Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When guys leer/comment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭I'lllearnye

She should take pictures of his male friends' crotchular areas.....give him a taste of his own medicine, and it'd make her feel a damn sight better :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

BumbleB wrote: »
    You know these guys actually think they are being "friendly" and "sociable"and that the girl who turned on him is a snotty cow.

I can see maybe the root of the problem now .Drunken fool approaches girl pisses her off and 15 others . Ok reasonably decent guy comes next and meets with cold shoulder off those girls.

Yup that does happen as well.
    I don't think men who really like the company of women would do stuff like that .

And I think there are a lot of men who don't like women around for what ever their own personal reasons are at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭poss

Okay, i'm a 41 year old married woman and here's my take on the whole 'when guys/leer comment' thing.

I'll be honest it doesn't really bother me, if anything i find it almost a compliment.

I'm quite busty and i was in a shopping centre which shall remain nameless last weekend. Anyway, i was upstairs in one particular shop...and i did overhear a guy making a comment about my chest to his friend.

Anyway, i do tend to show cleavage, as i'm quite proud of my figure..but this guy was leering at me, absolutely.

In fact, as i was going downstairs on the escalator, the guy in question said goodbye to his friend, and followed me...he was behind me.

I knew he was looking at my cleavage, and he lent over to ask me the time, so i deliberately gave him an eye-ful...to say he was delighted stepping off the escalator would be an understatement.

I mean, i look after myself and i'm guilty of dressing a tad sexily, but a guy leering at me or making a comment wouldn't bother me in the slightest as long as it's not overly vulgar....guys sneak looks and leer at me constantly, but i consider it harmless most of the time, they're not hurting me in any way.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭MrMojoRisin

This kind of thing really turns my stomach! Have had a similar situation in a club myself with some Gobs***e standing behind me at the bar and wrapping his arms around me pawing at my chest. I went straight to security and told them if they didn't remove him I would call the guards...

In fairness security probably didn't even need the guards threat they seemed more than happy to throw him out. The bouncer even walked down the road with myself and my friend when we were leaving to ensure that creep wasn't still hanging around.

That's bang out of order. In fairness,the problem seems 2 lie with some men's disregard of boundaries. A bar is a place where people can socialise and flirt if they wish and just have a good time, but any bloke with an ounce of self-respect will not go pawing and groping some female stranger. Whatever about assaulting the girl/woman,it just makes him look like a fcukin pervert.

Dave147 wrote: »
    Jesus it's pretty sad that these men feel the need to make comments about a woman passing, have they not seen that before? I must admit, if I'm out and about and I see an attractive lady (regardless of what she's wearing, not into stereotypical staring at skimpy dressed women) I'll have a glance, maybe two if she's striking. But I won't gawk nor will I make a comment, I am just appreciating a good looking woman. Why can't everyone else just do this and then be on their merry way?

I agree. If Im goin down the street or wherever else and I see an attractive girl/woman approaching, sure the most I do is give her a double take. I just appreciate attractive females. Beauty makes the world a nicer place,so thank God for beautiful women. I wouldnt go so far as to shout comments at her or anything because thats very childish and it would make me look like an eejit in public. Now,I don't ogle women and,like Dave147 said, I actually don't take a liking to the staring at girls/women in skimpy clothes. It's too obvious but it doesn't really float my boat anyway. I prefer girls with clothes on, tbh. It's sexier to me.

Thaedydal wrote: »
    The brain is the largest sex organ in the body if a bloke can't or won't engage with mine then he's not going to get a chance to enguage with the rest of my body.
    I just don't like dumb fúcks.

A guy could like Michelangelo's David but with no wit or sparkle he may as well be marble
    and if he was to prove to be uncouth and disrespectful well then I'd be tempted to tell him to have a **** at a mirror :P

Heh, heh, heh. :pac: :D

Wibbs wrote: »
    Ass, take a week off to re read this forums charter and learn how to post within the spirit of it, or you will be banned for much longer next time around. Your posts have been deleted as they add nothing to this thread.

I'd say it was no coincidence he called himself 'Ass' :p:D

Kimia wrote: »
    I know it was awful. And the worst thing was they were all laughing and the main guy was expecting me to be delighted or something. I actually started crying and left (after I got him thrown out) because I felt in some way tainted or something, like I'm an easy mark and that another person had so little respect for me and I was also embarrassed.

That's the worst thing that's happened. It's really bad form and it's not funny. B8stards.

I'm sorry u had to come across those ditch-thick fcukin [EMAIL="w@nkers"]w@nkers[/EMAIL]. that's not on at all. I would have liked 2 pummell the sh!t out of them and made them sincerely apologise 2 you. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

poss wrote: »
    Okay, i'm a 41 year old married woman and here's my take on the whole 'when guys/leer comment' thing.

I'll be honest it doesn't really bother me, if anything i find it almost a compliment.

I'm quite busty and i was in a shopping centre which shall remain nameless last weekend. Anyway, i was upstairs in one particular shop...and i did overhear a guy making a comment about my chest to his friend.

Anyway, i do tend to show cleavage, as i'm quite proud of my figure..but this guy was leering at me, absolutely.

In fact, as i was going downstairs on the escalator, the guy in question said goodbye to his friend, and followed me...he was behind me.

I knew he was looking at my cleavage, and he lent over to ask me the time, so i deliberately gave him an eye-ful...to say he was delighted stepping off the escalator would be an understatement.

I mean, i look after myself and i'm guilty of dressing a tad sexily, but a guy leering at me or making a comment wouldn't bother me in the slightest as long as it's not overly vulgar....guys sneak looks and leer at me constantly, but i consider it harmless most of the time, they're not hurting me in any way.

Oh Poss, you're male, you're female, you're in your thirties, or more, you're...why you're a big 'ol contradiction aren't ya? Congrats on your FABULOUS cleavage and ability to soak up leering while you guiltily dress sexy.

This may be ever so slightly off topic but it relates 2 the topic of female harassment.. I feel VERY strongly about this because I'm 1 of two lads in my family who grew up with 3 sisters. One of my sisters is no longer with us as she took her own life four years ago. she was only 24. this was following a very rocky time that i never want to experience for the life of me for as long as I live,though I would give ANYTHING to see my sis alive again,no matter what state she was in like she was then. Some sad,sorry, unforgivable WASTE OF HUMAN SPACE raped my sister when she was on her way home from a night out eight years ago.A statement was given to the police afterwards but any other vital evidence (apart from my sister's testimony) was lost because she took a shower after she managed 2 get home that night. But the bruising and cuts around her pelvic, anal, and vaginal region were strong pieces of evidence and she had a good description of the [EMAIL="b@stard"]b@stard[/EMAIL] as well. The Guards looked for this shred of sh!t scumbag but never got him,so the case never made it to court. this FCUKER WAS IRISH!!!!! and no doubt this sh!t eating CNUT is still walking around at large and free!!
    My sister,as u can imagine,was left n tatters emotionally and psychologically right up until her suicide.She completely withdrew into herself despite all of us supporting her and receiving weekly (later changing to monthly) counselling,and stopped eating altogether.I've since read that eating disorders are disproportionately more common n victims of sexual assault as they are basically trying 2 regain some control and disconnect themselves from physical aspects of feminimity as a way of protecting themselves.Within a year,my sister was a haunting shell of her former self,face all hollowed out and all. It still haunts me 2 this day. She was in and out of hospital for the years following that and her whole life and any happinsess she ever had came to a complete standstill. Totally wiped out.How do u help some1 n that situation?We were all at a loss in our family.Because of her depression,which i think was a major result of her self-starvation,she was medicated and we thought that would help her along a bit. On February 2nd 2005 at 9:10am,my mother went up to my sister's room to call her again after she hadn't responded the first time,and found her body hanging from one of the ceiling beams. Our lives have never been the same and not a day goes by where I dont think of her.

Now,for any self-pitying C*NT who uses the excuse 'Oh I was drunk so i couldnt help myself groping her/getting my willy out' or 'sure she was drunk too and she was asking for a ride n those clothes she had on',PLEASE FCUK OFF AND COP YOURSELVES ON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh Poss, you're male, you're female, you're in your thirties, or more, you're...why you're a big 'ol contradiction aren't ya? Congrats on your FABULOUS cleavage and ability to soak up leering while you guiltily dress sexy.
    I'm a dual user on my boyfriends computer, that's what happened to me last weekend.

Jealousy will get you nowhere.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

Oh yes, jealous of someone leering at my chest, sure why wouldn't I be?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

I'm a dual user on my boyfriends computer, that's what happened to me last weekend.

Jealousy will get you nowhere.:rolleyes:

You have a boyfriend and a husband? Lucky you :)

Anyway, as i say, ^ that's what happpened to me last weekend.

Most guys will always leer/ look/ ogle me when i'm out shopping...if a red blooded male wants to check me out, i'm always going to provide them an eyefull.

If anything, it's a confidence booster at my age.

Guys think i don't realise they're looking at my tits, but i know they are.
    It happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Petrosky

Hi Galvasean,

This story saddens me. It shows the complete lack of respect for the ladies, a branch of society that is caring and civilised and worthy of respect. These "men" are cowards particularly those who shout from cars. I am a man but sometimes I am ashamed to be one when I see women treated in this way as I feel they are God's finest creation. It is natural for the opposite sex to admire the opposite sex and I feel that when a man stops doing this he is dead. But a leering, lewd approach is to be deplored and is but a small step away from ending up in the Courts. The recent sad case of the murder of the young Swiss student,Manuela, in Galway, was probably the end of such an incident. Makes you wonder.

Petrosky

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,152 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Poss it seems you're a woman here with a boyfriend/husband and a shared account with same, yet you're a man in RI with a crush on an overweight female workmate with possible eating issues. That's a big and confusing description so I'll just shorten it to Troll. Banned for 2 weeks from the Ladies Lounge.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cathy01

Mr mojorising.
    If I could hug you I would.
    Thats just.......terrible.
    Im so sorry.
    She was a lucky woman to have such a strong brother .
    Lost for words.
    Cathy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 MaryRose77

boys will be boys i guess. it can be annoying when they keep staring at you, even though you caught them looking at you but what can ya do??! as long as they keep their hands off its ok. i've also noticed the eastern european lads are really into leering/commenting. i was walking past the olympia yesterday with my friend and they started leering and clapping as we walked past... kinda made them look like losers to be honest :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Jeepers these comments do make me ashamed to be a lad. A fair few of my closest friends are girls and I'm way more aware of it now. I remember in college seeing a tutor staring down my friends top. She laughs that she's turned me feminist!

Plus to prove my credentials to post here (as opposed to proving the rule that men feel the need to comment on everything!), I was in a club earlier this year when a lad grabbed me on the ass and aggressively pulled me by the arm to get me dancing with him! I wasn't best pleased to say the least. One of my friends said I should have had the nerve to lead him on to pay for a few drinks!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

If you hate leering/sleazy men, my one bit of advice would be to stay away from Italian men (not meaning to be too stereotypical or generalising...)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

Someone had asked earlier as to whether we ladies wouldn't mind a leer from a good looking guy.

Actually, I think it is worse when the leer comes from someone you would normally find attractive.

Because if I find him attractive, I want to like them and give them a chance, but if he's going to act the gob****e and makes me feel very uncomfortable, then forget it. If he can't behave in public, then what's he like in private? - they're the thoughts running through my head.

So it ain't gonna happen because it puts me on the defensive straight away, no matter how hot I thought he was at first.

I want to add, I don't mind if I notice someone checking me out, I can handle that. But let's do with a bit of style and manners, eh? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

I remember in college seeing a tutor staring down my friends top.

*Man caught in looking at boobies shocker*

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

Khannie wrote: »
    *Man caught in looking at boobies shocker*

happens more than you think ,boobie starers are everywhere !:eek:

Every man likes looking at boobies. Your eyes are drawn to them. It's instinctual. Honestly.......Not looking at boobies actually requires effort.

"must.....maintain.......eye......contact......."

nosweatjv2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Jood

Went on a night out recently and this guy thought he had the right to full on grab my chest with two hands, some fright he got when I grabbed him by the goolies, not something I would usually do but I felt like giving him a taste of his own medicine!!

• Registered Users Posts: 34,121 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

One of my friends has unreal habbit of staring at women for so long and thing is he has a girlfriend. I remember being in chipper one night and this girl came in well dressed up must say her boobs were falling out and in fairness even blind man would have noticed. Anyway there was my mate starting to chat to her and then she just says "what the hell you doing looking at my boobs you creep". When we left I told him he was little bit too obvious and was wrong but he taught it was what every guy would do (wanted too say more but this guy hard to get round too)

Even when I was going with my ex she was quiet impressive up front shall i say. Guys would just glare at her even though they knew I was with her. never bothered me really not that I did not care but being honest except for one time a guy roared at her to take her top off and show us some flesh right in front of me. lets just say he never put a point across to her again:D .

Myself I do look but I would never ever just stare at girl no matter how good looking or whatever she was. Guys look at girls and girls look at boys simple really.

But has be said I do feel sorry for girls who jog in park or in public place or whatever and get smart remarks thrwon at them. Its not on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Every a lot of men likes looking at boobies. Your eyes are drawn to them. It's instinctual. Honestly.......Not looking at boobies actually requires effort.

"must.....maintain.......eye......contact......."

FYP

I know plenty of gay guys who don't dig boob and straight men who aren't that bothered tbh and are more arsed to look at a woman bum.

and some of us women like looking at boobs too but it's not what you do it's they way that you do it, either don't get caught or do it in such a way it's not leery/sleazey. IT is possible to tell a woman that her cleavage looks wonderful and make it an honest compliment.

Isn't that right Shellyboo? :P

• Registered Users Posts: 34,121 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Jood wrote: »
    Went on a night out recently and this guy thought he had the right to full on grab my chest with two hands, some fright he got when I grabbed him by the goolies, not something I would usually do but I felt like giving him a taste of his own medicine!!

Well if he's able to give it he must be able to take, it so you had every right

IT is possible to tell a woman that her cleavage looks wonderful and make it an honest compliment.

Isn't that right Shellyboo? :P

LMAO :)

Hi there.

Yes, it is very possible :D I always take it as a compliment as long as it's done in a nice way.

I know plenty of gay guys who don't dig boob and straight men who aren't that bothered tbh and are more arsed to look at a woman bum.

Ah yes, it was a big whopping generalisation and such wide open to exceptions. Even bum men like boobies though, generally. Much like I like a good bottom.
    and some of us women like looking at boobs too but it's not what you do it's they way that you do it, either don't get caught or do it in such a way it's not leery/sleazey.

Oh I try. This thread in particular has made me much more conscious of not getting caught. (you may correctly infer from that that I still look :D)

Seriously though, I have been more conscious of not looking at boobies on the street since reading on here how it bothers quite a few of you.

I laud your ability to give a cleavage based compliment. I don't think I could do it, though I've never tried.
    shellyboo wrote: »
    I always take it as a compliment as long as it's done in a nice way.

Haha. You must have fantastic cleavage. That sounds like you get a _lot_ of compliments. :D

LOL :o

Em, yeah I guess. Ask Thaed, she's seen 'em! :o

As for being able to give a cleavage-based compliment, I think it's different for girls. Most women will take a physical compliment like that from a woman and not feel awkward about it, where the same comment from a man would make them feel uncomfortable.

It's a double standard, I guess... there's this perception that women are less of a threat than men, regardless of their orientation.