Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post your Tracks - Give Feedback here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

mordeith wrote: »
    Yeah, I listened on headphones and my brains nearly turned to mush :D. Definitely a bit too much low end.

Yeah, big bass can be really unforgiving if you don't keep it clean. And it's one place where good speakers can trick yah - they can make it sound like it's working - but then there's just too much to cope with on other speakers. You can still get the same deep bass push but you have to take a big chunk out somewhere.

Or what can work too, if you use a clean 808 kick sample, take the attack out of it, and use that instead of the synth
    Nice tune though, I didn't think the analog snare would work when I first heard it but it sits quite well. Personally I'd add another squelchy acid line over the top.

Yeah, there's plenty of room to put something on top, but there's no law says anything should. Bass heavy, sparse on top can sound really great in the right setting.

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭crazeehorse

thanks guys theres a lot of great advice in there. i think the main problem with the low end is the quicky master job i did on it through the same headphones i mixed it on not having the chance to get to a set of speakers. :D

krd wrote: »
    2.53 and 4.17 - you could use a little noise sweep or something in the build ups there. The drops suddenly come out of nowhere. A little "here it comes" sweep would let people know, "here it comes" - and then a sweep dying away would make the drop fit nicer.

any advice on doing a sweep as such? i havent aproached one yet. :rolleyes:

The simplest kind of sweep is a noise sweep. You can either use the white noise on a synth or a white noise sample. On a synth, by rolling the cut off filter forward and back, you can hear the noise coming and going. With automation on the cutoff you can make the noise sweep up, and then disappear again. And you can do different things with it, like add reverb, delay, or whatever you like. And that's a basic sweep.

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Housebound

Any feedback would be appreciated

Housebound wrote: »

Any feedback would be appreciated

How much of it is yours?

It's hard to tell with remixes........Where'd you get the stems?

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Housebound

How much of it is yours?

It's hard to tell with remixes........Where'd you get the stems?

Theres no stems, we produced the whole track on logic pro ourselves, From creating our kick drums to writing the melodies..its all us

Housebound wrote: »
    Theres no stems, we produced the whole track on logic pro ourselves, From creating our kick drums to writing the melodies..its all us

The melody isn't original. But it's virtually impossible to do an original three or four note melody.

You have a pretty tight production there. That kind of music, you have to be insanely tight.

The rapping is good too. It's good that he did it in a Dublin accent. It sounds unique -

Ye know what ye're doing - a complementary melodic vocal would have been good too (auto-tune it).

Tightness is the thing with this music - you're up against people spending a million quid per track. Try dancing to it - (I'm serious - you'll notice the missing bits - or where it needs more accentuation)

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭whiterob81

SteveDon wrote: »
    First in a series of collaborations between my two different monikers, hence the title. Also an experiment with time constraints, allowing myself just 2 hours to complete the track.

http://soundcloud.com/steve-donaldson/diffraction-flathan

Hope you enjoy, feedback appreciated as always!

Deadly track, I really love the bass and drums going through it. I wasn't sure about the synth melody at first but it sounds really good on second listen. That distorted raspy guitar sound that comes in about 20 seconds sounds a little bit harsh but everything else sounds really cool. and fair play to ya for getting it all done in 2 hours

Here's something I've been messing about with. Short and sweet. Feedback as always appreciated.

http://soundcloud.com/robthetrustysteed/sleepy

round 2 http://soundcloud.com/timmoriarty/lets-go-mario-round2 id still like to make the bass creep into the midranges and away from my kick a bit for but eqing doesnt seem to be doing the job any advice/ opinions would be greatful :D

• Registered Users Posts: 749 ✭✭✭SteveDon

whiterob81 wrote: »
    Here's something I've been messing about with. Short and sweet. Feedback as always appreciated.

http://soundcloud.com/robthetrustysteed/sleepy

Like the drums at the start of this track, the lead synth at the start could do with some efx and automation, perhaps with delay/verb.

The second half of the song is cool aswell, the lead is a little bright for me tho, perhaps take it down an octave to get a deeper sound?

Like the drums at the start of this track, the lead synth at the start could do with some efx and automation, perhaps with delay/verb.

The second half of the song is cool aswell, the lead is a little bright for me tho, perhaps take it down an octave to get a deeper sound?

Thanks man. I'll give that a whirl and stick a new version back up in a few days. Thanks for listening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭00833827

laid back jazzy thing - with some cheezey sax -

http://soundcloud.com/dan_dare-1/schmood

just messing about with it - unpolished

• Registered Users Posts: 749 ✭✭✭SteveDon

Some trip hop

http://soundcloud.com/steve-donaldson/jen-moore-stephen-donaldson

First time recording vocals so interested to see what you think.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

Some trip hop

Absolutely love it man,vocals sound great,A little verby and the bass is a little buried(Only minor criticism) but overall love it.

Shes got a real nice voice

Some trip hop

She has a really great voice - pure ear porn. And the recording came out really well. You should do more with her.

I could do with a stronger lyric. Even gibberish as long as it doesn't sound cliched.

And don't call it trip hop.

And less repetition that kind of music isn't dance and needs more touches (slight colour changes on the snare that kind a thing.) - you've dragged a few bits on for too long, like the intro - or it just needs some touches - filter just pops off without warning.. Listen to something like All Saints.

She has a really great voice. Do more - do lots more with her.

I could listen to a whole album of that - and I think lots of other people would too.

Steve I think yah've got something there.

Steve.......yah' did one heck of a job.

00833827 wrote: »
    laid back jazzy thing - with some cheezey sax -

http://soundcloud.com/dan_dare-1/schmood

just messing about with it - unpolished

This sounds really good. I love the bass line on it. The sax is great. It all works really well.

Here's a reworking I did of a track I put up earlier in the week. Made some changes based on feedback I got here. Anyways, more feedback is always appreciated.

http://soundcloud.com/robthetrustysteed/sleepy-space

• Registered Users Posts: 543 ✭✭✭WasterEx

whiterob81 wrote: »
    Here's a reworking I did of a track I put up earlier in the week. Made some changes based on feedback I got here. Anyways, more feedback is always appreciated.

http://soundcloud.com/robthetrustysteed/sleepy-space

Hey man, just had a listen to your track, it's pretty good but a couple of things I think you should do or take note of for future reference would be to 'fatten' the track up a bit; pan your claps and hi-hats, etc. Speaking of the clap; the clap you're using sounds somewhat hollow, you know. Try layering it with another clap sample. Throw some fx in there to give it more excitement or movement. (reverb, sample fx, chord progressions and all that good stuff) At the end of the day it's all down to personal taste.
    Overall though, smooth track! Good work.

• Registered Users Posts: 48 Popmart97

Hello there

Would appreciate some feedback on this please :)

http://soundcloud.com/eric-english/summer-silk

• Registered Users Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Loobz

Here's a track I made 11 years ago - bouncy hard house for old times sake

Loobz wrote: »
    Here's a track I made 11 years ago - bouncy hard house for old times sake

How did you do that?

Fruity loops?

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭M O N T O

http://soundcloud.com/montomakesmusic/best-boy-ep-preview

Preview of an EP i should have out in a week or so. Electronic/hip hop with a bit of a jazzy/samba feel to it.

How did you do that?

Fruity loops?

Arranged in Sony Acid. Samples edited in Sounforge. Bit of Cubase and Fruityloops also but final arrangement in Sony Acid. My first ever track, learned it as I went along on my own. Good memories. Was played in Temple Theatre back in the day, last tune of the night.

WasterEx wrote: »
    Hey man, just had a listen to your track, it's pretty good but a couple of things I think you should do or take note of for future reference would be to 'fatten' the track up a bit; pan your claps and hi-hats, etc. Speaking of the clap; the clap you're using sounds somewhat hollow, you know. Try layering it with another clap sample. Throw some fx in there to give it more excitement or movement. (reverb, sample fx, chord progressions and all that good stuff) At the end of the day it's all down to personal taste.
    Overall though, smooth track! Good work.

Thanks for taking the time to listen. There's a lot of good suggestions to take on board for the next tune. Thanks again

Loobz wrote: »
    Arranged in Sony Acid. Samples edited in Sounforge. Bit of Cubase and Fruityloops also but final arrangement in Sony Acid. My first ever track, learned it as I went along on my own. Good memories. Was played in Temple Theatre back in the day, last tune of the night.

That's an incredibly good effort (regardless of it even being the first)

How long did it take you?.....Did you go insane making it?

• Registered Users Posts: 543 ✭✭✭WasterEx

Hey lads if I could get any feedback on the latest track I'm working on, would be appreciated :)

http://soundcloud.com/cremerz/cremerz-sometimes-wip/s-8mAfq

Really trying to get it to sound clean so if something puts you off let me know!

It's that specific part I'd like to make cleaner in a sense.

Cheers

WasterEx wrote: »
    Hey lads if I could get any feedback on the latest track I'm working on, would be appreciated :)
    Really trying to get it to sound clean so if something puts you off let me know!

It's that specific part I'd like to make cleaner in a sense.

It's 30 seconds long, it's hard to tell. It's clean. It could do with a baseline that follows the melody to drive it.

That's an incredibly good effort (regardless of it even being the first)

How long did it take you?.....Did you go insane making it?

Not sure how long it took. A good while Id say while at school etc. I managed to keep my sanity! Its far too long and needs mastering. I couldnt make my mind up on which breakdowns and build ups to keep, so I kept them all. But had a computer meltdown so what you hear is what you get. I never got round to tidying it up.

Hard house was bigger than Jesus in those days. Spent most weekends in Lamberts nightclub in Camolin Wexford listening to the Tidy Boys, BK, Ed Real, CJ Bolland, Ingo Star and every other hard house DJ going. Will never forget those nights, relentless good fun.