Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favorite films that no-one else has ever heard of

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Joycey

Heres three just off the top of my head, plenty more in there, if I think of any esp worth recommending il post again

The Addiction - Abel Ferrara (thought it was massively pretentious when I was watching it but I realised that the inconsistent and somewhat retarded philosophising actually reflects the mental state of the main character, definitely the wierdest and possibly best take of the vampire genre ive ever come across, gotta love the use of Cypress Hill vs modernist classical music in there too)

Close-up - Abbas Kiarostami (probably not that obscure, Kiarostami is making waves in France and places. Anything by him is worth watching, "A Taste of Cherry" is possibly my favourite film)

Ordet - Dreyer (again not that obscure, this is an absolute masterpiece, interesting comparison to be made between it and A Taste of Cherry)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭uncleoswald

mike65 wrote: »
    Can't belive know many of these films are considered "hardly heard of"! :)

Well its all relative really. For some people anything with even a whiff of a foreign accent, is in black and white, or doesn't have Kate Hudson in it is obscure.

I recently heard someone on TV refer to The Simpsons as a cult TV show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

The Escapist. Saw it by chance one night and have watched it a few times since. Brian Cox gives a great performance in a movie which finally convinced me to stop watching the tripe that is Prison Break. Filmed in Kilmainham too so you can go visit the set after seeing the film.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Caprica

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭grimm2005

A film i loved which i'm not sure many have heard of is Cannibal: The Musical
    Trey Parker's first film long before south park was made. funny stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

American Psycho. New York Matinee called it a playful but mysterious little film

Im pretty sure that there are quite a few that have heard of it.:pac:

Thursday is another I forgot to mention.Such a great movie.

Caprica wrote: »

Not mad about All About My Mother though. And I flat out didnt like hero...

Theres nothing mysterious or unheard of about American Psycho ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Joycey wrote: »

Not mad about All About My Mother though. And I flat out didnt like hero...

Theres nothing mysterious or unheard of about American Psycho ;)

Too artsy? Too intellectual? I think American Psycho was the Christian Bale's undisputed masterpiece.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0861739/

This is Tropa De Elite, a great, great film, a personal favorite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭jigglywoo

b12mearse wrote: »
    raw head rex

Saw that on the Horror Channel a couple of years ago. It was... bizarre.
    deereidy wrote: »
    Ghost World is a good one, stars Thora Birch and Scarlett Johannson in her nymphy days.
    Also Deathproof, pretty recent but hardly anyone seems to know it..

I really really liked both of those movies.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I really liked Zwartboek, a Dutch WWII film that I caught on TV a while back. Nobody seems to have heard of it though! Unlike most war films where everybody speaks English, this film is mostly in Dutch and German, with a bit of English and Hebrew.

As for films that are so bad they are good, the ultimate has to be Under the Cherry Moon - a black & white Prince vehicle that features Kristin Scott Thomas in one of her first roles. It makes absolutely no sense, but is hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

grimm2005 wrote: »
    A film i loved which i'm not sure many have heard of is Cannibal: The Musical
    Trey Parker's first film long before south park was made. funny stuff

Great film. Saw it on tv a couple of years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Heavy Metal

1980s cartoon that South Park pulled off in an episode called Major Boobage - also a classic.

Its a feature length cartoon with fantastic music - Sammy Hegar - and an awful lot of cartoon boobs.

What else coudl you ask for..... a lot of clips of it on youtube
    I have that on video somewhere. Huge cartoon boobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,435 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I mentioned some of these in other threads before but the following.

The Last Supper really stands out to me in this category. I loved this movie. Recommend it to all. Cast includes Cameron Diaz, Ron Perlman and Bill Paxton.

Freeway is another one which I really liked that nobody seemed to know about. Cast includes well manly is Kiefer Sutherland and Reese Witherspoon

The Assignment isn't bad either and I don't know anybody that has seen it. Cast includes or mainly is Donald Sutherland, Aidan Quinn and Ben Kingsley.

The Basketball Diaries is another one that not many I know have seen. Which reminds me of another with DiCaprio in it.

This Boy's Life and it shocks me how few people I know have seen it given that Robert DeNiro is in this.

Fear I found this one quite good and these movies usually bore me to death but a good cast and I respected Mark Wahlberg after this one and the Basketball Diaries.

Paradise Alley is an enjoyable flick with a decent cast including Sly Stallone, Armand Assante and Anne Archer.

And finally two Edward Burns that I really love.

The Brothers McMullan This is one of my favs ever. Burns first film and its so well done on such a small budget. Brilliant.

Sidewalks of New York Another well done movie by Burns but I just like the guy so maybe I overrate his fresh style of direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Trained Monkey

Stander

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Gross Anatomy (also known as "A Cut Above"). It stars Matthew Modine as a brilliant yet lazy medical student who thinks he can just sail thru classes because he's seen thru the system. This leads to various run-ins with both the academic staff and his peer group.

Badly recieved by both critics and fans (if Imdb is anything to go by?) it has pretty much fallen into obscurity. However it's long been a favourite of mine I do find myself coming back to it every couple of years. Don't get me wrong. It's definetly a "by the books" movie but it's got a very cynical wise-ass edge to it that sends it over the top.

It's my favourite college movie because it actually is about the pressures of being in college and not just some dumb movie about a bunch of jerks partying and get trying to get laid 24:7 (who just happen to have college as a background).

Imagine "The Paper Chase" but with a sense of humour and you've got "Gross Anatomy". If you've ever been up all night cramming and worrying about failing a big exam the next day then you'll identify with this film.

248168.1010.A.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭p to the e

Two films i saw on slow dark nights during the early hours. the first was "Legend of 1900" starring Tim Roth who is born on a cruise liner and never leaves it and as you have it he's also a piano prodigy. The second is a film called "Octane". it has a few good names in it (Madeline Stowe, Jonathan Rhys Meyers, Mischa Barton) and i thought it was a fairly well directed thriller. the critics weren't as kind but i don't think it was given a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Denerick wrote: »
    There's a French film called C.R.A.Z.Y, a 'coming of age tale' about a French teen in a Catholic family who is forced to reconcile himself to the fact that he's gay. The plot sounds a little cliched but its done very well, along with all the trademark French moral conundrums and emotional depth. Not sure how obscure it is though, saw it on Film Four late one night...

That's actually Canadian. Good film alright though.

Also Canadian, and beautifully made:

The Barbarian Invasions

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0338135/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Brimmy

Mink wrote: »
    The Nines
    I haven't come across anyone who's heard of it & don't remember it being advertised. A bit trippy & you can't figure out what's happening til 1/2 way through, but when you do... it's worth it. Totally original.

I was psyched for this. Neat enough concept but it really failed to deliver for me and was totally underwhelming in parts.

I'm going with Synecdoche. Sure it's out in cinemas at the moment but no one I know seems to know of it which is a crime. Absolutely fantastic film, an instant classic and easily in the top 3 films I've ever watched if not the top itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

My Life Without Me - moving indie flick set in the NW of the US.

Christopher Nolan's debut, Following.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

"Tetsuo"

"Eraserhead"

"Me,you and everyone we know."

"What is it?"

"Wings of Desire."

Some Tom DiCillo films,"Johnny Suede","Living in Oblivion","Boxfull of Moonlight".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Denerick

Eraserhead is typical David Lynch rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

in your opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Auvers wrote: »
    in your opinion

In my opinion too.

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    In my opinion too.

fair enough

but in my opinion I would take any David Lynch movie over most of the high budget **** fests that hollywood churns out year after year i.e Badboys, The Rock, Fast and the Moronic, etc etc.

Sometimes its nice to watch a movie and not totally understand it and then have to think about it

in your opinion

Who else's opinion would he have?

He is wrong though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Another movie which I absolutely loved but I know of no one in RL whos actually seen it is "Everything Is Illuminated" with Elijah Wood.

btw it was written and directed by Sabretooth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

btw it was written and directed by Sabretooth

From the book by Jonathan Safran Foer.....

in your opinion

Of course its my opinion. God forbid if my opinion were the only correct one in the world!!

People seem to think they either have to watch shady and boring intellectual masturbation or cheesy hollywood budget ****. Loyal followers of both brands tend to be self righteous wankheads.*

*Gratuitous use of swear words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

Some people seem to think

fixed that for ya :pac:

fixed that for ya :pac: (Though this is merely my opinion, I hithertoo state that there are countless equally valid opinions in the universe and that my opinion is but one of an infintismal cosmic conglomeration.)

Fixed that for ya.

grand Denerick fair play to ya

you win

yeeeaaaahhh for you

I win in your opinion.

Just thinking of a few movies

To Late the Hero loved this as a kid and saw it again recently, what an ending

Bad Boy Buby definitely not for the unprepared

State of Grace a much forgotten classic with fantastic performances by Gary Oldham & Sean Penn & Ed Harris.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭call d

The Asphyx starring Robert Powell

:eek: sacralidge.

Have to say Im not a fan of David Lynch, hes interesting, but most of his films really are rubbish. Mullholland Drive is decent, and Blue Velvet is also worth watching IMO, but I absolutely love Eraserhead.

Far and away the best horror film ive ever seen, cant think of another film thats more uniquely disturbing without just using over the top violence or gore.

Definitely one to watch on your own, at night, with no lights, surround sound and up really loud. Cant beat it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

The Secret Life of Words; Sarah Polley and Tim Robbins are in it, great film

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Joycey wrote: »
    :eek: sacralidge.

Have to say Im not a fan of David Lynch, hes interesting, but most of his films really are rubbish. Mullholland Drive is decent, and Blue Velvet is also worth watching IMO, but I absolutely love Eraserhead.

Far and away the best horror film ive ever seen, cant think of another film thats more uniquely disturbing without just using over the top violence or gore.

Definitely one to watch on your own, at night, with no lights, surround sound and up really loud. Cant beat it

Indeed. Watching it in the IFI last year was fantastic. It is a sensory overload of a film - the sounds and images utterly compelling. I can see why some wouldn't like it, but on a purely technical level it is almost impossible to fault - few directors have such command over audio and visuals. As far as horror films go, it is definitely one of the most effective (certainly not the friendliest take on fatherhood ;)).

I think David Lynch is the director that is always going to divide people. His outlandish films completely disregard typical cinematic conventions, and they are heavy viewing (even as a fan, Inland Empire is a slog - a good slog, but a slog none the less). As much as I think he's the most visionary of directors around today, some of his films do balance precariously between profound and parody (Lost Highway for me, anyway).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Outlawnoob

I really enjoyed this movie called "This Is England" directed by Shane Meadows

I highly suggest watching it.

I give it 4/5 Stars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Outlawnoob

Yea, I think I know what your on about. Called Green Street was it? Starring Elijah Wood?

Green Street Hooligans was a pretty cool movie

If you liked that it, I heard about some movie called Football Factory that you might enjoy

Football Factory is dung.

Danny Dyer sucks.

nedtheshed wrote: »
    Football Factory is dung.

Danny Dyer sucks.

I think the previous mentions to Danny Dyer and Football Factory etc... were tongue in cheek. They have no place on this thread, or film in general.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭loveissucide

I really liked The Station Agent I must say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

I really liked The Station Agent I must say.

Indeed. Lovely film.

Another from me, seeing as Sarah Polley was mentioned above,

My Life Without Me

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0314412/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭SlipperyPeople

Outlawnoob wrote: »
    I really enjoyed this movie called "This Is England" directed by Shane Meadows

I highly suggest watching it.

I give it 4/5 Stars
    yar agreed and dead mans shoes also by shane meadows bit fked up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭383Ger

If you have not see or heard of "Divorcing Jack" then check it out. A black comedy set in N.Ire with David Thewlis and Rachel Griffiths...

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0127516/

Nobody I've ever mentioned it to has seen it...love it:pac:

Come to think of it, probably the most obscure (as in rare) film ive ever seen and really enjoyed was this: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0466472/

Its been 2 years since I saw it I think, but I liked it at the time, found it was one of the most realistic films id ever seen, mainly because it was just a load of young people took a camera out with em and did what they normally would have done ;). Have had no joy finding it anywhere since. The ending is utter tripe BTW but you have to give them credit for the idea and the way they carried off the rest of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz