Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

South Africa Confederations Cup 2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Expected Brazil lineup:

Cesar
    Alves - Lucio - Juan - Kleber
    Silve -- Melo
    ----Elano
    Kaka
    ---- Fabiano - Robinho ----

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,678 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Vokes wrote: »
    Expected Brazil lineup:

Cesar
    Alves - Lucio - Juan - Kleber
    Silve -- Melo
    ----Elano
    Kaka
    ---- Fabiano - Robinho ----

fabiano is 4/1 to score 2 goals and evens to score anytime (last time i looked)

looking forward to this match

4-0 brazil

brazil have been in superb form of late,being top of the south american WC group etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Good shout. They've been averaging something like 3 goals per game in the last 6 matches.

Looking forward to seeing those FBs bomb forwards on the overlap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,521 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

The South Africans seem to equate annoying noise with atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,282 ✭✭✭Glico Man

at the time of posting it is 3 mins 10 seconds into the brazil and egypt match and those horns are driving me mad already :mad:

kaka strikes

defending was awful but a lovely finish by kaka

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Nice goal. That Kaka lad could amount to something - anyone heard of him?

dsmythy wrote: »
    The South Africans seem to equate annoying noise with atmosphere.

I know, they should be banned (the horns, not the South Africans)

this is going to be good

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,648 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

2-1 fabiano, nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

And its 2-1 to Brazil Fabiano

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Did ye put on that bet?

Great free kick, good header, Fabiano makes it 2-1.

Headshot wrote: »
    fabiano is 4/1 to score 2 goals and evens to score anytime (last time i looked)

too bad i didnt put money on it

dont ya hate when that happens

I was going to go Brazil 3-0 and Fabiano to score twice, but Paddy Power failed me. Probably for the best, so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Anyone else distincly unimpressed with the state of the pitches?

All of them seem to get cut up ridiculously easy.

blood rte at it again.

Kaka is playing pretty well

how good are brazil at the set pieces,great stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

If we qualify for 2010, they better fcuk of somewhere else with them fcuking horns when Ireland are playing.

Peter Collins is having a shocker in the stating the bloody obvious stakes.

3-1 Juan simple goal header from a corner.

Egypt a pretty decent side - playing some nice ball - can see them giving the other two sides in the group a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭adm

If we qualify for 2010, they better fcuk of somewhere else with them fcuking horns when Ireland are playing.

Ha Ha - they are bloody annoying.

how good are brazil at the set pieces,great stuff

Was just thinking along similar lines - for all the creativity, they sure do seem to realise the importance of taking advantage of set-pieces.

I would imagine the vast majority of the crowds at the games are South Africans, with very few fans having travelled.

I'd be very surprised if it was a similar situation at the World Cup games.

Fingers crossed anyway.

It's like there's that annoying insect in the room, that keep buzzing around, so annoying and it must be dealt with.

3-2 Egypt Shawkey of Boro

3-3 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Zidan

:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭adm

Zizouuuuuuuu!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,014 ✭✭✭✭titan18

I love this game

omg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

What a game! 3-3 Zidane scores! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

All I can say is wtf :eek: :eek: :eek:

In fairness Egypt had been far the better side in the second half

See what Brazil are made of now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Crackin game!

Delighted Brazil cant coast to victory now, lets see them.

Egypt ftw

at 6/1

Twice Peter Collins has referred to Kaka as the most expensive player in the world.

Also managed to mis-identify Kaka as Robinho.

Awful stuff.

Twice Peter Collins has referred to Kaka as the most expensive player in the world.

He is still the most expensive player in the world. Ronaldo hasn't completed his move yet, only had a bid accepted.

But yeah, he can be a really dull commentator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Well he is, Ronaldo deal still hasn't been completed yet ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

He is the most expensive player in the world though? The Ronaldo transfer hasn't been concluded yet. He explained himself at the start of the match like.

Great game to watch, also Dunga has a shocking sense of fashion:eek:

He is the most expensive player in the world though? The Ronaldo transfer hasn't been concluded yet. He explained himself at the start of the match like.

Ok missed that bit but only on a technicality and still doesnt make him anythin approaching a competent commentator

that zidane bloke is a good player,surprisingly good

Ok missed that bit but only on a technicality and still doesnt make him anythin approaching a competent commentator

Don't get me wrong, I hate him as a commentator!

that zidane bloke is a good player,surprisingly good

Defo.. Going by this match, you can see why Egypt are the African champions.

and their missing a few players like zaki and mido

Mido is ****e.

Edit: No insult whatsoever to the player, but he's decreasing in any quality whatsoever since he first arrived in England, and increasing in weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Well done Howard Webb.

thats was S.taylor level acting there

thank God

Def pen

Kinda harsh on Egypt because they have kept Brazil pretty quiet in the second half.

Kaka 4-3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Hard luck to Egypt.

Jaysus, what a match.

Unlucky for Egypt not to get at least a point, but it was a definite penalty. Yer man was some plank, going down clutching his face. That'd just make me certain it was a handball.

I remember a lad from our team got away with it once, while I was in goals. Long range shot coming straight for me, next he stuck out an arm and wait down holding his face. It was comical.

what game that was

superb