Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Venue to Watch the Champion's League Final

• 25-05-2009 9:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭

Does anyone know of any places where there will be specials and atmosphere in any places for the Champion's League final on Wed?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,231 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Whereabouts are you? If you want to be guaranteed a view of a large plasma screen try out the Players Lounge in Fairview. About 40 screens and a grand smoking area if it's a nice evening.

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭Xrox

The Woolshed off parnell square (next to cineworld) 2 20foot screens and loads and loads of smaller lcds around the place. Plus id almost say there will be as many barca fans (spanish people) there as man u fans so atmosphere should be electric as it usually is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Fairview is a bit out of the way. Preferably the southside city centre since it is closer to home in more ways than the mere geographical location :P

• Registered Users Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Doyles maybe? Probably be heading Doyles or Feile (Wexford St. it has a pull down projector screen) myself but well I'm not a barstool expert so wouldn't know the best bars.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Phantom FM having been advertising a free event in The Village.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Marko_Man

Cuckoos Nest on the Greenhills Road in Tallaght.
    May be a bit out of the way but will be jammed with great atmos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

bigkev49 wrote: »
    Whereabouts are you? If you want to be guaranteed a view of a large plasma screen try out the Players Lounge in Fairview. About 40 screens and a grand smoking area if it's a nice evening.

im going here. first time. lads say the guinness isnt anything to wrote home about. but if barca win, i wont care.

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭Dmaurice

hi all - a few lads are sayin Buskers of Fitzsimons in Temple Bar but others are sayin they are kips!?! - I dont wanna be somewhere so busy i cant see a screen! :) Any more ideas?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Will there be anywhere with a majority of Barca fans?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

I've decided to make a day of it with the lads;
    -Play football for the afternoon.
    -BBQ and beers before the match at one of our houses
    -Watch it whereever we have the BBQ
    -Head out

Epic!

-Head out

Epic!

"Good Times" !

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭Xrox

latenia wrote: »
    Will there be anywhere with a majority of Barca fans?

The woolshed as i mentioned above should have a good group of barca fans and a good few A.B.U.'s too :P

*interesting* photo in todays star newspaper on page 21 i think, two champions league models.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

-Head out

Epic!

A true Renaissance Man
    Xrox wrote: »
    The woolshed as i mentioned above should have a good group of barca fans and a good few A.B.U.'s too :P

Cheers. I might head up for a gander.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭greenman09

Was in farringtons last year for the game. Good crowd in it. Big screen at back of bar. Same place this year me thinks. Or roddys in rathmines

• Registered Users Posts: 538 ✭✭✭Sonic_exyouth

Does anyone know of any places where there will be specials and atmosphere in any places for the Champion's League final on Wed?

The village is having a special with free food and playstation stations

VooDoo is having €3 pints during the match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

Dmaurice wrote: »
    hi all - a few lads are sayin Buskers of Fitzsimons in Temple Bar but others are sayin they are kips!?! - I dont wanna be somewhere so busy i cant see a screen! :) Any more ideas?!

i cant possibly think of a worse place to watch the match!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,231 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Kings Inns of Bolton St. are doing two bottles of beer for €5 all the time at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

The village is having a special with free food and playstation stations

VooDoo is having €3 pints during the match

VooDoo on the queys?
    I thought it was closed down?

What's the deal with the village, is it a ticketed event?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

as some of the regulars here know, i work in the crossbar in harolds cross. we aill be doing free finger food during the match tomorrow

this post was ok'd by the mods

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

CianRyan wrote: »
    VooDoo on the queys?

Voodoo Lounge is closed.

I think there may be another venue called VooDoo somewhere in Dublin, but I can't remember where.

I'm pretty sure The Village/Phantom event isn't ticketed from hearing the ads for it on the radio - makes no mention of it anyway.

CianRyan wrote: »
    VooDoo on the queys?

So did I.. but I saw an ad on Facebook..
    Now I'm confused.

Ok.. My own post was moved here..
    So..

Does anyone know any 'Bargains'
    That it, remarkably special offers for tonights match?

Also, there are two VooDoos, the now closed one on the Quays, and another in feckin Leterkenny

• Registered Users Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

The woolshed is always too packed!!! Last yr, there was a queue to go out to smoke!!
    Kingsinn-meh, not my scene(i live 30secs away).
    Sinnotts would be jammed!
    Gonna head to Mc Gowan's if it's jammers then i'd watch it at home :D