Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

State of Tramore Beach

• 03-06-2009 12:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭

I went for a walk in Tramore last night to make the most of the good weather and was shocked at the amount of rubbish just thrown on the beach. I know this should be in the county forum but I figure most people heading out to Tramore are going to be from the city and it's suburbs. The beach was a disgrace and this shows a complete lack of respect by the people who are spending their days lounging around and ruining what should be quite a spectacle. Obviously I'm not explicitly aiming this at users of this forum but just in case there is anyone here who contributed to the rotten visage last night, be ashamed. If you know anyone who has been frequenting the beach, encourage them to clean up after themselves. It was truly disgusting and I would be ashamed to bring any foreign visitor out to Tramore if it remains in that state. Of course many people who were on the beach were holidaymakers from other counties etc. but I figure this is as good a place as any to get the ball rolling. It doesn't say much for the Irish people as a nation to see this behaviour, it certainly wouldn't be tolerated in France or Germany. Rant over.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Aye, your not the only one not happy. I noticed it myself and as have many others. I mentioned it here. This happens everytime a crowd comes and it will probably be brought up at the next town council meeting but alas im sure money will be an issue as to why nobody could clean it or someone will deny it ever happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

ah its a disgrace alright,ive been for a run from the front of the strand(near the amusements),out past the sandhills and back around,the amount of litter is unreal, especially down where the surf shop is and past ,its not like theres no bins anywhere.people should put their stuff in the bags they brought it in and put it in the bin at home,not too much to ask.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

anplaya wrote: »
    ah its a disgrace alright,ive been for a run from the front of the strand(near the amusements),out past the sandhills and back around,the amount of litter is unreal, especially down where the surf shop is and past ,its not like theres no bins anywhere.people should put their stuff in the bags they brought it in and put it in the bin at home,not too much to ask.

Sadly, even the public bins can be overflowing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

Sully wrote: »

well most of them looked half empty to me, so i doubt any1 was using them.and if they were full ,as i said,if ya bring it to the beach,why not bring it home in the plastic bag ya brought it in.im sure most people who were there had cars with em,when finished up on beach and then going to amusements etc why not just put it in boot of your car and empty it when ya get home.im sure local people are culprits as well not just people coming from outside tramore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

This was all over the Billy McCarthy show today. Listeners mentioned how the nearest bins to the lifeguard hut were overflowing and with rubbish beside them. The next bins were only 100 yards away and had plenty of space in them.

The way I see it, if money really is an issue, why can't the councils drag a few people off the dole, offer them a supplement (within their budget) to add to their job-seekers allowance in exchange for 10 hours a week cleaning up somewhere like Tramore Beach?

• Registered Users Posts: 566 ✭✭✭gobo99

The peoples park has been the same for the last few days. Iv never seen so many filthy pigs in the one place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭shapez

State money isn't the issue here. Post a litter warden down there for a weekend and the corporation will be smiling Monday morning!! People won't be long brining their rubbish home with them then.

And of course, lets not forget to be a good citizen ourselves and if you see that kind of behaviour, approach the person(s) and let them know, littering or foul play is not tolerated on the beach!! You don't s**t on their doorstep!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭dogs

Woodstown wasn't a whole lot better over the weekend either, some crazy parking too -- folding in wing-mirrors to get by.

I think there's just some weird culture or mentality that lets someone do this. Maybe some odd holdover from colonial days? Like every time they replace the glass in the any of the bus shelters near the hospital/Tesco Ardkeen it's broken again within the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭shapez

And I think the mentallity from the City council is, maybe if we keep replacing the glass the break and the trees the break they'll get sick of it. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭AlphaMale 3OO

I stand to be corrected on this but I don't think Dunmore was heavily littered over the last few days. Why Tramore but not Dunmore? It may be the type of person the respective beach's attract but no matter what you're background how can you desicrate the landscape to that extent and not feel bad about it? I just can't understand it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 lady.in.red

ahh this really annoys me- People leaving a mess behind them on our lovely beaches, Is it really that hard to bring ur rubbish home wit ye or pick up their dog dirt??
    lets hope our glorious weather continue but that this unresponsible behaviour ceases.
    Bring on the Litter Wardens!

Ideally though, the beach should have bins on them. People probably shouldn't have to walk a distance to put rubbish in a bin that is nearly full. At the same time, they would be better off if they left the rubbish in a tidy bunch rather then just having it spread out all over the place. I do agree that people should be more considerate and bring their rubbish home but really, they shouldn't have to - public bins in decent locations that are being emptied should be provided. Its a sad state of affairs when the council look for businesses to sponsors roundabouts and businesses are footing the bill to clean the beach voluntary.

I think if someone was employed to maintain the litter and parking, the council would stand to not only make back the cost of employing the individual but would make extra cash also. I'm sure plenty of cars were parked illegally.

I know of a couple who had an issue with dogs on the beach not being on leads/mussels and the dog warden was out in Lismore patrolling so couldn't cover Tramore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭BadCharlie

shapez wrote: »
    And I think the mentallity from the City council is, maybe if we keep replacing the glass the break and the trees the break they'll get sick of it. :(

Are we sure its the council and not the bus company?

Its up to everyone to bring away their own rubbish when they finish. And not the council to clean up after you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

just a lack of civil spirit, ppl will throw their rubbish and brake stuff when given a chance. But its depressing when whole familys leave rubbish behind them.

A litter warden working on commission would be nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭holidayhere

gobo99 wrote: »
    The peoples park has been the same for the last few days. Iv never seen so many filthy pigs in the one place.
    Its not just Tramore. We have a culture of litter.
    Take of the wrapper and throw in on the ground (if there is nobody looking).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Myggel

Horrible to see Tramore beach in such a state. Surely the powers that be should have the litter wardens out and about? You know how us Irish are when the sun comes out, we just don't know what to do with ourselves.

If they can't afford to pay for the cleanup then start fining litter louts through the nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭baronflyguy

Ideally though, the beach should have bins on them. People probably shouldn't have to walk a distance to put rubbish in a bin that is nearly full.
    I disagree, there is enough bins there, as someone else has pointed out they saw empty bins not too far away. Bins on the beach is not a good idea because of high tides. It is just lazy people who do give a sh!t to will constantly say things like there isnt enough bins when there is clearly empty bins near by if they look around.
    I think if someone was employed to maintain the litter and parking, the council would stand to not only make back the cost of employing the individual but would make extra cash also. I'm sure plenty of cars were parked illegally.
    I agree and if I was Waterford City Councill I would do a trail and get a Traffic Warden, Dog Warden, a Garda and a Litter Warden to patrol together the likes of Tramore during these busy peak times for 1 month or more during the summer and gauge the results. The presence of 4 authoritive professionals is probably enough that is needed to get people to do things right. A group of 4 with their each individual powers (Planeteers :D) would be plenty to enforce what is needed. The fines they would issue would pay the money it would cost to have wardens out working during non socialist hours.
    I know of a couple who had an issue with dogs on the beach not being on leads/mussels and the dog warden was out in Lismore patrolling so couldn't cover Tramore.
    It would be worth employing more and have the fines pay for the extra personnel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

dogs wrote: »
    I think there's just some weird culture or mentality that lets someone do this. Maybe some odd holdover from colonial days?

On that theme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭rasper

Can't just blame the out of county beach lovers, you should see the prom on a Monday morning covered in chip wrappers etc, we definitely could do with more bins on the prom and down the back strand but in fairness the council do have the cleaners out early and often, however alas we Irish are a dirty people when it comes to littering.
    BTW a majority of dog owners pick up after their animals but much like the mother who leaves the discarded nappy in the car parks or on the benches there are inconsiderate people everywhere.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I don't believe this to be the issue and this is often used as an excuse to almost say its ok to litter because the bins are full,

Its people's job to be responsible, if they bring stuff to the beach the only thing they should leave after them is footprints,

Unfortunately these scumbag seem to prefer to blame someone else by giving out about lack of bins and/or full bins.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

dogs wrote: »
    Like every time they replace the glass in the any of the bus shelters near the hospital/Tesco Ardkeen it's broken again within the week.

Perhaps they should just take the shelter away, its happened other places.

Maybe give a warning that if it keeps happening they'll take it away and people can stand in the rain...including the scumbags that break it

Its not just Tramore. We have a culture of litter.
    Take of the wrapper and throw in on the ground (if there is nobody looking).

I don't know about that, alot of scum don't care if everybody is looking they'll still dump there crap everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

it really amazes me that ppl dont get a bag, paper or plastic and at the end of the day put all their rubish in it and put it in a bin on the way home, or at home.

are we that lazy, or just irresponsible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

I don't care for this talk about not enough bins, or bins not close enough. It's people, simple as that.
    Here we have this beach which should be the pride of the region. Actually the littering people must find it quite nice themselves, if not they wouldn't be sittin' there. And yet they behave like pigs on the beach. No sense for preservation and beauty of nature and all that. I doubt they would litter their own backgarden like that if they had a barbecue. So why do they find it acceptable to leave their rubbish in the beautiful outdoors where it surely doesn't belong? My answer is that they are stupid, ignorant pigs who need being educated and the only way to do that is fines & bans. And hefty ones at that.

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭whittler

was on the beach with my 3 kids last weekend and my son ended up getting 3 stitches on his foot where he stepped on a broken bottle