Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Its summer and the listening is easy...

• 01-06-2009 9:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

Yep Myles the Mogadon is back in the chair.

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

Their summer holidays have been reduced to a mere 4 weeks this year....I was wondering why G. Ryan sounded a bit deflated last friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

mike65 wrote: »

Expect a lot of military and WW2 inserts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

and other American history.

Did he write books about that stuff:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

Arsenal

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Another two hour Hugh Lane and finger pulling warm farts radiothon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

When is Derek "The Finest" Davis back on Liveline?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

Myles was really falling in love with Simon Schama this morning, blecch

Simon Schama is tv history GOD! I suspect its his love of baseball that did it for Myles.

Who's in the house?!

Myles 'Da Choons' Dungan is in the house!?

I'm not terribly against it but he's playing a lot of music. Standard pop music too. Something off one of those middle of the road stations like 98fm or 104something or other.

Bring back Rattlebag.

deadhead13 wrote: »
    Bring back Rattlebag.

I think they're one step ahead of you Dead.:pac:

Rachel English in for Maid Marian for "the next few weeks" (read two months?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

I quite like Rachel English. Marian Finucane does have the cushiest job in RTE though - who wouldn't like to have to work on just two days a week and get big money for it :P

I surprised she hasn't found a full-time role since leaving Drivetime - Rodney Rice's successor?

Could do that job, wouldn't mind betting that whoever gets that gig will be someone who won't moan about working on a weekend.

Well, she didn't rule it out when she was chatting to Rodney on her show. Whether she gets it is another thing but she'd be good. I thought she was excellent on Drivetime.

When will someone pull the plug on Maid Marian??

Expect her back in September, which has been the score up to now?

I don't mean take her off the air but the salary vs hours worked is just ridiculous.

Goan will be bleating about hike in license fee soon enough, but notice the "stars" salaries were not published in the recent break even report.

How these people get away with this is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭brettmirl

They should make her go back to her old stomping ground of Liveline whenever Joe is on hols/in hosp with broken legs.

All included in her current fee of course.

What they should do is halve the current "stars" salaries and see what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭brettmirl

What annoys me is that they pay the "stars" so much money when their is no competitors who would pay anything close to those figures.

Its great isn't it

Star name "I demand a 10% pay rise or I'll leave for er"

RTE "Okay, how about 15%?"

Star name "Done"

RTE "We have been, again*"

*rte note to self, must stop falling for that one

Its great isn't it

Star name "I demand a 10% pay rise or I'll leave for er"

RTE "Okay, how about 15%?"

Star name "Done"

RTE "We have been, again*"

*rte note to self, must stop falling for that one

No no no Michael.

#1 star name. I demand xxxxx or I will leave the station and go to the erm... opposition(whoever they are)

RTE:eek: jaysus horse!!!( call break in negotiations)
    Holy sheet, if that guy leaves we will lose our place in the pecking order, give him what he wants(back after break)
    Right horse, 700k good man, glad we could hold on to you.

30 seconds later #1 star rings#2

"Howya horse, just got 700k from the lads, that makes you worth 650k, get onto those guys and sort it out.

50 secs later #2 star rings #3 star..Lookat I got 650... that makes you worth 600k

And so on and so on and so on and so on and so on and so on

Meanwhile....over in the BBC there was a realisation that ITV, Channel 4 and Channel 5 have no money, the market for presenters doesn't really exist anymore, so their "stars'" contracts are going be cut by around 40%.

heh heh, Don't expect Goan to go for that strategy.

Fcukin licence fee increase will be his first port of call.

I don't think cutting stars' salaries will do a lot for RTE really but they are overpaid. It would be interesting to see how much of a cut they could take. It's not as if they'd get better money if they quit and went to Newstalk, Today FM or to a local station.

30% at least.

Aaaah dear !!

Hard to get good help.

The Flutt bristled up when he heard someone on RTE say that the number if "incedences" had increased recently.

Incidents honey.

Poor Jackie Hurley, she who pronounces "t" as "d" "twendy minutes" said today that someone put in a very "credible" performance.

"Creditable" is the word you wanted Miss.

Ooooh dear.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Aaaah dear !!

Hard to get good help.

The Flutt bristled up when he heard someone on RTE say that the number if "incedences" had increased recently.

Incidents honey.

Poor Jackie Hurley, she who pronounces "t" as "d" "twendy minutes" said today that someone put in a very "credible" performance.

Ooooh dear.

You won't change this one Crusty....was out in Dundrum SC to day and had to "Take a powder" after about 20 minutes of listening to young ones with black circles around the eyes saying.

"he was sooooo, like.....gross."

" I haade dat stuff"

"Dats a really cewel top!"

Oh is he on Twidder ?

Fook sake...........headed orf a fter a quick purchase in Urban...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Stylo

Aaaah dear !!

Hard to get good help.

Incidents honey.

Ooooh dear.

Far be it from me to defend the neanderthals in Montrose but CREDIBLE is the right word and CREDITABLE is not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

stinger, bantam! :D

Au contraire teebs, that man is wrong.

maybe he might take the time to explain the reasoning for his assertion and if he convinces me I will have no hesitation in eating humble pie.

credible comes from the Latin "Credo" "I believe" hence the Creed in Mass and the various derivations in English such as "incdredible" .

It would be correct to define a report or story about an event as credible
    i.e. believable,but a performance uh oh no way Jose .

The description jackie wanted there was " a performance worthy of credit"

In other words. "The dublin hurlers gave a performance worthy of credit against Kilkenny yesterday" "They gave a creditable performance"

"Credible" would be wrong in that context.

NEXT!!!!!

Oooh Mr. Higgins I believed in the Dubs.

I thought their performance was credible for their fans, creditable for the team and briefly incredible for all involved (including Jackie).

So did I, and they did well, but Mr Stylo locked horns with the wrong guy on grammar.:D

Will he be back I wonder;)

humberklog wrote: »
    Oooh Mr. Higgins I believed in the Dubs.

I thought their performance was credible for their fans, creditable for the team and briefly incredible for all involved (including Jackie).

More to that than meets the eye, creditable effort, despite all the editing.

I might give that debate a run out in the english forum.

I can feel the tsubh's infraction stick twitching:eek:

More to that than meets the eye, creditable effort, despite all the editing.

I might give that debate a run out in the english forum.

I can feel the tsubh's infraction stick twitching:eek:

Ah the editing had to be done in order to swing it back (if even a little) towards a radio topic.
    There's even more to it than meets the eye!;)

I like Jackie though, thought I caught her giving Stephen Hiney the glad eye one night. That's not an intended pun on S. Hiney's past eye problems.
    Where did she spring from? I like her accent.

Cork woman my sources tell me.

give her a clip of the ...

Well excellent broadcaster in my opinion, bit of life about her.