Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Building a mac pro at home

Options
  • 09-06-2009 9:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19

I was directed here by Ron DMC :

Hi all,

I was looking at this website-DIY Hackintosh Tutorial: Build a Mac Pro for Cheap -
    and now the exams are over am trying to build a mac for cheap as a project over the summer. This is a real for dummies job as I am a complete newbie-- any and all help greatly appreciated, there are a lot of tutorials out there but which ones are good?

The Nonagon.

Comments

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 18,377 Mod ✭✭✭✭Solitaire

For the most part building a Hackintosh is the same as any PC build. The only catch is that you are limited to certain parts (those that are known to work with OS-X thanks to identical or passing-similar drivers - or hacked ones - to what components you get in a "real" Apple) and there's a bit of mucking about with the install process (partially depedent on the above point) as you may have noticed from some of those tutorials.

So, the first question is: Exactly what do you intend on doing with this Hackintosh? Because that will determine what kind of performance and components you'll need. And the second and opposing question is: what's the budget? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Wcool

Custom PC UK magazine, now on the shelves, has a guide how to build a (CHEAPER) Mac.

Also check out this link:

http://www.osnews.com/story/21564/Building_a_Hackintosh_Apple_Can_t_Sue_You_For