Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ganley looking good in Early Tallies

• Registered Users Posts: 4,899 ✭✭✭deisedude

Ha, delighted Ganley got his comeuppance. Wheres the 100 seat across Europe he predicted now? Only 1 Libertas MEP elected in 20 states they ran candidates. There are now more pirates in Europe than Libertas:D

• Registered Users Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Count 2 is in, Susan O'Keeffe's being eliminated with 31176 votes after it. Joe O'Reilly will be next (he's got 38854 at the moment)

Realistically there's no more news on this one, South is the only game left playing.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,685 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

what the hell are we to do with all the libertas crap on the internet now?

Their website, facebook pages, youtube channels etc?

Will someone actually come around and delete them all or will they be left there to rot

makes me think of a peom:
    I met a traveller from an antique land,
    Who said: Two vast and trunkless legs of stone
    Stand in the desert. Near them, on the sand,
    Half sunk, a shattered visage lies, whose frown
    And wrinkled hp and sneer of cold command,
    Tell that its sculptor well those passions read,
    Which yet survive stamped on these lifeless things,
    The hand that mocked them, and the heart that fed;
    .And on the pedestal these words appear:
    'My name is Ozymandias, King of Kings;
    Look on my works. Ye Mighty, and despair!'
    Nothing beside remains. Round the decay
    Of that colossal wreck, boundless and bare
    The lone and level sands stretch far away.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,471 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

BlitzKrieg wrote: »

Will someone actually come around and delete them all or will they be left there to rot

Ganley didn't say that Libertas was finished. He said his political life was finished.
    'the future of Libertas is a matter for others.'
    http://www.rte.ie/news/elections/stories/2009/0608/euroelection.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭ionix5891

and not to mention the countless threads here

heh who knows historians might be interested in this stuff

to quote Ganley :D

"Its a great day for Irish Democracy"

Ganley didn't say that Libertas was finished. He said his political life was finished.

have you seen how libertas sell themselves? Everything has Declan Ganley written on it or speaking in it at some point.

If it doesnt it has someone else talking about declan ganley.

They'll need to rewrite pretty much their entire website and take down all the youtube videos and put up new ones.

and not to mention the countless threads here

heh who knows historians might be interested in this stuff

wouldnt mind having a little section in future versions of wikipeida mentioning the hard work done here these past few months :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

have you seen how libertas sell themselves? Everything has Declan Ganley written on it or speaking in it at some point.

If it doesnt it has someone else talking about declan ganley.

They'll need to rewrite pretty much their entire website and take down all the youtube videos and put up new ones.

wouldnt mind having a little section in future versions of wikipeida mentioning the hard work done here these past few months :D

When quizzed on the future of Libertas on 'The Last Word' Simmons told Matt he'd have to ask Declan, not even that it was a matter for the Party, or they'd all have to take stock, just to ask Declan.

Ganley = Libertas, quite simply it doesn't exist without him.

well scary simons can go back to running the pro life campaign and I can reassume ignoring her.

The one thing I will say that Ganley has done thats positive is make the other parties sit up and take notice.

Hopefully it leads to a more open and honest future in Irish politics.

In fairness to him, Libertas are the third biggest party in this election in the North West(Miriam Harkin is independent). He has beaten the traditionally third biggest party in Ireland to that spot in the West and beaten Sinn Fein who have also been very popular in the North West.

I wonder where would them votes have gone if there was no Libertas. I could see Miriam Harkin having a bigger gap over the others but its hard to tell where the rest of them would have gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Raymond O' Malley can always take it over.

eagle eye wrote: »

that wont be hard to do, no libertas inventing new lies every day ...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

The one thing I will say that Ganley has done thats positive is make the other parties sit up and take notice.

In fairness to him, Libertas are the third biggest party in this election in the North West(Miriam Harkin is independent). He has beaten the traditionally third biggest party in Ireland to that spot in the West and beaten Sinn Fein who have also been very popular in the North West.

I wonder where would them votes have gone if there was no Libertas. I could see Miriam Harkin having a bigger gap over the others but its hard to tell where the rest of them would have gone.

I actually think he got people out to vote that otherwise wouldn't have, I think turnout is up?

Also if you just look at the graphs he seems to have taken from SF more than anyone, and then the 'Dana' independent vote, which reflects maybe on the somewhat antiestablishment nature of his vote.

Apart from that I think he picked up votes from everyone by promising the sun moon and stars on every local issue from Kilkee to Muff.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭rugbyman

I have just dropped in on this thread and read a lot of it.

Seems that there are a lot of anti Ganley types on here.
    As a strong pro europe and pro lisbon person, i cannot dislike mr ganley as much as ye do. he was/is a rich, successful man,capable and eloquent.
    the fact that he encouraged ,along with Sf and various religious right wingers and anti war/nato etc types, a great amount of people to vote the wrong way (imo) at the referendum, does not mean he is a bad person, just that those voters were easily led, unthinking, ....s .

I have left the last noun blank, any of the words i had in mind are rude or crude.

regards Rugbyman

rugbyman wrote: »
    I have just dropped in on this thread and read a lot of it.

Seems that there are a lot of anti Ganley types on here.
    As a strong pro europe and pro lisbon person, i cannot dislike mr ganley as much as ye do. he was/is a rich, successful man,capable and eloquent.
    the fact that he encouraged ,along with Sf and various religious right wingers and anti war/nato etc types, a great amount of people to vote the wrong way (imo) at the referendum, does not mean he is a bad person, just that those voters were easily led, unthinking, ....s .

I have left the last noun blank, any of the words i had in mind are rude or crude.

regards Rugbyman

a liar is a liar :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 46 bansheee

He has lost and stated that he will now leave public life.

He also on the recheck had an extra 3000 votes that didn't belong to him at all.

There is talk of a Garda investigation.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Bond-007 wrote: »
    Raymond O' Malley can always take it over.
    Raymond O'Malley who has even less of a democratic mandate than Ganley?

ahh crap, my mistake. the libertas youtube link wikipedia has points to the wrong channel.

they still have libertasEU

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

libertas actually lost seats (well it never really had them in france etc)

raymond o malley only got 18,000 fpv

Bit surprised by that last round in the North West.

Labour's Susan O'Keefe eliminated.

Miriam Harkin +9500 approx.
    Jim Higgins +4150
    Padraig Mac Lochlainn +2700 approx.
    Declan Ganley +2500 approx.
    Pat the cope Gallagher + 1150 approx.
    Paschal Mooney + 660 approx.

That means that 11,000 or more than a third of her votes were not transferrable. Seems pretty big.

Edit: Scrap that thought, another FG candidate to go now. My mistake

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,802 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

He also stated he would play no part in the second Lisbon referendum, saying it remained to be seen whether Libertas as an organisation would be involved.

Quote from Ganley above!

As a political n00b, I ask why oh why did the contest the first referendum so??

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

There really is only 2 parties in the NW constituency, so I wouldn't really go with the 3rd party point. Connaught/Ulster always had a strong Euro sceptic and protest vote, which is probably the reason Ganley chose this constituency. It will just move to somebody else next, it isn't a loyal group!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

K-9 wrote: »
    There really is only 2 parties in the NW constituency, so I wouldn't really go with the 3rd party point.

What two do you recognise? I count four parties with TDs elected in NW.
    Connaught/Ulster always had a strong Euro sceptic and protest vote,

I think it's rather more a conservative Catholic vote, with Euroscepticism as a by-product (but generalisations are imprecise).
    which is probably the reason Ganley chose this constituency.

Add in the fact that he lives in the constituency.
    It will just move to somebody else next, it isn't a loyal group!

It's starting to look as if no voter group can be expected to remain loyal (another generalisation, with some degree of imprecision).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

who will lead? libertas Jens-Peter Bonde

is it Philippe de Villiers who won it isn't clear

What two do you recognise? I count four parties with TDs elected in NW.

OK, I'll bite. It's an 11 county constituency this time with pockets of support for Labour or SF, but overall in General Election terms it's strong FF/FG Country. Would SF/Labour have many TD's in those 11 counties?

I think it's rather more a conservative Catholic vote, with Euroscepticism as a by-product (but generalisations are imprecise).

The Dana vote would support that, even the Blayney vote to an extent. I'm basing it on Donegal and Ganleys share in Galway as well as Dohertys widespread appeal in the last one.

Add in the fact that he lives in the constituency.

True, but the Lisbon campaign raised his profile to a national level, so I do think he tactically picked the NW constituency based especially on the strong Anti Lisbon vote, as well as historical voting patterns.
    It's starting to look as if no voter group can be expected to remain loyal (another generalisation, with some degree of imprecision).

My point would be a lot of Doherty voters probably went Libertas this time, which is a big shift, though I take your point that he was appealing to a certain demographic that is loyal to an anti establishment view. That's why I thought he always would poll well, despite the polls.

I actually did believe Declan when he said opinion polls showing 2% where wrong. :o

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

K-9 wrote: »
    OK, I'll bite. It's an 11 county constituency this time with pockets of support for Labour or SF, but overall in General Election terms it's strong FF/FG Country. Would SF/Labour have many TD's in those 11 counties?

Labour: Galway has Michael D; Westmeath has Willie Penrose.
    SF: Caoimhghin O Caolain represents Cavan-Monaghan.
    True, but the Lisbon campaign raised his profile to a national level, so I do think he tactically picked the NW constituency based especially on the strong Anti Lisbon vote, as well as historical voting patterns.

You might also consider that in one respect, that of conservative Catholicism, he is rooted in a tradition that is strong in the constituency. Chicken-and-egg stuff, really. Yes, he did run in the constituency that seemed closest to his rather strange worldview.

Labour: Galway has Michael D; Westmeath has Willie Penrose.
    SF: Caoimhghin O Caolain represents Cavan-Monaghan.

Indeed, but the very exceptions to the FF/FG Rule in the constituency, you agree?

What's the 3rd party in GE percentage terms in those 11 counties?

My point is, claiming to be the 3rd party in that constituency isn't all that long a straw to grab onto?

according to a canvasser I spoke to for the socialist party, they spent 28 000 all together in dublin, cork and louth, compared to 400 000 by caroline simons alone?

Dont know where he got his figure from, but even if she spent only 28 000 herself, she didnt pull in near enough of the vote to have any of it paid back.

Declan must be happy at least that he only has to pay for 2 irish constituencies rather then 3 I guess.

I wont even ask if he has a debt for all the european constituencies

• Registered Users Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

I wont even ask if he has a debt for all the european constituencies

He took out a few loans in Poland to pay for Polish Libertas, don't see them getting their money back. :pac:

I'd say he pulled similar tricks all over the shop too.