Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greening your business?

Options
  • 07-06-2009 12:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭

Background:
    I'm a civil engineer by training, with a masters in sustainable development. For the past three years I have been working as a sustainability consultant providing advice on how to make buildings more sustainable. My intention has always been to set up my own consultancy, unfortunately redundancy caught up with me before I had time to build the network of contacts I would like to.
    However, no time like the present . . .

The idea:
    I think that most businesses have a massive scope to improve their sustainability, and to save themselves money in the process. With the background I have in sustainability I'm absolutely certain I can help businesses to do this.

The problem:
    To date the projects I have worked on have been within a defined and specific brief. As a first step to setting up my own business, I need to work out exactly what I'm selling and how the process will work.

What I'm looking for:
    I'm looking for small businesses owners and managers who are interested in being pilot projects. The business can be anything, a pub, a cafe, a shop, an office. It doesn't even have to be a business it could be a charity or other organisation.

What I'd need from you:
    Initially an afternoon of your time to sit down and ask about your business and look over your premises and generally see how things are done and decisions are made.

What I expect to do for you: