Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strandhill Beach

• 01-06-2009 10:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭

A beautiful scenic beach and lovely to sit on the wall with a 99 cone listening and watching the waves crashing on to the shore.

Was down there today and it was gorgeous.

Thing is, I really have to wonder at people. Do they have rocks in there heads?

There is signs all over the place saying swimming is prohibited, yet people still allow their children to go into the water.

It is 11 years since 3 teenagers were swept out to see while playing football while only up to their thighs in the surf.

So I was wondering would anyone here ever say anything to anyone down there and what do you think could be done about it?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

I did the exact same thing last week and sat there thinking "Are they insane? Are there no other beaches to go to without taking your life in your hands for a bit of a dip?"

I surfed in Lahinch years ago (stop sniggering you at the back), and got caught in a rip tide, I had to be dragged in over the rocks. I was in Lahinch again a week or two ago, and the difference to Strandhill is amazing. First off; it's allowed, secondly; lifeguards everywhere, and thirdly; well.. there isn't signs everywhere saying No Swimming Permitted -Dangerous!! .

I don't get it. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

I was good friends with 2 of the lads that drowned back in 98 and the reasoning behind no lifeguards was to deter people from entering the water. It looks like that tack is not working.

Got caught in a rip in Surfers Paradise in QLD along with about 20 others. I am well able to swim but it scared the shyte out of me.

I didn't live here back when the boys died, but would think of them when I go to Strandhill and see the swimmers. It's the fact that it's young groups of girls or lads that baffles me. The "hardcore" surfers you think know the risks, but the 15/16 year old groups out for a laugh? No.

There should be someone there to enforce it, it's too popular and commercialised now - it looks the perfect beach for a swim.

TBH it was the parents there with young children in the water that baffled me.

I went for a walk one New Years Day on Strandhill beach with my daughter and a local (town) family. When we got to the end of the walk the beach was gone. My daughter had to be hoisted up the steps, and I needed a hand to get up.

I'm not joking when I say I've had a few nightmares about it since - nice walk on beach - suddenly beach gone - only angry looking sea and rocks left - trying to get daughter safe. (Thanks Slidey, that's me having a crap sleep again tonght!)

Not a hope I'd let her even paddle in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Slidey wrote: »
    TBH it was the parents there with young children in the water that baffled me.

I don't get that either. We only lived up the road so we were on the beach a lot but my parents never ever let us swim there....I get really nervous when I see kids swimming there.

I don't know why they can't just go over to Culleenamore..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭nobeastsofierce

Speaking as a newcomer to the area, and one who is clueless as to the geography/history of the location, the signs in place really need to be increased/improved.

I was out there yesterday, and from my POV, the signs make it unclear as to whether there are no lifeguards because the area is unsafe, or the area is unsafe because there are no lifeguards.

I would assume a lot of people holidaying in the area would be similarly confused.

Maybe some signs detailling the risks, what happened, and suggesting safe places to swim?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Maybe some signs detailling the risks, what happened, and suggesting safe places to swim?

I agree with this, actually.

Stick in some tragic memorials and that might do the trick.

11 years ago I put up a cross I made from mild steel.

It was gone the very next day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭fmcc

went swimming there as a child a lonf time ago and the brother and cousin nearly got killed chasing waves on the slip near the surf shop. They were taken out brother managed to get back and one of the |Byrnes brothers got the cousing back by going out on a board. Dangerous beach but not with a surf board as long as your leash stays attached. Last year afaik sligo coco had a beach guard telling people not to swim but maybe its too early yet for them. i have approached several people to warn them about kids the rip is really strong so far everyone just said ok and thanked me but its hard to believe when the waves are low and the weather so fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

wow

that's terrible

• Registered Users Posts: 43,892 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Welcome to Sligo..

.. the only county where "they'd take anything that wasn't nailed down" doesn't even apply.. they'd take the nails and all! :)

Would there be a lot of hassle involved putting a few more signs up? Perhaps we could sort something out, maybe get a few of these suddenly available politicians to help us?

Tequila I honestly think there are enough signs there but feel they should have a beach warden there full time over the summer.

Taken from Sligo coCo website but from feb 08 am assuming same still applies now.

Beach guards and wardens will be dressed uniformly for easy identification on the beach and are stationed on the red/ yellow beach hut. First Aid treatment, advice on swimming conditions, safety information and emergency contact numbers are available from the staff on duty.

During the month of June the service is operated at weekends only with two beach guards at Enniscrone, Mullaghmore and Rosses Point.

However during the busier months of July and August there are three guards patrolling each beach from 11am to 7pm each day, (and two staff at weekends on Streedagh and Dunmoran beaches)

Strandhill Beach differs from the other strands in Co. Sligo because swimming is strictly prohibited at this location. For safety reasons the beach front is patrolled on weekends during the months of July and August by Beach Wardens to ensure that no swimming takes place in these very dangerous waters.

The life guards role on each beach is to advise and provide safety information and to administer first aid treatment in the event of an emergency. Beach staff are also authorised under the Litter Pollution Acts 1997 & 2003, this means they can issue on-the-spot fines to individuals that throw litter, leave waste after them or allow their dogs to foul in public places but do not clean up after them.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

The signage isn't clear at all and pretty useless.

It says "swimming prohibited" (or something like it) yet the place is teeming with surfers who, when they're not surfing, are indeed swimming :rolleyes:
    And when you let your kids play in water that's just about ankle deep, you'd hardly consider that "swimming" would you? Or even bathing, for that matter.

So people don't think the sign applies to them

The signage wording needs to be changed to something like this:

Extreme Danger!
    Very strong undercurrrents.
    Do not enter the water
    x people have drowned here

peasant wrote: »
    x people have drowned here
    That might do the trick alright but I dont believe they would allow such bad PR for the village.

Ok the signs may need to be updated to be more forceful but three things.

1. Surfers swimming once your beyond the shore you are out of the rip the problem can be getting back if you don't know where or how to. If you have a board you can surf in.

2. I travel around a lot and am a competitive freediver and therefore a reasonably strong swimmer and often land up to places and dive/snorkel alone. If theres a sign saying no swimming I heed it and don't go in the water there I just go somewhere else its a big ocean. Local advice is best if it can be obtained.

3. Swimming lessons should be compulsory in school and and part of that should be how to ascertain whether the area is safe or not safe. Eg I would not do what i do on the East coast as its much more tidal but am happy enough to do it here as any severe currents are usually pretty obvious.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭magnumlady

We were at the beach the day those lads drowned.
    As you say there are plenty of other beaches, although not many have the facilities that Strandhill does.

basquille wrote: »
    Welcome to Sligo..

.. the only county where "they'd take anything that wasn't nailed down" doesn't even apply.. they'd take the nails and all! :)

Such as the life saver rings on the Garavouge!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭HIVeindhoven

If you know what you are at Strandhill beach is grand for swimming (when the swell is small). Unfortunately that exludes 99% of the population. I've bodysurfed out there on reasonably sized days (early morning when nobodys around as i dont want to get hassled) and surf out there regularly. On flat days in the summer its OK for swimming, they probably should have a lifeguard there though.