Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland team to play USA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Ciaran-Irl wrote: »
    Not sure about Mick O'Driscoll being the wrong call. I'd guess players like himself and Stringer are there because they shouldn't just put out 15 players that have shag all test experience.

I figure that the theory on a tour like this is that you need a few very experienced folks to bring out the best in the new guys. They'll be the leaders on the field, and the newer guys will learn from them. But as I say, in a bubble, I wouldn't have them there.

BUT... Denis Hurley shouldn't be there, and Fionn Carr should be starting.

I heard that Devin Toner was brought out Wednesday due to an injury scare to Mick O Driscoll. Must be harsh on the guy to leave the Cup celebrations and then not to make the 22.

Well.. thats what Bob Casey is there for too, the experience. There is no point in having two 30+ players in the second row. If caldwell or Toner were starting alongside either Casey or O'Driscoll it would make alot of sense, the young lad could learn off the experienced veteran. But Kidney dropped the ball on this one it seems. Also i would hope Kidney springs the whole bench this time. Niall O'Connor deserves a run and Sean Cronin has been outstanding this season, it would be a pity for them to tour and then get no game time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Let's hope it's a little bit better than last weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭Nukem

danthefan wrote: »
    I know Buckley was ill but it's become a convenient excuse at this stage. He couldn't scrummage last season and he couldn't scrummage at the end of this season when completely fit either. He can't scrummage, sick or otherwise.

Hang on a second - "convenient excuse" - he had a lung infection. And i would whole heartily agree with some comments that he puts in a performance when it suits him it seems. But the scrummaging is something he has worked on there is no doubt.

Some of last year he was played in the both prop positions and if you know anything about rugby, there is a huge technical difference in the positions. Just to add fuel to the fire, does anyone remember a young John Hayes? I do and he was the same, not a very good scrumager but just a mulicher like Buckley.

Reckon give him a chance this year, but I really see Ross and Healy as the future - Healy has had a massive season and is monumental in the loose and not a bad scrummager either.

Hopefully a good game tonight and an interesting interview with EOS afterwards:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Nukem wrote: »
    Hang on a second - "convenient excuse" - he had a lung infection. And i would whole heartily agree with some comments that he puts in a performance when it suits him it seems. But the scrummaging is something he has worked on there is no doubt.

Some of last year he was played in the both prop positions and if you know anything about rugby, there is a huge technical difference in the positions. Just to add fuel to the fire, does anyone remember a young John Hayes? I do and he was the same, not a very good scrumager but just a mulicher like Buckley.

Yes but Hayes was in his early 20's and not 29 like Buckley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭Nukem

Stev_o wrote: »
    Yes but Hayes was in his early 20's and not 29 like Buckley.
    True - and valid point. Wasn't til after i posted I forgot he is late 20's at this stage. May be too late for him to pull up the socks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭2040

A prop is like wine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

2040 wrote: »
    A prop is like wine...

Fermented grape juice?

The problem with Hayes is that he was never an awesome scrummager, merely acceptable. And Buckley's not acceptable yet...

I hope he will be, but he's so fookin old.

Seriously why do Setanta pay Franno to talk pure sh1te? Franno "Well there's going to be a sub standard 3rd world referee" Presenter "It's Christ White" Franno "Oh okay, but still.....". F*cking ejit of a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭remus808

Neil Francis: Idiot!

"This game will have a rubbish referee"
    "Eh, Chris White?"
    "Oh, Right."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

F'in hell, Neil Francis is some goon. How does he get away with it?. There he is banging on about the fact that the ref will not be as good as a 6 Nations ref. His level of research astounds. Daire interrupts to inform him that Chris White from England is reffing, he says 'oh, is he!?'.

What a tool.

EOS: Leinster Hater..

"Yeah it's been a great season for Irish Rugby with winning the Grand Slam and Munster winning the Magners League.... and I suppose you have to congratulate Leinster on the Heineken Cup aswell"

WTF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

There ya go Franno........ Ciaran says there is a good referee tonight. Someone put the guy down for the love of Christ.

karmabass wrote: »

"Yeah it's been a great season for Irish Rugby with winning the Grand Slam and Munster winning the Magners League.... and I suppose you have to congratulate Leinster on the Heineken Cup aswell"

WTF

A cork man to the very end. :pac:

Seriously why do Setanta pay Franno to talk pure sh1te? Franno "Well there's going to be a sub standard 3rd world referee" Presenter "It's Christ White" Franno "Oh okay, but still.....". F*cking ejit of a man.
    Neil Francis: Idiot!

"This game will have a rubbish referee"
    "Eh, Chris White?"
    "Oh, Right."
    Leslie91 wrote: »
    F'in hell, Neil Francis is some goon. How does he get away with it?. There he is banging on about the fact that the ref will not be as good as a 6 Nations ref. His level of research astounds. Daire interrupts to inform him that Chris White from England is reffing, he says 'oh, is he!?'.

What a tool.
    Got to love Franno, lads.

He never fulfilled his potential as a player and seems determined to do the same for his potential as a pundit. ^^

Though as a Leinster fan I feel I owe him a lot for píssing the lads off and getting some real fire from them.

WTF
    Isn't he? :D
    chupacabra wrote: »
    A cork man to the very end. :pac:

Bitter and jealous of Dublin? :p

Francis is an absolute idiot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

No streams about.

Can someone update me?

Thanks.

Bitter and jealous of Dublin? :p

Not to mention smelly, stupid and ugly. :pac::pac:

(from a kerry man :cool:)

Breaking news Franno looks at naked props particularly Mike Ross ............... *sigh*

Franno just shut up for the love of god, you have no knowledge of the game of rugby at all.

No streams about.

Can someone update me?

Thanks.

Are you an Eircom customer? If so go here http://setanta-video.eircom.net/eircom/channels/Live.aspx

****ing hell, Franno disgraces himself again, calling Ross a moobed fat mess and Healy "one of the most powerfull props in the world"

Someone put him out of his misery!!!!!!!!!

Only Setanta can spend 30mins waffling and not even run through the lineups...

"So Neill Francis, will you be looking out for Mike Ross' man boobs or something else?"

HAHA brilliant.

chupacabra wrote: »
    Not to mention smelly, stupid and ugly. :pac::pac:

(from a kerry man :cool:)

Up the Kingdom! (Some of the family's from the darkest reaches of foul Munster. :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

No streams about.

Can someone update me?

Thanks.

I put a link here:
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=60482878&posted=1#post60482878

IRELAND'S CALL, OH.MY.GOD.

Tis lovely not hearing the torture that is Ryle not so lovely another shoddy performance of Ireland's Call. I love the fact that all they do is tell the announcer to hit play on the CD player for our anthem to start :p

Shoddy renditions of both anthems..

YES! Finally it's happened. Someone actually managed to have a worse national anthem sung then us. Hurray!

The US don't do anthems, but if they did, they'd be banned.

IRELAND'S CALL, OH.MY.GOD.
    You thought that was bad...
    YES! Finally it's happened. Someone actually managed to have a worse national anthem sung then us. Hurray!

Oh ouch. I feel annoyed now, and I'm not even a Septic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭jossnjuice

god she properly destroyed that anthem.....and i normally like i from watchin wrestlemania!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

The UD don't do anthems, but if they did, they'd be banned.

The UD :confused:

Still I wouldn't say that about the Star Spangled Banner any were near an American... you just might get a cap in yo' ass

What's up with sound? It's fairly annoying.

Profiler wrote: »
    The UD :confused:

Still I wouldn't say that about the Star Spangled Banner any were near an American... you just might get a cap in yo' ass

US My Mistake :p:p:p

lol at ref: "LANGUAGE PLEASE"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

What's up with sound? It's fairly annoying.

Sounds like it is the feed from Ref Christ White's mic, specifically his jersey rubbing off the mic.

Great start from the US apart from the handling errors, they have brought alot of intensity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭conf101

The sound is really annoying!

The Eagles look like their going to kill someone ......particularly Chris White who everyone seems to be charging into.

Is there a way to hide the chat on justin.tv?

There's some eejits on it. :mad::mad:

Is there a way to hide the chat on justin.tv?

There's some eejits on it. :mad::mad:

That's the best part of it!

Try the full screen button.

Some respect for kicker eh? :p

Missed Keatley peno. :(:(

You can make the video fullscreen..

Heaviest ever Irish front row apparently? Buckley has come on for Horan before though hasnt he?? Surely Buckley + Hayes was heavier..

Dowling jaysus.

FFS. Missed chance.

LADS HOLD ON THE BALL!!

Dowling should have scored in the corner.

FFS. Missed chance.

LADS HOLD ON THE BALL!!

GO ON. MY SON. :p

IRELAND TRY!!

AH, GREAT FOR BOB!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Would be a try earlier if snails pace dowling was not on the wing.

Ah Keatley!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭conf101

Love the way there's absolute silence for the kicker!!