Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tell us the top 10 things you'd....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

cm2000 wrote: »
    with the view, its idealistic and I like that, but it will never happen in our nanny state. My question is why the libertarian suggestions thus far have been of a federal system?

Firstly, my suggestion for a federal state has nothing to do with the US.

A federal system allows a smaller group of people to govern themselves. So the people in Cork dont have to be led by the whims of the Dubliners. As af_thefragile says, it will create a situation where Irish citizens can live in the state of their choice based on what it offers.

So take Cork and Kerry as two separate federal entities. Kerry is running a budget surplus. Its decides to cut social welfare hugely and dramatically reduce taxes. Cork, on the other hand, keeps the current high-ish tax; large social welfare state going.

Imagine I was on a high wage. I feel that social welfare is unfair, and that my hard bought tax is only supporting laziness. I simply apply to change residency, and new low tax rates apply.

Of course if I was a social welfare sponger, I wouldnt go near Kerry. Then Cork starts running a deficit - it cant keep the huge social welfare going. So it has to rationalise its services.

In effect, states would be in competition. Also a federal system would allow differing laws on drugs, abortions and prostitution. So the people of Cork dont have to ban cannabis just because the rest of the country dont agree with it.
    cm2000 wrote: »
    The thought of having different laws in Fingal County Council and Dublin City Council is ridiculous...

Why so? Are you saying Dubliners and Kerry folk are similar? The recurring put-downs - "Jackeens" and "Culchies" respectively - would make me think otherwise.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Yes definitely. The world has become a much more dangerous place when criminals suddenly were given rights and all this crap! Murderers, rapists, child abusers, drug dealers deserve no rights. Hangman's noose for them all

you'd legalise drugs but you put drug dealers into the same category as child abusers?

i wouldn't vote for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

For no 10 how would this license work??? I agree with everything else!

How would it work?.....Probably not well! :p

It just seems to me that this finite world is starting to get too many people in it.

And in Ireland on social welfare, having that extra kid gets you that bigger house.

I agree with spank_infernos motive, but not his specific solution. (s)hes is completely right - parents must be held responsible for their kids.

So firstly I would introduce abortion. Reduce the amount of kids being born to parents who simply dont want them.

About a year after that I would introduce measures to shift responsibility from the state to the parents. Remove child benefit. If you want kids you shouldnt expect the state to pay for them. Make parents responsible when it comes to child crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

you'd legalise drugs but you put drug dealers into the same category as child abusers?

i wouldn't vote for you

I'd legalise drugs to get rid of drug dealers. Make it a public enterprise that can be stringently watched and taxed by a government authority. And yes i think drug dealers are as bad as rapists. Scum on the bottom of a barrel.

How would it work?.....Probably not well! :p

It just seems to me that this finite world is starting to get too many people in it.

And in Ireland on social welfare, having that extra kid gets you that bigger house.

Well fine the world is becoming over populated but only certain areas, e.g china but ireland if very under populated. Compare ourselves to england, we should be at a population of over 20million! Realisticly though a popultion of 8 million in ireland could be sustained i believe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Well fine the world is becoming over populated but only certain areas, e.g china but ireland if very under populated. Compare ourselves to england, we should be at a population of over 20million! Realisticly though a popultion of 8 million in ireland could be sustained i believe

You are quite right, but I see myself as a sort of "Earth King" in waiting.
    So the likes of china/india would also be under my jurasdiction. :p

You are quite right, but I see myself as a sort of "Earth King" in waiting.
    So the likes of china/india would also be under my jurasdiction. :p

I'd vote for you Mr dictator of the World :pac:. I want a country for myself though if and when we succeed, and not one of those ****ty african ones at that!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

1) Title myself "His Excellency, President for Life, Omniscient Emperor of all the People and Beasts of Ireland..."

2) Drastically slash public spending in order to facilitate tax cuts, first by firing thousands and thousands of civil-servants, then introduce performance related pay fo the remainder. Job seekers allowance to be paid only to those who are actively seeking jobs after an initial 3 month period.

3) Introduce a Smokers' Register. You have to be on it to buy tobacco, and if you're on it, you will not recieve any health benifits from the state.

4) Bring back the Death Penalty for serious crimes.

5) Outlaw Libertas, The Greens, Trade Unions, Socialism and Fianna Fáil.

6) Drastically expand the army. Being a neutral country is not an excuse for an absence of a military. Invade Turkey, rename it the Irish Dependancy of Chicken.

7) Actually seperate church and state.

8) Build the world's tallest building, just for the laugh.

9) Join Schengen.

10) Reform the education system, so that private schools get absolutely 0 state money, all public primary schools teach everything but English through Gaeilge, and that Irish students recieve a higher standard of secondary education.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Here goes, if anyone would like to enlighten me to my political standing, that I'm still unsure of fire ahead :D

1: Privatise any non-essentials eg Transport, electricity etc but nationalise the banks which we can't seemingly do without.
    2: Separate church from state completely. Remove all special provisions for religious groups eg tax exemption etc. They would be seen as private businesses.
    3: Eliminate foreign aid. Use a small percentage of it to make people aware of charities at home and abroad they can donate to if they feel obliged.
    4: Increase speed limits on motorways and dual carriageways.
    5: Extend closing times in pubs and and relax licensing laws.
    6: Legalise abortion and stem-cell research.
    7: Restrict work access to the country by a visa system with background checks for criminal activity etc.
    8: Abolish child benefit for people who earn in the higher tax bands.
    9: Legalise gay marriage and polyamorous
    10: However remove all special tax exemptions for married people.

• Registered Users Posts: 328 ✭✭Soulja boy

1) Space program
    2) Create compulsory abortions
    3) Eugenics For the win.
    4) Ban all cars from cities
    5) Replace jails with organ harvesting services
    6) Cut all irish funding support to northern ireland including hospitals or police
    7) Sell the south west of ireland to rich tourists
    8) Ensure that grant systems for college work off grade percentages (monitor to ensure standards don'e become easier to compensate)
    9) Move all religious institutions to the Burren or Connacht in general
    10) Declare myself lord protector and dissolve the daíl then invade england.

11 Move to dubia and dodge the Hague for as long as possible---

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Poxy video wont work

I'd put a very large wall around Offaly !!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Hmm when trying to come up with my 10 I'm trying to strike a balance between personal liberties and being looked after by the state. I used to think that Every Man For Himself was the best way to go, but some people are born naturally disadvangated and restricting some personal libterties (ie take some of people's income) is necessary to make a fair system. So basically my ideal country could be a mixture of libertarianism and socialism, but it's be pretty egalitarian. It'd be the kind of country which, if I had no idea what my circumstances would be like when I'm born, I'd want to live in. I also sort of want to make the entire country a Gaeltacht >_>

1)Legalise Abortion

2)Keep the natinonal health service, but maybe trim the fat so there is less administration so money can actually go in to front-line services No abortions or other non-necessay procedures (medically urgent abortions would be performed however) would be provided for.

3)Tighten immigration. Only allow in immigrants and their families who have a job sorted prior to immigration. Allow in a limited no of asylum seekers.

4)Drastically reduce foreign aid, at least until the country gets sorted. While there are people in poverty or not receiving adequate standards of healthcare and education in Ireland we have no excuse to give our money away.

5)Legalise soft drugs, basically the drugs that don't affect anyone else, like Cannibus and MDMA. Tax the bejaysus out of them. Drugs that prompt people to steal and hurt society in general (like Heroin and Coke) would remain strictly banned.

6)Introduce gay marriage, with all the trappings of straight marriage

7)Have civics classes all the way through primary and secondary school. Have this set by a body independent of the government (so we can't be accused of bias)

8)Make the divorce process less strict. None of this legal separation and wait 5 years nonsense, divorce would be quick and easy

9)Have free education up to 3rd level. If the money isn't there, introduce a tax for graduates which is paid on all income until the cost of the degree + inerest is paid off.

10) Take all the national schools out of the church's clutches and make them all Gaelscoileanna.

Piste wrote: »
    Keep the natinonal health service, but maybe trim the fat so there is less administration

I think is what they've been trying to do so far, and its very failure would indicate that a new approach is needed.
    Piste wrote: »
    10) Take all the national schools out of the church's clutches and make them all Gaelscoileanna.

So much for civil liberty :pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

1) Stop having referenda on EU related issues, allow the Dail to vote on the needed amendments. The EU is too important and complicated for most people.

2) Wind power. Lots and lots of wind power. Some of those smaller new nukes too.As small a reliance on fossil fuels as possible.

3) Legalise soft drugs (Cannabis, MDMA, Hallucinogenics such as LSD, Psiloscybin & Mescaline)

4) Make economics a mandatory subject up to LC level. Maybe then people would stop welcoming giveaway budgets etc. The aim would be to make it easier to introduce tough economic reforms, and to make govts. more willing to do so as they wouldn't have to deal with as much negative public opinion.

5) Gay marraige

6) Legalise Abortion up to full term. Only a baby which has left the womb alive has rights.

7) University fees funded by government loans with a low rate of interest.

8) Fix our water distribution system, charge for water. I've heard our system is in bad shape.

9) Free broadband for every house and business which wants it. I can't see IT infrastructure becoming any less important as time progresses.

10) Separate, as much as possible, religion and state.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Taken on board some of the previous and added/adjusted a few...

Elected Representatives

* Clearer, every day accountability of state expenditure and state payouts to those that are serving in the publics name. All vast majority of state financial records to be available to the public in order for them to see where exactly their tax Euros is being spent.

* Stronger accountability by those who work for the state as elected public representatives. They being paid a more responsible wage in line with the public and not the far over inflated and perked, un-vouched, current amount.

* Increased working days for ALL elected TD's. For example: no more month long Christmas holidays when the rest of the public still has to toil away.

* Much clearer day by day public available listings of what elected officials are doing and where they have been, what benefit it might be to the state and to the people.

* All those standing for election to state for the record their business relationships for public record. Non-disclosure leading to possible loss of seat if conflict of interest is shown and/or tried to be hidden from scrutiny.

* Applying government high level department experts and professionals positions to be ratified and passed by a qualifying all party committee before being hired.

Europe

* Further integration within Europe while however still maintaining Irish rights and cultural perspectives in relation to taxation, economic national control, workers rights and the right on neutrality.

Crime

* Criminals/individuals found entering areas where they are not legally empowered to be, to be found more responsible for the consequences of their actions.

* White collar crime to be held as accountable as other crimes. A greater national unit and power to ensure better compliance with regulations.

* Greater enforcement of a three strikes system. Depending on the seriousness of certain crimes and the category they fall under for adopted penalties to be paid, related crimes to be treated accordingly to respective prison terms.

* Abolish all loopholes in the law - this includes tax avoidance schemes as well as crime related.

* Greater accountability of the countries judges in relation to "sentencing guidelines" for criminals and their breaking with those guidelines. Greater custodial sentencing - no exceptions in certain crime categories and/or levels.

* Tighter laws in relation to people-trafficking and if necessary, a better funded unit (with the necessary legal powers) to tackle such crimes.

* Clearer, tighter minimum custodial sentences for serious crimes such as rape, torture, abuse (child and adult), murder, etc.

Environment

* Incentives for bio-fuels, electric or hybrid powered cars, and tighter restrictions on the sale of all new cars incapable of achieving at least 40/50 mpg (actual number open for debate).

* Tighter environmental protection standards for businesses, Tax incentives for those that show a continuous minimum term history of serious compliance.

The Law

* Greater re-defined, clearer, more equal laws in relation to the rights of the father - as well as the mother, to their respective offspring and adopted children.

* Legalise Gay Marriage and stem cell research.

* Further, clearer separation of church from state departments, bodies and laws.

* Tighter control an laws in relation to cartels and the way they operate.

* A greater right to privacy for those individuals not operating in the public domain.

* Term limits for judges (which can be renewed depending on effectiveness decided by an all party committee) and judgments accountable according to letter of the law.

* Introduction of a points system for qualifying to enter the country. A scheme similar to America, Canada and Australia. This Irish version of such a scheme would apply to countries foreign nationals currently outside the EU area.

* Removal of the 5 year "separation period". An ineffective and furthermore un-necessary restrictive law hampering the rights of an individual to further marry again at a point most early to themselves.

Health

* Introduction of a possible additional state health care insurance scheme.

* Greater clarifications in law in regards to where profit shouldn't come before treatment of "bodies". Greater emphasis on the treatment of the person before the accounting of cost and to what related profit (degree).

* Continuous inspection and monitoring of justified costs being charged in relation to life saving equipment, medicine and other medical services.

Open for discussion:

* Tax incentives/lower pay related tax rates for specified limits of time (according to specific recognised areas and quality control) for those who serve their community/state in their free time.

* Further additional tax incentives/lower pay related tax rates for specified limits of time for companies which hire staff for certain periods of time. The more they are able to hire, the better they will be appropriately rewarded with lower rates in certain areas.

* Removal of "tax free status" for those religious organisations that fail to meet a minimum term and standard of public servitude.

* The removal of "Religion" from the national curriculum as a necessary subject - but still allowed as a further specialised subject.

More coming as I formulate them...

The above is some of what "United People" will stand For at the next election - if possible!...

I'll be running as a protest voter alone anyway over medical services issues...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

Biggins wrote: »
    Taken on board some of the previous and added/adjusted a few...

Elected Representatives

* Clearer, every day accountability of state expenditure and state payouts to those that are serving in the publics name. All vast majority of state financial records to be available to the public in order for them to see where exactly their tax Euros is being spent.

* Stronger accountability by those who work for the state as elected public representatives. They being paid a more responsible wage in line with the public and not the far over inflated and perked, un-vouched, current amount.

* Increased working days for ALL elected TD's. For example: no more month long Christmas holidays when the rest of the public still has to toil away.

* Much clearer day by day public available listings of what elected officials are doing and where they have been, what benefit it might be to the state and to the people.

* All those standing for election to state for the record their business relationships for public record. Non-disclosure leading to possible loss of seat if conflict of interest is shown and/or tried to be hidden from scrutiny.

* Applying government high level department experts and professionals positions to be ratified and passed by a qualifying all party committee before being hired.

Europe

* Further integration within Europe while however still maintaining Irish rights and cultural perspectives in relation to taxation, economic national control, workers rights and the right on neutrality.

Crime

* White collar crime to be held as accountable as other crimes. A greater national unit and power to ensure better compliance with regulations.

* Greater enforcement of a three strikes system. Depending on the seriousness of certain crimes and the category they fall under for adopted penalties to be paid, related crimes to be treated accordingly to respective prison terms.

* Abolish all loopholes in the law - this includes tax avoidance schemes as well as crime related.

* Greater accountability of the countries judges in relation to "sentencing guidelines" for criminals and their breaking with those guidelines. Greater custodial sentencing - no exceptions in certain crime categories and/or levels.

* Tighter laws in relation to people-trafficking and if necessary, a better funded unit (with the necessary legal powers) to tackle such crimes.

* Clearer, tighter minimum custodial sentences for serious crimes such as rape, torture, abuse (child and adult), murder, etc.

Environment

* Incentives for bio-fuels, electric or hybrid powered cars, and tighter restrictions on the sale of all new cars incapable of achieving at least 40/50 mpg (actual number open for debate).

* Tighter environmental protection standards for businesses, Tax incentives for those that show a continuous minimum term history of serious compliance.

The Law

* Greater re-defined, clearer, more equal laws in relation to the rights of the father - as well as the mother, to their respective offspring and adopted children.

* Legalise Gay Marriage and stem cell research.

* Further, clearer separation of church from state departments, bodies and laws.

* Tighter control an laws in relation to cartels and the way they operate.

* A greater right to privacy for those individuals not operating in the public domain.

* Term limits for judges (which can be renewed depending on effectiveness decided by an all party committee) and judgments accountable according to letter of the law.

* Introduction of a points system for qualifying to enter the country. A scheme similar to America, Canada and Australia. This Irish version of such a scheme would apply to countries foreign nationals currently outside the EU area.

* Removal of the 5 year "separation period". An ineffective and furthermore un-necessary restrictive law hampering the rights of an individual to further marry again at a point most early to themselves.

Health

* Introduction of a possible additional state health care insurance scheme.

* Greater clarifications in law in regards to where profit shouldn't come before treatment of "bodies". Greater emphasis on the treatment of the person before the accounting of cost and to what related profit (degree).

* Continuous inspection and monitoring of justified costs being charged in relation to life saving equipment, medicine and other medical services.

Open for discussion:

* Tax incentives/lower pay related tax rates for specified limits of time (according to specific recognised areas and quality control) for those who serve their community/state in their free time.

* Removal of "tax free status" for those religious organisations that fail to meet a minimum term and standard of public servitude.

* The removal of "Religion" from the national curriculum as a necessary subject - but still allowed as a further specialised subject.

More coming as I formulate them...

The above is some of what "United People" will stand For at the next election - if possible!...

I'll be running as a protest voter alone anyway over medical services issues...

Oi thats more than 10! :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

andrew wrote: »
    Oi thats more than 10! :p

I got carried away - "Ban the number ten" - there's another one! :pac:

What's more, added: "* Criminals/individuals found entering areas where they are not legally empowered to be, to be found more responsible for the consequences of their actions."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

turgon wrote: »
    What a complete and utterly blatant contradiction. I wonder how long people will let the government **** up services before they realise the government is not a body designed to maintain efficiency. I love the "not like the rest" part. Its what all biggish central government supporters say: we will do it better that the others. Yeah right, that what they all say. Nothing new here.

My point was that the staff taken on by the proposed Public Service banks would not have the same types of contracts that are currently provided for by the rest of us, and defended to the hilt by the unions. Certainly the private sector fkd up the banks, but during this time the government could have brought in legal changes to prevent a certain amount of the damage that they caused... restrictions on house prices, lending, 120% mortgages given based on unsustainable earnings etc etc.

Can I just add two more related to motoring... ....

11. Anybody under the age of 23 only allowed drive a car with a 1 litre engine. Anyone caught doing donuts or similar activities in car parks, crossroads etc etc to lose license for one year.
    12. All cars to have limiters so that they can not drive faster than the fastest motorway speed limit.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

12. All cars to have limiters so that they can not drive faster than the fastest motorway speed limit.
    Bad idea. The driver should be the sole authority on the speed of the car. Besides, all it would achieve is the prevention of speeding on the safest roads in the country.

Can I just add two more related to motoring... ....

11. Anybody under the age of 23 only allowed drive a car with a 1 litre engine. Anyone caught doing donuts or similar activities in car parks, crossroads etc etc to lose license for one year.

Im not driving a cinquecento EVER! Death traps. And just because you can't accomplish a donut you don't have to ruin it for the rest of us

Limiters wouldn't work because people can drive to the continent where there are different speed limits. Secondly its bad driving not speeding that causes accidents. Only 7 % of accidents are caused by speeding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

oscarBravo wrote: »
    Bad idea. The driver should be the sole authority on the speed of the car. Besides, all it would achieve is the prevention of speeding on the safest roads in the country.

That was brought up when the issue was raised on the motoring forum but everyone saying it was basically accused of reckless driving and being a boy racer :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

andrew wrote: »

8) Fix our water distribution system, charge for water. I've heard our system is in bad shape.

9) Free broadband for every house and business which wants it. I can't see IT infrastructure becoming any less important as time progresses.

Charge for water but make broadband free?
    Remind me again which is more important :confused:

Though in many rural areas people pay for water (service the group scheme) and can't get broadband.
    So I suppose your scheme has some merit

thebman wrote: »
    That was brought up when the issue was raised on the motoring forum but everyone saying it was basically accused of reckless driving and being a boy racer :rolleyes:
    That's a pretty predictable logical fallacy, alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭cyclopath2001

Only 7 % of accidents are caused by speeding.
    That's a not very clever piece of pro-speed spin. In how many accidents not primarliy caused by speeding was the damage/injury/death increased by excessive speed?

Im not driving a cinquecento EVER! Death traps. And just because you can't accomplish a donut you don't have to ruin it for the rest of us

To be honest, I grew up working with cars (family business) so I never had this juvenile fascination with them that a lot of teenagers seem to have. A car is for getting you from A to B as safely as possible. Fiesta for example is a fine car, (1.1L I think) and would do the job fine for most people.

The problem is that most young lads think that the car engine size is a demonstrative of their penis size. We have to get away from glamourizing vehicles, as this leads to people showing off, buying bigger engines, racing each other, overtaking, acting irresponsibly. I think people will be less likely to carry out any of these if they are driving a Fiesta, as opposed to a Honda or similar.
    Secondly its bad driving not speeding that causes accidents.
    If you reduce the speed of the cars, you reduce the damage they cause. and you were making the assumption in your previous statement that people only go above the motorway speeds on motorways. This would be naive I think.
    mikemac wrote: »

I agree, why would you charge for something that is a necessity, and not for a luxury/business tool. Broadband is cheap enough as it is. I think there are far better things the money could be spent on than free broadband.

If you reduce the speed of the cars, you reduce the damage they cause.
    So why not restrict all cars to 50km/h?
    ...and you were making the assumption in your previous statement that people only go above the motorway speeds on motorways. This would be naive I think.
    That was me, and it's not what I said. You need to read more carefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

mikemac wrote: »
    Remind me again which is more important :confused:

Though in many rural areas people pay for water (service the group scheme) and can't get broadband.
    So I suppose your scheme has some merit

I'm guessing the logic is broadband is mostly initial infrastructure cost although it isn't so you'd have to charge for both.

Water should be charged for to get people to plumbing problems. I've rented a number of houses with leaky showers and taps that don't turn off properly.
    To be honest, I grew up working with cars (family business) so I never had this juvenile fascination with them that a lot of teenagers seem to have. A car is for getting you from A to B as safely as possible. Fiesta for example is a fine car, (1.1L I think) and would do the job fine for most people.

The problem is that most young lads think that the car engine size is a demonstrative of their penis size. We have to get away from glamourizing vehicles, as this leads to people showing off, buying bigger engines, racing each other, overtaking, acting irresponsibly. I think people will be less likely to carry out any of these if they are driving a Fiesta, as opposed to a Honda or similar.

You can drive a Fiesta dangerously if you want to. Your points are illogical for gods sake. Banning people from driving Honda's because they seem to be in a disproportionate number of accidents (I don't see any statistics) is pointless and illogical because those same people will get in another car and do the same thing.

Loads of them are modified anyway so even if you do put them in a Fiesta, they can still change a lot about the car to make it faster and more sporty looking with ridiculously loud speakers. It doesn't stop anything and you just punish loads of people by not allowing them to buy the car they want for no reason.

I find it offensive that you think most young people think bigger engines or better looking cars mean they should show off or drive recklessly. That isn't the case at all for most young people. I can tell you the same people in my school when I was in school doing up cars were the same people doing it to bikes before they could drive and behaving stupidly on them.

Also many people drive their parents cars when they are that age and behave recklessly because it isn't their property IMO so I don't think any measure aimed at an age group will have any effect as long as they can just be a named driver on a parents policy.

Again the most reasonable idea is to actually have a proper test before letting people on the road at all to ensure they are responsible drivers and then policing the rules of the road that we have in place.
    If you reduce the speed of the cars, you reduce the damage they cause. and you were making the assumption in your previous statement that people only go above the motorway speeds on motorways. This would be naive I think.

Great wouldn't it be better to only allow cars with 5 star NCAP ratings be sold if that is what your after? That isnt' what was said. If you limit a car to the max speed on motorways, people can still drive like lunatics on other roads where it isn't safe to do that speed.

Again the proposal is illogical and would achieve nothing which is why people are saying that it shouldn't be implemented.

And before GPS tracking mandatory comes into the argument, your infringing on peoples right to privacy. The state has no business knowing where people are all the time or deciding what make of car people drive. How many other countries have implemented these rules and how effective was it in reducing the road deaths in these countries?
    I agree, why would you charge for something that is a necessity, and not for a luxury/business tool. Broadband is cheap enough as it is. I think there are far better things the money could be spent on than free broadband.

Broadband isn't cheap, we have the second highest line rental in the world for a very poor infrastructure and really crap speeds. Don't talk about things you don't know anything about please.

oscarBravo wrote: »
    So why not restrict all cars to 50km/h? That was me, and it's not what I said. You need to read more carefully.

Because it is legal to do more 50km/h on most roads. You are missing my point. My basic point is why would you allow people the capability to drive over the motorway speed limit when it is not legal to do so. Very hard to implement retrospectively, but this is meant to be a utopian society that we are desiging. At the end of the day NONE of the suggestions are gonna be taken on board by the government.