Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whitsundays and Fraser on a budget

• 26-05-2009 3:43am
    Registered Users Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭

Hi lads,

Looking for some budgetary advice for east coast, heading onto NZ after so trying to do it for a cheap as I can with the missus.

So flying into Cairns up to port douglas for a couple of days then down to Brissy and flying out two weeks later. Looking into the campervan relocations on apollo, hopefully something will turn up soon enough as even a yaris is about $850!!!!!!

So if you've any advice on the above I'd appreciate it, also: want to do the sailing out to the whitsudays on one of the quieter boats (missus in tow) for 2 or 3 nights and fraser too, just wondering if anyone had any advice re affordable nice boats? Was looking at the derwent hunter but aparently it's booked out :(

Thanks for any help ye can give me.

//Gary

• Registered Users Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

A lot of companies have packages you can go on
    e.g.
    http://www.oztravelbugs.com/package.asp?iid=A0BFF6F90E1E444889636C91A7CBC174

whitsunday and fraser together for decent price.

Now since you are on a budget you'll have to allow for certain things as in any 'free' hostel they give you are usually 12 bed dorms

but since this is winter you may also be able to pick up last minute deals etc

campervan relocations probably won't work, as they usually never give you time to explore, so if you got one you wouldn't have time for fraser and whitesunday etc.

now for all these packages less more probably means more people, more people bigger the noise.

I'd wait till you get to Aus before booking anything

• Registered Users Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭randombar

Thanks for that, I should probably change my location on boards ( Currently in Melbourne :) )

As for the campervan, basically the lil woman doesn't like dorms etc few bad experiences on the way over here, so that's why I was looking for the cheapest alternative. Since we'd be coming back through Cairns on the way to mission beach I was thinking I could pick up a campervan after port douglas, which would mean we'd need it for roughly ten days. I rang around and they all give an addional 3 days for $75 a day so if I got one that needed to be back in 7 days I'd be laughing. The timing is the issue though.

Know of anywhere I could get a car for less that $850?? got that off vroomvroomvroom.com

That deal looks class all right we'd probably need a quieter boat and stuff though, and those coupley boats look damn expensive!!

get a copy of british balls or TNT, they often have 'deals' advertised at the back etc
    and are aimed at the backpacker

also http://www.jucy.com.au/
    much smaller but pretty cheap - $59 p/d for ten days
    also you get to choose what insurance
    0 / 15 / 25 per day etc

My friends did this at xmas, they said it was very good value, yeah smaller .. but for the price very cheap

They do look cheap all right, class! Nice one for that. If I could sort out that admn boat now I'd be all right, getting quotes of $650pp :(

GaryCocs wrote: »
    They do look cheap all right, class! Nice one for that. If I could sort out that admn boat now I'd be all right, getting quotes of $650pp :(

That is very pricey

have a look at travelbugs or backpacker travels, a lot of boats are more catered for flash-packers ... as in the non 19year old party people

no way near 650pp ... but still good value

have a look at this:
    http://www.sailing-whitsundays.com/WhitsundaySailing.php?id=896&pa=1

Hahaha is that my title now? "flash-packers" quality!!! :D

I'll check them out there, some of em look pretty good all right!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭daftdave

id keep an eye on the weather for frasier also man , if ya get caught out there in bad weather it is a nightmare , happened us on our second night , storm came in , every tent was blown down , poles broken , everyone slept in the 4x4 (sitting up) . and the next day we found out there is a hostel on the island !!!!

Jebus nice one for that dave, with the girlfriend that could have been messy!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

we stayed in a hostel on the island back in 05,nice but not cheap....
    did the whitsundays onhttp://www.seedownunder.com.au/destination/queensland/whitsundays/whitsunday-sailing/classic-sailing/dream-catcher/index.html
    had a nice crew, captain, weather and good berths

How much was the dreamcatcher??

One of the lads sent me on a list too:

Mandrake, $359, Monday, 15 guests, shared double, 2 day 2 night
    http://www.sailing-whitsundays.com/WhitsundaySailing.php?id=1105&pa=18

Prima, Monday, $394, 11 guests, private double, 2 day 2 night
    http://www.sailing-whitsundays.com/WhitsundaySailing.php?id=1099&pa=18

Silent Night, Monday, $389, 12 guests, shared double, 2 day 2 night
    http://www.sailing-whitsundays.com/WhitsundaySailing.php?id=1055&pa=18

Matador, Sunday, $460, ? guests, shared double, 2 day 2 night + diving
    http://www.sailing-whitsundays.com/WhitsundaySailing.php?id=1015&pa=2

Freight Train, Sunday, $349, ? guests, shared double, 2 day 2 night + diving
    http://www.sailing-whitsundays.com/WhitsundaySailing.php?id=1068&pa=2

Apollo, Monday, $464, ? guests, shared double, 3 day 2 night + diving (1 free dive)
    http://www.sailing-whitsundays.com/WhitsundaySailing.php?id=1079&pa=2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

sorry gary, can't remember,
    i'll ask her indoors n' get back to you

Nice Wan!

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭belleray

I went through this crowd http://www.frasersonrainbow.com/hot-deals.htm
    Joint Whitsunday and Frasers booking, to be honest we found the 4X4 company they use horrible but the sialing was fantastic - went on Siska - great crew and lots of craic.

Recommend you have a look at hostels on Rainbow beach - they all offer deals - think Dingos was one of the other big ones there.

Have a blast