Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SLANE 2009 Oasis - All Discussion - No ticket sales.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,560 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

mspacman wrote: »
    People were happy and felt priviliged at seeing one of the best bands in the world on top form!!!

Posting knowingly misleading or factually incorrect information can get you banned.

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭mspacman

Posting knowingly misleading or factually incorrect information can get you banned.

Are you for real???

Hahaha, so I could be banned, because I express my opinion...that I think Oasis are one of the best bands in the world!

Or are you referring to the fact that people were happy leaving the Manchester gig???

Sorry, I know that may be an alien concept here...but they were happy. People were singing, jumping around the place, happy out that they'd just seen Oasis!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,560 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Are you for real???

Hahaha, so I could be banned, because I express my opinion...that I think Oasis are one of the best bands in the world!

Insert sense of humour here.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,371 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

The irish are never happy unless they are getting treated like sh ite and think that it's perfectly acceptable.

Just because some may find how they were treated acceptable does not give them the right to say that everyone else is just moaning. If you actually read the thread and then commented resptectfully rather than say 'the irish are never happy unless they are complaining' it would be a far better contribution to the thread.

Insert sense of humour here.

Is that sarcaism I detect??

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Er...WRONG! I went to see Oasis two weeks ago at Heaton Park, and been to gigs in other parts of the world as well.

There are countless gigs I can think of in recent years [in Ireland] where people have been mithering on and on, crying to Joe Duffy...blah blah f*ckin blah!!! (Oxegen the last couple years, the whole Barbara Streisand saga......)

It took us over three hours to get out of Heaton Park two weeks ago after the gig and noone was giving off about it. People were happy and felt priviliged at seeing one of the best bands in the world on top form!!!

youve either been to very very few gigs outside of ireland, of youve been hideously unlucky because the bull that accompanied slane this year (i say this year coz it was never that bad in any previous years i was there) is certainly the exception to the rule, rather than being even remotely near to commonplace

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭The Blonde One

Er...WRONG! I went to see Oasis two weeks ago at Heaton Park, and been to gigs in other parts of the world as well.

People were happy and felt priviliged at seeing one of the best bands in the world on top form!!!

Having spoken to others who were at the Manchester gigs, they would disagree with you. They've said Oasis were in the middle of another bust-up, barely acknowledged the crowd, didn't leave the stage and come back for an encore, and generally gave a mediocre performance. Oh, and they also said the crowd there were unreal scummy. Trying to big up the Manchester gigs just to make the Slanes peeps feel even worse, not cool....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

Coincidental that all these people defending this horror show all have 1 or 2 posts. :rolleyes:

Where some people will complain about people being moaners, the rest of us will accuse the same people of accepting being treated like crap. Swings and roundabotus. The cold hard fact of the matter was that the organisation of the event was appalling; particularly after a certain time at the Dublin entrance and particularly on the way home after the gig. Anyone who was there and disagrees is just not looking at the facts.

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭BTE72

Or are you referring to the fact that people were happy leaving the Manchester gig???

Sorry, I know that may be an alien concept here...but they were happy. People were singing, jumping around the place, happy out that they'd just seen Oasis!!!!

i think he was joking!

lordgoat wrote: »
    The irish are never happy unless they are getting treated like sh ite and think that it's perfectly acceptable.

Just because some may find how they were treated acceptable does not give them the right to say that everyone else is just moaning. If you actually read the thread and then commented resptectfully rather than say 'the irish are never happy unless they are complaining' it would be a far better contribution to the thread.

I'm sorry, but I think it is pretty acceptable to say that the Irish are never happy unless they're moaning.

E.g. During the boom years, moaning about how people are greedy/obsessed by money, saying we were "much happier in the 80s" - now we have a complete shift, moaning about the recession and we were so much happier during the boom years.

Heatwave two weeks ago, moaning about the heat, rain comes, moaning about the rain.

90,000 people go to a gig in a field - moaning about it being crowded.

I work in a customer service role and I'm telling you, it's depressing having to listen to people coming in moaning every day!!!!!! Never friggin happy. Fair f*cks to Joe Duffy, I don't know how he does what he does!!

Having spoken to others who were at the Manchester gigs, they would disagree with you. They've said Oasis were in the middle of another bust-up, barely acknowledged the crowd, didn't leave the stage and come back for an encore, and generally gave a mediocre performance. Oh, and they also said the crowd there were unreal scummy. Trying to big up the Manchester gigs just to make the Slanes peeps feel even worse, not cool....

Were you at the Manchester gigs? Er no. So don't go on like you were, telling me how they were! Where did you hear Oasis were mid-bustup....on Xpose or some tripe? I will admit, they were better at Slane, but still amazing at Heaton Park! They didn't talk to each other much at either gig...they're rarely on speaking terms! So get your facts right in the first place.

The left the stage in Manchester for a minute or two, and came back on for the encore.

And as for the crowd, yes it was scummy. But so what, they didn't frigging harm anyone. We were all there to see Oasis and got what we went for, a superb gig!!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,371 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

I'm sorry, but I think it is pretty acceptable to say that the Irish are never happy unless they're moaning.

E.g. During the boom years, moaning about how people are greedy/obsessed by money, saying we were "much happier in the 80s" - now we have a complete shift, moaning about the recession and we were so much happier during the boom years.

Heatwave two weeks ago, moaning about the heat, rain comes, moaning about the rain.

I work in a customer service role and I'm telling you, it's depressing having to listen to people coming in moaning every day!!!!!! Never friggin happy. Fair f*cks to Joe Duffy, I don't know how he does what he does!!

Yes you can say that if you like. I have a problem with large generalisations. If you take the time to read this thread, i have, you will see that most of the complaints are by genuine people and are were worded and described articulately.

In this post you say people were saying that 90,000 people in a field were giving out about over crowding - completely inaccurate. Read the thread again.

When you have someone like you coming in here belittling their experiences by saying they are never happy unless they are complaining is quite a smack in the face.

I have edited out alot of crappy whingy pointless post but by the majority of people complaining are genuine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Shabbah

real_red wrote: »
    even managed to get 2 pints and some food in between prodigy and oasis (and no i didn skip a que) so i find the hour queing stories abit exaggerated.

Absolutely no exagerration when I say that we queued at bar for an hour and a half (precisely) just after Prodigy had started (and other bar had closed because it "ran out of drink" apparently :confused: )

How, in under God, does a bar run out of drink at an event like this, they had MONTHS to prepare, YEARS of experience, and they knew at least 80000 peeople would be there!

There's no harm in wanting to enjoy a few drinks at an event like Slane, there's no harm in it.......it's part and parcel of my enjoyment of a day like Slane! If it was advertised as a non-alcoholic event I would never have bought a ticket. I like to enjoy beer AND music together, so shoot me!!!!!

Queues at bar were dangerous and rowdy and overcrowded and full of aggression aswell......people, in general, were so bloody narky (all of which would have been avoided had the event been organised properly)

We were lucky, in that the Bus we hopped on afterwards had a cheeky(ish) no-nonsense driver who ploughed on as soon as bus filled up, none of this waiting around craic that other drivers seemed to do. Back in Dub around 1am or so....

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭The Blonde One

Were you at the Manchester gigs? Er no. So don't go on like you were, telling me how they were! Where did you hear Oasis were mid-bustup....on Xpose or some tripe? I will admit, they were better at Slane, but still amazing at Heaton Park! They didn't talk to each other much at either gig...they're rarely on speaking terms! So get your facts right in the first place.

The left the stage in Manchester for a minute or two, and came back on for the encore.

And as for the crowd, yes it was scummy. But so what, they didn't frigging harm anyone. We were all there to see Oasis and got what we went for, a superb gig!!

No, I wasn't there (never said I was), but fortunately I was blessed with ears and I'm able to listen to what people say. Go back and read my post, I never said they spoke to each other at Slane either. Oh, and an Xpose insult....that hurt me real bad :rolleyes:
    Why should people take what you say as being the last word? Other people have opinions, if ya took a moment to listen to them you might learn something.

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭Ryaller

He does what he does because he gets paid a pornographic amount of money.
    And yeah, I could tell you were in customer service from your unswerving "glass is half full" chipper argument against the bleeding obvious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Silverfox

TheTubes wrote: »
    Boardsie quoted on the indo site:
    http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/news-gossip/organiser-denies-gig-marred-by-chaos-1783112.html

This may have been posted already today but a very quick flick through the last few pages says no.

That was me and it was pretty early on! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 SarahMary

I've just written my e-mail of complaint to MCD and copied in Slane Castle events. It was very cathartic!

This was my 7th Slane concert, so I don't agree with all the people who are saying that "You're at a gig, what do you expect?" I wasn't expecting "teleportation to the bus" as others have suggested, because being there heaps of times before, I knew that we would have a fairly hefty walk to and from the gig.

The main issue with me is that the gig's lack of organisation made it really dangerous for people. It was far more overcrowded than any other Slane sold out concert that I've been to. I was really disappointed with the organisation.

The music itself was absolutely fantastic, but unfortunately, I'm not going back unless major changes are made for the next Slane gig.

This is just turning into a tit-for-tat bitch fest now. The fact of the matter is that if you were stuck trying to get in at the Dublin entrance around the time Kasabian started or you waited until the end and had a return ticket for Dublin Bus then the chances are you're going to complain... and rightly so. The organisation at both of these points was nothing short of a disgrace.

I know a few people who drove to the gig, arrived early, got a good spot, got to the bar before the queues formed and they say they had a great time. From what I can gather, Prodigy and Oasis were excellent. I only caught the first half of the Prodigy before I left so I don't know. Suffice to say I'm delighted that I got back to the buses at about 9.45 and got back to Dublin in less than 6 hours!

Where the gig was good for some lucky people, there are thousands that suffered absolute torture - particularly trying to get back to Dublin. They have every right to complain about the disorganised shambles without being labelled as 'typical Irish moaners' by a bunch of ignorant upstarts.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

lordgoat wrote: »
    I have a problem with large generalisations.

EVERYBODY has a problem with large generalisations. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7 kev1967

first experience of Slane, (I'm 42) could be one of my first posts as well. was in slane early and strolled in, strolled up to the bar 4 or 5 times, once Kasabian came in the bars got very busy, 45 minutes for the last few drinks, didnt bother with any after 8.30

Left after the last song and got on the first bus eirean bus and sat on it for a long time, eventually got into O Connell St at 4am.

at 10.30 I was going to Slane every year by 4am I wasnt too sure, really enjoyed the day, would have liked more beer and had a hangover by the time I got to bed

• Registered Users Posts: 484 ✭✭happydayz182

hmm

Got bus up from tipp aroud half 8...about 45 minute walk to venue with a few breaks for cans in the sun with the boys.. Smoothly went into venue ,cheked for tickets around 3 times, for around two got fairly low down near the acts ..soaked up the sun enjoyed a great great day ..Blizzards good...glasvegas s***e decided to get sum grub after them and again back in plenty of time for Kasabian who were unxpectantly brill ...Then prodigy where there was mosh pits fighting punching and injuries wit minimial stewards ..Obviously recked so went for water after that and our group got a bit split up for oasis who were unreal

Getting out was slow but not impossible are really really frustrating

All the problems seem to be the dublin side as the navan side seemed to have been smooth..any reasons for this?

• The sheer volume of people travelling back to Dublin being forced down a narrow, muddy bottleneck.
    • The fact that Dublin bus and the Gardaí (or whoever was supposed to be responsible for sheparding people onto the buses) were completely and utterly disorganised, causing thousands of people to find themselves without transport for hours on end and massive traffic jams because buses weren't leaving in order from the front back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

I must be a jammy fecker:D

I arrived from the Navan direction (my mate was driving), we parked in the macklin car park, I think thats what it was called. There was so many farmers flagging people into their fields to park! Arrived around 1:00 pm, had a few cans, went in around 2:15, walked in no problem. was searched, and had tickets checked. There was no queue at that time at our entrance, we walked straight in! Kasibian, Prodigy, Oasis were unreal, has to be said!:) After oasis, we were against the pit barrier near centre stage. We managed to get through the crowd and back to the car in 45 mins, and we were not running or anything, walked from where we were standing, had to queue for around 15 mins at the red exit, which wasnt too bad, i've queued for longer when leaving marlay park. once we got to the car, we seen a few cars going to the other end of ther field to an exit, which was not sign posted at all, we didnt didnt know if was an exit, but it was either take a chance or leave the way we came in, which was now full of people! Arrived back in maynooth with a pizza at 12:15! I didnt know anything about the crowd problems until i listened to today fm thismorning, and I was shocked!! I had no problems at all!!
    However some of the complaints i've herd are really annoying, "Loads of people were drunk.......bla bla bla" I think people were excepting an electric picnic crowd, and they got an oxegen crowd ;)
    Some complaints had good points, like around 25 people clecking tickets for 80,000 people! how many gates does croker have? Also from what ive herd, dublin bus Fcuked up.

Anway, thats my 2 cents, I guess I was VERY Lucky!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

isn't the weather shocking!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 presetbandit

A few pics from that lane in the forest.
    from the very few security guys of which were radio less so if something did go wrong and we are lucky it didn't we would have been fe@ked esp as the prodigy were on stage at the time the photos were taken.

who in there right mind would let such a crowd (80,000 plus)into a 4/5m wide lane that was running into a dead-end/bottleneck like this with more and more people joining in to the que,in my mind the people who planed this and the health and safety people that allowed this need a good kick in the arse.

i had a good day at this but lack of planning/security and the bar which was a joke took alot away from my day , also have to admit that the Hillsborough Disaster came into my mind a few times .

another gig that would see 85 euro better spent would be http://www.dourfestival.be/en

have been the last 2 years in a row, how and why do we have it so bad for price and quality over here.

os5wnq.jpg

2q1s4uv.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

NickNolte wrote: »
    [*]Henry Mountcharles said on Liveline that the concert was a sold out last October

Found that funny myself, cause tickets didn't go on sale till November.:D

Oh and please God to all those moaning....PLEASE don't come to Oxegen/EP...cos those of us who actually want to enjoy the gigs and the music don't want to be subjected to your mithering on!!! Next time Oasis come to town, don't bother coming either, wait for the DVD to come out, then you can watch the gig from the comforts of your own cosy sitting room!!!

Have you been to Oxegen before? I worked at it last year and I'll tell ye one thing is wasn't half as badly organised as Slane.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I must be a jammy fecker:D

I arrived from the Navan direction (my mate was driving), we parked in the macklin car park, I think thats what it was called. There was so many farmers flagging people into their fields to park! Arrived around 1:00 pm, had a few cans, went in around 2:15, walked in no problem. was searched, and had tickets checked. There was no queue at that time at our entrance, we walked straight in! Kasibian, Prodigy, Oasis were unreal, has to be said!:) After oasis, we were against the pit barrier near centre stage. We managed to get through the crowd and back to the car in 45 mins, and we were not running or anything, walked from where we were standing, had to queue for around 15 mins at the red exit, which wasnt too bad, i've queued for longer when leaving marlay park. once we got to the car, we seen a few cars going to the other end of ther field to an exit, which was not sign posted at all, we didnt didnt know if was an exit, but it was either take a chance or leave the way we came in, which was now full of people! Arrived back in maynooth with a pizza at 12:15! I didnt know anything about the crowd problems until i listened to today fm thismorning, and I was shocked!! I had no problems at all!!
    However some of the complaints i've herd are really annoying, "Loads of people were drunk.......bla bla bla" I think people were excepting an electric picnic crowd, and they got an oxegen crowd ;)
    Some complaints had good points, like around 25 people clecking tickets for 80,000 people! how many gates does croker have? Also from what ive herd, dublin bus Fcuked up.

Anway, thats my 2 cents, I guess I was VERY Lucky!!!:D

I'd a similar experience. The crowd that came in from the Dublin side were the same crowd that went to see Barbara Streisand.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

I came from the derry side even though Im from dublin as i knew that was going to happen.

I think everybody knows the score in Ireland .We've a pretty good record at being s**t at organising stuff so I always expect the worse.

No excuse however, the late pope john paul came to phoenix park years ago and 1.3 million people came there to see him and according to my dad there was no issues with transportation.

This isn't typical moaning . There was very real problems there THIS YEAR, Slane was more overcrowded than I've ever seen it definetely at least 100,000 + there. The bar was a fiasco. The stewarts were rubbish some of them ,one (Irish) w****r stewart was extremely very rude too me.They didn't even check my rucksack for drink.

I personally thought Oasis were rubbish and they were just going through the motions.

On a plus side it was a nice day and at least it didn't turn to a mudslide .I got a nice tan drinking in the field and met some lovely ladies also the prodigy were fab.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭flas

another thing whih i found was crazy was me and 2 mates stopped a female gardai and asked her if she knew anything about where to get the bus back too dublin from after the gig after we had been walking for ages,her actual advice was to "plead and beg" one of the private bus drivers to let us on and bring us home,we were shocked,all we could do was laugh and keep on walking!