Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Fitness Records 2009

• Registered Users Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭Cravez

rubadub wrote: »
    Very good, do you do any weighted pullups/chinups, if so what sort of weight & reps?

Thanks man. My heaviest one rep max iv done is 62.5kg with a narrow grip and about 55kg or so with wide grip, chin ups was about 55kg for one. I done them about a little over a year ago though (and at a higher bodyweight, around 107-110kg). I purposefully dropped weight since then but havent been able to get those numbers again with good form, somthing im working up to at the moment. Id probably be able to normally get +40kg for about 4 good reps at the moment (with any width of grip)

• Registered Users Posts: 32,381 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

My heaviest one rep max iv done is 62.5kg with a narrow grip and about 55kg or so with wide grip, chin ups was about 55kg for one.
    Thats some weight! interesting how your pullups seem better than chins, I would be the opposite (and thought most would be), I don't really do much weighted pullups as I am far better at weighted chins. My 1RM best was 40kg chin in the past when I was a bit lighter, but I tried to repeat it recently and failed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Tried the Turkish getup thing. Got 24 reps in 2mins see hither. ~10kg bell (2x5+bar). Did 25 in the vid but only 24 within the allowed time. Not sure if they all count though as I don't think I open up properly. This seems limited by the cycle time. Could be interesting with more weight!

I think it'd be difficult to do this without looking like you're having some sort of advanced convulsion...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Dead Ed wrote: »
    Tried the Turkish getup thing. Got 24 reps in 2mins see hither. ~10kg bell (2x5+bar). Did 25 in the vid but only 24 within the allowed time. Not sure if they all count though as I don't think I open up properly. This seems limited by the cycle time. Could be interesting with more weight!

Ya need to make it available for public viewing bro!!

I think a max TGU could have hilarious consequences. I'd be all for that!!

Hanley wrote: »

Cheers, I think it's sorted now. My Vimeo-fu is weak!

I max out the odd time. Last time I got one at 37.5kg. It was not pretty at all, i nearly ended up with a dumbbell in my head!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Has anyone seen yer man doing a TGU with his wife? Now that could have hilarious consequences!

EDIT:

Cheers, I think it's sorted now. My Vimeo-fu is weak!

I max out the odd time. Last time I got one at 37.5kg. It was not pretty at all, i nearly ended up with a dumbbell in my head!

You Crossfit guys and your fast movements.... that was actually pretty cool. Me and Kev had a race before and it was nowhere that quick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

It helps that she's tiny in fairness.

You Crossfit guys and your fast movements.... that was actually pretty cool. Me and Kev had a race before and it was nowhere that quick!

haha cheers, it's an interesting finisher exercise.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,510 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

Tried the Turkish getup thing. Got 24 reps in 2mins see hither. ~10kg bell (2x5+bar).

Added. What is your bodyweight for recording purposes?

Is that xmas tunes on the tv at the start?!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

kevpants wrote: »
    seal.jpg

Haha - The Seal of approval!

BossArky wrote: »
    Added. What is your bodyweight for recording purposes?

Is that xmas tunes on the tv at the start?!

Think I'm about 80kg at the moment.

I was watching Caddyshack on the TV at the time. Interesting movie!

Can we add one arm Oly Bar snatches to the Records!! hahaha:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Who is that again lads?!?

celestial wrote: »

Kevpants

Can we add one arm Oly Bar snatches to the Records!! hahaha:D
    Nah, do it properly. "two hands anyhow" ftw.

celestial wrote: »

lge_Seal_071018115319290_wideweb__300x300,1.jpg

He looks a bit different in that photo tho. Must be the lighting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Deadlifted for the first time in nearly a year last night:

135kg @ 74kg bodyweight

Wilks: 129.42

In other news... I'd forgotten how bad back DOMS can be :o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

Glad somebody got the joke.

g'em wrote: »
    Deadlifted for the first time in nearly a year last night:

135kg @ 74kg bodyweight

Wilks: 129.42

Sorry about the sideways-ness, if anyone can tell me how to easily rotate a .3pg/ .mp4 video I'd be mucho obligado.

In other news... I'd forgotten how bad back DOMS can be :o

2064646247_0775f0f050.jpg

Just kidding!

seal.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

man i hate you g'em!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

um... thanks?!! :o:D

kevins gonna run out of seal pictures eventually :D

i think he already has he just posted himself and wifepants like.............:pac::pac:*

*please dont kill me!! its purely in jest!:P

OHHHH, kev they have a sale on these down in dundrum todayh1099.jpg

i think he already has he just posted himself and wifepants like.............:pac::pac:*

*please dont kill me!! its purely in jest!:P

People have died for less. Someone looked at her the wrong way at a comp and they've never been seen since. I don't think being on the west coast is gonna save ya....

itsallabouttheL I'm gonna track you down and beat you to death using you as my bat cardio.

Was that suitably manly enough? I'm not very good at this.

kevpants wrote: »
    itsallabouttheL I'm gonna track you down and beat you to death using you as my bat cardio.

Was that suitably manly enough? I'm not very good at this.

Quite manly Mr.Pants:)

You can see why he lets the wife take care of that sort of stuff normally now :p

i dunno, im pretty heavy, wouldnt make a good bat :P