Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Access novice question

Options
  • 25-05-2009 2:06pm
    Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭

Hi

I'm pretty new to Access and there is a field I am using called Cus_No. The person who created it gave it a text data type instead of auto-number, I have to leave the number already given to each customer as they are and I want to put the year they were created in front of the number that is already there eg. Cus_no 001 becomes 05-001. Is there a way to quickly do this for every column or will I have to do it manually?

Thanks.

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭TommyGunne

First off, if you want to perform any real operations on databases, you are much better off in investing in something like oracle, or other more direct DBMSs. The way I would do this is to go into the SQL entering area of access, can't remember how to get there cos I haven't used it in years, but you will be able to find out from a quick google if you don't know already. Then enter the following code:

UPDATE your_table
    set cus_no = SELECT to_char
    (SYSDATE, 'YY')||cus_no
    FROM your_table;

Obviously changing your_table to the table name desired, and SYSDATE to the field in the table that contains the creation date, cos its just showing todays year as is. Et voila.

I'm sure someone has a more ergonomic way that involves better use of MS's features, but this should work.