Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post your Tracks - Give Feedback here

• Registered Users Posts: 5,278 ✭✭✭mordeith

Here's my own latest effort.
    https://soundcloud.com/subbed/the-colony

• Registered Users Posts: 543 ✭✭✭WasterEx

mordeith wrote: »
    Sounds good man. Kick seems a little bit light in the lower end. Might do with a bit of warming up.

Thanks dude! Appreciated.
    Here's my own latest effort.
    https://soundcloud.com/subbed/the-colony

Great work on this track, feels very tight all round. The melody could use some layering/ automation to make it more interesting. The build to the drop at 3:52 is a slight bit to sudden imo. I'd say some reverb or delay builds are good for sudden drops like that. Really did enjoy the vibe of the track in general. Nice work man! :D

WasterEx wrote: »
    Thanks dude! Appreciated.

Great work on this track, feels very tight all round. The melody could use some layering/ automation to make it more interesting. The build to the drop at 3:52 is a slight bit to sudden imo. I'd say some reverb or delay builds are good for sudden drops like that. Really did enjoy the vibe of the track in general. Nice work man! :D

Cheers for that. Yeah I hear what you're saying about variation on the melody. I had tried various slow filter sweeps but they all took too much presence from the sound. Maybe I should I have tried some suble layering as you suggested.

The drop is pretty sudden alright. I guesss when you're listening to something so often you sometimes ignore the obvious!

Got a mate down in Cork whos been producing years, was signed under a trance label for ages, but has moved to electro etc now, and his first tune Karma is out. I thought you guys would appreciate his talent.

Here is a link -> http://soundcloud.com/matthewblake-2/matthew-blake-karma-1/s-BR3Cl

It's been uploaded by MAElectronic aswell!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uN7fyA1PdBM

Let me know what you think lads, I'll get your responses to him.

I'm not a massive fan of electro but this sounds really well produced so far play to your mate. Nice fat stabby synths which are cool although the jury is out on the guitar breakdown for me. Kudos.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Be like Nutella

tune I did yest : )...an elec guitar loop (actually 2 loops) and built a track out of it

https://soundcloud.com/listothis/l-a-s-e-r

tune I did yest : )...an elec guitar loop (actually 2 loops) and built a track out of it

Nice choice of loops. I wasn't convinced at the start but it grew on me. Probably could do with a little variation though as the loop is very samey over the length of the track.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

That is utterly awesome! it really holds on to the rock vibe while still feeling like a mix... reminds me of early 2000's style mixes, like early justice or something awesome

shane9689 wrote: »

Nice use of the Deadmau5 track. Out of curiousity did you program it yourself or is it the original with added FX?
    Not sure about the vocals to be honest. I think it'd work better if you just used shorter snippets such as the 'Who you are' part (if that's the lyrics :rolleyes:)
    The spoken sample works a bit better but it's a bit loud in the mix.
    There's a significant volume jump around 6.40.
    Nice to hear something a bt left of centre though so fair play.

Nice use of the Deadmau5 track. Out of curiousity did you program it yourself or is it the original with added FX?
    Not sure about the vocals to be honest. I think it'd work better if you just used shorter snippets such as the 'Who you are' part (if that's the lyrics :rolleyes:)
    The spoken sample works a bit better but it's a bit loud in the mix.
    There's a significant volume jump around 6.40.
    Nice to hear something a bt left of centre though so fair play.

thanks...
    i found a midi of strobe and edited into parts, (ive actually begun learning it on piano aswell, its awesome) i didnt use the original effects but rather found something close to them.
    yeah... i might edit the vocals abit, to be honest, i threw them in because it wasnt a complete original, so instead of just copying deadmua5 too much, i wanted to make something different, the track is quite long so i figured id get away with it, like velvet revolver or something...
    i tend to do that alot, im never comfortable making an average track, for some reason i always push it to an extreme of somesort which usually ruins it abit
    your gandalf photo is very suitable btw, considering all the advice we get from you...i might change mine to a hobbit...

ha ha. Tis far from a wizard I am. Still learning like everyone else!

ok so this should be the last track for awhile...less weird than my other stuff, decided to go back to basics abit
    https://soundcloud.com/shanemoloneys/house-da-funk
    let me know what ye think...i get alot of good advice from here , so cheers to everyone

[QUOTE=shane9689;84549
    538]ok so this should be the last track for awhile...less weird than my other stuff, decided to go back to basics abit
    https://soundcloud.com/shanemoloneys/house-da-funk
    let me know what ye think...i get alot of good advice from here , so cheers to everyone[/QUOTE]

To be honest with ya man I felt like this was few different tracks rather than a single cohesive unit. I liked the opening bassline although it sounded like there was a filter cutoff which kind of dulled it a bit. Not sure the stabby synth lne that comes in then goes with it though.
    The sequence that starts at 1.50 is quite good. I like the arpeggiation and the pads are really nice. The high melody that comes in at 5.35 could go nicely with the section above I'd say.
    The snare shot that plays every now and then is very jarring and loud in the mix.
    If I were you I'd impose a time limit of 4 mins on a track see how you get on. Of couse you may not want to do that but I think it would help in strengthening your arrangement skills and getting a more fluid feel to your productions.

To be honest with ya man I felt like this was few different tracks rather than a single cohesive unit. I liked the opening bassline although it sounded like there was a filter cutoff which kind of dulled it a bit. Not sure the stabby synth lne that comes in then goes with it though.
    The sequence that starts at 1.50 is quite good. I like the arpeggiation and the pads are really nice. The high melody that comes in at 5.35 could go nicely with the section above I'd say.
    The snare shot that plays every now and then is very jarring and loud in the mix.
    If I were you I'd impose a time limit of 4 mins on a track see how you get on. Of couse you may not want to do that but I think it would help in strengthening your arrangement skills and getting a more fluid feel to your productions.

yeah i felt that myself, i think ill try stick more to a verse chorus structure and shorten it, something simple maybe. yeah i was uncertain about the snare, personally i like it, maybe i could dull it down yes, but i like its odd sound in such a mix. anyways, im working with a rapper now, so hopefully hell help me keep some structure as hell need to rap over it and create a verse chorus thing

• Registered Users Posts: 205 ✭✭Ravenholm

an uplifting trance tune

https://soundcloud.com/ravenh0lm/eternity

constructive feedback appreciated.

thanks

Ravenholm wrote: »
    an uplifting trance tune

thanks

personally i dont like trance but as a track it seems fine. i noticed you tried mixing it up abit at 0.51 by changing key but maybe it needs something abit more exciting in it somewhere

i changed the page name, so incase anyone tries clicking on it, its now under this domain name https://soundcloud.com/xen-breast

an uplifting trance tune

thanks

You have the bones of decent enough trance tune here. The high pitched arpeggiation drops out very suddenly at 1.05. I like the main break down but I think you could do with adding some kind of long riser before the drop to build in a little drama. On the mix side of things the kick and snare are overpowered by the string and synth elements. I'd also lower the level of the bass a little as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 205 ✭✭Ravenholm

You have the bones of decent enough trance tune here. The high pitched arpeggiation drops out very suddenly at 1.05. I like the main break down but I think you could do with adding some kind of long riser before the drop to build in a little drama. On the mix side of things the kick and snare are overpowered by the string and synth elements. I'd also lower the level of the bass a little as well.

thanks for the input. The snare and kick sound overpowered on the Soundcloud mix but dont on my audio mixdown from Cubase. I never master tracks so i must learn how to do that properly.

The arp does drop out quickly as the track initially was over 6 minutes long and i was playing around with a lead melody straight after the arp. I never really got the lead where i wanted i so i stripped back and shortened the track, hence the breakdown coming in quite early.

cheers for listening

I never master tracks so i must learn how to do that properly.

I was the same starting out but find myself spending more and more time doing this now. It's amazing what a difference it can make to adding some real presence and width to a track. Taking someting like Carl Craig's 'Future Love Theme' for example. There aren't that many elements in the track and they are not overly complex but the production on the track makes it sound really full and punchy. He puts out quality stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

First one I've done up in a while. Feedback much appreciated:
    https://soundcloud.com/rocky-robledo/bahn-tattoos

that was awesome... sorry im not helping much with feedback, it was really ambient, i was studying and it acted as really good background music for me, i only noticed it when it stopped...which is a good thing, it means nothing bad stuck out. maybe tweak the main synth abit, just down the volume on it by .1 of a db even... but thats about it from me...

• Registered Users Posts: 552 ✭✭✭whiterob81

shane9689 wrote: »

Just had a listen this morning. It sounds really good. The last 2 tracks you've put up were deadly.A real improvement. I'd maybe have the dialogue sample lower in the mix. Or not there at all. I'd definitely shorten it. Not sure it really works in the track. What film is it from?

Here's a new dub track I'm after doing. Any feedback on this is appreciated. Thanks

https://soundcloud.com/robthetrustysteed/new-day-coming

Nice soft piano notes in this and the bassline is good as well. Not mad about the high-pitch synth stabs. I think as another poster said it maight be a good idea to turn that element down a little bit in the mix. The kick is lacking a little bit of punch but its got a nice tone. Peronally I'd choose a softer sounding hi-hat or maybe just soften the attack on the one you have and brighten it a bit with a bit of eq. Vocal sample works really well by the way. I'd bring it into play a bit more throughout the track. There's a lovely reverb on it.

whiterob81 wrote: »
    Here's a new dub track I'm after doing. Any feedback on this is appreciated. Thanks

Nice groovy number you have here. I'd lose the synth at the start as it doesn't really fit the vibe of the track imo. The organ is cool but the notes are a little sharp for me in terms of asdr. If it was me I'd soften the attack and lengthen the decay and release a bit, or maybe add a bit of reverb. The pads in the middle are nice as well as the vocal snippet. The plucked guitar is really good. I'd make this more of a main feature in the track. The snare seems a little too prominent in the mix but has a nice sharp sound. It might be nice to layer it with something a bit deeper just to add a small bit of low-end to it.

whiterob81 wrote: »

yeah, i began to slowly go in the right direction with my tracks i think... still not there though

awesome man! as mordeith said, the snare/clap could be abit quiter, i disgaree about the synths though, i think they all work really well. the kick could have more punch maybe...also if at some point you had it all come together, have the synths layered over eachother near the end as to climax the song instead of introducing them one by one without any overlay...just an idea, awesome track though

also it wasnt a movie...i took it out of one of watskys speechs

Thanks lads. I'll give this another go.

Mordeith, I can hear what you're saying about the organ being a bit too sharp, I'll try and fix up the sound on that. I'm gonna make the tune a bit longer and try have more of the guitar in it. Ye're right about the snare, it's a little piercing listening back on it.

Hey shane, that's a great idea about having all the synths coming in together. I think it definitely needs something like that. As it is, it just kind of peters out.

Thanks lads

• Registered Users Posts: 45 zoid

this is a remix of a piano+vocal track by Eva Redmond, who is in Transition Year in Newpark School. I was working with the transition year class on a project to write and produce music and release a compilation CD. really liked this song so i did a remix. feedback welcome!

https://soundcloud.com/transitionrecords-1/bassix-gone-zoid-remix192

zoid wrote: »
    this is a remix of a piano+vocal track by Eva Redmond, who is in Transition Year in Newpark School. I was working with the transition year class on a project to write and produce music and release a compilation CD. really liked this song so i did a remix. feedback welcome!

https://soundcloud.com/transitionrecords-1/bassix-gone-zoid-remix192

Really like the girl's voice here. Nice song as well. Regarding the mix I think there's too much low end on the bass/kick (is that a kick or a bassline?). Lacks presence and sounds muddy. It's much imroved by the addition of another kick at 0.50. I'd nearly layer that all the way through. The analogue snare is a bit weak as well I think. You could layer this with another layer to add a bit of crispness. Piano part is cool and it's nice when you add some reverb to the vocals towards the latter part of the track. Nice idea to switch things up with the tempo as well.