Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

phrases or sayings you like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭yurmothrintites

It is a truth universally acknowledged that .......

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate
    Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure......

I'm sweating like a pedophile in a Barney suit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

The following sentence is false.
    The preceding sentence is true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Soul Cake Duck

I drink to make people more interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭bantee

"I wouldn't ride her into battle"
    "I wouldn't touch her with yours"
    "Butter-face"
    "He wouldn't kick snow off a rope" - sometimes said of a ****e football player.
    "He would't drive a nail" - bad driver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

"If you're trying something for the first time, no matter how poorly it turns out, you're on the way to doing it better the next time"

"Pain is only a disadvantage to life"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

water, water everywhere, and not a drop to drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

"Pain fades, chicks dig scars, glory lasts forever."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Soul Cake Duck

why keep **** so close to a fan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

I get four rods to the hogshead and that's the way I likes it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

chin_grin wrote: »
    "What did your last maid die of?"

Exhaustion :pac:,

just like man who run behind car.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Fancy a butchas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

Theres a few that people find strange. When I call a person a horse, they take offense, but its a habit:

Pass me that bottle Stephen. I would say:
    Pass me that bottle Horse. Again force of habit.

I also have a habit of saying Ah Lads. If something amazes me, I always say 'Ah Lads". Yeah, I know. I also say "Real Fresh" out of nowhere sometimes.

I'm a bit of a strange person when it comes to sayings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I'd eat 10 miles of her sh1t just to see where it came from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭bottletops

He's got a face you'd never get tired of slappin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭superfly

chin_grin wrote: »
    "What did your last maid die of?"

my comeback to that was "disobedience!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 490 ✭✭babaloushka

... as useless as an ashtray on a motorbike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I'm beating off now, see ya later.

Generally giggles ensue

Beating (pronounced bating) off means you are going somewhere.
    Don't get the giggles :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

''To the world you may be one person. But to one person, you may be the world''.

''By plucking her petals, you do not gather the beauty of the flower''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I keep thinking this thread is about me when I see it out of the corner of my eye
    :(

On topic: Ah Jaysus

I love it, I dunno why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

"A lie gets halfway around the world before the truth has a chance to get its pants on"

Winston Churchill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'd eat 10 miles of her sh1t just to see where it came from.

It generally comes from her arse. No need to do all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 688 ✭✭✭lalee17

I'd better sh1t or get off the throne (like strike while the iron is hot):P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

"Great wits to madness nearly are allied" (I think it's Chaucer).

And one that has always stuck in my head since I was a kid is about shooting
    - "Up gets a guinea, bang goes a penny farthing and down comes half a crown". It's just a pointless old fashioned saying about how it's just a sport and a waste of money!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

grand job nora
    horse that inta ya
    i rode her rotten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭markfla

"your tighter than two coats of paint"- reference to people fond of holding on to the oul cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭flanree

yer only a prick.

Old enough to bleed - old enough to butcher

She was as loose as a sack of oranges

The best way to get over one man is to get under another (girls love that, I'm told)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Dumb

Yev got eyes on ya like a pair of bollix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭the_dark_side

she'd be no craic on a see-saw

she'd suck a golf ball through a hosepipe

That one would heat up an ice-cream.

but she has a gee like a wizard's sleeve

She has a cu.nt on her like an old woman's handbag

She had a fanny as big as the top of a wellie.

Are you in? Throw in a few fingers.

Her arse smellt of fish and chips

hung like a baby's arm

she let me bowl from the pavillion end

Hey you, giz a flash of yer gash

Her hair was redder than a raw dick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

This cold would Freeze the Balls off a Brass Monkey.

I could explain where this saying came from, in detail, but I won't.

It came from the Royal Navies Cannon Ball rack, will have to suffice.

His willy was as long as the pillar of the GPO / grafton street

Id put some nut butter on those baps

slap the fat and ride the waves

Fanny as tight as a mouse's ear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Wouldnt ride her with yours

Bi Tha Fook

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

"This is a thread relating to phrases or sayings you like."

- Captain Obvious

He has a nose on him like an airplane.

Her breasts were that big the boner couldn't take them on (a reference to Packie Bonner)

Her head is so far up her hole she'll suffocate.

He's that bald that I could draw on his head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭markfla

if there's grass on the pitch it's time to play, if not play in the muck

"Her fanny was that big ye could shove a cushion up it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Porkpie

I avoid clichés like the plague.

Marriage is a great institution but who wants to live in an institution.

Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder.

"Her hole was the shape of two creme eggs"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 darryl711

If the river runs red, take the dirt track.

His willy smellt like Tuna and was the colour cat feces.