Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post your Tracks - Give Feedback here

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭Jonathanpbk

Just finished this up today!

Let me know what yiz think!!

http://soundcloud.com/mycousinjonathan/for-you

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭column

Just finished my very first track this week. It's pretty basic. I used Reason 4 with no sample packs - just used whatever Reason had to offer.

I should add that I don't have any musical training whatsoever apart from the course I did in the Sound Training Centre for the last few months.

I know there's timing issues with the strings.

http://soundcloud.com/kyoob/kyoob-kyoob

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭column

That sounds really good. Lots of space in the mix.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Finished this today, it's my first proper track, all feedback is very welcome!

http://soundcloud.com/frankiegrimes/dinosaurs-with-guns-frankie-grimes-remix-mp3

• Registered Users Posts: 5,100 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

http://robertcrosbie.net/mp3/singlesongs/mrjones.mp3

I put a sax solo on this track, very much an Air-inspired tune, I think its a pretty good sound and sounds pretty real. There's a trick to playing sax on keyboards: not letting the note go too long, not letting it die out too early, staying within certain notes etc... I could've probably done it a little better, but its not bad.

I note that on their last album Air did the same thing, on a track called Tropical Disease, I looked at the credits and there was no sax player listed!

What do you reckon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

romarr wrote: »
    been struggling to put a mix i'm happy with on these for a few days - any suggestions .... ?

What Matters

Acoustics Are Erratic

ta

ro

Hi ronan, listened to those two tracks and they're really cool. One niggly thing is the vocal sample in What Matters. It felt too slowed down for my liking and I found it a bit off putting at times. The rest of the track is beautiful though.

Me likey!

• Registered Users Posts: 227 ✭✭romarr

Hi ronan, listened to those two tracks and they're really cool. One niggly thing is the vocal sample in What Matters. It felt too slowed down for my liking and I found it a bit off putting at times. The rest of the track is beautiful though.

thanks for taking the time...

had another listen there and you're dead right, its not working at all, drags the whole thing down... - out it goes !

cheers !

column wrote: »
    That sounds really good. Lots of space in the mix.

Me likey!

Thanks a million guys!
    I think I'm finally starting to find my feet in terms of sticking with a style!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 startattheend

Posted a few tracks here before but mislaid that username, here is new track anyway, kinda ambient chilled techno.

http://soundcloud.com/conorholmes/join

Any feedback appreciated

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 ENNO101

LOOOOVE garage! great feel to this one, nice work on the drums and percussion!

Heres some dubstep by me....not for the faint hearted!

http://soundcloud.com/ianenniz/neurotoxin

ENNO101 wrote: »
    LOOOOVE garage! great feel to this one, nice work on the drums and percussion!

Heres some dubstep by me....not for the faint hearted!

http://soundcloud.com/ianenniz/neurotoxin

Cheers man! I'm really goin at it with the 2step lately! More coming soon!

By the way, your track is sick! Might need a wash after it though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭red dave

done 2 tracks

http://soundcloud.com/red-dave/cosmos

techno i guess

http://soundcloud.com/red-dave/girls

eh..sort of upbeat "pop" i think.

any feedback welcome as always

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Put together a 7 track E.P of some of my tunes. Any feedback is much appreciated.

http://soundcloud.com/cloud-10/sets/u4ea-e-p-2010

I've put up a new track that I've been working on over the last couple of weeks. It's on the deep end of tech house I guess. I'm really trying to step it up a bit in terms of what I'm producing so feedback from all of you out there would be much appreciated. Muchos thank yous.

http://soundcloud.com/android-78/dog-house

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

I've just been working on this piece. It's over long and needs work on the arrangement. I've just spent a few hours on it and haven't really got work on the arrangement proper - as I'm not really sure what to do.

I'm still very Noobish - Would be grateful for any advice on betterizing it.

http://soundcloud.com/the-noobian-prince/cheese-the-noobian-prince

• Registered Users Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Rockshamrover

krd wrote: »
    I've just been working on this piece. It's over long and needs work on the arrangement. I've just spent a few hours on it and haven't really got work on the arrangement proper - as I'm not really sure what to do.

I'm still very Noobish - Would be grateful for any advice on betterizing it.

http://soundcloud.com/the-noobian-prince/cheese-the-noobian-prince

That's a nice piece of music but the drums are way to far back in the mix for me.

Cheers

Rock.

That's a nice piece of music but the drums are way to far back in the mix for me.

Cheers

Rock.

Thanks.

I haven't figured out how get my drums as loud and clear as everyone else can. I'll need further experimentation. I used my own Linn drum in Ableton, assembled from Linn drum hits taken from the internet. I think I need to build a better kit.

I need to work on my mixing skills in general.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

New track fresh off the mix. Any feedback is appreciated lads!

http://soundcloud.com/cloud-10/u4ea-ft-dj-stratos-starz

Thanks.

I haven't figured out how get my drums as loud and clear as everyone else can. I'll need further experimentation. I used my own Linn drum in Ableton, assembled from Linn drum hits taken from the internet. I think I need to build a better kit.

I need to work on my mixing skills in general.

Try lowering all the other stuff then pushing up the master volume. Probably not the correct thing to do but hey give it a go, it might work:D

What DAW do you use?

Try lowering all the other stuff then pushing up the master volume. Probably not the correct thing to do but hey give it a go, it might work:D

What DAW do you use?

Thanks for the tip, I'll try that. I had splitting headache last night when I was making the MP3 - I didn't notice til this morning how saturated and distorted parts of it were.

I'm using Ableton. It's really good but I haven't figured out how to use everything yet - or how to do many of the things on it I'd like to do. There are some things on it that are incredibly easy to use, like the sampling. But the synths on it are a little unwieldly, unless you really know your synthesis. I keeping pick up bits and pieces, mostly by trial and error. Mostly error.

Thanks for the tip, I'll try that. I had splitting headache last night when I was making the MP3 - I didn't notice til this morning how saturated and distorted parts of it were.

I'm using Ableton. It's really good but I haven't figured out how to use everything yet - or how to do many of the things on it I'd like to do. There are some things on it that are incredibly easy to use, like the sampling. But the synths on it are a little unwieldly, unless you really know your synthesis. I keeping pick up bits and pieces, mostly by trial and error. Mostly error.

It's the best way to learn or so they say. I'm not familiar with Ableton. Using Logic myself, it's a pretty good DAW and there's always lots of useful info on Youtube.

Need a Mac though (I think)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 MickCue

New tune up on soundcloud :D No samples
    http://soundcloud.com/mickcue/ace-of-clubs

Feedback appreciated!!!

Check out as well: Avatar Remix http://soundcloud.com/mickcue/avatar

• Registered Users Posts: 359 ✭✭messymess

http://robertcrosbie.net/mp3/singlesongs/mrjones.mp3

I put a sax solo on this track, very much an Air-inspired tune, I think its a pretty good sound and sounds pretty real. There's a trick to playing sax on keyboards: not letting the note go too long, not letting it die out too early, staying within certain notes etc... I could've probably done it a little better, but its not bad.

I note that on their last album Air did the same thing, on a track called Tropical Disease, I looked at the credits and there was no sax player listed!

What do you reckon?

That's just fantastic! Really enjoyable listen.

It's the best way to learn or so they say. I'm not familiar with Ableton. Using Logic myself, it's a pretty good DAW and there's always lots of useful info on Youtube.

Need a Mac though (I think)

From what I'm told Logic and Ableton are very similar. If you can make your way around one you'll manage the other.

I had some problems getting the software to work properly for me months. Only last night I got it to accept third party plug-ins. I've now got myself a roland sh-101 plugin that works like a dream.

I gave a quick of your suggestion on that track I put up. I still need to think out more of an arrangement.

http://soundcloud.com/the-noobian-prince/cheese-v2-the-noobian-prince

I've just had a go at the dance thing. Just to see how i'd get on.

Have a listen and give me some pointers or is it a hopeless cause?

http://soundcloud.com/rockshamrover

See if you can guess which one it is:D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

I've just had a go at the dance thing. Just to see how i'd get on.

Have a listen and give me some pointers or is it a hopeless cause?

http://soundcloud.com/rockshamrover

See if you can guess which one it is:D
    hate to say this but it does sound like someone who doesnt listen to alot of dance music trying to make a dance track.

theres no tension in the builds,they kind of just end and start back into the beat.

theres also no hats or snare pushing things along and overall it has a dated sound to it

kinda hard to pin down what style it is to be honest.do you have any current favourite dance tunes that you would like to steer towards

on a positive note i like that viro track you have up:)

seannash wrote: »
    hate to say this but it does sound like someone who doesnt listen to alot of dance music trying to make a dance track.

theres no tension in the builds,they kind of just end and start back into the beat.

theres also no hats or snare pushing things along and overall it has a dated sound to it

kinda hard to pin down what style it is to be honest.do you have any current favourite dance tunes that you would like to steer towards

on a positive note i like that viro track you have up:)

Cheers Sean,

Yeah I think it's a failed experiment. Just thought I'd have a go to see how this music is put together. Trickier than I thought. Definitely needs more thought and time than I gave it.

Will try again at a later stage. Thanks for the comments on Viro.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

Cheers Sean,

Yeah I think it's a failed experiment. Just thought I'd have a go to see how this music is put together. Trickier than I thought. Definitely needs more thought and time than I gave it.

Will try again at a later stage. Thanks for the comments on Viro.
    yeah id maybe try and copy a track that you like but nothing too genre bending or obscure.
    it might help you analyze it better if its a big obvious house track or something

anyway good too see you stepping out of your comfort zone:)

seannash wrote: »
    yeah id maybe try and copy a track that you like but nothing too genre bending or obscure.
    it might help you analyze it better if its a big obvious house track or something

anyway good too see you stepping out of your comfort zone:)

That's good advise Sean. Denis was my inspiration (WoodsDenis).

I definitely will have another go but I think I'll need to do a lot more critical listening first.