be familiar with these but there the kind you stuff food into and they spend hours trying to get it out.

Giant bones are also very good, mine are having great fun with some I bought in pet mania this morning.

Its also a good idea to rotate the toys, offer a bit of variety.

Cant think of anything else right now so hope this helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 bion 1234

hi,

have you contacted the breeder that you purchased the puppy from?? any good breeder would be more than happy to take the puppy back and rehome it, after all the welfare of the pup and knowing that it is in a permanent loving home is what counts. dogue de bordeaux need human contact, they are not a breed that should be left alone, they do not need a lot of excersise but they do need companionship and socialisation in order to mature into a well socialised dogue.

you can also contact peri burnside who is the secretary of the dogue the bordeaux club of ireland and is in charge of breed rescue in ireland. she can give you advice and help you in your situation. if you are going to rehome her i suggest that you have her spayed. be very carefull if you are selling her, dogue de bordeaux are not a breed for everyone, they are a giant breed that need a lot of care and attention and a lot of thought should be put in to it before one is purchased.

peri can be contacted at peri@libertia12.fsnet.co.uk

Hello again everyone

Well we have come to a decision to get rid of our dogue de bordeaux. After discussing it, my husband agreed that the dog is problably not suited to our lifestyle or home. We are now looking to re-home/sell her and hope to see her go to a good home. So if anybody knows anyone interested in her she is a beautiful honey coloured female, 5 mths old, all innoculations given. Naas area.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Please contact the breeder first before you do anything. Most decent breeders will take the dog back and rehome it themselves.

Please be very careful about how you go about rehoming this dog, but def get onto the breeder first and if you dont have any luck, please contact the ddb club that has already been mentioned in this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

Definitely contact the breeder first.

Not only will they try to rehome, they'll learn a lesson from your story and maybe thnk twice before selling a DDB to someone in your situation again.

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭jen_23

I would be more interested in finding her a good home as to 'reselling' her. At this point you really do owe it to her to have the very best second home a doggy could have :)
    A few people on here have suggested a few names. Socket suggested Jimboddb and the other two good suggestions were to contact the breeder you bought the dog from or the ddb club peri@libertia12.fsnet.co.uk as agin have been previously mentioned in the post.

I would make any of those suggestions my first call in responsibly rehoming your dog.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 sadhbhsdad

Hello,
    Any news / Update, its almost 1 month since last post !
    I have a DDB bitch myself, so hope your girl is happy where ever she is now.