Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "I should have left the credit card at home" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,441 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

niceonetom wrote: »
    I'm normal sized and therefore **** out of luck when sales like that come around. You xxl and xxs lads have it sorted.

there you go full range of sizes in craft shorts
    http://www.probikekit.com/display.php?code=c1482

craft full zip jerseys small to xl

http://www.probikekit.com/display.php?code=c1471

your just not trying hard enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,994 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I don't think that Craft stuff was so expensive to begin with though. Most of the stuff with the big reductions is all small and 2x large only... These are very good jerseys for the heat though, I just bought another. Very very light (far lighter than any other jersey I have) and with a full zip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Lumen wrote: »
    Just ordered one of these:

AdamoSaddle2-782514.jpg

Possibly the ugliest saddle ever invented, but Joe Friel has one (his road saddle is a Toupe, like mine) so it must be good. :pac:

where'd u get that Lumen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Bambaata wrote: »

Yeah, and how are you finding it? It's heavy, ugly, embarrassing, pricey and weird but taint pain is worse. You get on well enough with your spesh toupé right? Well I do with mine, so I'm kinds thinking that if that adamo suits you it might suit me too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,125 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Bambaata wrote: »

trybikestore.co.uk
    niceonetom wrote: »
    Yeah, and how are you finding it? It's heavy, ugly, embarrassing, pricey and weird but taint pain is worse. You get on well enough with your spesh toupé right? Well I do with mine, so I'm kinds thinking that if that adamo suits you it might suit me too...

I haven't used it much yet. Did the IrishFit thing today, and got it positioned about 5.5cm behind the bottom bracket, dropped the saddle height for power, will be raising the bars for aero. Need more turbo time to see how it feels, but first impressions are good. It's less comfy in an aero position than my Toupe feels in a road position, but more comfy than the OnOne saddle I got with the Stealth. I never tried the Toupe on the Stealth, although I have a narrow one still in it's original packaging (impulse purchase, intended for the road race bike).

I wouldn't recommend it for the road, but TT requirements are a bit different.

edit: another turbo session. not convinced yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭furiousox

trybikestore.co.uk
    I haven't used it much yet. Did the IrishFit thing today

Me too, was that you on the Planet X?

CPL 593H

furiousox wrote: »
    Me too, was that you on the Planet X?

Spotted! Woohoo!

Nice Bianchi :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭furiousox

Spotted! Woohoo!

Nice Bianchi :)

Cheers

I was tempted to say "boardsie?"

If l'd known it was you l would've got your autograph! ;)

Good service from bikefit, raised saddle by 3cm also need 10mm longer stem.

CPL 593H

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Captain Havoc: "I need a new pair of overshoes, the waterproof ones"

LBS: "What size"

CH: "43"

LBS: "Is that everything?"

CH: "yeah, oh wait are those gloves waterproof?"

LBS: "yeah"

CH: "I'll take a pair, my ones are useless when wet"

LBS: "€60 please"

CH: "There ya go", followed by "€119, that's not bad for a turbo trainer, that one doesn't have the lever for the bars though?"

LBS: "No but I'm getting one in tomorrow, it's only €20 more"

CH: "Can you deliver it to the house, I'm away all day?"

LBS: "Grand"

I have got to stop going in there.

P.S. The ever amounting list of BBB equipmennt is growing, spotting me at a sportive is going to be really easy in 2010, I'm the one covered in BBB gear.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭abcdggs

i wish this could be my sig. Hillarious!

That sick guilty feeling is back.

I don't have a decent winter coat, and I sold my winter cycling jacket a couple of weeks ago. Also, Velo very kindly offered to include mein his heavily discounted order, thus reducing the expense from aneurysm-rupturing to just sphincter-clenching.

With those flimsy rationalisations out of the way, I can admit to being in possession of a Rapha Classic Softshell Jacket, in black.

First impressions are OK.

It's quite roomy for a medium, certainly not tight fitting, but that helps with off-the-bike use I guess.

The front is cut high (like many cycling jackets) which means your clothes stick out ridiculously around the belly area. Some colour co-ordination will be required.

The sleeves are terminated by an elastic cuff-glove with two holes through which you stick a thumb and fingers respectively.

There is an arse-covering rain flap with a big white Rapha logo which docks discretely up the inside when not "deployed".

The "story label" on the inside of one rear pocket reads in quite spectacularly pretentious fashion:

"Charly Gaul of Luxembourg, dubbed Angel of the Mountain because of his high altitude exploits, hated the heat. The Tour of 1958 was a scorcher and he had lost more than 12 minutes over two gruelling mountain stages. He was, quite literally, cooked. Then came the twenty-first stage and hail storms, wind and torrential rain. Charly was untouchable that day. He rode Bobet, Geminiani and Anquetil off his wheel, escaped for 15 minutes and won the Tour".

From the reviews I read I expect it to lose all waterproofing after the first wash and be relegated to "street use" only. Perhaps I will be pleasantly surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,504 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Hmmm, I still have to get some Rapha gear but I think there is certainly an element of the "abercrombie and fitch" about their marketing, i.e. your world will suddenly become a black and white professionally shot utopia and wearing our clothes will instantly make you into a cycling adonis":

104044.jpg

and a typical A&F catalogue shot:

104045.jpg

Although I know which I'd prefer to be riding:
    the bike, as if you had to read this to know that. Deactivate your account and never come back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mr Velo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

@Lumen. Lol. I now have so much rapha gear that couldn't use any if the three discount vouchers that I had, as there was nothing they had that I didn't have.
    I have both the fixed jacket and the lightweight softshell. The lightweight softshel is great in spring or autumn, but to light for winter cold.
    It is actually reasonably rain resistant as long as it is not torrential rain.
    @Dirk given that rapha are bringing out a women range you may see more if the second type of picture.

New bike arrived today from the nice folks at Worldwide. Bill arrived with it.
    I am looking at the bike in my bedroom. It is even more beautiful in the flesh than the pictures were.
    The seat post has an aero look to it which I didn't know and looks great.

Profile Design bottle cages are sleek and the San Marco saddle looks just brill.

I love the size of the space where the BB is.
    Felt like crap this morning with some flu like symptoms. The delivery of the bike has cheered me up no end.
    I have been staring at it fir hours. I will wait for a dry day before she sees the road.

Do I even need to say it: pics or GTFO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Is this the replacement for the Orbea or the Dolan or the .....!? Best of luck with it ROK ON

@Sy. Dolan for Kerry Kuota for Dublin (I live in both). Orbea - not sure may sell. Got it in BTW scheme so cist me very little.
    Will continue to use it while weather remains lousy. Truth is I don't have the room for it.

@Dirk- the camera on my phone is out of order so photo will have to wait. Also going to wait until I git the Mavixlc Ksyriums to get full effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

ROK ON wrote: »
    Dolan for Kerry Kuota for Dublin (I live in both).
    Dual citizenship can be a dangerous thing. No need asking which side you will be on if there is a Croker clash ( rugby or gaelic)

Kuota make beautiful bikes looking forward to the photos. Bike porn keeps me satisfied while injured!

sy wrote: »
    Dual citizenship can be a dangerous thing. No need asking which side you will be on if there is a Croker clash ( rugby or gaelic)

Kuota make beautiful bikes looking forward to the photos. Bike porn keeps me satisfied while injured!

Kerry v Dublin. Neither as I am from Limerick. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Just arrived in this afternoon...

23wk84z.jpg

And the frame to put it all on en route shortly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Murph100

BASTAR... erm .... congrats Che !! :mad:

CheGuedara wrote: »
    Just arrived in this afternoon...

23wk84z.jpg

And the frame to put it all on en route shortly

WOT ?? No Kuota for Priests Leap ???

WAIT A MINUTE .....I know what you're up to, you're afraid of meeting yer man in Kenmare on his Kebel, aintcha !!

ROK ON wrote: »
    @Sy. Dolan for Kerry Kuota for Dublin (I live in both).

I second the bastard comment, those boxes look fantastic, I think opening them would be a crime.

Ah knowing in Che, they're probably empty anyways, he probably found them around the back of CSS :D

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I second the bastard comment, those boxes look fantastic, I think opening them would be a crime.

sky colours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

DirkVoodoo wrote: »

I'll take the chance on opening em when the new carbon hotness arrives to put them all on - for now though they'll be safe & sound in the boxes....
    Murph100 wrote: »
    BASTAR... erm .... congrats Che !! :mad:

Cheers lad, we know what'll be arriving in the Murph100 bike garage too so be expecting a similar post from me! :D
    Murph100 wrote: »
    Ah knowing in Che, they're probably empty anyways, he probably found them around the back of CSS :D

Listen, how the managed to fall of the back of that van, sooo close to a major bike shop I don't know... (ahem, shinybikes.com, ahem)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭abcdggs

CheGuedara wrote: »
    Listen, how the managed to fall of the back of that van, sooo close to a major bike shop I don't know... (ahem, shinybikes.com, ahem)

Shiny bikes seem to be the cheapest when it comes to groupsets, i picked up carbon centaur group over summer from them. I had a box arrive very similar to yours, It's very exciting!

@ Che. What will the frame be?

A Kuota Kebel .... same as mine :D