Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Irish Goverment needs to BanOnline poker.

• 10-06-2009 2:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭

IN the u.s.a they have banned poker and yesterday they started seizing money from online poker players accounts who play from america. This is great news, poker is gambling and all froms of gambling should be banned espically poker as it now has become a serious addiction here in Ireland thanks to the media and people saying its not gambling but a skill, these peole are delusional compulsive gamblers who need help before they end up with nothing. The fact is if you gamble you will eventually end up broke that is for sure. I think we need to lobby the goverment to ban online poker in Ireland as its causing so much pain to the addicted people and there loved ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭conchubhar1

ban alcohol and coffee

jesus, ban crackpots?

(sarcasm)

no seriously, it is peoples choices. if you cant trust peoples choices we will end up with nearly everything banned.

'' the fact is if you gamble you will end up broke that is for sure''

i think several world poker series players will disagree.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭trailerparkboy

ban alcohol and coffee

jesus, ban crackpots?

(sarcasm)

no seriously, it is peoples choices. if you cant trust peoples choices we will end up with nearly everything banned.

I know where your coming from but online poker needs to be banned its far worse than any drug. Its targetiing mostly young males who are now becoming totally adicted when they hear all the stories of peole winning money when in fact no one wins only the poker rooms, its just one big scam with money swirling around and the poker room taking a cut. We need to ban it like America and the sooner the better, people are destroying there lives with this addiction to poker.

From his other recent posts I can gather that apparently drinking on other peoples property, pissing on it and being a nuisance is good. So is liking the BNP. But people choosing to play poker for a bit of craic is bad :(

• Registered Users Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

IN the u.s.a they have banned poker and yesterday they started seizing money from online poker players accounts who play from america. This is great news, poker is gambling and all froms of gambling should be banned espically poker as it now has become a serious addiction here in Ireland thanks to the media and people saying its not gambling but a skill, these peole are delusional compulsive gamblers who need help before they end up with nothing. The fact is if you gamble you will eventually end up broke that is for sure. I think we need to lobby the goverment to ban online poker in Ireland as its causing so much pain to the addicted people and there loved ones.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Why ban it? Who are you to say that? If idiots are stupid enough to throw their money away let them off, as long as me and you have our wallets intact, should we worry?

So whats plan B? Government intruduces educational program aimed at awareness of the dangers of gambling? :)

Oh im on the dole and get rent allowance so its not 2 bad, but its a real struggle sometimes espically if i have a flutter on the horses:D

lol!

I'm hoping he's a troll. Surely nobody can be that ignorant..

• Registered Users Posts: 14,981 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

The government should concentrate on getting the fecking country back on the rails and then worry about banning people's interests, down with interests I say!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I know where your coming from but online poker needs to be banned its far worse than any drug. Its targetiing mostly young males who are now becoming totally adicted when they hear all the stories of peole winning money when in fact no one wins only the poker rooms, its just one big scam with money swirling around and the poker room taking a cut. We need to ban it like America and the sooner the better, people are destroying there lives with this addiction to poker.

live and learn

seriously, this world needs to stop trying to protect the stupid

• Registered Users Posts: 474 ✭✭civildefence

Although I don't play (mainly because i'm shyte at poker and broke), I think banning it is a bit of a Hitler tactic. You could go on and argue the same about the bookies, and why not close down Shelbourne Park and while we're at it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

People should be allowed to do whatever the fcuk they like, without having to be controlled by a bunch of egotistic retards trying to run a country. If you're such a fan of totalitarianism, OP, move to North Korea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭trailerparkboy

nitrogen wrote: »
    People should be allowed to do whatever the fcuk they like, without having to be controlled by a bunch of egotistic retards trying to run a country. If you're such a fan of totalitarianism, OP, move to North Korea.

Why dont you say that to the countless women and children who are hungary tonight because there Father has lost the weeks money on poker gambling, its a disgrace and is helped along by the media prclaiming that its cool to play poker. The amount of damage done by gambling in this country is worse than is caused by drinking or drugs. A compulsive gambler can loose a unlimited amount of money in a hour whereas a drug user or drinker can only spent so much money on drinking.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,198 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Dude, i know i knew your username from somewhere, and then i remembered. You started THIS thread

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055585967
    In the last 2weeks, im sick it was bad beat after bad beat, example AA get beaten about 4 times with a straight on the river everytime, JJ beaten KK beaten all with mostly straights on the river and all on the I Poker network, ive never in my life had such bad luck, when i got down to a couple of hundred i would always win on I Poker even with crap cards, i dunno something must be going on, ive lost my entire Bankroll which i had built up for months plus another 9k on top of that, im sick im depressed and i will never again play poker, it looks to me to be just all one big scheme that makes money go around so the poker sites get there rake, ive deledted all my poker accounts and i think im gonna have to go to gamblers anon or something.

No wonder you feel so strongly on the subject. Ouch.

If only you'd had this point of view sooner.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Dude, i know i knew your username from somewhere, and then i remembered. You started THIS thread

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055585967

No wonder you feel so strongly on the subject. Ouch.

If only you'd had this point of view sooner.

Jesus Christ!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭conchubhar1

you made that choice op
    im sorry you lost that money
    but banning poker is ridiculous

they all made that choice - look at all the children and women who get smacked by drunks or rejected by heroin (drugs in general) addicts.

people have to make a choice of what is important in there lifes and not throw it away.

the media portray a lot as cool. films portray gangsters as cool, you a gangster. no of course your not, think for yourself.

''it looks to me to be just all one big scheme that makes money go around so the poker sites get there rake, ive deledted all my poker accounts and i think im gonna have to go to gamblers anon or something.''

1 - its entertainment and a job for some

2 - i would hope so that you deleted them, so you do know when to stop

3 - yes, you should go to gambling anon

• Registered Users Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Bit of sour grapes going on there, you lost some money and you want the thing banned.
    IN the u.s.a they have banned poker and yesterday they started seizing money from online poker players accounts who play from america.
    Err hasn't gambling always been illegal in most American states? meaning people playing poker for money online in those states have always been breaking the law?

The main reason why gambling is banned in most American states is the hardcore Christians being against it, its never going to happen here.

• Registered Users Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Alias G

But poker is a game of skill at least as much as it is a game of chance. It is not purely gambling.

So is picking a winner in the derby, still gambling though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

Why dont you say that to the countless women and children who are hungary tonight because there Father has lost the weeks money on poker gambling,

It's their own fault for playing me heads up with the case money imo. If their kids are truly starving I'll ship them back five dollars or so though, I wouldn't feel right otherwise

• Registered Users Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Alias G wrote: »
    But poker is a game of skill at least as much as it is a game of chance. It is not purely gambling.

Gambling is wagering money or an item worth something on an even with an uncertain outcome. Playing poker for money is by definition gambling.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

So is picking a winner in the derby, still gambling though!

Bad comparison. When you back a horse, you have no influence over the outcome. Not the same in poker.

Why dont you say that to the countless women and children who are hungary tonight because there Father has lost the weeks money on poker gambling

The father should know where to draw the line at not gambling with his children's food money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I think online poker was banned in the US because in general gambling is banned in the US.

Let's ban driving. And smoking. And dancing, I don't like dancing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

Why dont you say that to the countless women and children who are hungary tonight because there Father has lost the weeks money on poker gambling, its a disgrace and is helped along by the media prclaiming that its cool to play poker. The amount of damage done by gambling in this country is worse than is caused by drinking or drugs. A compulsive gambler can loose a unlimited amount of money in a hour whereas a drug user or drinker can only spent so much money on drinking.

An addiction to a legal drug, sex or porn has ruined many a family. A lot of men spent the family's income on drink and selfishly left the family go hungry. But because of a small percentage of weak individuals that can't control themselves, we shouldn't ban alcohol, caffeine, nicotine, online poker, bookmakers, or video games. If we did that, we'd be living in an Orwellian society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

fwiw online poker was banned in America because someone added a bill about online poker onto an unrelated bill at the last minute when most people didn't read it. lol home of the 'free'

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UIGEA

• Registered Users Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

wow, no don't do that. i'd have to get a job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Dude, i know i knew your username from somewhere, and then i remembered.
    Ah thats it. Was trying to think where I seen that username before meself.

I once lost money when i put my trousers into the washing machime without checking the pockets

Lets ban Washing machines

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

Stop playing poker and get back to school.

It's their and not there, especially not espically, player's not players, people not peole and importantly u.s.a. and america should be capitalised !

Joking aside, if you really did lose 14 grand with a gambling addiction, then maybe you need something different to a blanket banning of internet poker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

Alias G wrote: »

questionable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The Irish Goverment needs to BanOnline poker.

Actually no, it doesn't. America has come down on gambling because (a) many parts of it are extremely puritanical in that regard and (b) the money was going to non-American companies, which offended their 'free market' sensibilities. Thats their problem, not ours.

As for the addicts....There are some people who are terrible drivers. Do we thus ban all driving?